paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask / JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 158
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $96

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes with thermal lenses and a visor. Has a flexible lower half and comes in a variety of colors.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex 7 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Team_Exile Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force rentals - are feeble compared to this
Marker Setup: 2k2 Cocker, CP On/Off ASA,Supafly bolt,Shocktech drop forward,Freak Jr. Kit, 68 cu 4500 psi Carbon Fiber air tank,E-Blade(very soon!)Empire Reloader B
Strengths: 1.The flex part works
2.thermal lenses
3.very comfortable foam
4.non-slip
Weaknesses: 1.The chromed lenses i have scratched really easy.
2.Changing lenses is hard.
Review: I have used this great product from JT for 3 months now and it is excellent its never slips and the image clarity is extremely clear , the foam is extremely comfortable and the flex part works great except for the chin slap, some peeps say it muffles your voice but not for me ( but maybe its because i yell at the top of my lungs at people on the field ;) ) and changing the lenses ive tried and its a B. I. T. C. H, and my lenses scratched real easy.
Conclusion: Overall is a tremendous mask and I love it. You should go buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-JT Spectra
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Strengths: -Can cause balls to bouce off
Weaknesses: -Difficult to remove and install lenses
Review: This a really good product. It does whati its suppose to do. Removing and installing lense is a pain. i have bledd more that once tring to install lenses. Anti fog lenese do exactly what they are supposed to do.you also remove the visor if ou dont like it
Conclusion: You need a mask to play. Might as well get this one. you can even pick the color you want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMesomorph Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, JT Proflex, Dye Invision(Pretty good, nice venting, goggles are cooler temp wise than JT goggles), V-Force Profiler(Best of the lot, but expensive)
Marker Setup: Currently my A-5 for rec play w/ Dye TI Boomstick 14inch, E-Grip, Blade Trigger, Hyperstar bolt, running on compressed air.
Also use a stock Smart Parts Ion.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths:
The bounce on these things, like just about any JT paintball mask, is what makes it so great. No other mask can compete with the JT Spectra and Flex series masks in this department.
Double Thermal Lens provide adequite fog protection for light use and for a decent amount of time I suppose. There are better for fog protection.
Clarity is nice for the first few games, of course all new masks are great at the start.
You can speak and listen with others clearly in this mask, it feels natural.
It doesn't have a large profile like the Proto Switch.
Price is a strength, it is worth more than what you pay, especially currently. You can find them for like 30 dollars easily.

Weaknesses:
Double Thermal Lens again heh.
The biggest problem with any JT mask using spectra lenses, ESPECIALLY the double layer ones, is that their lifespan is quite short. If the seal between the two lenses doesn't split before the lenses themselves are scratched up and useless consider yourself lucky. I suggest buying a new lens the second you buy the mask.
Today changing the lens isn't even worth it, it is quite the hassle.
The padding behind the ears is a little awkward, and uncomfortable, but it feels great after your first game when you get pissed and rip it out, that is if it hasn't fallen out already.
The padding around the goggles are like a sponge, the get so soaked and nasty with sweat and I sweat alot. But the anti-fog is still pretty good at first.
The visor, it loves the paint inside of a ball, remove that to highten your chance of a ball not breaking on your mask. The visor is relatively useless for anyone but a back player, but for rec use it probably helps. I never used it.
Conclusion: Well I really loved all of the spectra and flex series and I will recommend this product to other people, but don't expect it to hold up for very long. Though I am a pretty rough player it has been my first mask to ever give out on me and it truely pissed me off to no end when it did so my review may be a little biased.
For the regular player, or even pro player this is a great mask, I highly suggest buying a new lens when you buy this mask, but other than that be sure to keep up with it and keep it clean and all that good stuff, make it last.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyephoenix Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java X Type Mask
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Kingman Rocking Trigger
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Dye Throttle 68cu
Dye Rhino bottle cover
VL evolution 2
Strengths: Bounces paint
Barely foggy
Very lightweight
Weaknesses: None really
Review: The Flex & is possibly the best mask in the world to me. I bought this mask and played some rec ball. Some dude who had a cocker shot at my mask and the balls bounced right off, and i lit the guy up. This mask has never fogged up on me, and has excellent visibility. Plus, i also bought this mask partly because Dynasty uses it, so hey, use the products the best team uses.
Conclusion: Best mask to buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt the great Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: GTI red-black fade
black macroline
CP flame drop
smat parts on/off asa
68/3000 pure energy fibre tank
16 in all american barrel
evy 2
Strengths: Nice lens
Weaknesses: Flex
Review: When i first bought this mask i thought it was cool because the bottom part was soft but then one time i ws playing and i got hit in the flexible soft part and the ball smoked me in the mouth and that really hurt my face but i got over it and now i am kinda scared in being hit in the mouthpeice because it will hurt . The lense is the only good part on this mask...!!!
Conclusion: If you don't want to have a sore jaw then don't get this mask.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

edandstacy Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Alpha (walmart) no comparison
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
32 Degrees Night Stick Barrel
Strengths: Fit and comfort
Can wear glasses with it without pressure
Price, $49
Weaknesses: Came with a slightly misaligned visor. Relocated where it was mounted (very easy).
Review: What a comfortable mask so far. Have not field tested it but I can tell it is top notch product. I was worried I'd not be able to wear my glasses with it after using a JT Alpha mask this weekend. The Alpha pushed on my glasses forcing them up or down or just plain into my nose. The JT Flex 7 fit so well I can hardly feel them. Can't wait to see how they do with fog. I'll let you know.
Conclusion: Though I have not yet played a game with it I'm very happy with the mask so far. Very comfortable and great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 3rd, 2005 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZZakk Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler, Armour, JT Alpha 2000
Marker Setup: '04 red shocker NDZ clamping feedneck with 68/4500 crossfire tank and a halo
Tippmann 98 Custom 2x Trigger expansion chamber 47/3000 and a ricochet AK
Strengths: Bounces off the bottom part. comfortable, look pretty cool.
Weaknesses: Changing the lens
Review: This mask is nice, it looks cool, it is safe, it is durable, and pretty cheap. I paid $40 for mine new. The only down side to this mask is that changing lenses is kind of a pain in the butt. Not nearly as easy as the V-Force masks. That isn't a big deal though. Usually when you are changing lenses, you aren't in that big of a hurry anyways and it is not like it is impossible it is just the fact that it take some time and I am an impatient person.
Conclusion: This is a great mask and if you don't want to shell out the extra cash for say a profiler than I would say get it. I have one and I love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

afisher99 Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex, Extreme Rage 20/20
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II
Bob Long Expansion
32 Degrees Whisper 14"
CO2

Haha, I'm cheap, and I don't play much...
Strengths: Comfortable, flex does work, strap stays tight
Weaknesses: Ear foam, colored lenses scratch easily, chin strap, noise muffle, lens change
Review: This is the best mask I've had. The pros outweigh the cons, by far. First, the cons... the ear foam easily catches on your ear when placing it on. It takes two seconds to adjust the mask to a comfortable postion, and it's nitpicking, but it happens every time I put it on, so I thought I'd mention it. The mirrored colored lenses also scratch easy. Nothing like a crazy gouge, but it does manage to pick up little noticable scratches in the lense... these are especially notable when looking towards the sun. Keep the goggles in the bag when not in use, and these will be kept to a minimum. Cut off the chin strap... it's just annoying, and the main strap keeps it tight enough you don't need the chin strap. When yelling, it does tend to muffle it a bit, but if it gets too bad, you can always 'fold' the flex part up (don't count on non-breaks around the mouth, then...), and the muffle disappears

The pros? It is, without a doubt, the most comfortable mask. Period. I've borrowed friends' masks who rave about theirs, but nothing compares... I don't really sweat a ton, but the foam doesn't seem to be too bad in that area. Plus, I feel if it doesn't soak it up, then it'll drip down into the main part of the goggle onto the lense, and dripping sweat is as annoying as fog.

I've been shot in the mouth/lower cheek area... direct hits do bounce more often than not. The bounce occurs more in the mouth area rather than up near the cheek area where it reattaches to the harder plastic part of the mask (I've read reviews where people want the flex part to be the whole mask, but that simply wouldn't work... if bone - i.e., your hard skull- was right behind it, then it wouldn't bounce, it'd just break... the flex works because it's flexible, and there is space behind it...). Anyways, even some bounces are better than none, and I know that mouth/cheek hits are sort of rare at best, but I'll take a mask that'll extend just one game for a bit over one that broke the ball.

I've had problems with masks (usually the cheaper ones) where the main strap tends to stretch out. The Flex-7's strap has 'waves' of almost glue running on the inside... This aids in comfort, and I think keeps the weaving on the strap tight rather than not.

The thermal lenses I've never, ever had a problem with (although I would expect this... and would be very pissed if they fog). I've scratched the color one slightly, but nothing terrible that can't be dealt with... especially on a sunny day with snow on the ground. Both are extremely strong, and never had a problem with breaking them. Changing the lenses in and out is a royal pain in the ass (I also play golf, and using little wood tees to work the tabs in and out of the rubber works well enough). Don't expect to be changing them in and out during the day... find out the weather, and change them the night before. It's hell on the fingers the first few times, but the tab slots loosen up slighty after changing them a few times.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask to anyone with some extra cash and wanting a great mask... I've been nitpicking with the cons, but the comfort and flexibility make this mask's pros by far outwiegh the cons. Buy it if you got the cash... use the internet... at stores these run full price, but you can find them cheap if you look at various sites....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DerAdler Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None similiar
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
J&J Ceramic
Spring Kit
Empire Reloader
Strengths: Cheap
Never fogs up
Comes with 2 lenses
Weaknesses: A bit uncomfortable
Review: I ordered these a while back and I have loved them ever since. I switched from a cheap $18 V-Force Armour to these goggles and the comparison is quite simple; these are great goggles for the price. The change in periferal vision from these googles is amazing. I can now see people at the very edge of my regualr vision with these goggles on. With my old Armour, I had to turn my head. For the most important part of these goggles, they have never fogged up on me. After using a pair of single lensed goggles, I feel like i had not seen before I used these. I have played through mist, rain, and fog without a problem many times because these goggles never fog up. The only thing that I do not particualry like about these goggles is that they are rather tight on my head, which is small to begin with. On the back part of the sides of the goggles, particulary around the ears, space is tight and your ears may get cramped, but it is easy to get used ot and you will probable not even notice it.
Conclusion: Great goggles for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captain tippman Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pmi mask- hurts my head and wicked foggy, small lense
Strengths: Low fogging,good ventilation, periferal vision, comfort, bendy part allows bounce+ communication, thermal lens.
Weaknesses: Hard to replace lens, bendy part punches you in the face, larger profile, hard hearing
Review: This is a very good mask. Its low fogging and it has a wide lens that lets me see everything. The flexible part of it below the lens (cant remember the word) is bendable so u can look down without much difficulty, and the bendy part allows great ventilation and comunication to teammates. The ear is not open so u cant really hear to well so i would recomend to players with a lot of money to get the proflex, same thing but ear is cut sorta for better hearing. The chinstrap is helpful to some people because it helps keep the mask on especially with a backwords hat on, but i know many people who just cut it off. this mask is great, the price is right (mine was $45 at actionvillage), it has many strenghts that more expensive masks have for a lot less.

EDIT: The hearing isn't as great as other masks like the proteus od proflex. OWELL

NOTE: The lenses are REALLY HARD TO REPLACE!!!! OMG it kills your fingers, I have bandages on the tips of my thumbs and index fingers. I'm running low on band-aids, HELP!!
Conclusion: I recomend this to rec and scenario ballers because it has the wide veiw you so desperately need, plus the low fogging and comfort.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media