paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Count Crimson Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive, freak kit, spyder stock barrels, and tippman stock barrels. The Freak kit shoots the closest to the hammerhead but at long range the hammerhead pulls ahead. But there is no competition between ANY stock barrel and a Hammerhead with 5 fins.
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse w/ Disaster Bolt. 2004 Hammerhead 5 fin kit, and I still use Co2 )-:
Recommended
Paintballs:
In my experience large to small bore paint works just as well in the Hammerhead, the only paint I haven't tested is the brittle paint which I will soon and update my review with my findings. But so far all paint has shot great the better the paint to bore size the better!

Strengths: Accuracy Accuracy Accuracy
Quiet down range
Air effeciency
Weaknesses: Hard to clean initially
Expensive
Review: I'm here to refute all of the myths surrounding the Hammerhead barrel, I came to this site for guidance in my search for the most accurate barrel and decided upon reading the mixed bag of 10s and 1s that this barrel was either the most accurate on the market or just hype.

After actually shooting A hammerhead barrel on inflatable course called PSI on a 2k2 timmy most of my fears were put to rest as I lit up a pole from 150 feet away near ball on ball!

It appears that there was an older model of the Hammerhead before 2004 sometime that occasionally chopped balls at a high rate of fire, but my local paintball shop owner assured me that the 2004 revision did not share this problem.

Getting that out of the way, the barrel shot excellent! My good friend and his dad both have impulses with freak kits, nitro, disaster bolts, LPRs, etc and the hammerhead still outshoots their guns up close and at a distance, Even my neighbor's GX-4 Choas Autococker with nitro and a Lapco barrel can't outshoot my Co2 impy's Hammerhead!

It helps to have a low pressure gun like an electro when shooting brittle paint I believe but that goes for all barrels. I can say this with all honesty, the Hammerhead has never chopped a ball in my impy, although i've only shot about 2 thousand rounds through it so far.

My only complaint with the barrel is that a traditional squeege isn't going to get the job done in cleaning the Hammerhead, it just made it more dirty in my experience! You must use an all cotton/wool/ non abrassive squeege to get all of the condensation/ paint out of the barrel.

Even with condensation in the barrel it shoots great! On the field I got a great shot through a myriad of branches into this guy's neck for a one shot kill, while he was trying to unload on my with a stock impy, his balls were deviating ever so slightly into thin branches on the way to me, however the Hammerhead shot a straight trajectory to take him out!

Everyone who has shot this barrel on my gun wants one, I don't know for a fact that the rifling does anything but what I do know for a fact is that the Hammerhead barrel gets results, shooting from my porch to my fence (105 feet) I can hit a 3 inch fence board 3 out of 5 times! now while that may not sound that great the 2 that miss are within 2 inches of the board!

If you have the money ($229 for a 5 bore sizer kit .679, .683, .686, .690, .693, and one unmarked sizer lol!) go out and buy this barrel! I will say this the bore sizers make about a 4 inch tighter shot grouping at 105 feet when sized correctly, without a proper size like using .693 on .679 balls I get noticably looser groupings, but still great!

Don't just take my word for it! Don't take anyone's word for it, Shoot the hammerhead yourself and if you don't like it send it back cause Hammerhead has a money back guarantee.
Conclusion: If you have $180-229 to spend on A hammerhead do it! why? Results, if you are an accuracy enthuseist like myself you won't mind the investment, It may even save you money in the long run with all of that paint that won't be missing it's target!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

zeroeswing Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
GTA 14" Sniper (so quiet!)
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber
GTA Flatline
32 Degrees Terminator
(read every single review for barrels of 9.0 and higher(if that means anything))
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
14" Hammerhead Battle Stikxx
Pro Team f/x Sniper Stock
DOP Rocket Cock
Pro Team Hyperstar Bolt (it does work!)
Dark Horizon Lite Titanium Hammer
ACI HPA Coiled Remote Deluxe Pro (I got this when I paid for a $20 cheaper one)
BSA 3-9x 50mm Scope (longer than my marker!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever size fits best. Get a ball gauge to test. Mine is .688.
Matching paint to barrel is the best way to get more accuracy.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Not the lightest but very light
(continued below)
Weaknesses: (see below)
Review: By the way, I am not part of Hammerhead. I feel sorry for those who think I am.d

First of all, let me say that this barrel is not, I repeat, NOT an average rifled barrel made to trick you into thinking it works. It DOES work. The whole concept behind it and the point of making it is that it is shooting paintballs, not bullets. Paintballs have liquid inside. It is NOTHING like an ice cube in water and the cup is the shell. The paint in a paintball is much more viscous, you will notice (If you get hit by one). It is more like yogurt or somewhat watery yogurt. The makers of this barrel, if you read more about them, had this liquid in mind when they wanted to make a barrel that spins the paintball. The barrel gives only a slight turn to the paintball, which DOES work. People say it only works with bullets. Pffff. Rubbish. It does work on paintballs. You can spin any type of ball like that, so why not a paintball. As seen in the Hammerhead, it does make a much more accurate marker.

This barrel is so accurate it's crazy. It goes exactly where I want it to go ball on top of ball hopper on top of hopper at any distance a marker can shoot. I can't begin to explain my amazement at its accuracy. Another very useful thing is that the ball will always break on target. The company promises 99% percent of the time. That is definitely true provided you keep it clean.

There is a bad point. After a while of playing and the minuscule amounts of ball breaks you will get, you have to clean it. A squeegee will not do. Crud gets stuck in the little grooves in between the rifling that is hard to get out. I use toilet paper or a clothe scrub head thingy that I have.

A very convenient thing is about ball breaks. If and when you get them (I've never heard of a barrel that didn't break once), you simply keep firing and it will start to fire like new again. Of course, over time, if you do not clean the crud that builds up in those grooves over a dozen games or so, the barrel wil suck. You will notice how much more ball bounces you will get and a sharp decrease in accuracy. Once again, keep those grooves clean, and the barrel will be the best.

This barrel is pretty dang quiet if you ask me. It directs the noise back towards the shooter. The effect of this is downrange people hear you a lot less than you hear yourself. It might not compare in quietness to a good amount of others, but it is still up there in the ranks of the quiet barrels.

This barrel adds barely any weight to your marker, so don't worry about that. It is very light. There may be a lighter barrel, but it is definitely not nearly as accurate.

When I first got this barrel, it was 12". I ordered 14". I didn't notice until just recently. Guess what. I called Paul Judson (President of Hammerhead), told him about the problem and he replaced it no questions asked (except "what size did you want", etc.). Now I have a brand new, better than before Battle Stikxx. I think it looks so much cooler.

I say better because Mr. Judson noted that the manufacturer for his company had changed and that no defects are possible because of the quality. I can vouch for that because the quality of the barrel he sent was so much better than the first.

When I first decided this barrel, its rating here was 10. After I purchased it, the rating declined rapidly to 9.0 or something that scared me. There was nothing I could do because I had already bought it. However, when it arrived, I was definitely satisfied and content with my purchase. It far exceeded my expectations.

For anyone who bought this and was not happy, I strongly believe you got a defect. Simply call Mr. Judson, and tell him. He will be so happy so send you a replacement.
You will definitely be happy with the new one he will send.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel to anyone who holds accuracy to be the most important trait of a barrel. Along with that is it's always break on target ability. Remember to clean it, though. I gave it a 10 because it's such an awesome barrel. The good far outweighs the bad. The customer service is so frigging awesome. After 6 months, they replaced it for a much better quality one. I am so very content with this barrel and anyone who buys it now, I know you will be content, also.

The price may be high, but I think it is completely worth it.

Sorry I couldn't be more specific. I am just too happy with this thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xforcefalconx Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c, Hammerhead Barrel, ADCO Sure Shot Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big Ball
Strengths: Accurate ( to a degree )
Self cleans fairly well
easy to install
Weaknesses: Inconsistent
Kind of pricey $120
Hard to find
Review: I recently purchased this barrel during the winter. When spring rolled around I was excited to use it. After I shot about 20 paintballs I noticed some were curving and some were straight. This is the main problem with this barrel, INCONSISTENCY!
While some of your shots will shoot straight on a line, others will curve off into some direction where they aren't suppossed to. The better the paint you use the more straight shots you will get, but you will still always get recent occurings of curving so that does not make enough of a difference for me to reccomend it.
The good news is that it does self clean fairly well ( takes about 5-8 shots ) and does not break that many balls. Also if you don't fire too fast your shots wont curve as much either, but when your in a close firefight you don't want to be shooting slowly.
Conclusion: If I could do it again I would not have bought this barrel because I know there are better products out there and advise you to look for them. I will now spend my time looking to sell this barrel so i can get something more consistent. Look harder, this isn't that great of a barrel so find something better. 6.5 out of 10
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VonOrt Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much any barrel you can name. Freak, J&J edge, Kaner, Bizerk, Dye Ultralight, J&J ceramic one peice, CP one peice, Matchsticks any others you can think of.
Marker Setup: 2k3 Vert Feed Auto Cocker. Shocktech Pneumatics and Bolt. Palmer Male Stabelizer. Crossfire HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything. It has different ball sizers so you should be able to find the right size for your paint
Strengths: Accuracy
Quiet
Accuracy
Weaknesses: A little Pricey (but not really in comparison for what you get)
Review: I have been playing Paintball since 1986. I have shot about every type of barrel and marker that has been out. I can honestly say that this is the BEST barrel I have ever used. There will be a lot of people that tell you this barrel is hype. There are only 2 reasons that they would say this. 1. They have never shot the barrel. 2. They are afraid to admit that their old barrel is not as good. Robert (the owner) is a super nice guy. I met him at a Scenario recently at his booth. All he asked for was a drivers license, and off to the feild I was with a brand new barrel to use for the day. It only took me about 1 hour of use when I realized the Beauty of this barrel. I had to have it. I came off the feild, stopped at my truck and got the cash out. I have never been this impressed with a product in Paintball. Would just like to say Thank you to Robert for making a barrel that is finally worth while having and spending money on.

Initially the price seems high. But for this barrel it is worth it. And if you can catch the guys from Hammerhead at an event a lot of times they have them for a reduced price. Also they told me they expect a price break soon since the sales are starting to pick up.
Conclusion: Overall the best barrel I have ever shot. I will not put any other barrel on my marker from now on. This thing is Accurate, Accurate, Accurate, Only barrel I would ever give a 10 too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBPete Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: A-5 With E-grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work
Strengths: Accurate, light, quiet, looks good, bore sizers, well made
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: I am going to start by saying that I am not in any way employed by or sponsored by Hammerhead Paintball.

I have been playing paintball for about eleven years now and have shot a lot of different markers and a lot of different barrels. This barrel is by far the best one that I have ever shot. You can tell by your look at the thing, it looks and feels like a real gun barrel and not a piece of aluminum tubing a few holes and some threads tapped into one end. The whole thing was milled on a CNC machine. It doesn't feel like other paintball barrels.

This thing shoots straighter and farther than any other barrel I have ever used. I went out with a friend right after I got the barrel. We were both shooting identical markers except for the barrels. He was using a Pro-lite barrel. The patterns on the targets were about the same only I was about thirty feet behind where he was shooting. The first time that I played a game with it I stood next to a friend with a Freak barrel and the Hammerhead shot the balls straighter and farther(my velocity screw was turned down almost all of the way).

The ads say that the shooter may experience more noise because of the backwards porting. It is a lot more quiet than the stock barrel that I used to have.

It is a little difficult to get perfectly clean if you break a ball(which doesn't happen very often). This isn't a problem because it will still shoot straight even with a broken ball, it just doesn't look very nice.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel that your money can buy. It is expensive but it is worth every penny. I bought the barrel with the fin kit and had some doubts about shelling out $250 for a barrel kit that only has three bore sizers. After using it I plan on buying another kit so I can have all the bore sizers and another length barrel. It really is that good. It has convinced a few of my friends to get them for their markers.

I have one last thing to say to the people that wrote the reviews that trashed this barrel. The reason that the balls were curving randomly is your velocity was set too high. My marker does it as well. All you have to do is turn your marker down and you start shooting straight as an arrow. The balls do not break on the rifling in the barrel. They are a couple of tenths of a millimeter deep, it isn't like the balls are being forced through 1/4 inch deep razor sharp grooves. As far as quoting reseach about how putting spin on a paintball doesn't help accruacy. I can't say if it does or doesn't but this barrel is extremly accurate. One person said that the Armson barrel was rifled and it didn't work so anyother rifled barrel wouldn't either. I have shot Armson barrels and they do suck. This barrel is NOT an Armson. Finally giving this particular barrel such a low rating makes me wonder if those people are either paid by or sponsored by Smartparts, Dye, or some other barrel manufacturer
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyPaintbal Wednesday, March 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomsticks....not really any for this price to compare...for higher price, the freaks
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP VF Autococker, 14'' Hammerhead Barrel, Halo TBA LCD Frontman, Dye Bolt,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Its really depends on what jives with your gun... but i wouldn't shoot any less than PMI premiums
Strengths: Accurate, Cool looking, Rifling, Price and all the different fins..(bore sizes)
Weaknesses: Manufacturer's slow (took forever to get it), little hard to clean..but worth it
Review: I was going to get the boomstick for my first upgrade for my gun, but the dealer talked me out of it and said to get the hammerhead... i was unsure, but since i read some of these reviews i felt a little better....

this is a grate barrel mostly for its accuracy... i was shooting 25 yards with PMI premium and and the range of hits was 6 ins.... when i tested it from 50 yards the hit range was 11 ins...

If i was to pick the Inch size of the barrel i would look at ur gun... anything over 14'' isn't really worth it unless you have a good gun that can put the ball out that fast to see any difference... but i wouldn't recommend anything less than a 14'' no matter what gun you have
Conclusion: Over all I really think this is a great barrel, better than more of the others for its price... and one of the beauties of the barrel is that it will shot great on almost any type of paint... I give it a 10 for the quality... Of coarse there are better barrels out there but this is best for its price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

CarlosLN Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite like this one. Dye Ultralight is what i usually use.
Marker Setup: Dragon Intimidator, superfly bolt, shocktech hammer kit, was switch, was board, carbon fiber techna trigger, shocktech drop forward, paintball pins custom trigger guard, Dye Throttle 71
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil or Marbs it wouldn't matter this thing shoots just about anything well.
Strengths: Rock solid accuracy. Lighter than a dye ultralight.
Weaknesses: bore size must match perfectly to get the full benefit
Review: Great barrel it's extremely accurate. Remember if you have a fast firing gun like a timmy you want a bit of a looser bore size. The .688 is pretty good for most paint but you'd be better off using a .690 for practice/field paint like pmi premium. If your going to get 2 bore sizes get a .688 and .690 if your shooting something fast like a timmy. If your shooting a cocker .686 and .688 are great for you. Make sure you screw this barrel tight or you'll get a wierd spin effect at the end of the shot.
Conclusion: This barrel if you have the right bore size on it shoots like a freaking dream and is really accurate i'm talking fine tuned cocker accurate. If you have a cocker already it becomes even more accurate with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbvince998 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: wgp autococker halo tsa hammerhead
Recommended
Paintballs:
kick'n and worr
Strengths: the riffling reverse porting
Weaknesses: to light makes my gun back heavy but i dont mind
Review: IMO i think this is one of the best barrels ive ever seen when you break a ball the paint goes into the porting so the broken ball wont change your accuracy if you ever break a ball i can go out to the field and be able to see a persons pod or arm or even sometimes a barrel and be able to get them out.
Conclusion: in conclusion i think this barrel is well worth the $125 i paid for it i have absolutely no problems with it and i would recommend it to someone who wants a nice barrel without all the inserts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Sneaks Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Boomstick-I love the BStick, but it doesn't hold place next to the Hammerhead
DYE SS series-Great barrel, but same as above
JJ C-barrel-its ok
Marker Setup: 02 wgp vert autococker ,palmer regs. sidewinder red...,free flow ram, lightning bolt and crossfire nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much any paint will do, although barrel is awesome with .686--seems like that caliber was designed for the hammerhead.
Strengths: Acuracy&Acuracy@ its Quiet. This barrel is easily the Godfater of Barrels
Weaknesses: Marines were the first to use it..Go Army CavScouts!!!!!
Review: When I first started playing I used mainly dye boomsticks and the ss series barrels..I was pretty happy with the boomstick b/c of its accuracy and how consistant it was. When I was in the army I heard marines actually do some training exercises with paintball guns...Also knowing they had a specially designed barrel-that wasn't on the market due to Gov....So the Hammerhead hit the market and a lot of hype was sproiled into the air about it. So I had to try it...It's the only barrel I play with now...BY FAR THE MOST ACCURATE BARREL I HAVE EVER SEEN& ITS QUIET...THE BOOMSTICK SIMPLY HAS BEEN RETIRED TO SECOND PERFORMANCE WISE!!!!!Even when raining it steps up to par...Within 35ft. I kept a 2inch-2 1/2 radius with 10 shots...The gun was stationary during this trial...Than I slapped the old boomstick and it kept about a 7 1/2 to 9 inch radius with 10 shots...I couldn't believe it!
Conclusion: Go out and get it....If u can try using .686 on your paint.....It's def. worth the money and all other barrels need to drop thier prices b/c they have been outdone...The Hammerhead is the Godfather of Barrels...Join the mob and get to shootin..This barrel deserves a 11 on product rating, but I will have to settle for 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mradventure888 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested85 of 140 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything
Marker Setup: old school autococker, prolite (with a taso SS barrel that i used to make one shot kills at over 300 feet), spyder, mag, and a tigershark (i can't get rid of because it was my first marker)
Recommended
Paintballs:
allstars (because of the small size they tend to break less)
Strengths: nice job on the porting.
nice craftmanship.
good milling.
tack driver at under 15 feet.
Weaknesses: throws paint "off" target at long range.
doesn't clean well.
Review: OK, would the owners of the company and those sponsored by Hammerhead please stop writing reviews on this product. This website is supposed to be for players by players. Thank you.
------------------------------------

Since 1986 I have seen every kind of paintball barrel come and go; brass, nickle, aluminum, steel, rifled, ported, spiral ported, different internal diameters, slotted, etc... And I can tell you guys with all sincerity that internal rifling doesn't work for the following reasons.
1) You can't rifle a round paintball and expect it to go straight, when spin is induced on a paintball it spins unpredictably. Thats why curve balls in baseball work so well. A bullet is different, that is a cylindrical object that stabilizes in flight.
2) How are you suppose to shoot thru a break if paint is trapped within the groves of a internally rifled barrel. Remember ARMSON, they tried something like that in the mid 90's and when you broke a ball (which was every other time because of the stress imposed on the shell as the rifling DUG into it) you "had" to squeegee it.
3) Paintball's are not perfectly round and have fluid in them. How can a uneven water balloon fly straight if it is spinning?
4) There is a "Video Clip" circulating on the Internet that shows the hammerhead being shoot right after a break. Well you will notice that the next 10 or so balls are ALL over the place then "mysteriously" the barrel fades into a different part of the screen and the trees are blowing harder and the barrel shoots good again. The reason for this is they squeegeed the barrel and then did a little video fade work to make you think that it was shot clean?!?!

NOW lets get down to business----->
A friend of mine got this barrel because he heard all the hype on it (despite my objections). I told him to get a powerlyte but he didn't listen. Oh well, such is life....
We tried it out last Sunday, and needless to say it didn't flip my skirt.
First off don't even think of using brittle paint like diablo or maxim 2's (suck) they will break always! To much friction.
Second, the ball's have to be seamless or have a very smooth seam. Otherwise they will wander at about 40 feet.
Third, I actually noticed a decrease in accuracy at long range when compared to my friends boomstick.
Forth, don't EVEN think you can shoot the hammerhead clean, after a half of a hopper we still noticed a slight paint residue between the groves causing the paint to zip around below 30 feet!!!!!!
Fifth, we tried allstar, bigball, borrowed some diablo, worr-paint, premium, and slam. All had the same results: Sucky....
-------------------------------

And now a few words from Tom Kaye creator of the automag (taken from Airgun Designs Web page, in the tech section)

It was asked in another post what effect do riffled barrels have on spinning a paintball, not drilled holes, actual rifling like in real guns. This is a good question and one that was explored by our research team.

In theory spinning a projectile on the axis of flight adds gyroscopic stability as well as averages out any imperfections in the surface air flow. Paintballs leave a bad turbulence wake behind them that "walks around" the back of the ball as it flies through the air. This is the main cause of a paintballs inaccuracy as the turbulence tail drags the ball around sideways in flight. Spinning the ball should create a tornado like vortex in the back of the ball thereby evening out all the turbulence so the ball is not pulled any particular way.

So great you say lets do it and get more accuracy!! Well if it was possible it would already have been done. The problem is the liquid fill, when you rotate the shell, the liquid tends to stay where it is. The best example of this is a glass of water with ice floating in it, when you rotate the glass the ice stays in the same place (you have all seen it). So if you can grab the ball hard enough to go from 0 to about 10,000 RPM's in 5 thousands of a second (remember TechTip #1?) Yes the shell is spinning but the fill is not. When the ball leaves the barrel the viscosity of the fill slows the shell down but the fill's rotation is speeding up from the shell too, so you get an almost instant reduction of the RPM's out of the barrel. The balls rotation does not come to a complete stop because the shell does impart some spin to the fill. In order to test this properly we actually developed a gun that spun the barrel, with the ball in it, up to 30,000 RPM's and then shot the ball out.

In this way we knew the ball and the fill were completely up to speed when it left the barrel. We had visions of a spinning barrel paintgun that would make that high speed turbo wine! Unfortunately this didn't improve the accuracy because the ball is still too light.

As a final test we developed a barrel that had three razor edged knife blades running down the length of the bore. Using our plastic paintballs they wedged in the blades perfectly and we spun up the barrel and fired more test rounds. Because the knives would cut the ball we could examine them after the fact to see if they were rotating in the barrel etc. Again unfortunately we saw no improvement in accuracy and gave up.

Based on this data we believe round paintballs are too light and have lousy aerodynamics to expect any more accuracy than what we are currently getting. When the military came to us and wanted a more accurate non lethal system we made a bullet shaped, spin stabilized paintball that far outperformed any equal weight round projectile. Accuracy by volume has been, and will remain, the best way to score eliminations.



Conclusion: This barrel is just like the Armson of 1990, it sucks. The only difference is that it has nicer porting, maybe in another 13 years we will see a better internally rifled barrel that will make a slight improvement in accuracy over the last one. haha. But still not up to the good old straight porting with no step that I have grown to love.

Do not buy this barrel, if you don't take my 16+ years of experience, go ahead and throw down $125.99 ;-) My friend said he might sell his on ebay, so keep your eyes open.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
75 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media