paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask

JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 264
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Thermal chrome lenses, comes with clear thermal lense, comes in a variety of colors and has a flexible lower half.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex 7 IZE Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Dover Sunday, August 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra (hard): entry-level
JT Spectra Flex-7: predessessor
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, sixteen (16) markers and counting:
DYE DM4 (dust black)
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
4 WGP Autocockers (2 E-Cockers)
3 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Strengths: Durable, comfortable, excellent vision, customizable, established company
Weaknesses: None really, designed for max vision and comfort with max protection
Review: The JT Spectra was my very first goggle / mask, I bought a black JT Spectra for $50 US from Skanline paintball in California.

It was the very first piece of paintball equipment I purchased because instead of using a rental mask which was sweaty and scratched up

I later upgraded to a Flex-7 in 1997, with the floppy lower mask

I also found a rare JT Flex-7 IZE in tiger eye brown on PbNation

You can totally customize your frame, straps, add a fan

Spectra frame designed to fit over glasses and provide 260 degree vision
Conclusion: Super hard to find, but buy it if you can find it ! ! ! !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuSkool Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Switch "FS"
V-Force "Profiler
Marker Setup: WGP 2002 STO Autococker (CUSTOM Anodized):
-Planet Eclipse "E2" Trigger Frame
-Planet Eclipse "Zero B" Upgrade Board
-Planet Eclipse Samurai 2 Trigger
-Planet Eclipse "Reflective" Infared Anti-Chop Eye
-Planet Eclipse Electronic 5-Way/3-Way
-Kapp 5-Way/3-Way Hose w/ "Top Hats"
-Karnivor Valve Assembly
-WGP Worr-Blade "Lockdown" Hammer Kit
-WGP "STO" Inline Regulator
-WGP "MP-4" Ram (2 Built-In T.R.V/Q.E.V....lightweight AND Compact)
-WGP "Tickler" LPR (Low Pressure Regulator)
-WGP Worr-Blade Bolt
-WGP "Black Magic" Pull-Pin
-Custom Products "Flamed Drop" Forward
-Custom Products On/Off w/Bleed
-WGP Pump-Rod
-WGP "Black Magic" Cocking Rod
-Dye Beaver-Tail
-Redz "Q-Lock" Clamping Feedneck
-WGP Braided-Steel Hose
-WGP 45-Degree Stainless-Steel Elbows/Fittings
-WGP "Black Magic" 2-Piece Barrel (14inch)
-Evil Pipe Barrel Kit (14inch)

www.AnarkystPaintball.com
Strengths: Field of Vision, Comfortable, Interchangable Straps + "Face Plates"
Weaknesses: Lens Changes, "Flimsy" mouth protection
Review: I bought this mask because I wear glasses. I was surprised how well it fit. I like the way it contoured my entire head, as opposed to my face/nose area. It is well ventilated, and has an "Easy-To-Adjust" strap for a better fit. The only down side to this mask, is the changing of the lens. This process is a pain in the a**!!!!! It is just overly annoying, and unneccessarily complicated. Other than that, it's a great product.
Conclusion: If you wear glasses, this is a great mask. It will accomdate your needs, and allow you to wear your "Street Glasses"..... you can also buy an "Anti-Fog" fan if you feel the need.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shawnhu Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor
Dye Invision
Dye I3
Marker Setup: FreeFlow Rhythm
Planet Eclipse E2
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
Nexus Ram /w QEVs & Outkast Sledgehammer LPR
Custom Products Shorty Reg
Smart Parts S-Rail
Max-Flo Inline45 LP 68/45
ViewLoader eVLution II Z-Board

Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Freak Barrel System
CenterFlag 45/45
Strengths: Comfort
Protection
Performance
Aesthetically appealing
Low cost
Weaknesses: Lens removal
Lens cleaning
Lens maintenance
Ear cushions gets lost
Review: Pro's
This mask is by far, one of the best masks that I've owned, or used. Every aspect of it is superb. It's cheap($25-35), offers great protection, provides you with bounces, and looks great! It's large enough to cover your entire face, and most of your neck. The lower lip is soft, so it'll repel any shots that hit that area, keeping you in the game longer. This mask looks absolutely great. It's no wonder why so many Pro's still use it. They come in multiple colors, such as gray, blue, green, etc.

Con's
The lens on these masks are tough to remove, to say the least. You really need to wrestle with it to get it off. And when you're done taking it off, your fingertips will be in agony wishing you hadn't. Then you face the inevitable of putting it all back together. To thoroughly clean the lens, it's best to remove it. It got to a point where I can't be bothered to remove the lens after each day of play, so I just use a damp cloth and wipe it down. It doesn't get everything out, but it's good enough. If paint gets in between the inner and outer layer of the thermal lens, you're going to pretty much have to live with it. I destroyed a pair of lens just by trying to get a little speckle of paint out. Getting water in between will also pretty much ruin your lens, so be careful when cleaning. The ear pieces that separates the mask from touching your ear, easily comes off. It's just a long piece of foam that is stuck on from the factory, and over use, comes loose and usually gets lost. JT is not longer making this mask, so there's no where to replace this foam.
Conclusion: Overall, I love this mask. I prefer it over the Dye Invision, which is also a great mask. I would use this mask in woods games where weight is not as big a factor. Get one while you still can, they're discontinued from JT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RJ12688 Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lower end Jt masks
Old PMI masks
Vantage
Marker Setup: 2k4 Autococker---prostock
Planet eclipse Eblade
Empire Barrel Kit
72/3000 PMI HPA
12v Revy w/ X board
Strengths: -Light
-Comfy
-lense
-Does its job
Weaknesses: None
Review: I cant say enough good things about this mask. I used a old PMI mask and beat the hell out of it so i had to give it up. I went out got one of these for 40 bucks. First thing, its light and comfy. I can hardly feel it on my face. The lenses are great. I got the tinted one which looks and performs great. My lense is a thermal so in never fogs, and it gives a good field of view. Also, the flexing lower on the mask does whats its supposed to do. I've taken a few straight to the mouth and the ball acually bounced of my mask instead of breaking and giving me a mouthful of paint. I have yet to have a ball break on the flexing lower part of the mask. The mask also protects as well as any. The flexong part doesnt flex too much to where it would slap you in the face, and the mask goes low enough to provide alittle neck protection.
Conclusion: Overall its a great mask. Dont hesitate to pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tepmonk Monday, August 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt elite head shield
Marker Setup: Blue ion
Custom products trigger
Hybird shizzle grips (bad guy)
Evlution 2
Pmi 68ci air tank
Dye rhino cover
Dye on off
Dye mini rail
Strengths: Weight .
Durability.
Cofortable.
Flexy chin gaurd.
Weaknesses: There are no problems that ive found so far.
Review: These goggles are the bomb they are the most cumfy goggles on earth they feel nice on your head they sit nicely on your face.

Ive tried on my brothers Vforce profilers and they are no way as comfortable as the JT IZE they also have a lot of face protection and they are light aswell.

I went to a party when I forst got into paintball and it was the best but the goggles wernt they were the jt elite head shield they fogged up like mad and i litterally could not see where i was going the lenses were rubbish and there was not enough ventalation at all.
Conclusion: you should get the JTV IZE if you want a good pair of goggles they are really reliable goggles ive had mine for a year now and nothing has gone wrong at all not even fogging now thats good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da'dtou-di Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-forces: Pro and Shield
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash

Cocker
Strengths: Image clarity
Comfort
Materials
Weaknesses: Price
Better out there for $$
Review: Image Clarity:

The lens provides very clear images. I'm not going to say it surpasses that of the V-force profiler, but it's still sweet.

Comfort:

The foam in this bad boy is superb. So is the ventilation. The vents are BETTER than those of the V-force pro's You barely notice the mask on your face.

Materials:

The rubber is nice, because it's very good at promoting bounce. On that note, a LOT of people roll the bottom of the mask up, because no plastic holds it rigidly in place. DO NOT ROLL MASKS UP! It's unsafe!

Price:

When this mask first was on the scene it cost some serious $$$$. I think it was around $100! I wouldn't pay that for it, but I think you can get them much cheaper now, so that's good.
Conclusion: The mask is great. Nothing is wrong with it at all. However, I like the V-force masks better. You amy prefer this, in that case, go for it. I wont grade it down cause I dont like it, though. That would be uncool
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

automagsrock68 Sunday, June 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Badass- not even close
nVader- ok
brASS "SEAGULL"- @$%^#@!
Marker Setup: 68 automag classic, ricochet Ak , 32* precision barrel , Dye Xcel 12 inch, site rail, drop forward, 47 ci 3k nitro, JT Flex 7, JT camo Jersey, a propower harness, My 98 had a Taso Winforce a site rail and a drop forward
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got the moss green mask for $40 online and my first experience was changing the tinted lense to the clear one. The tint would be bad for woodsball because the woods are dark. The tints would be great for speedball to reduce glare. I thought that I would never be able to change the lense on this, and I actually cut my finger trying to put the clear one in.

The first time I played with this mask I noticed how clear the lense was, and how comfortable the foam was. I have never had this mask fog either, in 90* summer days to 35* December days. The ventillation is top notch and I have had no trouble keeping cool.

My favorite part of this mask is the bounce factor. I have been hit in the visor several times and most times it ricoched right off. Also the lower mask is flexible and I have had bounces with it. The only problem with the bottom is that a paintball can bounce from it right onto your chin which hurts, but it isn't horrible.

One thing woodsball players will appreciate is the mask's ability to blend in. This is because the material is translucent, or light can pass through it. This allows the mask to be darker in low light areas and brighter in high light areas. the green mask will only be camoflauged well in areas of abundant vegetation, because green is the same color as leaves (duh).


Conclusion: In conclusion buy it. It's not perfect but darn near close.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 16th, 2005 at 8:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WGPplayer42 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Masks at Fields
JT Radar Mask
JT Proteus Mask
Flex 7 Mask
Dye Invision Mask
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Vert Feed 2004
Proto 2 Piece Barrell
Drop Forward Cradle
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
HALO TSA LED Frontman Loader
Pure Energy 68ci 3000psi N2 Tank
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Strengths: Great Looking, Great Protection, Don't Fog, Intimidating
Weaknesses: Lens Changing is a b*tch to do
Review: When I pulled it out of the box I knew it was a winner. The Blue IZE Lenses look sick!!!! The mask is incredibly comfortable. One of the foam ear pieces was detached from the mask in the box. So i just pulled off the other one. In fact the mask feels better without the foam blocks by the ears. They come with an extra lens to use in lower light conditions. Because they accept the spectra lenses, if one cracks you have a wide variety of different colored lenses to put in them. They also don't fog, during play, even sweating and in humid conditions. The flex rubber allows for mask bounces, although it can become a little deformed it you store them between two objects. The lenses are extremely intimidating to players. I put them on and with my 'cocker in my hand people are always saying " Ohhh, I hope he's on my team." The tinting is darkest in the center and lighens up towards the sides. But there is nothing wrong with that, that is how they were made. The coating is almost like the Iridium coating on the Oakley sunglasses. This mask is incredibly comfortable. I got them for $35, what a steal. I have the Proteus mask, and just as comfortable, but I wear the IZEs for the tinted lenses. They are great.
Conclusion: The IZEs are probablly one of the best goggle systems out there. The invision and the proteus are really just as good, but you can get the Flex 7 IZe for dirt cheap, and they come with an extra pair of lenses. They are seriously great goggles. You get bounces off of the chin, if you get shot there. And the lenses dont fog, like most thermals. Anyone who reads this, buy them while you can, because JT doesn't make the IZE anymore and they are AMAZING!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 30th, 2005 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4skins23 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle
Marker Setup: stock angel 4 fly graphite/ black fade, angel air
Strengths: Tinted lens and clear lens for a cheap price.
Weaknesses: It seems to fade[ the plastic]
Review: I have two sets, blue and grafite. I love them.It comes with clear lens also. I have not had any problems with these. I wish they were lower profile but thats ok. The goggles don't fog up but seem to scratch easy. I'm not sure though that could just be me. It does seem that the plastic is turning white or fading.I am not sure why. O-yeah it also comes with a carry pouch. For the price you can not beat the quality. I give it a 9 because I am sure there is probably nicer goggles out there, but not for this price tag, it won't even come close.
Conclusion: I definetly recommend for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Vents Predator (still the best IMHO), other JT's.
Marker Setup: Well tuned and totally modifyed basic black CF Autococker with all the best parts I've collected over the past 12 years, another old square front 'Cocker made up of all the leftover parts (c: 1994 vintage Automag with all the goodies from back then and a level 10 kit, Tippmann Factory F/A, PGP, VM 68, Nelspot 007 etc etc ...
Strengths: Protects your eyes, fits well over small framed eyeglasses.
Weaknesses: Nothing major ... but see below.
Review: I bought these because the price was reasonable, and I liked the older Flex 7 I have. my major concern is fitting over my eyeglasses since I can't see without them and contacts don't work for me. They *do* fit nicely over smaller framed glasses and the venting is decent so it should keep your eyeglasses from fogging easily ... although they will fog without a good fan installed. I must say, I'm a little disappointed in the overall quality of the mask. JT used to be a great company, but it seems since Brass Eagle bought them up they're pinching pennies and the quality has slipped. When I picked up the mask and tried it on the first thing that happened was the foam over the earflaps fell off. Not a good omen. Then there's the cheesy chin strap they added as an afterthought. utterly useless and uncomfortable. It's pretty pathetic when you throw away 3 mask parts in the first minute. the next thing I noticed ... or I should say felt ... was some excess glue on the foam around the lens. Not a big deal, but sloppy nonetheless. The plastic and rubber of the mask also has a few noticeable casting flaws, such as inconsistent color. The last thing I've noticed is that JT has decided not to include a goggle bag anymore. how cheap can you get? None of these things by themselves are of any great consequence but put all together it's left me feeling a bit *under*whelmed.
Conclusion: JT used to be a great company but now under the tutalage of Brass Eagle the quality is slipping ... perhaps due to pressure from Wal Mart, who knows. It's a shame since JT masks were the best quality once.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media