paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper / Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper

Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
BE Pocket Hopper is a 50 count hopper. Comes with some Brass Eagles low end markers, and is also available for purchase.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
apjohnny416 Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hoppers...
Marker Setup: -Cci Phantom Vertical stock Class
-3.5 Oz co2 tank
-Gauge Installed into Valve

-Tippman A-5
-Heavy Internal Mods
-18inch Operator Barrel
-Ops gear Shroud
-North star Red Dot
-Site Riser
-Tasco Three Point Stock
-14inch Progressive

-Sl-68ll
-120z Tank
-Cross man Red Dot
-Homemade 21 Round Tube
-Custom Paint Job
-Heavy Internal Work

-Piranha Gti
-App Expansion Chamber
-Some Internal mods

Tippmann Pro-Carbine
-operator ten inch
-Progressive
-Milled Grip
-Internal Mods
-Hittmann Buttstock
Strengths: -Small
-Looks
-Perfect For Stock
-Mil-sim
-No sprind-lid
Weaknesses: -Weak Plastic
-No Spring Lid
-Small
Review: A good product from brass eagle, i use this on my modified stock class sl-68 and i have use it on my pro-carbine and my Piranha gti. You learn to conserve paint, and it also is very light. You cant really use big pods to load it.

This product is excellent for stock class and holds about fifty rounds, i got this for free somewhere and tossed it into a box, but i have used it much, mill the little ridge outta inside of the feed tube and it will feed a bit faster.

You cant really fill it to the top but it can hold enough, ive used it many times and its one of my top used products. If your making a light weight marker and can afford to this is the product for you, if you want a good mil-sim hopper, this is the hopper for you, if you want a modified stock hopper, this is the hopper for you.

The hopper has amazingly good looks for brass eagle as well, there is no sprin to keep the lid open, which could be good or bad depending how you look at it.
Conclusion: If you need a small hopper, or good looks and wanna learn how to lose little paint this is for you, i love mine, and use it often, it isn't the strongest but you can only abuse tippmanns beyond belief and expect them to work. Nine out of ten for the fact its not spring loaded and the fact it is somewhat weak.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Marker Setup: Sovereign Mk1
-----------------
Sterling STP
12" DAC
50 rnd BE Hopper
Strengths: Small and nimble (and cute)
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: it's a very basic hopper, like the VL200 but smaller. Perfect for pump games that aren't stock class. The only thing missing would be a motor but it's not that necessary. Its 50 ball capacity isn't for ball sprayers anyway.

It's also handy for snipers that want something small but not as limiting as the Longbow mag or any 10 rnd pistol.
Conclusion: Definately good to have during pump games, or when playing as a sniper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HomerSS_jr Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, shocktech drop forward, Brass eagle 50 hopper, shocktech superfly bolt, 14 inches 32 degrees night stick barrel, 9 ounce co2 tank
Strengths: Small, clear, makes your gun lighter than regular 200 hopper, and cost
Weaknesses: The lid is sometimes hard to close
Review: This hopper is good because its small and you can see better. My dads friend has one too and he says its good because he has a pump gun with a scope, he is a sniper and doesn't need alot of paintballs. I can see inside to see how many shots I have.
My dad got me this hopper before Christmas because the other one was too heavy when it was full.
Conclusion: This is a good hopper for beginners and snipers and its $3 dollars
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Pocket Hopper
Marker Setup: Classic-Valved Tac-One Automag
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Strengths: TINY, low profile, lightweight, inexpensive, forces you to be conservative and make shots count.
Weaknesses: Doesn't protect contents from hits, occasionally needs jiggling - can break if shot.
Review: EDIT, 29 July 2007
Don't buy this product. The Winchester Pocket hopper does the same job, better, without the problems of the Brass Eagle, namely its tendency to self-destruct when shot with a paintball.

...

Background
I bought the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper (BEPH!) a while ago and used it on a mil-sim electro, the SP-8. I played with it a bit on the SP-8 but didn't use it a heck of a lot - not enough for a fair review.

I've since sold the SP-8 in favor of a Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer and today, December 27th, 2006, I played an entire day (8+ hours, 19 full games) with the Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper.

I'm sold. With a marker like the Blazer which is quiet, super accurate and lightweight, I found myself sneaking around in tunnels and alleys, waiting and watching and taking very careful aim. Single shots were all it took to tag people out. With the BEPH, I rarely found myself out of paint because I conserved more.

Apples and Oranges
Perhaps if you have an Ego or Ion, you're going to "feel a need" to rip. Those are tournament guns after-all and you probably DO rip during a speedball game. This is the wrong hopper for you. Get something bigger with a force feed. Use TONS of paint - your sponsors are paying for it after-all.

Then again, the LA-Hitmen are shooting BEPH equipped PUMPS during speedball games. Check them out on YouTube... it's a sight to see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2frQ3w5E6c

For the rest of us...

If you play stock class, pump or you have a super accurate marker and you want to conserve paint, either to save money or just for the challenge, this hopper is an excellent choice.

Look for opportunities to take a single shot to eliminate someone. Hold off on shooting or sneak just a bit closer instead of wailing on the trigger and spraying. Do more snap shooting drills and make every shot count. This hopper will either school you or you'll fall off the horse and go back to an electro hopper. Your game will benefit from sticking with it though.

...a downside
My only word of caution: I took ONE hopper hit (friendly fire while I was storming the OpFor castle) and the contents of the hopper - or at least one ball - liquified. I had to remove the hopper and wash it, along with the feedneck.

Fortunately, I had already yelled "freeze" at everyone and was so close there wasn't a need to shoot. Be warned though: this hopper won't protect your paint from turning to pudding if you get hit in the hopper! I'm toying with putting metal or rubber on the outside to minimize this - not a difficult mod.

EDIT - 7 Jan. 2007
Played two days ago and was shot from the side in the hopper - it broke! Hole right through one side. You'd be wise to armor the Pocket-Hopper somehow - perhaps with neoprene or metal - to avoid this happening. I bought another one and plan on doing just that with it.

EDIT - 18 April 2007
I found an alternative to the BEPH that works very well: the Winchester 48-round hopper.

The Winchester doesn't come with a lid but you can take a pod-lid like a Dye locklid or other pod that has a "skirt" for the lid and glue it on top of the Winchester. I rate it the best 50-round class hopper available. It WILL take a hopper hit without damage to either hopper or contents.

I tried to review it here but, for some reason, I can't get PBreview.com to validate it as an actual product. Wierd.
Conclusion: 29 July 2007 EDIT: buy a Winchester Pocket Hopper instead as they don't break when shot.

...

Play with a 50-round hopper for a day. Learn how to compensate for the lack of on gun paint. Instead of shooting 15bps to suppress while running up field, shoot 5bps and make those shots count. I did. We won. Repeatedly.

If you learn to adapt your style of play to having less than 50-rounds on-marker, you'll save large sums of money on paint. I went from using 1,500+ rounds a day to about 500 and I think I could still be more conservative.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 11:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Uhhh...Various other low capacity gravity feeds.
Marker Setup: Turtle Autococker Half Block Custom Milling and Anodization
All Turtle Internals
All Belsales Front Block Pneumatics
Nickel Palmer's Pursuit Shop Fatty Regulator
WGP kaner Kit
KAPP Reflex II Nickel Hinge Frame
Dye Stickies 3
Halo B (Overkill on a mech cocker, but who cares? Its off my other gun anyway...)
Strengths: -Weight
-Price
-Capacity Sharpens your game
-Soft material may help bounces
Weaknesses: -Lid is funky
-Soft plastic may be weak
Review: I got this with my Talon Ghost that I got for Christmas...It is just the right amount of paintballs for somebody who is inexperienced in pump and who feels the need to shoot a lot. But whence you get some SC play experience, you will feel that there are too many balls in this thing..It was easy to sand for fitting, and it stays on there well. It will hold all 50 balls without jamming...the guy who said otherwise is an idiot.
Conclusion: Good for inexpereinced pump play, nice material
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

TruenoAE86 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Old school flat hoppers
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Stingray 1
Plastic Ball Detent
Brass Eagle Pocket Hopper
Strengths: -cheap
-easy to find (Blade)
-works
-easily concealed
Weaknesses: -If you wanted a large capacity hopper, you would've bought something else
-Transparent-ness
Review: Well, I got this on an eBay Blade, and I must say, for something this common and cheap, it works like a charm. Of course, just like any other mechanical feed hopper, but it works. You'd probably want to spray on a fade camo job, or make it flat black, but only for the camo reasons. Not really much other stuff to say.
Conclusion: It's cheap, it works for Snipers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl200 archons 200 rd hopper any old gravity fed.
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro, stingray, Avenger, Triton, Brute, Raptor many many more..
Strengths: Small, lighter.
Weaknesses: Clear, may give away position in woods.
Review: I got this for smaller and lighter play as well as ammo conservation. I prefer it mostly on pump markers such as my brute as you wont use all that much ammo anyways. I taped mine up black with hockey tape so its harder to see in the woods then the clear plastic. I think it works great and with the types of markers you will use it in they have blow back or shaking form the pumping so jamming is never a problem (and theres no point in using a 50 rd hopper if your going to eb shooting 7 balls a second anyways.
Conclusion: Great for snipers expecially if using pump markers. if you shoot alot forget it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShootTOthrill77 Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200, halo, evulution 2
Marker Setup: Ion pro with halo b and a 3000 psi air american tank
Strengths: Great for a hard core pump player fits on any gun easily
Weaknesses: Gave to use smaller pods (not much of a problem)
Review: Works great with pumps or players who want a small hopper. very light and compact. wont feed fast but its gravity and a small container so you shouldnt expect much. You can also custom paint them so you can make them camo or make it multi colored. Ive only used this on my pump but it worked good and is a nice little hopper.
Conclusion: Its cool looking and is awesome with pumps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hitokiri1597 Saturday, July 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the old pocket hopper
Marker Setup: Black Magic
Strengths: Its funny looking
Weaknesses: Weak
Slow
Tiny
Review: I got one with my brass eagle talon i bought for pretty much no reason at all... and i tested it out didnt really do much had to shake it a bunch, left it out one night and a raccoon sized cat tore the lid completely off and got into the paintballs, this hopper was good for laughs thats about it, would possibly buy another one for more laughs
Conclusion: I lold
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fridaddy Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The old PVC stick loaders, Worr Games 40 rd loader.
Marker Setup: NW-89
Sniper 2
Trracer
Strengths: Small, light, easy to open and load.
Weaknesses: Th lid hinge seems week.
Review: Well, I got this to use on my blue splash Sniper 2 pump. I did not like the opaque clear so the first thing I did was throw it in th pot of boiling water and Rit brand black dye. The result is a opaque blue hopper. Rather kool looking if I may say so. You can dye yours any color but remember, you need DARK colors to make it somewhat nice. My black came out medium blue. A normal red will come out pink, so plan ahead.

The elbow it comes with is not a standard neck, its for a "Blade" marker. But most standard elbows work fine. Older pumps like mine need a bit of work, but its not a long involved process, just a few turns of black tape on the neck and everything fits OK.

Now this isn't a hopper for electros or even mech semis. Its a pump hopper, and for that use is the best out there. Unlike the 40 round "ammo box" commonly used its quiet when full and it feeds better then the ammo box. PVC stick loaders feed fast but are limited to about 8 rounds and are tall. Using the 100+ hoppers defeat the purpose of playing pump, i.e. being quick and agile. This small hopper is quick, compact and easy to load.

Just remember like all hoppers fill it %90 full or it will jam.
Conclusion: I like this hopper. Its small and compact. The large lid makes it easy to load with a ten round tube under fire. The hinge for the lid seems cheesy but what do you expect for $3.50?

I like it. not everything from Brass Eagle is bad.

For what its designed for, pump play, its the best out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media