paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask / Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Raven's Paintball lenses are made from a patented polyurethane material, originally developed for the military. Only recently has this revolutionary technology been made available to the civilian market.
Product Availability 
The Raven Nuvis-1 1.0 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Luther Sunday, July 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex, Proteus, Nvader, spectra, flex-7, etc.
- For the most part I think the raven was better than most of the jt masks. However the Proflex, Proteus, and flex-7 were probably equal to or better than the raven.
Dye invision
- I think the dye and raven mask are pretty similar, the dye might be a little better but not by far.
Brass eagle masks (horrible)
- Brass eagle masks just plan stink, raven blows it away.
Marker Setup: Pewter 2k1 Dark Angel LCD
Freak barrel system
KAPP dz 3
Crossy 68/45
evo 2
Strengths: - Comfortable
- Great lenses, no fog-ups
- Nice small design, not bulky and big
Weaknesses: Many air holes, if hit in mask you get paint in mouth. Not tasty.
Review: Overall this is a really nice mask. The lenses never fogged up for me. And it changed color in the sun for better vision. Has a good design, it fits nicely around your face. It's not big and bulky. Doesn't restrain neck movement at all. Very comfortable. At least the padding on my mask is very nice. All in all it's a really good mask.
Conclusion: This is a very nice mask. I don't think it's the best. Again some of the nicer JT masks are probably better. But all in all this mask provides comfort and good vision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cheshire81 Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
first mask
Marker Setup: spyder shutter
bob long bolt
SP Teardrop 12"
Strengths: -no glare
-comfortable
-doesn't fog
-wide field of vision
-clips on
Weaknesses: -limited to the amount you can tighten it
that's pretty much it
Review: Not a bad mask for the money. I bought mine used for $20 and it's worked great for the games that I've played (mostly woods ball). Granted this is the only mask I've had so I don't have much to compare it to. I've noticed that on many of the higher end masks there's no clip and you have to slide the mask over your noggin. It's a bit more convenient to have a clip. The mask is pretty low profile and didn't stick out in unnecessary places. I've played full days in the woods and have had no problems with this mask fogging up, even if it did it's a minor thing that can be remedied easily. The only real problem I had with it was that I couldn't tighten it much more. With a mask I like to feel it secure and pretty much stuck to my face. This mask was fine but could've been a bit tighter. other than that, it's a good mask for the money.
Conclusion: Good mask, like I said, haven't worn others so I'll be sure to review against this one when I get a new mask, but for now this works great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g_splat Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Wipper (I'm showing my age here)
JT Flex
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG Electric
Armotech WG-65 R.I.S Electric
Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol
PGP Pump Pistol
Spartan Pump
Pure Energy HPA 3000
12v Revolution
Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0
Ronin Gear 5 pack
Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Strengths: Field Of Vision
Great Fit
Low Profile
Mono-lense
Weaknesses: Mono-Lense are no longer made. You can however buy regular clear & tinted lenses.
Review: Great product by a great company. I've used a Raven mask for 3 plus years now & I'll never use anything else (At least nothing that's on the market currently. The fit is perfect. It's a smaller fit mask & it's VERY sleek. The Raven staff are courteous & helpful with all questions and problems. They're great to work with.
Conclusion: I'd still be wearing my old JT wipper if it was still within regulation. I don't like big bulky masks. This mask is the perfect match of comfort, safety, & size. I highly recommend this mask! My Grade: A++
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYRChaoS Friday, April 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, Flex 7 and Proteus
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 Vertical Feed Autococker Green
- Barrel: Smart Parts Full Freak 14" AA Black, 12' FRT Green
- Bolt: Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt
- Grip Frame: Kapp Reflex Black
- Grips: Dye Stickies Green
- Drop Forward: Custom Products Flame DF Green
- ASA: Custom Products On/Off Green
- Vert ASA: Kapp 45º Vert ASA
- Cocking Rod: Kapp Twisted Green
- Ball Detent: Shocktech Rebuildable Green
- Hose: Macroline
- Beavertail: Kapp Green
- Pumping Arm: Kapp Green
Strengths: Good View.
Weaknesses: Not a good fit.
Review: This is a pritty cool mask, then lenses tint to the light. This mask also has great view but the lenses seem to fog more then other masks. The mask also didnt fit me really well it was hurting my ears, and my last complaint is that the clip in the back sometimes gets my hair caught in it.
Conclusion: This is ok but i wouldn't recommend going out in buying it. If you deside you go buy one goto a local store and try one on.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkbuster33 Friday, October 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: spyder sonix
14 inch barrel
Strengths: When I first wrote this review, there was no category for the Nuvis-1, so now I am putting the review in the proper section.
This mask has THE most advanced lens on the market today - period. The photochromatic lens is the most stunning feature. Its uncanny ability to react to UV and sunlight intensity and give corresponding tint is remarkable. This will save you an unbelievable amount of hassle and trouble when conditions change. The most intense feature about this mask is most notable on days when you have clouds and sun alternating sky time. I cannot say enough great things about the photochromatic lens! IT RULES OUTRIGHT! This is especiall important for tournament players who can get glare on hyperball and sup air fields.
Weaknesses: mine was missing a little piece of stabilizing foam. no biggy. the hole in the visor for the fan switch wasn't punched out so i had to make the hole. lastly, the bottom is really flimsy. i haven't been shot in the mask yet, but i assume it'd hurt to get hit in the mouth. oh yeah, if you for some reason stick your tongue out while wearing this mask, it tastes really bad.
Conclusion: If you live in one of the aforementioned areas, make sure you have a thermal as a back up so your day is not ruined by foul weather. Use this mask when the humidity is low and moisture is not locked in the air by things such as tree canopy's. If the day is not that humid, and you are playing in open areas (ie. Speedball, or open woods games), THERE IS NOT A BETTER MASK ON THE MARKET. Conclusion, the Raven Nuvis-1 is the best mask in the world, provided the conditions are not too abhorent. However, because of this lack of versatility, it simply does not rate the top spot. Its performance is so outstanding when conditions are right that I am tempted to give it a 10, but since it is a "conditions specific" mask, then I have to deduct two points.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prep21 Sunday, February 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: 68ci/4500 Pure Energy
Dye Titanium Boomstick - 14
12V Revolution
Custom Products Drop Forward
ANS Quick Pull Venturi Bolt
Strengths: When I first wrote this review, there was no category for the Nuvis-1, so now I am putting the review in the proper section.
This mask has THE most advanced lens on the market today - period. The photochromatic lens is the most stunning feature. Its uncanny ability to react to UV and sunlight intensity and give corresponding tint is remarkable. This will save you an unbelievable amount of hassle and trouble when conditions change. The most intense feature about this mask is most notable on days when you have clouds and sun alternating sky time. I cannot say enough great things about the photochromatic lens! IT RULES OUTRIGHT! This is especiall important for tournament players who can get glare on hyperball and sup air fields.
Weaknesses: Despite this masks remarkable photochromatic lens ability, it is not thermal. I go to college in Washington DC and when we play in the woods under tree canopy's with any temperature over 70 and humidity over 60 (particularly after a day of rain, and that is often), this mask needs to be retired. It outright sucks in foul conditions. Speedball, hyperball, tourney play - all not impacted by this condition however. The open air, even in very humid conditions, will not fog the Nuvis-1. So moral of the story, GREAT tourney mask, anywhere. BAD mask in hot and humid conditions under tree canopy's in the south, northeast, midwest during summer. I live full time in California, and let me tell you that I have yet to have a SINGLE fog issue here in well over 30 times out. Also, the visor needs trimming because it comes too far back, not a big deal at all though if you have ever used a sharp edge - just cut the darn things down to fit you.
Conclusion: If you live in one of the aforementioned areas, make sure you have a thermal as a back up so your day is not ruined by foul weather. Use this mask when the humidity is low and moisture is not locked in the air by things such as tree canopy's. If the day is not that humid, and you are playing in open areas (ie. Speedball, or open woods games), THERE IS NOT A BETTER MASK ON THE MARKET. Conclusion, the Raven Nuvis-1 is the best mask in the world, provided the conditions are not too abhorent. However, because of this lack of versatility, it simply does not rate the top spot. Its performance is so outstanding when conditions are right that I am tempted to give it a 10, but since it is a "conditions specific" mask, then I have to deduct two points.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Top Crusader Monday, January 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Specta. The JT specta is a good mask, but this Raven mask is better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger
Dye Xcel 14 inch barrel
32 degrees sticky grips
Strengths: Extremely comfortable. The vision is great! Ive never worn another mask that has better vision that the Nuvis. The Nuvis has a cool look to it, and the foam is comfortable.
I have been playing in 20-40 degree weather, and I have had NO problems with fogging.
The lense actually does tint in bright light. I didnt really think that it would be such a big deal, but after I was done playing one time, I took off my mask in the woods, and was blinded by the sharp colors of the snow. I turned the mask around too look at the lense, and it was a purple color. I tried my friends mask on, and I could see then that the tinting factor is a great help.
The strap can be unclipped, which makes the Nuvis easy to get into, easy to get out of.
Weaknesses: I want to get a visor for this mask. It has very little forhead protection without it. That is the only complaint I have. Actually, all you have to do is wear a ball cap on backwards.
Conclusion: Much better than the JT Spectra. I recommend this mask or the Nuvis 2.0 to anyone! Im giving this mask a 9, only because it is not perfect. No mask is. Look for this mask on eBay or any other online store. I am positive you can get it for under 80 bucks. I got mine off of Yahoo auctions for 50 bucks.
Buy it NOW!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 31st, 2001
Strengths: First of all, I want to clairfy something. Anyone who has posted a review here, under the Nuvis 1 and has a lens that self tints (photochromic)... You have posted under the wrong heading!!!! If your mask has a photochromic lens then that means you have the Nuvis 2.0 !!! Now, there is a drastic difference in the two versions! The 2.0 has better face foam, the clip on the strap and the whole "hed-lok" system is improved, and most importantly... the lens on the 2.0 are not made from standard polycarbonate plastic! THEY ARE MADE FROM A POLYEURATHANE PLASTIC... what this means is that they fog ... WAY less..... like almost never.... in my case. I have owned the 2.0 NOT THE NUVIS 1 OR THE JAVA.......for almost a year and have had it fog like four or five times...... and i play everyweekend! well i missed one.... cause a friend was getting married but hey... There is no goggle system on the market that compares to the NUVIS-2.0
Weaknesses: the visor could be a little more sturdy, but i usually dont play with it one
Conclusion: Is the vision area good? it is the best, you cant even see the sides of the mask!... there is not better vision in any mask.... the vforce may be equal to it

Does it fog up a lot? rarely, on me it has fogged when going from the airconditioned inside to out in the hot humid texas woods... not the speed ball fields .... but when i am in the woods, for 15 min or so... they begin to fog

Is it a comfortable to wear? they are so light, so very comfortable, they are awesome, whenever i sit a game out or am being a ref... friends always ask if they can use them or to trade them while i ref... ANYONE WHO SAYS THAT THIS MASK IS UNCOMFORTABLE MUST BE EXTREMELY UGLY, FAT, OR HAVE SOME WEIRD SHAPED HEAD.... LIKE MAYBE A SQUARE ONE

Does it stay on well? i have never had a problem with it staying on, not slipping or anything....... the clip on the strap is awesome...... why dont other companies make a clip strap?

Is it worth how much it costs? well duh of course it is! anyone who says otherwise well... nevermind

How does it compare to similar masks?...... I am waiting for my Vforce to arrive.... and will compare the two then.. but other than that.... the only one that comes close is the JT Proteus... and the only thing that is similar is the small profile... the close fit of the mask...... but the nuvis 2.0 is way better!!!

Would you reccommend it to someone? YES YES YES........ it they are a serious player..... not just the eveyonce in awhile guys......... then they are going to need something better that the brass eagle mask they got from wally world
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 24th, 2001
Strengths: There is nothing worth complimenting anything about this mask.
Weaknesses: There is nothing worse than stopping in the middle of a game due to fogging and stretching the mask off your face just a little to get some ventilation. One of my friends have this mask. His fogged up so bad that he actually took his off during a game, told a teammate to cover him so he could spit on the inside lens and wipe it off with his jersey. Talk about taking risks on the field. The ear area is very uncomfortable. Feels like it will cut your ear. The visor is so damn cheap that it's warped.
Conclusion: I'll give my honest opinion about this mask answering the questions above:

Is the vision area good? Alright
Does it fog up a lot? "A lot" is an understatement, how about all the time....
Is it comfortable to wear? hell no
Does it stay on well? Nope, always have to adjust the hed-lok system to tighten it.
Is it worth how much it costs? No, and I wouldn't even consider wearing this mask if someone paid me to use it.
How does it compare to similar masks? It doesn't even compare, the quality of this mask is horrible.
Would you recommend it to someone? Yeah, if I really hated the person.

I've been regretting ever since the day I first used this mask. I should of read some reviews from this site before I even bought it. The photochromatic lens doesn't even help at all. Any mask should be the last thing you have to worry about when playing on the field. And for those people who gave it a 10, they are either in denial or work for the company.

Learn from me and "DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS MASK"!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
Strengths: first of, this mask looks REALLY bad ass. it gives you a very intimidating look. it barely ever fogs up on me. It didnt really fog until like the fourth time i used it at a tournament. i love the clip strap. it is so much easier to put on than my old PMI mask. it was at a good price.all in all, i love this mask.
Weaknesses: not to much is bad about this mask but only two things. first, the face mask doesnt cover low enough. i play and my neck is an easy target for my oponent. second, the ear guards scratch my ears. its really tight on my head and when i move around it is very uncomfortable for my ears.
Conclusion: All in all, i love this mask. BUY IT!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media