paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask

JT Elite X-Fire Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite X-Fire Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite X-Fire Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 125
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The X-Fire mask is constructed with a high impact rigid upper for strength, and a soft plastic lower for flexibility.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite X-Fire Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Aslan2005 Monday, December 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex
Scott
Brass Eagle
Marker Setup: Minimag w/Retro Valve, Level 10, and ULT trigger kit
Shocktech Medium Drop, chrome foregrip
Intelliframe with Intellifeed to Warpfeed modification
Taso Winforce 16" barrel
MaxFlow reg on 70/4500 HPA tank
Strengths: Great Protection
Affordable
Durable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Ugly
Stock lens not good
Lens difficult to change/clean
Review: This has been my primary mask for about 7 years. I've modified it my adding a couple computer fans to the top of the goggles that run off 9V batteries and supply a bit of air through the top of the goggles to mainly keep my glasses from fogging.

This mask is affordable, but the key strength is protection. It's big and it's not "stylish"...so you won't win "Agg player of the month" for wearing it. BUT...it protects your face, your ears, your neck (mostly), and your forehead. Very few, if any, masks avaialble (even today) provide the protection that this mask does. And, it's durable. I should know, I've been abusing it for over 7 years.

Now, the drawbacks. Difficult to get the lens in and out. Field of vision is limited. It's ugly and you might take an extra mask hit from time to time because there is more of a profile to it. It's also heavy, feels like it's falling off your face sometimes. And the stock lens is garbage, just like any non-thermal lens. You'll need to buy the thermal lens for it for the mask to work well for you. I've been through 2-3 thermal lenses, had no problems with my mask lens fogging (just my glasses).
Conclusion: Not a better mask for the money. FAR superior to Scott and Brass Eagle masks. Thermal lens is a MUST! But I've got to give this mask a high mark, despite it's numerous drawbacks, because it does what a mask is supposed to do, it PROTECTS you...VERY WELL.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 13th, 2010 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darthraven Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman US Army masks, Crossfire mask, other various masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (original), all stock
Original Hopper
20 oz. co2 tank
20" RAP4 Sniper barrel
Strengths: Durable and rugged
Comfortable and well shaped
Excellent protection for face, ears & eyes
Weaknesses: Prone to frequent and overwhelming fog
Strap has slackened SLIGHTLY
Minimum neck protection
Review: I bought my X Fire back in 2000 & have used it ever since. It's a good mask, regardless of any other reviews. I've played probably every type of paintball game ever imagined (I think~) in every type of weather you could imagine (eh, Ohio gets some really extreme weather 24/7/365) and the mask always held up. It has a full field of vision comparable to other masks within it's price range and year of release
And the coolest feature I've found is foam spacers behind the ears, which increases the spacing between your ears and the mask. This space allows for better hearing during game play. One bad thing is that it's prone to frequent and overwhelming fog (although I never did install the anti-fog insert, maybe that's the problem) By now, they've probably flooded the market with other hundreds of new masks, but I recommend the X Fire for any collection, casual or pro.
Conclusion: BUY IT! If you can find another mask for the cost, go for it. But if you come across a decent X Fire for a decent price, see my previous statement.....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2010 at 10:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Saturday, October 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proteus
NVader
Skull Mask
Marker Setup: Automag
Strengths: Foam
Full protection
Structurally sound
Breathability
Weaknesses: Bulky
Review: I'm sorry, but I liked this mask when I used it. And I liked the padding. It's smoother, more firm, and won't hold sweat above your eyeballs like regular foam will. I think the breathability is the best thing about the X-Fire. I can run and not feel like an old man starving for oxygen. It's a bit on the heavy side, though. I also prefer the Spectra Lens over the Elite, which is why I don't use the X-Fire anymore. I can't say anything about the fog factor as I live in a rather arid region in southern California.
Conclusion: For what it is, this is a good mask. There's better out there, though, but for the price range. . .
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kenny_McCormic Thursday, July 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder victor
Core derlin bolt with venturi drilled out
polished striker and trigger group
14" SP progressive
Strengths: THERMAL LENS NEVER FOGS!!!!!
FULL FACE PROTECTION
chin strap means it will never come off
Weaknesses: field of view SUCKS!!!!
no peripheral vision
foam is rough and uncomfortable
Review: This is great noob mask it protects your entire face. However the foam is uncomfortable and you cant see out of the corner of your eye with it. But if you get a thermal one it NEVER FOGS!!! so even if you cant see everything at least what you can see is clear.
Conclusion: Its an OK mask i like mine but would like a better one soon i give it a 9/10 just for the anti fog.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkiller Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all masks are basicly similar and i have too many to name
Marker Setup: Tac 5 Recon with Camo Paint, 9 inch smoth bore barrel with compensator, dual trigger, smoke camo halo 200 rd hopper with extension, 9oz CO2 with camo cover or 20oz if its speed ball, 30mm auto ordinance red dot sight, right hand sniper position elbow, tactical green laser pointer, new stainless steel reciever, 14 inch bipod,
Strengths: Very durable
Fog resistant (a must, cant shoot what u cant see)
very basic
average
Weaknesses: Hurts ears (long term)
sort of cheap
spray will go in your mouth
impact bites
Review: I have over 15 masks but this one is the elder of them all. Ive had this think since god knows when......just shows its durability. When i first started to play i got shot from 4' away with a stingray at a unhealthy high velocity rate in the eye sheid and it held together like it was bullet proof (its not.....lol) and i was happy that i could still see, but not so happy that my upper lip felt like it had been hit by a crow bar. The shot put paint all over my forehead and in my mouth (id rather drink some pepsi than paint any day) but did not effect the mask one bit, also i got him back when it started to rain and that anti fog eye sheild started to kick in.....shoot him dead in the groin (good times.) The only major faults this has is that
-Old and almost every mask is better (not brass eagle thoe.....sentry is horrible)
-Will punish your ears and does not absorb a shoot well (it lets your face absorb it)
Conclusion: Good for a starter but if you have been playing over 6 months get a headsheild or any other new mask. Its even greater as a secondary mask cuz it wont let you down.
I will give it a 7 cuz even thoe it is topped by lots of masks, it still has lived on over many years of wear and tear.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_fan Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Alpha
Varios rentals
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5E
12" Progressive Barrel System
20 oz. C02
Custom Blade Trigger
Veiwloader 200
Strengths: Does not fog!
Excellent protection
stays on face
price
Bounce rate
Weaknesses: Does not come with a visor
Really warm after a while
Review: This mask is really awesome for anyone getting into the game. I have tried other masks in the price range but none compare. Remember this is around the same price as a java v type and other crap bombs but still does not fog. Recently i was playing at my buds house (a.k.a. the_super_sheep) and it was... wait for it... -26 degrees Celsius and for all you Americans that's pretty dang cold. It did eventually fog after about 45 minutes but only on one side (?). It has a soft lower half that actually helps alot, i've had about 4 bounces and that was every time i've been hit there. The vision is good but could use some improvement. The strap is really good and keeps the mask were it should be, on your face. The lens does not scratch easy, and over all is pretty tough. I'm not sure why they didn't just throw in a $2 visor but they didn't and i can live with that.
Conclusion: Pretty awsome mask with very little downsides. If you are looking to get into paintball or are tired of your $4 mask than go and scoop one up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerFanatic Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision, VForce Profiler, VForce Armour, VForce Shield, JT Spectra Proshield, BE Xtreme Vision, JT Nvader ,Scott Stalker
Marker Setup: '02 STO Outkast Eclass cocker, Dye Ultralite 2 piece, Superfly Delrin bolt, Free Flow Kit, Planet Eclipse E2 frame, drop foreward/cradle, PMI pure energy 68cu HPA tank, eVLution II
Strengths: Offers better than average protection, good foam around goggle and ears, highly adjustable
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Pros:
This is an excellent mask for the beginner. It is quite large offering quite alot of protection and the lower section is flexible black rubber that has the chance to bounce balls. It also has adjustment slots for the straps so that it can be adjusted to fit a broad variety of head sizes. This mask also doesn't have alot of excessive vents allowing for easy cleaning, or a good rental goggle. Very strong construction. Would also be good for people with large heads or those who value protection over looks. The foam while not high quality is still solid, doesn't tend to fall off or rip with normal wear, and is quite comfortable with long periods of play. Various colors available for several styles of play.

Cons:
The mask will not easily fit children, or those with small heads, the strap is very adjustable but just won't tighten that much. The strap also after a period of time wears out and has much less stretch. The foam ear pieces after time will fall out. While not actually necessary they do help fit, reduce bouncing of the mask, and keep the mask from slapping against the player when it takes a hit. The lense tends to fog, it needs to be regularly coated with anti-fog protection and even so on humid days it will tend to fog. The view from inside was standard for the day but could be considered restrictive nowadays.
Conclusion: A good mask for the beggining player, or even those who don't play much. They are not expensive and can still be found for sale. Lots of protection and decent comfort.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fountain Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Its mask so other masks
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Stops paintballs from hitting ur face
Comfortable to wear
Cheap
Weaknesses: Looks ugly compared to ok or nice masks
Review: I got this mask in a Brass Eagle Stiker kit and it works fine.Its a mask so as long as it doesnt break when a paintball hits it and it looks ok its fine.The mask isnt that nice but again its cheap so u get what u pay for.Its a good mask for the price and if u have no money u should buy it.But if u have the money buy something that looks nice.
Conclusion: Buy it if u have no money cause its a good mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude00 Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt-spectra
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom

16" terminator barrel

200 round hopper

20oz.C02 tank
Strengths: It wont fog up when its foggy or humid,cheap
Weaknesses: The goggles fogged up when i got shot in them
Review: Overall i think that this goggle system rocks! the goggles that come with it are thermal and really nice,its comfortable dosent get in your way it gives good protection but you should buy a visor for it,its good for beginners like me the downside is that when me and my friends were playing paintball in his woods i got marked rite in the lens it was a foggy day so then the lens started fogging up but after you clean it its fine just try not to get shot in the lens
Conclusion: You should buy this it is cheap but very good qhality
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheGigolo Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
some mask that came with my piranha, I can't remember the name so that says alot.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS,ACI Zero Gravity barrel, 12volt Revvy, 12 oz co2.
Strengths: Good coverage, field of view, comfortable.
Weaknesses: Difficult lens changing.
Review: I have used this mask for years now and it has never let me down. The thermal lens definitely does help decrease fogging issues but won't prevent it completely. This mask is very nice for those with a big head, such as myself. It offers alot of protection to areas that other masks just don't ,and that is the main reason I purchased it. When it comes to changing lenses I absolutely hate doing it because it can be a big pain. The padding around the eyes is very comfortable but seems to hold sweat easily which depending on how you look at it can be either good or bad.
Conclusion: All in all this is an excellent mask and now it can be found very cheap. It isn't the best looking mask but if you want good coverage then this is a mask to consider!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media