paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask / JT Elite X-Fire Mask

JT Elite X-Fire Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite X-Fire Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite X-Fire Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 125
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The X-Fire mask is constructed with a high impact rigid upper for strength, and a soft plastic lower for flexibility.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite X-Fire Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
BTRobertson Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. rear, Freak front, .689 bore insert barrel system
Kingman Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Bad Habitz spring kit - high velocity installed
Strengths: Chin strap, cheap, thermal lens, visor, adjustable, extends over face and neck
Weaknesses: Lens scratches very easily
Review: Considering this is the first and only mask I've ever used, my review may be a bit biased. I found this mask for cheap at a local sporting goods store in Pittsburgh (Dunham's for those interested).

Ellaborating on the strengths:

1.) It's key to note that not every mask comes with an adjustable chin strap. This is awesome because it keeps the mask from sliding during a run, because of sweat, etc. This was a huge selling point for me.

2.) I already mentioned the price is great - you can find it for about $20.00 online if you look hard enough - it's an older mask, so it might not be available in your local store.

3.) The thermal lens, in conjuction with the chin strap, was another huge selling point. I have used other cheap masks (can't remember the brand) when my friend was trying to get me into paintball, and they fogged up like crazy because I sweat so much. The thermal lens does EXACTLY what it's supposed to do - prevent fogging, even the slightest amount. I have never once had my mask fog up. Other thermal lens masks can be a bit pricey, but for $20.00, this is a huge feature to have included.

4.) A visor came with mine, so you'll have to make sure yours has one. It helps keep the sun off the lens, which causes glare...that'll hamper your performance considerably.

5.) Adjustability is part of most masks, so there's nothing special here. You can tighten or loosen it to fit your head, end of story.

6.) I've seen many pictures of guys with very small masks which exposes all of their neck and most of their chin line. Oh my god! Have you guys ever been hit in the neck or chin? Aside from a shot where the sun doesn't shine (for guys), this has to be the next most painful place to be hit. Even with a neoprene neck guard, which I have, there's always skin protruding. Well, not with the JT Elite X-fire. It's a larger mask which covers all of my chin and jaw, plus some. I have a big head, so that's a key feature to note.

Weaknesses:

1.) While this may be true for all lenses, the lens on this mask scratches up pretty easily. My Kingman Rodeo has a beavertail on the rear to keep the bolt from recoiling into my face, but the corners, until I grinded them down, were very sharp. Trying to aim, I scratched one spot of my lens all up and I barely touched it. The counter to this weakness is the replacement lenses for this mask are plentiful and cheap, and replacing them is as easy as popping the tabs of the lens out of the mask frame and popping in the new one.
Conclusion: For $20.00, I don't know if you can get a more feature-rich mask. It's OD green and black, making it perfect for woodsball and scenario games, and the chin strap and thermal lens will ensure comfort, mobility, and less annoyance from fogging. The visor will help keep the sun out of your eyes and glare off the lens during a game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MHDarilek Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/Black Cherry Custom Paint Job
14" 32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
Tippmann Dropfoward
Polished Internals
Full Boar Shadow
Rocket Cock II (not at the moment)

Strengths: Covers Alot Of Your Face
Super Comfortable
Weaknesses: Ugly
Review: I got this mask.. And the 1st thing I noticed when I put it on, is that the part that presses agianst your face, isnt soft foam stuff.. But others that I have seen have that..
Its more of a hard foam material. It fits perfectly on me. While the other one (same model) with the soft foam smashed on my nose, and it was uncomfortable..

It is ugly though. But I really like it..
Conclusion: I love this mask, even though its really ugly. I give it a 9 because its ugly..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Greenguy812 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some rental that was a JT of some kind
Marker Setup: Victor II w/ 14 inch Tiller barrel
fed with a Q loader and a
3000 psi HPA tank
X-Fire mask w/ Vortex fan
Strengths: Face coverage
Soft lower half
Field of vision
memory Foam
Weight
Weaknesses: Fogged up sometimes but not with Vortex fan
Lens hard to get out
Review: The first time i used this mask was because a friend let me use his, the next time i went i had to use a rental and said that i would never do that again!!!! I went back and talked my friend into selling me his.

Good
--Very light weight! after playing all day i see others with big red rings around their faces from the masks being uncomfy

--The foam on the inside is a big factor for me and the foam on this mask is great, it conforms to you face and is not itchy at all

--Great face coverage, but not big and bulky

--Soft lower half , for ball bounces and it will not hurt your neck if it touches.

--Good field of vision

Bad
--Fogged up sometimes but i bought a Vortex fan and have not had a problem since, i don't run the fan the whole time because the noise factor is there. I just turn it on for a sec.when it starts to fog then off it goes again.

--The lens it a pain to get out, but i have only had to take it out once
If you are looking for something where you need to change the lens every time you play than this may not be the mask for you. but you can clean it just fine with out removing the lens
Conclusion: I liked it so much that i bought another one for my wife, and she is picky so if she likes it then just about anyone would!

I would recommend getting this for anyone!! from the first timmer to the pro.
Its cheap but does its job well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 1:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OutlawJ Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmm, probally a rental mask, no wait, this was the rental mask!
Marker Setup: Stock setup
Standard 200 round loader
9oz co2 tank
Strengths: Cheap
Paintballs tend to bounce off
Weaknesses: Crappy color
Fogs up alot
Foam padding sucks
Review: This was my first mask so I did not think bad of it (mostly cuz I didn't know much about paintball at that time). The truth is that there are alot of flaws in this mask. One is the crappy color it comes in; I have yet to see this mask in another color. The color is somewhat of a puke green mixed with baby crap (but this is all my opinion). Second of all is the fogging you have to deal with, I had this mask for about a year and it didn't fog until about the second time of use. I was breathing hard and the damn thing wouldn't stop fogging up no matter how many times I cleaned it. The fog clears up fairly fast, but by that time you would have exhaled again and made the fog even worse. One time I had to sit out for a few games and let the fog clear up for awhile before I could use it again. On top of looking lame and not being able to see you have to deal with the terrible foam padding. Its not squishy at all and soaks up maybe a drop or two of sweat.; and in my opinion its quite itchy. On the plus side however its cheap and affordable, I pick one up for about $20 at the local pro-shop. Also paintballs tend to bounce off the rubber guarding that surrounds the mouth and acts as a crappy vent system. I was hit there a number of time one game from about 10 feet away and 1 out of about 7 didn't pop.
Conclusion: I advise not to get this mask at all (spend $10 more and get the Headsheild). This mask is and will always be a rental mask in my book.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

franky c Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i currently use a v-force and the vforce is way better
invision- way better than both but i only tested it
Marker Setup: spyder esprit w/ and expanion chamber , 14 inch smart parts progressive barrel, 12 volt revi, 20 oz tank( soon to have a 68/3000 fiber)
Strengths: check the review below
Weaknesses: check the review below
Review: Pros: its green so thats food if ur playing in the woods
u can see out of it in the beggining
its 20 bucks

Cons: It fogs up
if u dont clean it the smallest ammount of paint will detiriorate the lens
it sucks to take the lens of its easy but it sucks
when it detiriorates it sucks really bad
no visor
the foam ear padding fall out
Conclusion: get it for ur 1st gun but once it starts detiriorating get a vforce if u have the money get a pro flex
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rEf#1 Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bunch of others
Marker Setup: Dm4 w/ upgrades
Strengths: NO FOG! (only if you use windex)
Fits well
Good price
Weaknesses: Fit can be bad
Review: I have been using this for along time and I like it alot. No major flaws and im still gonna keep it when I get my proteus. The best way to fix the fit is wear a beanie with the mask.This is a great mask for a great price. I would recommend it to anyone!!
Conclusion: I'll give it a 9 because it could fit a bit better, but its not uncomfortable.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 12th, 2004 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hudson4269 Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: F-2 Illustrator - RETIRED

Powerfeed Automag - STOLEN

Spyder Victor II - 14" 32 Degree Quiet Riot Barrel, Agitating VL (old school), 14oz Chrome Molly on a drop forward. ACTIVE
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Not for smaller framed people.
Not for people who need to wear glasses.
Review: All in all this mask, to me, is the backbone of all other mask designs. It has been the pillar for which JT has built there goggle designs on for all these years. If it was not a good mask design, would it still be in use over 6 years after being designed? If it was not a good reliable mask would I still have mine after 6 years of play?

The construction is solid. They are still readily available. JT is a respected name. Good looking design. (unlike some BE's I have seen.)

Only real draw back is that smaller people might find them uncomfortable, and glass wearers might be annoyed when they wear it.
Conclusion: Sure there are better masks out there on the market, but if you looking on getting into paintball, on a budget, or looking for a second backup mask; I cannot recommend this mask highly enough.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hecman82 Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I tried a JT Proshield as a rental and I think it gaves more solid protection for chin and jaw shots then the JT X-Fire.
Marker Setup: I used my Tippmann 98 Custom with nothing added on then what was in the box.
Strengths: - Affordable paintball goggle system.
- Good protection overall.
- Doesn't fog up so far.
Weaknesses: - Removing the lenses is very difficult to do.
- Little protection for your jaw.
Review: The JT X-Fire, AKA Cross Fire, is a good paintball mask for a beginner to try out the sport and a good cheap spare mask when you get something better. It will stop paintballs from damaging your delicate bodies eyes, ears, and nose with solid harden plastic and double layered lenses. On the flip side, it gaves fair to little protection for your lower jaw due the soft rubber which I guess bouces off some balls. The mask is very cheap to buy when I got it for 20 dollars or so. Doesn't fog up from what I can tell so far. Only real draw back I see is taking out the lenses which is very hard to do to say the least.
Conclusion: Overall this mask gaves good protection and cheap to buy but if your like me get something more solid.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdog007 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vforce armor
proteus-good
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra , Boomstick 12" , 20oz, Empire Reload (kicks ass) ,soon to come a CCi vertocal phantom they are tight and accurate as hell
Strengths: its a mask doesnt fog
Weaknesses: no foam around the ears buts its a 20 dolar mask
Review: its cheap not much i got it for 20 it has no foam around the ears and its harder to take the lens out than the vforce armor , buy it if ur lowon cash but go with a vforce i like and ill use it as a backup

fogs up a little in alabamas humidity

safe -got hit in the mask and didnt bust
Conclusion: buy it if ur lowon $ or if ur a rec but otherwise buy a armor mask or proteus
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FaultySanity Saturday, October 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-ray
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
48/3000 HPA tank
12volt Revolution with X-board
14" Dye Xcel
Strengths: Good protection
Flexible bottom
Simple
Cheap (price)
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart
Review: This is a great mask for the price. The vision is okay...its not bad, but its not great. Great ear/face/neck protection. It fits nice and snug on your head. Its relatively large, but if you play your cards right, it'll do fine.

Looks - 5
Protection - 10
Comfort - 8
Overall - 9


Conclusion: If your new, and your on a budget - This mask is fine. I give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media