paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar / JT Speed Collar

JT Speed Collar Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Speed Collar

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Speed Collar
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Attaches to the tops of ViewLoader's VL2000 and Revolution hoppers for uninterrupted fire power. Eliminates spillage and lost time.
Product Availability 
The JT Speed Collar is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ION666 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular lid?
Marker Setup: ION, qlock, ans egostyle trigger
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: well my lid broke so my frnd gave me 1


Strngths
it works and helps u reload faster
be unique nobody has em so ull be like ahahhaa i got one yea

weaknesses
very big
only fits on revys(although i hav a revy)
only works w/ jt speed pods

Conclusion: Its alright if u really want 2 try it go ahead its ok so ill giv it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nycazn79 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Regular pods / hoppers
Marker Setup: A-5 with Scepter Grenade Launcher & APP 330 round hopper
Ion with 12V Viewloader
Strengths: Loads your hopper in one arm movement
Weaknesses: Limited to only one electroic hopper & one gravity hopper
Review: I already purchased 2 of these collars since both my woodsball and speedball setups are based on the JT Slammer system (speedpod/speed collar).

The speed collar is meant to be placed only on the Viewloader 12V or the VL200. Those 2 hoppers have the lip size and screw locations that are compatiable with the collar. You just have to drill a 1/8 hole for the mounting screw to fit. Performance wise, it load FAST and flawlessly. Mine has not jammed with the 12V yet. I removed the cover since the internal teeth prevents the balls from comming out.

The collar does not fit easily on all other hoppers without modification. You can forget about using an "egg" hopper for obvious reasons. I was able to get it on a APP 330 round hopper with a couple of new holes and some zip-ties. It works, but has a tendency to jam if you try to overfill it. When it jams, it can be a pain to get out. I even delayed the start of a game for a few minutes trying to get my pod off the collar (cool refferees at the field)
Conclusion: It will load fast, but you are limited by what hoppers you can use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 5:19 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamLibertyCapt Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k cocker, suped up front block, JAM bolt, HPA, 12v rev, Evil Pipe
Strengths: Faster Reloading time
Not have to worry about flipping open lids.
Weaknesses: Pods get jammed all the time
$7 a pod it gets a lil pricey.
Review: My lid on my collar kept falling off so i just took it off... no reason for it, paint doesn't spill anyway. You don't have to worry about opening any lids just pull out a pod and jam it in. Like i stated the pods get stuck so i recommend being a little rough with them when you tug at them to get them out the first time... don't want an extra foot added to the hight of your hopper. Plus it looks kinds funny with a pod sticking out of your hopper.
Conclusion: Its worth it as long as you get the speed pods and you are a back player. Not reccommended for front players... you dont have to worry about being out of paint so your front ment get bunkered or shot out. Giving it a 9 out of 10 fr the hard to get out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psycholoop Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Traditional pods, the standard flip tops and standard Loaders.
Marker Setup: A-5 heavily modded.
Strengths: Fast and durable, oh and did its fast! Very fast.
Weaknesses: Has to be modded to work with 99% of loaders. No biggie.
Review: The speed collar should only be used with the speed pods. If you try to use traditional pods you will be very disappointed. With the speed pod in hand, it takes less than a second to load your hopper.

I was able to find the speed collar for under $15 online. It doesn’t come with the timer, but who wants that POS anyway. Rest assured, this is not an expensive item. If you get the speed pods($5 each) and the collar(less than $15), you wont break the bank.

As far as installation goes, you will have to mod your Loader if you attach it to anything other than a Viewloader brand Loader. I installed it on my A-5 fairly easily and it only took me about 10 minutes. I simply drilled four holes around the mouth of my loader and around the speed collar, then secured it with nylon zip ties. Its not too hard, you just have to be smarter than the collar.

If used properly with the correct pods, you can load your hopper much faster than with a traditional setup. Any of the minor nuisances you might run into are easy to overcome with a little brain power. I have been using this system for at least 6 months, playing well over 50 games with it and have yet to experience even one problem with the setup.
Conclusion: If you want to fill your loader in the fastest way possible without spilling a ball, then this product is for you. Just remember to get the full system, pods as well as the collar or you will be making a huge mistake. If you only buy one and not the other you will hate it.

The only reason this product isn't getting a 10 from me is simply because of the bit of extra time(and modding) necessary to mount the collar
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 9:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arbites[RAT] Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard hoppers, A-5 Cyclone hopper
Marker Setup: A-5: E-trigger, NW Paintball Products drop forward, 3A CA tanks (91 CI & 47 CI)
68 Special: Siphon tanks (still don't understand why & I owned an SMG-60 first)
SL-68: 2 Silencers (why not)
Strengths: SPEED PODS :
-One-handed refilling
-no ball spills with door open
Weaknesses: Poor design to mount collar to hopper
Adds height
Review: This is a great idea that has a few design flaws:
1) It requires that you drill a hole into the hopper to make a firm connection. While there are MANY hoppers on the market, they are using a small plastic adapter for the hopper to collar connection. They should have made adapters to allow the hoppers current screws to be used when available. For example, on the A-5 you must screw into one of these screw holes when it was very close to being able to just use that screw hole to support it with only a little alteration to the adapter piece (which would need to be molded differently - longer). They supply two small screws that appear to be designed for the stopwatch (see below), but since they don't work for the stopwatch I used them for the collar / hopper connection

2) The optional stopwatch (reveiws available seperately - also made by JT) has one of the worst mounting designs I have recently seen playing paintball. The only way to readily attach it to the collar is to use the two sided tape where it sits in a specially designed recessed area. I guess no one at JT remembered that batteries wear out. It comes with screws, but as I mentioned, they didn't work so I drilled through the holes from the back so I could use longer screws that allow me to remove it for battery changes.
Conclusion: I purchased an extra A-5 hopper to try this out (and I'm glad I did). I will still occasionally use this since I bought into it with the speed pods, but do not plan on having it as a permanent part of my setup.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarBUCKs Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything similar to the Speed Collar?
Marker Setup: 68 Automag (Old School Additon, before they were classic), Erin Carter Barrel (Before he was Dye), and some Compressed Air.
Strengths: It drops paint into the hopper like a mofo. I has a lid that securely fastens
Weaknesses: It makes the hopper more bulky. Slamming Pods into hopper can be difficult especially in heat of battle. Sometimes pods are hard to get out.
Review: I don't know If I would recommend it for alot of people. I personally don't use it anymore. I have decided that getting paint in the hopper really doesn't make that much of a difference. More of a novelty. This item IMO is great for shorter games with fast paced fire fights because you can just leave the pod in the hopper and have that extra 90-100 paintballs ready to fly. As long as gun and hopper hits don't count.
Conclusion: Advanced and Intermediate players stay away. This is for N00Bs.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2003 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crawldaddy Wednesday, November 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
just regular pods
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99, 14" black razor barrel, venturi bolt, 68 ci 3000 psi tank, ricochet 2k
Strengths: This thing is awesome. You wanta talk about fast.....nothing has yet to come close to reloading as fast this does...NOTHING! My buddy timed it at the field one time and in 3 thats right 3 seconds(compared to the 5 - 10 seconds for other pods) I loaded a speed pod and had it back in my slammer pack harness! I love the speed collar.
Weaknesses: The only bad things I can say are it is a pain to figure out and put on your revy, and it doesnt come with directions or suggestions on how to install it. I had to drill a whole going through my revy to connect the bottom part of the collar and drill a hole in the collar itself at the bottom and insert a screw to keep together and tight so it would snap on the top of the revy and stay together. It also takes a while to get use to the added length on the hopper.
Conclusion: It may be the pain almost everyone whines about, and is alot of work, but once you do get it - it is well worth the time, money, and effort. JT knew exactly what they were doing when they came out with this. Keep your marker close and tight, get use to it, and adjust, its not hard and again well worth it. People want one when they see mine in action and i suggest it - not shy them away from it because of how well I set it up and how well it works for me and it's another great product from the minds of JT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freeze31 Friday, May 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: custom 68 Mag. w/warp
doesn't realy matter for this
Strengths: don't have to flip a lid?....... NOTHING!!!
Weaknesses: It is a complete nuisance even with a warp. Got in the war all the time have to sand down the rim and the slide of the pods just to get it to fit in easily. If you get a ball lodged under the lips (that hold the balls in the hopper) and slam a pod in say goodbye to the rest of your shots. You have to take apart your revi to get the paint cleaned out fo the inside.
Conclusion: IT SUCKED! Good concept. Just doesn't work and is not worth it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Minion450 Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing i know of that is out there like this
Marker Setup: LED Angel
88cu 4500 psi Angel Air
smart parts barrel
volumizer
pro connect
revy with a Vortex Impellor, so much more efficiant than the stock impellor
so on and so on
Strengths: If you have the slam pods this does make things much quicker.
there is a timer on it with beep warnings starting at 2 minutes remaining.
if the lid is open the balls don't fall out but the lid is very springy anyway so it can't stay open.
no spilling paint
saves loading time
Weaknesses: its a bigger target to get hit. The clock is very touchy, turns off when its shaken hard. I had to cut some plastic to make it fit my revy. they had to much plastic on the bottom so it wouldn't slide down all the way for me to get the screw in. The package says read instructions but there are none. If you don't have the slam pods you can't really fill your hopper. doesn't fit the halo system. only comes in black, or thats all i could find, so it looks dumb on my clear blue hopper.
Conclusion: unfortunately the bad evens out the good, so its just an ok product. Maybe if they design a pre made hopper with it on already they could save space making it no so big and heavy, and they need more color choices. although the slam pods and pack are a great buy this thing needs some work to it
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goodfella Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus w/nitro, Smart parts Tear Drop Barrel (12), CP Drop, and 12v Revvy
Strengths: The speed collar was 'field tested' for the first time by myself and another teammate during a 3 man tournament on a speedball field. Both our speed collars worked flawlessly. The collars combined with the speed pods dropped our reload times to almost nothing. No fumbling or spilling balls or anything. I reloaded my speed collar a total of 9 times during the tournament flawlessly. My teammate averaged around the same. No problems encountered.

Before installing, i removed the top two screws in the revy to remove the lid on the revy (replace the screws after removing the lid on the revy), the screw below the lid on the revy and the long bottom screw and that plastic thing thats on the speed collar.
Installing the collar involved removing the original lid off of the 12v Revy. The front end of the speed collar (hinge) is then used to hinge/hook itself on top of the plastic knub that once held the original pin on the 12v Revy. I then pushed on the bottom the speed collar down until it snapped all the way down. I then used the extra long screw that came with the speed collar to screw in the bottom hinge into the revvy. I did not use that plastic tab thing that came with the collar during installtion. I also did not install the timer. After installing, adjust the collar as needed (read con section for more details) Also when screwing in that extra long screw into the bottom hole of the collar into the revy, it actually goes all the through the hopper. If you look at the revy, there is no exit hole for the original screw in the revy. I used a black and decker electric screwdriver to actually drill/bore the entire screw all the way through. If you do not want to make a hole or something easier, use the original screw that you took out of the 12v revy mentioned above.
Weaknesses: Besides the obvious of being useless without speed pods, there are NO install instructions for this thing. It took me awhile to figure out how to install it properly on my 12v Revy. I ended up asking my teammate how he did it. I also do not think the collar will work with Riccochet 2ks or HALOs.

Another is that you need to adjust and learn how to insert the pods correctly. When i mean adjust, i mean loosening the screws or tightening ease the insertion/extraction of the pod (Ive read reports in the review section of pods getting stuck in the collar). Inserting the pods correctly involves having your gun in a slightly angled/stable position to insert the pod with minimal force and having your hand somewhat in the middle of the pod. If your hand is too far forward during insertion, the pod will not insert all the way and ball spillage will ensue. If your hand is too far back, the pod will not go into the collar. (note: getting the pod in isnt as complicated as im making it sound. I am just pointing out some things i found out myself)
Conclusion: My current setup for hauling extra balls across the field is the JT Slammer Pack, JT Collar, 12v Revy, and 4 JT speed pods. So far this setup has proven to be effective and very hassle free during play so far. Keep in mind however that the only games i have played are speedball and a few games in a wooded arena (trees in a fenced 200 x 100 field) and my limited experience.
I am giving this product a 7 out of town. 2 for no instructions and 1 for being limited for use to specific types of equipment (ie, speed pods/revolution hoppers).
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media