paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Elite nVADER Mask / JT Elite nVADER Mask / JT Elite nVADER Mask

JT Elite nVADER Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Elite nVADER Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Elite nVADER Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 399
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Accepts all JT accessories including X-Wind Fan, goggle straps and Elite lenses. Available in black only.
Product Availability 
The JT Elite nVADER Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (40):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Crewdog78 Saturday, July 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Raptor - More comfortable, but a bit less practical than the nVADER.
A few other misc. low end masks I've used as rentals.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98.
Strengths: - Good vision.
- Solid construction.
Weaknesses: - Foam is a bit itchy and scratchy.
- Loose fit.
- Limited neck coverage.
Review: First I'll talk a little about the coverage it provides. Like most masks out there it covers your entire face, and that's about it. As far as what it's meant to cover, it does an excellent job at that. The downside is that it provides virtually nothing for the throat like some masks do. While some people aren't bothered by this, some people are. So if you're worried about getting shot in the neck this mask really won't do anything for that. And if you're not worried about it then this mask has all the coverage you'll need.

The construction I've found is pretty good and solid. On the downside it means that there's very little chance of a bounce, any ball that hits this mask will break. Now although I understand my experience is somewhat limited at only two years of occasional play I have yet to see a ball hit a mask and not break. I'm sure these mask bounces happen, but I've never seen it so I'd hardly expect the nVADER do it. The positive about how solidly it's built is that you don't have to worry about the mask itself falling apart on you or anything. If you get shot in one of these masks you don't have to worry about getting injured, which is good to know when some jerk turns up the velocity on his marker.

In terms of comfort, it's not debilitating, but it's just uncomfortable enough to be a bit annoying. I've found that although you end up forgetting about most things as you adjust from wearing the mask a while, there's a few things you'll notice when you put it on. First and foremost, the foam sucks. It's abrasive so it's going to itch and scratch and for those with sensitive skin it'll likely drive you crazy. The other thing I've noticed is that although it's not bad enough to cause a real problem, breathing is a little bit more strained than with some other masks. Like I said, it's not bad enough to be a real issue that'll slow you down in a match, but it's a bit of an annoyance at first.

As far as vision goes I've never had any issue with it. I've found the field of vision to be more than adequate, and I haven't had any fogging issues with it yet. However given that so far I've only used it in California during the dry season (and it is dry out here) I wouldn't expect fogging issues with any mask under the conditions. So it could have fogging problems in other climates, but so far I have yet to really put the mask through a good stress test on fogging.

The final issue I've had is that the fit can be a little loose if your head is a bit smaller. Since I always wear a baseball cap under my masks anyhow I've never had an actual problem with this, but from trying it on without a hat on I know that I'd never wear one in a match without a hat. I'd guess that if you replace the strap with something better that would fix the problem, but given that it's a $30 mask it's not something I'd want to sink extra money into. But as I mentioned, wearing a baseball cap underneath completely removes the issue and gives me a near perfect fit.

Edit: I nearly forgot, the issue that was brought up in the forums that reminded me to review this mask. I've found that it actually does a very good job at accepting glasses for those of us who don't have 20/20 and don't want contacts. I haven't tried any real large glasses, but it's taken all of mine without issue. This is easily the masks greatest strength.
Conclusion: My experience with the JT nVADER mask is that there's a lot of better masks out there, but this one fits it's price range. At an MSRP of $30 it's worth that money, but I wouldn't pay any more than that for one of these. It's a good dependable mask, but it's far from being anything spectacular. If you've got more money to spare then I'd highly recommend upgrading, but if you've only got no more than about $30 to work with then you can't really go wrong.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 18th, 2009 at 11:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OMG its da FONZ Friday, May 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
Inver hopper
Remote
(soon J&J Ceramics 14in, my own CAR stock)
Strengths: Took some hits in the visor and cheeks with no breaks.
Weaknesses: Wow... i dont even know how to tell you how frustrating this mask is...
Review: Ok, so i got this mask a while ago, i saw that it will do ok against fogging... i was so WRONG! FOG FOG FOG all over the place, sure i was playing in probably some of the highest humidity and wet, semi temperate conditions but come on. i would be posted up somewhere and move about 10 feet and start fogging...

[One little side note for all of you that may be planning on getting this mask, it is very large. the profile on this thing is massive good luck getting you eyes down you sight if you have a stock on ur gun.]

reasons why it fogs for me(im guessing):
1. I breath hard into this mask because i get no air pretty much and im constantly on the move. the really small holes for sure dont help.
2. I sweat a lot because im a man.
3. conditions were close to the worst possible.


Personally i think the mask fits and feels fine on my face, it cuts into my nasal passages a bit so im a mouth breather (FOG!) but it is a little hard to clean i guess if you are someone who does not have an air compresser like i do just spray the paint right outa there.

ok so here we go!!! the solution to this FOGGING problem:

FOG-TECH about $16 and will last a really long time.
pretty much this stuff works like a dream!
heres kind of how it works from what i have seen:

you apply this to you mask that gives you tons of grief, pain and sarrow.
HOW IT WORKS:
i pretty much creates an invisible film over you goggles that keeps millions of tiny water droplets we call fog from sticking to the goggles, in turn, keeps your sight and you in the game. also it really will save you some money as it has for me because i was planning on buying some new goggles and i didnt have to because now my goggles dont fog. i found FOG-TECH here on PBreview so check it out it really is a mini miracle.
Conclusion: Aight so these goggles keep paint from hitting you in the face, there it is. but you may have some trouble along the way. FOG. and if you plan on getting shot in the face and not having the right tools to clean it, it may be a little bit tough for you.

get FOG-TECH if you have goggles that fog. its cheaper than a fan and makes no noise lol to all you fan kids i hear in the field.

mask gets a 7 for protection and breathablitybut it gave me several bounces. but a -3 for the fogging.... 4 it is.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EMT/Firefighter Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Proto
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP Autococker
68/4500 HPA
Evolution III (eggy) hopper
Strengths: Very easy to use and great for begginers!
Weaknesses: A little harder to take the lense out to clean.
Review: This mask is great for just beggining! It is comfortable, easy to see out of, breathable, and if you like to look cool...this one is great for that too. When you run it stays in place without any problem. It will tend to apply some pressure to just behind your ears if you are like me and have a bit of a bigger head.
Conclusion: This was the first mask I ever used. I bought it along with my complete first setup. It was great for using in the woods and in the speedball course. I am a bigger guy so if you breath like me when you run, it will tend to fog up a little but not too bad. I would greatly recommend this mask, especially to people that are just getting started. Don't go and buy the most expensive mask because you want to be cool, buy this one to try out and who knows, you may use it and like it enough to keep using it rather than spending a fortune. It is a little harder to clean with all the little plastic clips but once you do it a couple times you get the hang of it and it's not so bad.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajppacman Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
java mask that came with spyder (decent but fogs way to much)
Marker Setup: spyder sonix 08
camd esp rocking trigger
evoltion hopper II or III cant remember
14 inch 32 degrees barrel
12 oz co2
24 oz co2
Strengths: Never fogged on me
very protective
looks great
chin strap
Weaknesses: None that i can think of
Review: Ok, i bought this at dunhams sports for 27 dollars. i was playing at about 17 faranheight and it never fogged i tink this is a great mask and it is worth money!!! go out and buy it its worth it. i will conclude tis ecause i love this product and
Conclusion: I tink this is a great mask and it is worth money!!! go out and buy it its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 30th, 2009 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Friday, January 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)
Strengths: Cheap, pretty strong, good view, last a while.
Weaknesses: Dont look very cool not that big a problem, fog up a little.
Review: I got these goggles last year when i started playing i have to say there not the coolest but there ok for beginners and well anyone i guess ive used them alot and dropped them alot and they lived through evrything i really like them i want to replace them soon though
Conclusion: Good goggles like them i would recomend them
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foxrider3 Monday, January 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass egale but i do not recommend it
Marker Setup: *Tippmann 98 custom
*14 inch carbon fiber barrel
* A view loder hopper
* Tactical stock
Strengths: SHOULDN'T FOG
Comfortable
Sturdy when you get hit
Cheap
Weaknesses: Allows paint in who cares
MIGHT FOG BUT I'VE GOT A SOLUTION LOOK review
Review: Well this mask i s pretty basic and i do not have complaints. Some of you might say " i have this mask and it fogs" well i have a solution. Put a bandana aroung your face (cowboy style) and that will keep the air and moisture from exiting to the top. Well i hope that helped. You can see more reviews from me like the 98 custom,bt-4, monster balls, visible impact. I gave the monster balls a low score.
Conclusion: Relieble and can take the pressure of a paintball hit. Also its good if you are starting out and need a cheap mask. I will give it a 9 because it hasn't annoyed me yet so its good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Wolf1990 Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Mask, its more comfortable on the face and vents better but it fogs up too.
Marker Setup: A-5 with X-7 low profile hopper
Linear Barrel
20oz CO2
Strengths: Keeps your head protected
Weaknesses: Fogs
Poor venting
Pads are itchy
I personally think its kinda ugly
Review: READ: I'm from Mississippi, and it gets very hot and humid down here which makes it easy for any single lens mask to fog, and I also have sensitive dry skin.

I got this helment as part of the package deal when I bought my old 98c from a friend for $60.

Pro:
It does what it was design to do, protects your face. If I have to run into a patch of thorns head first, I at least don't worry about my face getting scratched up.

It fits my big head

The strap is also nice.

Cons:
Even though this mask has a ton of tiny little venting holes, it's simply still isn't enough. Its somewhat hard to breath, you can feel your breath recycling itself in the mask.

The pads are a cheap itchy foam which gets even worse when it gets hot and sweaty. The foam is also very large and it tends to be at the tip of my eyes which also gets very annoying and irritates my eyes too. I was able to somewhat solve the problem of the itchy foam irritating my eyes by cutting some of the foam back.

This mask also is very pron to fogging down here in Mississippi. At first if your just walking around, the mask normally doesn't fog up. But if you start breathing heavily because of walking threw very thick woods, thorns, bushes, and thickets, then the mask will fog up badly and wiping them doesn't do much good. The only way to make the fog go away is to sit down for awhile and let it naturally defog.

I dunno if its just me, but I feel like the mask is somewhat front side heavy. Even though it fits on my head just fine, it doesn't hug my head firmly and comfortably. When you start running, the mask tends to bounce on your face up and down slightly, but enough for the itchy foam to start irritating my eyes. I was able to make it fit a little better by buckling the strap behind my head instead of under my chin, but then it put more pressure on your face, but that's not as bad as having the foam irritate my face.
Conclusion: Even though its a cheap mask and I shouldn't expect too much, the cons outweigh the pros more then what is necessary even for a cheap mask, this mask has indeed interfered with my performance. It just simply wasn't build for my face, let alone for the Mississippi hot and humid weather. If you can help it, I wouldn't buy this mask and should just go ahead and spend another $10-$20 for a mid range model. I plan on buying another mask for my personal use and then keeping this mask as a spare for my other gun incase somebody else wants to play, then they can use this crappy mask, haha. I'm giving it a 4 because its not very useful where I live but its also not completely useless.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 28th, 2008 at 8:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2001mustang Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Stingray II
-Lots of Homemade Mods
Autococker Trilogy SF
-Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: -Cheap
-Durable
-No Fog
Weaknesses: -Field of View
-Dificult to Clean
-Hard to Remove Lens
Review: I had a thermal version of this mask and it did what I expected an entry level mask to do.

I didn't have issues with it fogging due to having the thermal lens. The mask is very durable. It has taken mask hits and had gear piled on it and still works fine.

The field of vision left something to be desired because I was constantly aware that I was looking through a mask. I took mask hits and found that fully cleaning it was difficult and fairly annoying (you need to remove the inserts). Also, I was never able to remove the lens from the mask. For some reason the mask has a chin strap. I didn't like how it felt with the chin strap on so I played with it unhooked and the mask seemed to stay in place just fine.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a relatively cheap and reliable mask this is the mask for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buscha Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheapo rental masks
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy Pro Select Fire
eVLution III
Trinity Paintball 'cocker clamping feedneck
Pure Energy 72/3000
Strengths: Protects your face
Cheap but looks respectable
Weaknesses: Difficult to take apart for cleaning / lens replacement

Padding is WORST thing known to man
Review: Got the JT nVADER because it was the best looking mask in my price range. Unfortunately, whoever decided on the padding to put in this mask should be taken out back and beaten. They took the cheapest, widest-cell foam they could find and then put it all around your eyes. Not too awful for the first 15 minutes, but after a game or two the sweat gets in there and it's like sandpaper on your face.

Haven't had a problem with fogging and the fit is good for an adult with above-average hat size.

If they change the padding (or you can find your own soft foam to glue in there as a replacement) I still think it's the coolest looking mask you can get for less than $30.
Conclusion: Protects your face, looks good doing it, but awful and uncomfortable padding.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 28th, 2008 at 7:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G1 JO3 77 Friday, March 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested proto masks and other things cant remember.
Marker Setup: diablo ar-1
evil driver barrel
dxs 48ci 3000psi aluminum air
eggy 3
soon to get a new virtue board
Strengths: -Cheap
-Anti fog
-Light
Weaknesses: -Bulky
-Balls dont bounce off
-Uncomfortable
-And slides down when running
Review: i think its ok but its has bad performance. You should just go to zephyr.com and get a V-Force Pro Vantage Thermal Paintball Goggles for 30 with tax and crap. i havnt tried it but im about to buy it.

Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Diablo AR-1
Conclusion: Bad
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (40):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media