paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Air America THE REG / Air America THE REG / Air America THE REG

Air America THE REG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Air America

Buy Air America THE REG

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Air America THE REG
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
All stainless steel internals no skimping on the ole family recipe here. Unlike other manufacturers who chrome plate brass this baby is the real deal, STAINLESS STEEL. Lightweight aluminum alloy externals that have been hard coat anodized for extended life under the most severe conditions. High side AND low side safeties, that's us giving you some lovin' and watching your back. ALL fittings rated at 4500 psi working pressure. All this good stuff wrapped up tight on top of a current dated 68 cu fiber wrapped, 5-year rehydro tank.
Product Availability 
The Air America THE REG is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
DarthAlan Wednesday, August 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
MacDev LegionAir, Conquest, Crossfire
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05 (Dust Black)
45 Trigger Frame
v35 Halo
Custom Products Rail and ASA set-up
Mac Dev LegionAir 68/4500 Preset LP tank
Strengths: Sturdy
Weaknesses: Reg Size is large
Heavy tank
Inconsistent
Breaks down
Review: I bought this 2 years ago as my 2nd compressed air tank because it was "cheap." I paid $150 for it. It did its job in getting my markers to shoot, but it was not high-end. The consistency was bad. My tribal was +/- 25, my Speed 05 was +/- 40, my BKO was +/- 30 FPS.
I had to send it in 2 times to get fixed due to something blowing out on the inside.
Conclusion: Spend the extra $4--50 and get a LegionAir. http://www.macdev.net/us/legionair.htm. I consider an average tank to be a crossfire.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zackzel Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
crossfire tanks
Marker Setup: E-mag with level 10 antichop bolt installed, black ule body, 14" dye ultralight, halo B, and a 68/4500 air america the reg
Strengths: fiberwrapped, inexpensive i bought mine on ebay for $100, 5 year hydro
Weaknesses: i haven't found any yet
Review: The other reviews all have problems with the burst disks on the tank, I haven't had any problems with these disks yet. I play every weekend and have the tank filled two or three times each weekend no problems yet. I have let the tank sit for weeks full and had no problems. My velocity is pretty consistent with this tank too 3 shot string off the chrono last week was 283, 277, 279 so it shoots pretty flat.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap fiberwrapped tank I would say buy it, I haven't had any problems yet, I'm giving it a 9 because it isn't perfect but its well worth the money
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shytkicker Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, really.
Marker Setup: Automag RT
Strengths: Affordability, great size/capacity, quality tank for just under $200.
Weaknesses: Terrible customer support.
Review: I've just recently gotten the tank- and it works as well as I could expect. The customer service, however, fell short of any expectations I'd ever fostered. When the monkeys on type-writers who run the customer support notified me that the tank would be on back order for a week- I was apprehensive. I decided to wait it out anyway. I canceled my plans, and requested that they move me back to seven day shipping, instead of three. It was almost a month later when I finally got word that it was off of back order. Then suddenly, I get a phone call that the credit card declined. Long story short- it turns out that "process my order via UPS ground shipping, and refund the money I've spent on additional shipping," (Direct words from my e-mail) must sound dangerously similar to "please charge me more money for overnight shipping, even though it's a month late already." It turns out that they ended up charging me something like $40-50 for overnight shipping, of their own volition.

Now, I'd understand if they wanted to throw in free overnight shipping- but this borders on theft, and all kinds of credit card fraud. It's just a good thing I have a pretty low credit limit, or they could have (and apparently would have) tacked on anything they wanted.
Conclusion: Great tank, but don't buy it directly from Air America. The moral of the story is this: don't trust the AA support staff any farther than you can throw them. Honestly: how far can you throw a monkey AND a typewriter? I'll give it a 7, because I'm sure it's a great tank- but the support is a disgrace to internet commerce. PMI has a similar price and tank. Maybe try one of theirs first.

EDIT: Nope, cancel that. It's got a leak already. Downgrade to 4, because I'm sick of EMail tag.

Will it ever end?
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2003 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

EchoX Thursday, April 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CO2
Strengths: I got mine for very cheap, 68/4500 fiber wrapped for $150.
Weaknesses: There seems to be a lot of burst disks/nipple o-rings being busted.
Review: I've played with it for a total of 3 times. The third time, the fill nipple o-ring busted. When I went online to check how others are doing with their tanks, they also have the same problems, along with the burst disks. I'm sending it in right now, and thank God AA has great customer service. I'm afraid the rushed into making this product and didn't put their world-famous quality into them.

The big guage also doesn't allow me to fully screw in my tank. I have a mini drop on it, and I can only screw it in so far. The on/off takes card of the rest of the distance. Sometimes, it gets in the way and my wrist is uncomfortable.
Conclusion: I bought this tank for $150. I'd say its a very good buy. But now they've raised up the price to the near $200. There are other tanks out there with the same price such as crossfire tanks. I'd get the crossfire tanks. Overall, they do have great customer service, and they usually have great products, but it seems they didn't clean out all the flukes on this tank before selling it to the public.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skitz Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Bulldog, Air America Raptor (3000 psi), Crossfire,
Marker Setup: Matrix, Reloader, SM-1 Barrel, Crossfire 68 ci, Dye LPR
Strengths: In-expensive and lifetime warranty
Weaknesses: Poor quality control, leaks, 1200 psi rupture disks seem to be a problem
Review: I got my "The Reg" in the mail, took it out to my HPA storage tank and gassed it up. Only got to 1000 psi before I noticed a leak at the gauge, tightened this, at 1500 psi the fill nipple began to leak, tightened that, got to 2500 psi and took it inside to test for more leaks. Surprise, it was leaking at the bottle o-ring and pin valve in the top, can't tighten that!!!. Tested the output pressure and my guage said 900 psi, 910, 850, 875, it never was consistent. Figured that maybe I would let it sit over night a maybe the pin valve would seal up. Well, in the middle of the night the 1200 psi burst disk popped and scared the #^%& out of my wife. She is already upset with PB gear in the house as it is!! and then that happens. Sheeezzz. Anyway, sent just the regulator back and I put a crossfire reg on the 88 ci 4500 tank in the mean time. AA returned the reg within two weeks but I have not re-installed it to see if it works yet, the crossfire is doing fine. I got the "REG" regulator back within two weeks, it has been trouble free since it arrived. AA needs to test these buggers before they ship them out is all, kind of like a burn in period, might solve a lot of customer complaints///// Further update!!! All internals are not Stainless Steel, the spring washers are steel and will rust out on you if your "Reg" gets wet. Do not let the REG get wet as it will rust out on you internaly
Conclusion: For what I paid for "The Reg", The 88 ci 4500 psi 5 year hydro bottle alone is worth it, however, now AA has raised their prices. If you buy from AA have them send you a tested one, I believe that they get these from the manufacture and they just don't check them out the door like they should. There would not be gauge, fill nipple, bottle leaks if they checked first. The tank is very nice but it is not the complete system. 5 is given because this product is truly average. (Up to six now, trouble free for more than 6 months)
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 14th, 2003 at 12:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CannonFodder Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
co2 :(
Marker Setup: 2003 Black Dragun LCD w/ tons of mods
14" Dye Excel
Eggy 2
Strengths: Was very cheap when I first bought it, $149 for 68/4500. Lightweight, Lifetime Warranty.
Weaknesses: Problem with 1200 psi burst disk. It has blown twice already.
Review: First few weeks of using the bottle at home, the 1200 psi burst disk blew, and the fill nipple was leaking. Sent it to AA for repair. Went to play the next day I got it back, it worked all day. Got topped of twice at the field, and once more before I left for home. On the ride home the 1200 psi burst disk blew again. Called AA, told them I was very unhappy that I just got the bottle back and the disk blew again. He seemed generally concerned and told me he would replace the whole regulator on the bottle, because something must be wrong with it. Still waiting for it to come home.
The lifetime warranty is great if you don't mind being without your bottle for 2 weeks at a time. :( Hopefully the new regulator will fix my burst disk problems, or else I will have to raise hell. Generally not very happy with my purchase. The new regulator better do the trick.

I posted a bad review on there site, and they deleted it next day.

!!UPDATE!!

The put a whole new regulator on my bottle, and haven't had one single problem yet, after many times at the field. I'm much happier now then Iwas the first 3 months.
Thank God for Lifetime Warranty..
Conclusion: Other people seem to be happy with the bottle setup, maybe I just got a bad regulator.
Time will tell.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media