paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel / Hammerhead Barrel

Hammerhead Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Hammerhead Barrels have Internal rifling, angled porting on the muzzle break, and a wicked shape that WAS NOT designed for looks. Comes in sliver and black in various sizes.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
CARLTON COOPER Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wgp kaner barrrel system, Freak
Marker Setup: 2003 Cocker all oracle parts.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any shoots all of them well
Strengths: Quiet,air efficient. And very accurate
Weaknesses: only comes with three backs would like to see a fourth.
Review: I have recently aquired this barrel system,I was sceptical at first. Especially since it is a rifled barrel system.So i put it up aginst a Wgp Kaner barrel system,a Freak barrel system. I shot all the same size inserts to keep the comparison fair,and I chroned after each barrel change. The first thing i noticed was that the Hammerhead system was more air efficient. about 10 more balls per 100. I shot this barrel at different ranges. I was shooting 32 degrees team colors that I had left over from a scenario game back in feb. It was out of round and dimpled. The reason i chose this paint is, I figured if this new barrel could shoot crappy paint good it should be able to shoot good paint even better. well anyways I shot at three distances, 35yds,50yds,and 85yds. All the barrels were accurate at 35 even though i got a few more hits on the target with the hamerhead. then I shot the 50yd target I shot 10 balls a piece at the same target from each barrel if your wondering. Anyway at 50yds.the freak was 7 out of 10 the kaner was 7 out of 10 and the hammerhead was 9-10. yes this was a fixed position on the gun.
anyway I took a box and sat it on a fence post about 85yds away and begin the process all over and to my surprise the kaner had 2-10 hits and the freak 3-10 hits and the hamerhead tended to regenerate the balls for a lack of a better word it tokk the curve out of the ball and i did not have that hovering up and down side to side look and it flew straight with no arch like a bullet , any way i managed 7-10 hits and remember i was shooting really crappy paint . The other thing I noticed was the hammerhead barrlel was loud but i later figured out going down range and listening to all three barrels being shot that it was the quieter one of the three because the majority of the sound was projected back at the shooter so that made me happy being a scenario player. Well any way thats my take on the barrel system.
The only thing I would like to see in the barrel system is four backs instead of three. But other than that i give it a 10 out of 10 rating. U gotta try out. Here is a link.

http://www.hammerheadpaintball.com
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel to any of my friends, even though the Fin kit by Hammerhead is $240.00 I do beleive it is well worth its weight in gold.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

james_gang Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 14"
Smart Parts All American 16"
Marker Setup: stock cocker body, freeflow internals. ans front block. ans gen-x vert reg. wgp hinge. hammerhead barrel. hyperflow 201 68/45 nitro
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing has been good through it
Strengths: most accurarte i've ever shot
Weaknesses: gets kinda expensive
Review: I have never said anything was the best, but this barrel has made me say that its the best barrel i have ever shot. The drawback is that the barrel is a little expensive and w/ the fin kit it gets a little more expensive. This barrel can outshoot in distance and accuracy my all american and my boomstick, then tryed it against my friends freak, it shot farther and was more accurate than it. There is no sleevs to worry about loosing or falling on the ground, just screw a new back on it and your ready to go. And i want to thank Robert at Offcial Paintball in Garland Texas for talking me into it.
Conclusion: i know its expensive, but its worth all of it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 29th, 2003 at 9:56 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

91cocker Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J, Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: '03 Outkast with shocktech supafly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer
Strengths: Looks, weight and accuracy
Weaknesses: none!!!!!
Review: This new barrel from Hammerhead is unreal. These barrels even have "rifling twist" to make that shot on a dime. Man, these things are great. If you can't match the paint to the barrel, then you can purchase the "Fin" kit to adjust the barrel to the paint. AKA field paint only games. This thing shoots darts. I play back and only use a 12 inch Hammerhead barrel. Get one today!!!!
Conclusion: These barrels are more expensive, but well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A pb Guy_456 Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none, what can be better than this?
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils work great for me.
Strengths: I have found it to be very accurate,consistent,and quiet.
Weaknesses: no glaring weaknesses, but the price could be cheaper.
Review: I first heard about this barrel in an old "What Paintball Gear?" magazine. It explained how the internal rifling and porting contributed to it being accurate, quite and efficient. I wanted so bad to try it that I ordered it the instant I finished reading the article. It arrived very quickly a few days later. The next day I went out to try my new barrel at the field. Everyone was pretty confused because they never have seen or heard of this barrel before. While I was playing, they noticed how consistent my shots were. Later that day they asked me a lot of questions about it.
Conclusion: If I had the chance to, I'd buy this barrel all over again. It was the best barrel I have ever heard about.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vikinggod Wednesday, June 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak barrel system
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator GZ w/ Mac-Dev Conquest 4500psi,68ci air system, Hammerhead barrel w/fin kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, All-Star, Marballizer,Hellfire
Strengths: Accurate,quiet, light

Weaknesses: The barrel with the fin kit is not cheap.
Review: I had a chance to shoot prototypes of the barrel. As soon as it was available for sale I bought the fin kit w/10 in. barrel. It came with 3 sizer's (.683, .686,.690) with an option to buy a 4th. The smallest sizer in my opinion is useless, since I've never used paintball's that small.
This is the most accurate barrel I've used. Where it really beat's the Freak system, is at longer distance's, the grouping's are much tighter. It is quiet and very light. The only time I've broken balls in the barrel was on a very cold morning, and at a field that had cheap field only paint. It cleaned out decently after 3 or 4 shot's.
The barrel screws into the sizer, no messing with inserts, and the sizer is less than half the length of any kit that has sizer's or insert's that I have seen.
I also seem to get more shot's from a tank of air since using the hammerhead.
Conclusion: Buy it. They have added more sizer's since I bought the barrel. At the field I played at and the barrel was first marketed, many player's switched from the freak system and all were happy. A few people had problem's with the threading on the some of the sizer's and problem was quickly dealt with. The fit and finish is excellant. I plan on adding a longer barrel and getting a couple more sizer's.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballGuys Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak w/ 14" AA Front. The Hammerhead is noticable more accurate and the marker uses less air with this barrel than the Freak with both adjusted to shoot at 285 fps.
Marker Setup: ANS GX3 'cocker, HPA, WGP Hinge, Hammerhead w/ Fin, Revy w/ Turbo X board.
Recommended
Paintballs:
You can shoot anything with this barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy, Accuracy, Accuracy.
Weaknesses: You'll have no more excuses.
Review: Three of us used the Hammerhead w/ a Fin this weekend for the first time. All of us shoot ANS GX3s but play different positions and styles.

We were shooting 10" Hammerheads on 1 1/4" fins. (The fin acutally measures longer than this - this is the "active" length). This makes the overall lenth 11 1/4". We each have a "Fin Kit" which gets you three Fins - Hammerhead lets you pick the sizes you want in the kit. We've added a fourth fin to provide a slightly broader ball diameter range giving us: 0.690", 0.688", 0.066", and 0.683" Fins. (We also tried a 14" Hammerhead on the practice range. Accuracy was also excellent although not quite as good as the 10". It also seemed to take a bit more air - which should be expected from the longer barrel.)

First of all, the materials, machining, and fit & finish are all excellent. The barrel has a fine spiral rifling and angled porting near the tip. This is some of the nicest machining I've seen. It's clear that they've taken time to get the product "done" before they sell it.

Four cases of paint (different makes), speedball and woods games, front-back play, attack-defense: no barrel breaks, no chops, lots of kills.

We've been shooting Freaks and AAs for some time. The Hammerheads are very clearly more accurate. On the practice range, I found myself focusing my shots not on a particular target, but on a bolt on the target - and repeatably putting paint on the bolt. In speedball, I'd post on someone and be able to consistently put shots right where I wanted them - about an inch off the edge of the bunker - shot after shot after shot. In the woods, the accuracy at long range was also excellent (defending a hill). This is even more impressive considering the compact package: 11 1/4" overall lenght.

We took turns firing the markers and also being down-range, and switching between the Freak and Hammerhead. The Hammerhead was louder to the shooter, but quieter to the guy being shot. It seems that the angled porting helps direct part of the sound back toward the shooter, making it quieter down-range ... and it works.

I was a bit skeptical at first that anything could significantly out perform my Freak. OK, I was wrong, the Hammerhead/Fin combination is clearly more accurate than my Freak, used less air, and cost less.

Conclusion: I've never shot anything as accurate as this setup. If you have the money to buy a milti-part barrel kit, buy a Hammerhead and a Fin Kit. Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

pbplayer09 Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel system but this is better
Marker Setup: black matte works with 45 ,3000 nitro tank 12v hopper hammerhead 14" barrel
Strengths: quite,great acc,quite,quite hmm.... QUITE
Weaknesses: its alittle loud to you but not to them
Review: get it its the best barrel more acc then a freak quiter then the freak and dye but together at 50 yards the other team cant hear any thing but this ssssssw sound its alsome they dont know where the hell you are at you really dont need to buy the fins just buy the barrel for a little over a 100 it make my works deadly
Conclusion: its a great barrel for a great price buy it now be for it get popular and the price goes up lol it will be hard to find a least
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media