paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan / JT X-Wind Mask Fan

JT X-Wind Mask Fan Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT X-Wind Mask Fan

Paintball Mask / Goggle Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT X-Wind Mask Fan
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This high speed fan is uniquely designed to extract hot humid air from inside the goggle, exchange it with cool fresh air and de-fog the Elite, Spectra or Flex 7 goggles.
Product Availability 
The JT X-Wind Mask Fan is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
commandman10 Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
vortex
Marker Setup: E1 Black Dragun 12v loader all stock
Strengths: Well it makes you face feel cool and nice.My mask is thermal and they have only fogged once and when they did I switched it on.Vrmmmm.In a matter of seconds all the mayjor fog was gone.It took about a minute for my googles to become totally clear again.This thing can also take a hit but not more than one.I dont have a visor so it got hit.Its aslo very cheap 25 bucks.
Weaknesses: Well I guess the battery kinda hrad to put in but no that hard.
Conclusion: A great product.I would highly recomond to anyone. Also if you dont have a thermal mask I would get this before I blinked again.(I suppose)Anyway its a great product at a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magman505 Sunday, June 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: SF hr Mag // Z-grip // Kapp 4grip extender and grip // df // 12" Boomie // 14" AA // 12v Rev // Crossfire 45/4500 // Jt Spectra thermal
Strengths: have used it only once, but during a hot and muggy July night in Central Florida (daytime summer paintball in Florida is for the insane). I have glasses I use under my JT Spectra's. They have thermal lenses so I was mainly concerned with my glasses. I don't like the distortion I get off of my glasses after I put the no fog spray on. With the fan they would remove any fog off of my glasses inside of 30 seconds. I found that if I kept it running the whole game it kept my glasses fog free. The noise to me was negligible. I was able to install in about 10 minutes, but I haven't changed the battery yet.
Weaknesses: Battery looks like it my be hard to exchange, but since I haven't done that yet I can't complain about it.
Conclusion: Overall great buy at $20. I would recommend for any glasses wearers who have similar fogging/distortion problems and who play in hot and humid weather.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mills86 Thursday, June 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing directly related
Thermal lenses
Marker Setup: piranha sts
armson stealth barrel
expansion chamber
dye stickies
ADCO iMp sight
many smaller things
pt extreme
Strengths: It is honestly the best thing i have bought for paintballing besides my stealth barrel. It instantly cools off your face and makes you feel better. Totally clears all fog in about a minute but gets rid of the major stuff in a few seconds. Cheap I got mine for $25. With thermal lenses there is no chance of fog being a problem for me( and I don't really have a good mask just the right system).
Weaknesses: The instillation is a issue for some people, the first time it will probably take 20 minutes after that it will get easier. But for me i take pride in having the cleanest and best kept paintball gear on the Field, so I clean and maintain my mask and gear weekly. It is sort of loud, the loud i am referring to is the sound inside of your mask. The outside sound is very minimal.
Conclusion: Myself and 2 other friends purchased this fan since it was soo cheap. Both of my friends fans are very quiet not much more than a mosquito buzzing around. But i got stuck with the louder one. I took apart my fan and noticed that the motor and battery rattled around quite a bit in my fan, so i put foam in places where plastic would rub against plastic. This reduced the sound of my fan alot. This is a very good purchase. The most important thing to your game is sight, and if you have fog/steam you can not see. I am looking forward to more and more fogless games. This product is not perfect so i will give it a 9.3 but the closest to that is 9 on the scale. Remember 5 is average.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_guy Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter with J&J ceramic barrel/venturi bolt
JT nvader goggles with x-wind fan
Strengths: Reduces fog from goggles really well. This only costs $25.00. It is worth your money.
Weaknesses: the annoying buzzing sound it makes and it is extremely difficult to install. Mine has not run out of batteries yet but i am going to hate putting this back on when it does.
Conclusion: Since I have bought this and thermal goggles i never have to worry about being blind in the field and missing a shot. I am extremely happy I bought this even though it makes an annoying buzzing sound but i got used to that after a while. I am giving this a 9.5 but since you cant pick that i will just give it a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vortex fan and homemade computer fans used to clear fog in gogle systems
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+, Spectra Termal w/X-wind, Aftermarket bolt, thumb screws, foam barrel grip, 20oz butt plate, dye red dot sight, and barrel extension.
Strengths: -Cools face
-Clears fog
-Looks cool
-Last long
-Easy to turn off/on
Weaknesses: -a little difficult to install: mabe this is like this so the product stays in place
-fairly loud: it has a motor so it has to produce some noise, not bad
-difficult to replace the battery
Conclusion: I cut a hole about the size of a nickel in the gogle system where the fan sets so it could move more air. If you have dry eyes, this may not be the thing to do for you because it may dry out your left eye. Play around, GOOD PRODUCT, I got mine for $25. WORTH THE MONEY
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintNB Friday, March 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: C98 Response Trigger, Flatline, Rocket Cock, PMI Drop Forward,Double Trigger, PowerFeed, 14" Boomstick and a Revvy 12 JT Mask with the X wind
Strengths: I had a REAL bad problem with my mask Fogging up but after getting the X-wind there were NO problems. I will clear your mask up in a matter of seconds. I did not find the fan that hard to install and you don't have to take the fan off to get at the batteries, all you have to do is unscrew the back and take the batteries out that way. it is also very strong...there is no paintball out there that is going to break this.
Weaknesses: It was a little expensive for me to get in canada for some reason. IT also could be a little easier to install ( it wasn't hard just a little time consuming).
Conclusion: if you have a problem with your mask fogging up, you have to get this!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing yet
Marker Setup: Tippman ProCarbine with 12" Taso Stainless steel barrel.
Strengths: This fan does get the job done, but it seems to take a while, before the mask is cleared well. It's small and easy to maintain and not too expensive.
Weaknesses: If a paintball hits this thing, it will probably explode. There is also only a fan on the left side of the unit, which makes it harder to clear the right side of your mask. It only fits on certain JT masks, hopefully someone will make one that is more compatible with other masks.
Conclusion: If you are desperate for something to clear your mask, this is your best bet for now.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: stock Model 98, new J+J ceramic on the way.
Strengths: It helps players like me who wear eyeglasses. It is the only paintball mask fan that I know of. You can modify it to give it more power (see below).
Weaknesses: For one thing, the little fan with just 1.5 volts of power only provides minimal fog removal. If you are sweating, the fog usually collects faster than the fan clears it. The other major problem is how difficult it is to install. Without exageration, it has taken me over 1 hour to install this thing at times, and it must be removed and reinstalled every time you take out the lense to clean it. Although they say it can take a direct hit, I got hit dead center on it and one of the support pegs broke off. Another one of the pegs broke off when I was removing the fan from the mask. The cost is also too high. When I bought it, it was 60$, but you can get it much cheaper now, but sill...
Conclusion: It is a shame that JT couldn't have put a little more thought into designing this the only fan available, however I was able to modify the fan. The fan comes with a two way switch, so I got he idea of hooking one side of the switch to a 9 volt battery. This involved changing the way the wires were run a bit and connecting a 9 volt battery adapter. I then mounted the battery on top with a little electrical tape (fits there pretty good). You can now switch the fan one way for slow speed (1.5 volt) and the other way for fast speed (9 volt). I was afraid the fan couldn't handle the extra power, but it hasn't burned out. The 9 volt. is really LOUD, but it is so powerful you only need to run it 5-10 seconds at most to completly remove any fog on lense or eyeglasses.

I will give it a 5 just because it's the only fan you can buy that's made to fit a pb mask (sort of). If you get it, you should modify it to give it more power. It only took me about an hour and a couple of dollars to do this. You just need minimal soldering skills.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tony Friday, October 5th, 2001
Strengths: Great fan, works hard at getting air in or taking humidity out (depending how you put the batteries).
Weaknesses: the little metal pieces that hold the battery in place snapped, spent about an hour trying to solder them back on. They are a problem to get on and take off the mask in the beginning, you have to enlarge all the holes with an exacto knife.
Conclusion: They are great at what they were designed to do, although in the heaviest of humid conditions they dont work quite as fast. In my opinion, this is definately something worth purchasing if you play a lot in hot humid conditions,0 like Florida, California, Borneo, the Amazon etc.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 28th, 2001
Strengths: Works as advertised. Give it about 10 seconds max and you can see clearly again.
Weaknesses: Pain in the arse to get on an nForcer. I had to take the lens out to get it seated all the way. Real pain in the arse to get the lens back in too...
Conclusion: Pricey. I think JT is discontinuing the fan for their vortex (same thing). If you have fog problems with a thermal lens then this is your solution.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media