paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
KorruptPB Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Radar
Marker Setup: Korrupt assassin with system-x one piece barrel. Psychoballistics drop-forward. Pure Energy 48/3000. Archon hopper.
Strengths: Low profile

Comfotable and breathable air flows threw great so you don't get hot
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great mask if you can, get one. It's low profile very comfotable very brethable. The lens are easy to see at any angle. You can find cheap on ebay and replacement lens are cheap to. I bought 3 pairs of Anti-fog for 20 bucks. Their are beter ones out their but for the price it's one of the best.
Conclusion: Theirs better stuff out their but you can find cheap on ebay. Get one
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental ones, whatever those are.
Elite nVADER Mask (looks cool, but does not perform as well as the JT Spectra)
Marker Setup: Double pistols as primaries.
Being my first and second gun, the Core ZX pistols are both stock with no upgrades.
(Awaiting the quick caps)
2 Core leg holsters.
Strengths: Thermal lens? No fogging.
Strap has rubber grip
Very good peripheral vision
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Ugly looking
Visor is always off center
Worst foam insert ever!
Review: WHY IT"S GOOD:
- Does this thing really have a thermal lens? I got a pretty good deal then. $20.50 for this mask used from ebay shipped to me. It doesn't fog, so maybe it does have a thermal lens.
- Got shot straight in the face (left eye) and i barely felt anything.
- Sometimes I really do forget that I'm wearing a mask when I put this thing on.
- It's got some ghetto rubbery stuff on the back band to keep it from sliding off your head.

WHY IT SUCKS:
- Foam insert is horrible. Some guy did a review that said the foam drenched like a sponge in water when you sweat. And boy was he right. It's completely nasty!
- Am I the only one that thinks this thing is completely ugly? If it were black, I think Luke Skywalker would have pulled his sword ring on me.
- Paint always gets stuck under the eyepiece. (Dried paint is sitting there now as I write this review....yuck)
- I wish the mask covered more of the chin. It seems like the mask cuts short and should be a bit longer to provide more coverage.
Conclusion: Functions as its supposed to, but that darn foam insert is just plain yucky. I'm rating it an 8 b/c the foam really gets on my nerves and it'll get on yours too. But i still recommend it b/c the price is good even for a new one and it's thermal and comfortable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KurtIsMyUncle Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy rental goggles...
Marker Setup: Irrelevant
Strengths: Comfortable, cheap, thermal lens doesn't fog
Weaknesses: Lens is impossible to change.
Pins fall out.
Review: I got the JT Spectra Thermal mask when ordering my paintball gear because it was a cheap mask, and my friend said he had one and liked it. Now I was super excited because the only masks I had used before were rentals and someone's crappy spare mask. With both of these I found that after only a few minutes I would not be able to see at all from the fogging. With my JT mask I found that I could not fog the lens even if I tried. The mask also sat comfortably on my face, I was not bothered by the foam. Also, the visor is a snap to remove and replace.
The same is not true however, of the lens. After my first and only time playing with it so far, I decided to remove the lens for cleaning as I had been shot once or twice in the mask. Big mistake. I spent a good half an hour struggling to get the lens out, discovering that it was not as simple as the instructions made it sound. The worst part, I have not been able to get the lens back in. This is a serious problem, I don't know if I will be able to get it back in.

Update: I did manage to get the lens back in with a screwdriver, but in the process put two serious scratches in the mask. Also, after playing a couple of time both of the pins on the lower sides of the mask that help to hold the two pieces together have fallen out. The mask still works fine though.

Update again: Since both of the pins fell out, the ear pieces frequently detach from the frame when it's not on your head, which gets really annoying.
Conclusion: The Spectra is a good mask, it offers full protection and comfort, and is relatively light. It's great for its price. However, if you're like me and are neurotic about keeping your gear in prime condition, I recommend otherwise. I am already considering the Vforce Morph goggles for ease of lens replacement. I still give the goggles an 8 because they're fine if you don't plan on removing the lens.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarsbyPB27 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None that matter when you use this beast.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14" Smart Parts TearDrop
Ricochet 2K R5 Hopper

16 oz co2 tank
Strengths: Comfort ( I wear glasses so I need room)
Durability (Mask takes a beating)
Price
Weaknesses: None worth mentioning
The lense is sorta hard to get out.
Review: This mask is great! I've only had it for a short time but im extremely happy with it.
I got it in black and it hasnt given me any type of trouble. The foam is nice and soft, and durable. The lense area has lots of room for glasses, and I've had several bounces off of the visor and sides.
Conclusion: Get it! You will NOT be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5baller Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Goggles,Xray
Marker Setup: A5 with RT,Tippman 14" sniper barrel,48 300psi
Strengths: NON FOG!!, very comfortable
Weaknesses: A couple screws came out and it feels a little cheap
Review: When i first bought these i was thinking about getting the JT Proflex. The only difference between them is the proflex has the flexy bottom. Other than that they are completely the same. It is very comfortable and hasnt fogged on me once. I took off the visor for "looks".
Conclusion: This mask is top quality i reccomend it to any one who wants a good mask but doesnt want to spend a lot of money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil Tay Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
20/20 Echo
JT Headshield
Tippmann Mask
JT nVADOR
JT nFORCER
Strengths: NEVER fog
Soft foam
Protect Well
Good Field Of Vision
Weaknesses: Hard to change lens
Review: These are some of the best goggles I've ever used. Other goggles have fogged, been uncomfortable, or had hard, itchy foam. These goggles have none of that. I can see everything with them on and its crystal clear if you clean it with water after every time you play. They're also really light but extremeley hard to change the lens in them but you shouldn't have to if you clean them and don't put any chemicles on them. These goggles should last you a long time I recommend them.
Conclusion: Really good, cheap, good vision, definatley worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 12:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigNiko Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force profiler
Marker Setup: -ION
-CP lock neck
-CP Drop Forward
-Halo B with victory board
-48 ci tank
-Dye Sticky gip
Strengths: Light Weight
Comftarble
Good Quality
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Screws fall out
Review: This is a really good mask. It is the first mask i bought seperatly instead of getting it in some gun package and i was using it happily for two years untill i got my profiler. This mask is good because it comftorbly fits on your face unlike some mask which feel like some burden that is strapped to your face. This mask is also easy to take apart and clean which is something amazing compared to some masks. Also all together these masks are quality made and the only thing that fell off were two screws on the mask which were no big problems.
Conclusion: This is a really good mask. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler (though not in the same price range)
Marker Setup: GT 2000
14" Twister, 16" Tiller, 16" Nightstick
VL 200 Mag
Sterling STP (backup)
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
No pain (when hit in the face)
Weaknesses: Hassle to change lens
No throat protection
Review: I've had my Spectra for about 10 years (I didnt play on a regular basis until about 3 months ago). I bought it along with my Sterling in 1996 and it's been sitting in the basement for the last 7 years. It is resonably comfortable if you wear glasses and its very durable. My lens has been mistreated but still doesn't fog.

Only drawbacks are that replacement straps almost costs as much as the mask itself (in Sweden) and that the lens is somewhat difficult to change.
Conclusion: For the price, it's a very good mask with no super-annoying drawbacks. I am however changing to a V-Force Profiler that is a much better mask ( but also much more expensive than the Spectra)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akathewolf Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Shield Mask - About even.
Marker Setup: B2k
with a lot of other stuff.
Strengths: Fogtemps
88ºF-22ºF (around there)
Sturdy
Comortable
Good View angles
Weaknesses: Has cutoffs
hard to replace lenses
(Read End of Review)
Review: This mask is awesome. Seriously, ive never encountered a problem with it. Just is a little hard to clear after getting sprayed or shot more than once in the lens. It's thermal, not just thermocured, so it's guaranteed not to fog in almost any weather. But unless you live in Siberia. I don't think the mask will ever fog up. Ive gone paintballing in the winter and gotten down to 20 degrees in which it about started to fog up. Any Vforce will fog up long before that. They fog at about 45! Unbelievable. Or at least the ones ive used. This mask is definately awesome.
DO NOT TOUCH THE INSIDE LENS WITH ANYTHING!
if you do, plan on spending money for a new thermal lens which may end up being more that the cost of the mask :(
the best thing to clean the inside of the mask (kind of grose but works the best)
Spit into a very clean and smooth cloth, dont use coarse or something dirty. that will ruin the thermal coating.
Use very light circular strokes and if it doesnt come off just live with it. It will eventually erode away.
This is if you dont have cleaner specificaly made for it.
Conclusion: Very good mask, durable, light, very fog proof.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mercenaries_pb Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Cheap JT Masks
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion(black)
Empire ReLoader II
Crossfire 47 ci. 3000 psi.
Strengths: Doesn't Fog Too Easily
Scratch Resistant
Weaknesses: Pinches your nose first couple of times you use it.
Review: When I first put these one, I thought it was pinching my nose more than it shoul, so I strtched it out a little bit, but it did nothing. So finally I put on a cap, and then put the mask over it and i was no longer pinchin my nose anymore. Other than that there is not much bad that you can say about this mask. The lens is sort of hard to get off, but what do you expect from a cheaper mask.
Conclusion: For the price this is a really nice mask that does it's job well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media