paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask / JT Spectra Mask

JT Spectra Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Mask
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 248
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Comes in colors olive and black.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
MrClark Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have used comes close to this mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Dye Ultralight 14"
Strengths: Fog resistant (at least in thermal), wide periphial view, easy to clean, much more
Weaknesses: Profile might be a little big, but I have had no problems
Review: I bought this mask after my old Brass Eagle mask finally broke, and I am still impressed by the Spectra.

I bought this mask origanally because my friend had purchased one, and I was impressed with its performance, but it was even better when I had one of my own. My mask has fogged only once, and that was when I was playing in a literal downpour in 80 degree Farenheit weather--I still ask myself what I even played at all that day.

This mask provides excellent protection, has great visability, and never fogs, even if you are running around and breathing hard. Plus it even comes in two colors! Black and Olive Green!
Conclusion: This is the best mask I have ever used. If you are looking to buy a new mask I would buy it, just make sure you get the thermal version.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 22nd, 2003 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big J Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Z leader mask. Piece of junk, the flimsy mask is no good when it comes to protection. And the comfort level was pathetic, I hated it.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Halo TSA led frontman, Dye Sticky3 grip
Strengths: It's tough.,
The "WET EX" foam around the goggle,
It rarely ever fogs up.
Weaknesses: None really, except for the difficulty in taking the original lens out.
Review: I got this mask after about a year of putting up with my Z leader mask. This mask is so comfortable, The "WET EX" foam is the junk (good thing)!!! I also like the hard shielding, I know most other masks have it too, but it was great after using that other mask, the band is cool too, with that rubber bead running along the inside, so it'll stick to your head. The thermal lens is cool also, although I you have to be careful not to touch the inside layer, which....is not all that good for paintball, being the type of sport that it is.
Conclusion: I would suggest this mask to anyone, I love mine, it's great! I say, it's the only mask I'll ever own, just because it's so comfortable, and durable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 14th, 2005 at 2:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrod2032 Saturday, December 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle masks - not even gonna say anything about those, I bet everybody knows about them. *shudders*
Marker Setup: Primary Marker:
-silver Tippmann 98 Custom
-response trigger
-double trigger
-GTA 14" Sniper Barrel
-Empire 10-pc barrel kit
-two 20oz CO2 tanks (1 w/pin valve, 1 w/Smart Parts On/Off valve)
-VL 12v Revolution
-Proteam FX sniper stock (for woodsball)
-remote line (for woodsball)
-butt plate (for speedball)

Secondary Marker:
-blue CORE 2003 Zx pistol
-black magazine
-Ronin Gear tactical holster
-lazer dot sight
Strengths: --thermal lens = good
--looks cool
--visor = good
--upgradable
Weaknesses: --difficult re-assembly
--hard to put lens back in
Review: The Spectra is a great mask. If you intend to get one, get one with a thermal lens, this greatly reduces the fogging.

I have a Vortex fan and Sportz Comm kit installed in mine, and both work great.

==Pros==
Lotsa cool stuff to put it it, thanks to JT
Comfortable to wear
Visor keeps the sun out of your eyes
Well priced
Taking it apart is a breeze

==Cons==
Nothing really...but,
Putting it back together is TOUGH, be prepared for sore fingers the day after. The lens is the main problem, because it fits snugly in the frame. And by snugly, I mean it!
Other than that, there are no problems
Conclusion: This is one great mask. It will last you a long time. Go ahead, go out, and buy one NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

underated Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott mask, invison, flex ize
Marker Setup: RAT Impluse
Freak
WAS board (comming soon)
CP lightning drop
68 4500 crossfire
Strengths: Face coverage
comfy
nice vision
Weaknesses: The mask fogged up after many uses
Eats paint
Review: When i first got this mask it worked pretty well, but after awhile i started getting smudges on it that would not go away, I could still see well enough though. At my last tourny I got somewhere on the mask, and paint got in between the lens's. Two of the black bolts on the bottom corners of the mask fell out, lost those. When i got shot in the mouth portion the paint flew through and somehowcut my lip, got that nasty taste in my mouth. The maske held its own even with the smudges. The smudges got in between the lens's and it would fog in between the lens and there was nothing i could do about that, except buy new lens.
Conclusion: Buy this product if u are into wood ball, get something that produces bounces if u are in tournys. It was an alright mask up until the maks started getting fog and paint issues
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtremely Evil Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
invision, proteus, pmi xray, other nameless rental crap
Marker Setup: Evil omen
12v revvy
48 3000 pure energy tank
Strengths: comfortable, durable, pretty cheap, doesn't fog a lot
Weaknesses: hurts your ears after a while
Review: This was my first mask. It always took a while for it to fog, but once it did i just had to wipe the lense and I was good to go. It isnt as comfortable as the invision or proteus and fogs more, but considering how much cheaper it is, you are getting a way better deal. If you have the money though, go for the invision or proteus.
Conclusion: I am giving this an 8 out of 10 because it did hurt my ears after a while, and it does fog more than my invision, but it is one of the best starter masks out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTalicska Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bought this mask when I started playing, have had it ever sense.
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralite
Strengths: Great field of view.
Color
Look
Size
Visor
Protects head very well
Doesn't Fog
Weaknesses: It is a very wide mask.
The chin protector couldn't protect Jay Lenos chin.
Review: Overall this is a very good mask. Great field of view and look. My friend tells me that can be hard to breath in, and if you were 300 lbs you would probaly say the same thing. I love this mask and would never use a diffrent kind. However it is rather wide from the front and the chin protector barley covers my chin.
Conclusion: A+ mask.
Only reason I dont give it a 10 is becasue of how wide it looks from the front.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonbob Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force shield-On par with this mask, but has a better lenses, better change system, and worse colors (personal opinion)
JT X-fire thermal-Bigger, more restrictive, heavier, worse field of vision
Marker Setup: Proteam micromag with intelliframe, Level 10, CP drop foreward, CP on/off, Dye Stickies, Powerlyte Scepter barrel system, Ricochet AK, nitroduck x-stream 68ci/4500psi
Strengths: Light, low profile, good colors, good field of vision, no fogging on thermal version
Weaknesses: Lenses are really hard to change.
Review: This was my second mask and replaced my X-fire mask and I must say I really liked it. I never had any problems with it fogging (I got the thermal version) and if you play woods ball you really should go with the Olive drab color because it helps alot over the other flashy colors. For about 35 bucks you get a great non-fogging mask that is low profile and has low weight. You really can't complain unless you compare it to the new lens systems that are coming out for masks these days.

It's when you need to change the lenses that this mask really gives you problems. The first time I did it my fingers got so tired and I got so frustrated that I tried to pry the lens out with a metal tool (I know, stupid me) and ended up scratching the hell out of a brand new thermal lens. It was my own fault but the fact is you still have to take the lenses out after every game to clean it and it can be a real chore if you don't know how to do it properly. The other thing about the lens to watch out for is on the non-thermal version. My buddy got it and didn't have too many problems untill one day it rained and everyone who didn't have a thermal lens was SOL. Really you should always go for the thermal or no-fogging version when you buy any mask.

Other than that this is a great mask that gives you the same field of vision as the JT flex-7 masks still used by pros. Again, great for recreational use or tourney play. I also didn't mention that it's comfortable as well. With the light weight, small size, and nice foam padding around the eyes you'll forget you're wearing it sometimes.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who is in the market for a new mask. It's roughly the equivalent to a V-force shield mask with a different lens so for this price range it comes down to which style you like and what brand/colors you want. Keep in mind that for 35 bucks this is an excellent beginner price but make sure you don't go cheap and not get the thermal lens. I say again, GET THE THERMAL LENS. I promise it's worth the extra few bucks. I would give this a 10 but because of the lens changing it has to get a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball fein Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt ize flex
Marker Setup: fireball mountain autococker, 2 piece Dye Boomstick, 12v revy, 45ci 4500psi nitro, double trigger hinge frame other externals and internals to lazy to list..
Strengths: Good range of view, great selection of replacement lenses, protects good amount of your head
Weaknesses: Elastic strap that goes around the back of your head wear out after a while
Review: This mask is very well made and is a good mask for little money. There are more good things then bad, but there are a few bad things that I could not list up on the weakness's like, the back piece of the plastic on the mask that covers your ears irritates the back of your ear/skin after your ear, and can become quiet annoying after a while of scenario or woods play.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone, just remember to replace the lenses after you start seeing cracking or bad wear on them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter 4 life Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the winchester haha peice of crap
Marker Setup: spyder shutter
14 inch dye excell barrel
sprint trigger frame
12v revy
Strengths: doesnt fog up like other masks
Weaknesses: the lense tends to scratch really easy when u play around trees
Review: doesnt look like crap its really easy to clean and lasts a long time. It doesnt fog up only if its real hot out side and when ur breathing really heavy it tends to fog a lil but other then that this mask is an a A+ mask id recommend to anyone.
Conclusion: i like it cause for the prize u pay its awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GC 6(sic)6[ST4] Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted JT Masks...
Marker Setup: 98c
Dye Excel 14" barrel
Expansion chamber
68/45 centerflag tank
Strengths: Doesn't fog, works well with my glasses.
Weaknesses: Lenses are far away from your eyes.
Review: First time I saw it, I thought it was great looking. After my first use with the mask... I was amazed how fell it fit, and how it did not fog at all for me. The mask is quite sleak, great side profile. I love the mask.

Olive is nice for woods ball, blends with a lot, so does the black. The mask is overall designed more for... in my opinion woodsball players, rather than speedball. If you want a mask for speedball, get a Flex 7, or a ProFlex.
Conclusion: I was, and am very pleased with the mask. I would reccomend it to a begginner, or even a more experience player. It's also quite cheap. It's one of the best masks I have had.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media