paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion / Raven Nexion

Raven Nexion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven Nexion

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven Nexion
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• LCD modes: ball counter, Count down timer, low battery indicator,
• 4 firing modes: semi auto, 3 round burst, 6 round burst, and full auto
• Aluminum receiver with custom mill works
• Vertical feed with adjustable feed port
• 12” competition barrel,
• Aluminum blade trigger
• Adjustable trigger pull
• Advance quick release pin
• Custom machined drop forward
• Expansion chamber with Fore grip
• Regulator and gauge
• Tournament velocity adjuster
• Anti-double feed
• Low pressure chamber
• Stainless steel hard line hose
• Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Raven Nexion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
dyephoenix Tuesday, February 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
Kingman Rocking Trigger
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Dye Throttle 68cu
Dye Rhino bottle cover
VL evolution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electro Hopper
Strengths: Fast, accurate, reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel is inaccurate (go fig)
Review: The Raven Nexion is rare. As hell. I got mine from my parents after winning a tournament, and it is good. I like the look of it, with the double trigger guards and the slanted regulator. It has decent BPS rate w/o the rocking trigger. The barrel needs to be upgraded though. Horrible accuracy alone. This gun also isn't much of a power hog. I put a case through it w/o having to recharge the batteries. This is an excellent marker to get, if you can find it.
Conclusion: Suberb electro, and fast too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerkid99 Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
most spyders, autocockers mech and e-bladed, stock imp, upped imp, a timmy for 1 game
Marker Setup: Raven nexion
dye invision
48/3k pmi steel tank
dye 5+4 atack pack
egg 2



soon to be

rat jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
-new barrel

-board

Strengths: -Speed
-Reliabilty (never broke down on me)
-Accuracy - not the worst stock barrel


Weaknesses: Speed (gets to you in turnys)
Could use a new barrel
Not very consistent
Review: this gun is an okay gun for rec ball or speed ball. what really gets to me thou in turnys is the speed is not that great 13 max also the reg is spaced so far out from the grip frame it is really hard to get tight and snap shoot. other than that this is a good gun and has never broken down on me soo go ahead and get it if you want a top notch spyder. you now how some people say that you should get a imagine and use the rest on upgrades. i would rather get this gun because the gripframe has an LCD witch is supper nice it lets you now
-how many balls you shot in every game
-a timmer
-can change bps

i really love the LCD

another thing i like about the nexion is they put an actuall regulator on it so it is much more consistent than a gas through -grip. another great feature is the topcocking part i dont care what you say but to mee it looks hella better and it is closer to a beter paintball gun




Conclusion: I would get this gun if you are going to play rec or scienario ball because it is fast and accurate but in turny ball it dosnt even stand up to like impys or anything of the stuff i gave it a 9 because i really dislike how far out the regulator is but all spyders are like that
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

[az]John Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion
ACS Delrin Bolt
Vl electro hopper
3000/68cu
2 piece smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and acs bolt
Strengths: -Looks
-Speed
Weaknesses: See body
Review: First of all this is a really nice gun, but I had a lot of problems getting this gun to work well, some problems were:
-when I first got it I had it choreographed and it was only shooting 160/ fixed this with a spring kit
-it chopped paint like there was no tomorrow/ got hpa and the acs bolt fixed the problem completely
-one of the wires coming from the capacitor in the handle broke/ bought a new capacitor and stopped it from moving in the handle by putting paper between it and everything else

...other than that its worked well, I stuck with it and its worked well since i fixed it. After all this I still suggest this gun, but for the price of fixing it I guess I could of gotten a better gun.
Conclusion: If it worked the way it does now out of the box I would give it a ten out of ten.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

semi-autofreak Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
piranha core and my brothers piranha r6
Marker Setup: piranha core with some after market sniper barrel air rifling
raven nexion j&j ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: well i got it used for about 200 but when i played the first time with it we used shrapnel paint balls and the accuracy sucked but when i put diablos through it i know that will be accurate as f--- because i know now shrapnel's suck from what my friend with 6 years of experience say ive noticed that in the extreme cold it breaks balls but its all good in November weather it worked really great and never chop-ed not even when i had it on full-auto and i didn't have an electronic hopper but hey when it chop ed it was really cold out im talking it was snowing out and that was the only time it broke paint and i like shooting every other day so when i go shooting with Remington 870 shotgun and colt .45 i bring my raven nexion cuz its full auto and well all my full auto firearms aren't legal so im wherry about shooting them
Conclusion: get a after market barrel and never use shrapnel paintballs ever on Any gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

josh69162 Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dry-fired an auto cocker, shot a silver bullet... an imagine 04, and my Xtra
Marker Setup: Stock Nexion,
12oz CO2 (but i have shot HPI through it... see review)
gravity hopper (have used a revvy and egg 2 on it, with an egg on the way, see review)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper and HPA, barrel seemed fine to me.
Strengths: trigger, feedneck, electric, angled foregrip, hardline hose, nice dropforeward, anodizing, o-rings, reg, THE BOX!
Weaknesses: Battery, using the board might be a little tricky at first.
Review: All I ever used that I owned was my Xtra, and after my friend got an '04 Imagine, I knew I wanted an electronic gun. Several lawns later, and lots of thinking, the E-99, Imagine, Pilot, and Pilot ACS, and the regular Fenix were out of the question. I narrowed it down to the Fenix ACS, and of course, the Nexion. I really wanted the Nexion a little more, but I still didn't know which one to get. At 290, it was only about 30 bucks more than the Fenix ACS. I looked everywhere, and then on eBay I found a brand new Raven Nexion that was a guy's display in his paintball shop for 235 Buy-It-Now. I quickly jumped on the gun, and a week later I had it in my hands. I waited outside for my mailman (11-5-04) and watched him with a big smile on my face as I saw him pull up the package. I ran inside and opened the package, and I looked at the box in awe. It is a bad*** box, I must say. I pulled off the top of the box and stared at the gun. The first thing that struck me was the anodizing. Very very nice looking. It has a very mysterious looking dark blue, with just a hint of gray possibly thrown in. It looks very nice because there isn't one thing that just stands out. It's all just sitting there. It's a very humble gun. I picked it up and screwed the barrel on. It is pretty light. I don't know where all these p****** got the notion that the gun is heavy, because it isn't. I handled it a little, and the balance point without a tank or paint, seems to be right in the middle of the top portion of the trigger guard. It makes for a very easy transition for the left and right hands when they are on the gun. The angled fore-grip is extremely comfortable in my hands. Not even 5 minutes after I opened the box, I had my first encounter with the durability of the anodizing. I ran upstairs with my gun to get my CO2 tank, and stupid my got overly excited and gave my barrel a nice big whack on the underside with the corner of the tank. The ano is pretty nice and strong. The tank gave it only a scrape about 3 or 4 millimeters long, and half of a dimes thickness. Anyways, I made it downstairs without any problems and screwed in the tank. No leaks, good sign. I turned on the board and messed around with it for a little while. It took me about 10 minutes to really get the gun down on how to move through the menus. The timer is nice. But the most use I've gotten out of it is how many BPS I walk the trigger, and to go off when my pizza is done in the oven. Just set the timer to 10 seconds, and stop walking at 0, then divide the shots by 10. I shoot a window-shattering 5.3 BPS. I turned the safety off (There is the safety when the grip is turned off, and then another when the grip is turned on , you push the bottom button to turn it off), and shot a few shots dry fired. There is very little blowback up the feed neck, due to the 3rd o-ring that Kingman put at the front of the bolt to keep the air pushing the ball in the barrel, not in the feed neck. Very nice for forcefed hoppers. I unscrewed the tank and stared at the gun. The milling at the top reminds me of a Dragon Intimidator. The satin chrome complements the dark blue very nicely. I put it up for the night and got ready to go to the field the next day. I screwed my tank in and forgot I was messing with the regulator the night before, so when I went to test fire my gun for the first time I was pushing the ball with like 800 PSI. It kept blowing up the balls and double firing because the bolt was going so fast the sear couldn't catch it. That scared the ****out of me because I didn't know what was happening. I thought I wasted 235 on a nice looking piece of metal. I stared at the guage for a while and realized the air I was putting against the ball was tearing them up. I lowered the reg to about 550, and went to test fire it. It was perfect. If the balls didn't land on top of each other at 40 ft, the splatter was touching. D*** good groupings from Zap Recball =). I went out and played a few games with the gun. The shake 'n' bake hopper just couldn't keep up. If the gun was tilted at any angle, the balls wouldn't feed fast enough and the gun would chop. BUT WAIT! There's more. This gun and barrel acts like a J&J, and if I just shoot a few more balls and put my hand over the muzzle and shoot it upside down, it really gets back 95-100% of its accuracy back. I swear, I chopped a ball early on in the game, and at the safe zone when I looked inside to see how bad it was. There were only a few small spots of grease residue left from the balls. I didn't even have to squeegee it. Just ran water through it. The rest of the day was pretty much the same, chopped because of the hopper, cleaned it out, good to go. I used both a Revvy and an Egg2 with the Y-board I think. I didn't experience one chop the whole game, and that is why I have a smoke colored egg on the way. Clear looks really sharp too, but it is illegal because if a ball breaks in the hopper it looks like you got shot. This gun is much more efficient than my Xtra, I got close to 1000 shots off of my 12oz CO2 at 550 PSI. I went back to the field (11-13-04, yesterday as of this review) a week later. It was extremely cold for CO2, around 55 I believe. I didn't get the CO2 filled up in a store, because I knew it could cool down and loose a lot of its pressure. I got it filled up at the field and brought 5 bucks for refills, because I knew they were coming. I bought more paint, and got a bad batch of Zap Rec****, and the stuff would break where the 2 pieces joined in the barrel. I didn't get it. Oh well, I'll never buy that **** again. I ran some of my friends paint through the gun and it all worked fine (Sorry, can't remember what it was). This gun gave me a lot of confidence during my games, and I realized you really can't compete with an Xtra. My friends and I (there were 4 of us) won every single game we played, and we played several 4 on 8's and 4 on 7's and a few 5 on 7's and 8's. These grips get really cold because the grips are actually metal, they aren't plastic like the Imagine. They feel a bit wide, but they have finger indentions as you get closer to the trigger. My fingers fit in them perfectly. I could feel the expansion chamber cool off every time I shot. I was very aggressive with this gun, and I would have bunkered 3 people if the ref didn't yell at me. This gun is amazing to play with. You can pull off with amazing snapshots with it. I know it isn't all compact like a DM4/5, but hell, it is still extremely comfortable and an agile gun. I got shot in the gun one game, and paint got everywhere. I took a game out to clean it all up, and the little quick disconnect pin makes for easy cleaning, and you don't have to worry about loosing the cotter pin, because it has a little button that forces little balls out to keep it in. Nevermind, it is hard to explain. It is quicker to take in/out than the version with the cotter pin, and I will leave it at that. This gun is as easy as all Spyders to clean, you just have to keep in mind there are electronics present. You just have to unscrew a little pod thing at the back, and it just gives the gun a closed bolt marker look. I just squeegeed the whole body, and reoiled it and reassembled it. Probably takes 10 minutes if you want to do a thorough job. I was out the next game whoopin up. The feed neck really keeps the gun much more low profile than those big obnoxious elbows, which to be quite honest, is another reason I wanted a new gun. The gun is built solidly, and help up to an extremely cold, rather rigorous day of ballin'. If you caught on, I didn't mention CO2 refills... because I didn't have to! The CO2 BARELY held up to 900 shots in 55 degree weather. The regulator kept me with 10 FPS with that spiking CO2, and when you think about it, it is rather remarkable. I really like the hardline, but the minute you change the expansion chamber or drop foreward, you have to get rid of it. All in all, my new gun performed perfectly (except for the initial regulator problem which was my fault) for the first two days of paintballing. I see many more fun days in this gun's future.
The only fault that I can think of is the shot counter doesn't keep track of the shots for the whole day, only while the grip frame is turned on. But this gun still kicks ***.
Conclusion: I know people will call this a stupid Spyder piece of ****, but all I can do about that is shake my head and tell them they are wrong. It doesn't really feel like a spyder, and is very comfortable in the hands. The anodizing is stunningly beautiful, and the small meticulate details bring the owner to their knees. Raven did a good job at introducing a well made debut marker, and I will recommend it to any person in the market for a step up from the mechanical age. If you can find a good deal like I did, you will be smiling all day with this thing. I give it a 10 because the weaknesses are negligible
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 at 5:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

a031363 Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine
Marker Setup: Raven Nexion, 14" J&J Ceramic, Egg, Kingman ACS Bolt, Dye Sticky 3 e-Grips, 16oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
E Hopper, a barrel if you want
Strengths: Looks sweet, easy programming w/LCD, unique, good stock barrel, quiet, good balance w/tank.
Weaknesses: price new (~$300+), but I only paid $100 for a display model
Review: Most people dis this marker due to its price, but if you find a great deal, then it is hard to beat for the stock features. One of the refs at our local indoor field saw this and wanted to know more about it and even tried it out little. I cannot yet, but we walked the trigger and said it felt smooth and the shots were accurate. For those of you who hate chops (caused by the bolt/half feeds), get the ACS bolt. It will save you time from having to field strip and clean out chops.

The upgrades I have purchased are not necessary, but do help save time, make the marker feel better, and also allow it to be used for its full potential, which I have not yet come close to.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this if you can find it for less than $200. The only upgrade/add-on required is an E hopper, but that is required for any marker capable of shooting more than 6 bps! Since I paid only paid $100, I am giving this a 10 because its value cannot be beat. If I had to pay up to $200, I would probably rate it a conservative 8-9, depending on the actual price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omgthyki1edkeny Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha VTL
friends tippmanns, cocker, spyders etc
Marker Setup: raven, richocet ak, mask, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A LOT
Strengths: Twelve inch barrel
electric
Weaknesses: Weight
cost
bps
Review: This gun was not worth the money i spent on it a year ago i spent around 350$ for this gun and i woulda rather bought a cheap cocker for that price. to many internal problems, and just no worht the money. im now saving up for a cocker because this gun does not fit my needs. this gun is great if you dont go pb-ing often and is also good if u want to improve ur muscles its so heavy.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is to not get this gun cuz ud be happier with something else
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kennay636 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TL, spyder xtra, shocker tested a bunch of timmys and angels
Marker Setup: pewter dynasty shocker, stock freak barrel, halo b no rip drive, 45/4500 crossfire tank, efficentcy bolt, soon a dynasty shocker board
Recommended
Upgrades:
xsf advantange kit make it way faster
new bolt like a check it full force of a tigershark
new barrel ultralight or a freak, cp
Strengths: Decent parts
Fast
Value
Accurate
efficent
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Bolt can get suck
Rare
Review: One of my best friends bought this gun for $200 brand new and he's happy with it. It's fast, pretty accurate, has good c02 efficentcy. I havent seen it with compressed air so i dont know how it does with that. Comes stock with a clamping feedneck and a blade trigger. When u chop though u have to take apart the whole bolt assembly to get it clean and workin right, but thats ok. It's alot better than we expected and we're happy about it.
Conclusion: This thing is hella cool, cheap, fast,accurate, and light so why not buy 1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mastersat4500 Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine
E-99
Basically all other Kingman Products
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Imagine
14" Tear Drop
12v Revy
Superfly Shorty bolt
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Revy
Barrel
New bolt or poor mans lighting
HPA(Just a nice thing to have)
Strengths: Very nice to trigger walk
Very Very light
Easily Upgradeable because it a spyder
Weaknesses: $$$ Very Expensive
Barrel(like usual)
Review: The gun i used was Rafi's but i feel like getting my opinion in on it

Strengths-
The trigger is very light, a good walker could max it out.

The gun is very light. Good for woods ball players that need excellent rate of firepower

Upgrades- I let him use my barrels and anything else,(except for the bolt) when he goes w/o me. Basically its a spyder, but raven wanted a gun.

Weaknesses-
The price of guns is pretty ridiculous now and days, two years ago i bought my imagine for 100 dollars. Now guns with the same amount of mods as my gun cost twice as much.
But what can i say, your basically paying for the Name.

Barrel-Like usual the stock barrel are junk. but nothing a J&J or Teardrop can't fix with $30

One thing neat is if you leave the gun on for a certain amount of time w/o pulling the trigger it auto turns off. (Nice Option i always leave my gun on)

I also like the ball counter and timer on it
Conclusion: I love this gun. If i could choose between my gun and this one (if they were the same price) i would go for the raven

Nice gun get one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerkid99 Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
most other spyders shot a couple of impys and e blades
Marker Setup: raven nexion
pmi 48 3k
ricache ak
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
bolt
board
reg
Strengths: Acuracy, Speed LCD, Lightness
Weaknesses: Recoil
Review: This is a great gun it has the lcd so you already have a timer and a ball counter. you can esaily modifiy the trigger at no expense it shoots really nice. the acuraccy is actually pretty good with the stock barrel if you have a fairly god paint to barrel match a new one would help though
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to any one who has an extra 100 bux and is going to get a electra or somthin because the lcd really is nice and its a lot lighter than other spyders
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media