paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E / ANS GX-E

ANS GX-E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-E

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-E
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronic Version of the ANS AutoCocker.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-E is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
CAOL_98 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E2 STO Karnivor
E2'd 'cockers
Marker Setup: Stock Titanium '05 Karnivor w/E2

Frankensteined Autococker #1:
-2004 Yellow to Orange Fade Kapp Reflex Body Kit
-Kapp Front Block
-Kapp Rhino LPR
-Shocktech Ram
-Eclipse QEV's
-Eclipse E2 Eblade
-Worr Games Black Magic Reg
-Custom Products Flame Drop
-Phat On/Off Bottomline ASA
-Worr Games Locking Feedneck
-Kapp Delrin Ball Detent
-Eclipse Dart Bolt
-Shocktech Rat Valve

Frankensteined Autococker #2
-98' Flat Black Stock Worr Games Body
-Stock Front Pnuematics (HUGE!!!)
-Orracle Tickler 3-Way
-Dye Swing Trigger
-Bud Orr Expansion Chamber
-Dye Locking Bolt/Back Block
-Stock Internals
-Dye Beavertail
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different feedneck (but the stock one is either part of the frame, or welded on somehow, so replacing might be out of the question.) Maybe a longer hose from the vertical reg to the drop (otherwise you won't be able to adjust it to your liking because the stock hose is only long enough to reach between the two, with no room for adjustability.)
Strengths: -Sweet Bolt!!!
-Feather Trigger (race frame!)
-Customizability
Weaknesses: -Weight!!!
-Why is the drop even adjustable, given that the hose is so short???
Review: For those of you reading this to decide whether or not to buy a new (or rather by now, used) GX-E, I will break this review up into a likes and dislikes format.
First off I'd like to start with the things that seemed to irk me. The number one problem was the weight. It wasn't really a problem at first, but after playing with a few different types of autocockers, this thing is pretty heavy....and it's hard to understand why. The body is milled extremely well, and light (probably some of the best looking body's ever for a 'cocker!) Also the internals are all very lightweight, with a half delrin, half aluminum (?) bolt, and a very small front and back block. The trigger frame is a RaceFrame, so not much weight there either...the only thing I can think, is that it's a combination of the regs, drop forward, and barrel.
My other complaint had to do with the hose that connects the vertical reg, and the on/off bottomline ASA...IT'S SO SHORT!!! What is the point of having an adjustable drop, when you don't have the required length of hose to even adjust it? It looks cosmetically better with a short hose, but once again: What's the point?
Also changing options on the RaceFrame requires a connection to your home pc or a laptop (no on field tweaking unless you have a computer handy.) Which kind of sucks when you want to change something...
Finally I would like to address the feedneck...what's wrong with clamping feednecks!!?? Would it be so hard to kick up the @$$-kicking meter one more notch by adding an adjustable feedneck? What's with putting a cheap slide in, feedneck? I'd rather attach a loader and play, not file, check, file, check, file...then eventually get around to playing...I've seen my friend lose his hopper while on the run with this standard feedneck...he finally ended up getting a small hole tapped into the side of it, and he uses an adjustment screw to pinch the loader into place now...They should have left the feedneck as an option (threaded onto the body) instead of standard.
Other then that, really I have no other complaints, rather a quick warning...DON'T @%$@ WITH THE RACEFRAME!!! They're finicky, and unless you're proficient with disassembling and maintaining them, you're in for a rollercoaster of curses and hair pulling...Leave any problems to a tech that knows what he/she is doing...
Now for the good!!! This marker is bad@$$ looking!!! Probably one of the best looking 'cockers I have ever seen yet! Every part is of very high quality (ans knows their SCHTICK!!) I especially love how smooth the bolt is! pull it back, and give it a little nudge back in...it'll slide like it's on ice! Beautiful! Also I have to give props to the RaceFrame....a pain to work on if it ever stops working properly, but infinitly upgradeable, and customizable for any style of player. There are countless modes, and plenty of options for tweaking your trigger to perfection....The E2 is amazing, but it doesn't even begin to touch the options at your fingertips with this frame. Speaking of the frame, the trigger is extremely nice! So light, it's like walking on air! Nice, nice, nice!!!
Conclusion: If you are looking at purchasing a GX-E, then congrats! You're in for one hell of a ride! Beautiful and fast! Some minor problems exist (neck mostly!) But really once you put a loader on, air this puppy up, and fire a few shots, you'll be in love!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 7:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunker_Elitus Saturday, December 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 05 Speed, 2K2 Timmy, E-Oracle, GX-4 w/E-blade.
Marker Setup: Chrome GX-E
91ci, 4500 Lp ACI Tank
Freak barrel kit
Halo B loader w/rip drive and board upgrade
CCM locking feed neck
QEV's and full Nexus upgrade kit (Bolt, supercharger valve, Rex dialer kit, etc.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the barrel, even though the stock piece is decent enough.
QEV's are a must.
Strengths: Extremely fast
Accurate
Good on air
Pretty to look at
Weaknesses: Need PDA if you want to change settings at the field. No biggie.
Review: I 've had this marker for almost 2 years now, and it's probably one of the best guns I have ever owned. Before all of the upgrades that I've put into it, it was a solid performer and since the upgrades in the past 6-8 months it's just made it better. I bought it in Jan of 2004 and I've only had to replace the cocking solenoid because of a blown gasket, but other than that , rock solid like a claw hammer. On the feel and the looks of the gun, I love it. The Race Frame to me feels more comfortable than the E1 frame, but the E2 feels closer to the Race Frame. You can walk the trigger as fast as your fingers will allow with more room. Chopping is practically non-existant with the ACE system , and you get the extra bonus of thru-beam eye detection, and not reflective like the E-blade system, which means it will detect both light and dark colored shells without having to drop in balls to adjust your eye settings. ( E-blade users know what I'm saying here. I'm not knocking the E1's or 2's, but you have to adjust the eyes' sensitivity if you virtually want to guarantee yourself no chops cause of different paint shells.) One thing is that once your geared up with the tank and hopper , it's got some weight. Won't make your arm fall off, but you feel the difference compared to a Timmy, Shocker, or an EGO. And another minor thing is, if you don't have a PDA, you won't be able to make many changes at the field to your guns settings( cto adjust on/off, load time,trigger filter, etc.). If you don't, the RIP software is pretty easy to use, just load your settings and be gone. The rate of fire is just awesome. Timmys, Shockers, Angels, Egos, you name it and this gun will keep up with them and then some. Accuracy? No contest. GX-E has'em, ball on ball. The other gun's are great, I own a Ripper Timmy that's pretty accurate too, but I give the edge to the GX-E. I think the Ripper Timmy is easier to get it to rip out of the box, but that's another review. Let me say this, I can use either one of my 2 guns, and half the time I'm reaching for the GX-E, whether it's practice or tourney play because it is that good, and I like the looks I get when the opposing team sees what it was that got them out of the field, it's like "what the @#*%"? Poor fools. The gun is a little more maintenance intensive than the other guns I've mentioned, but it gives you everything you could need in terms of speed, accuracy, consistency, and damn good'ol firepower. It doesn't have the "bling,bling" of the others, but it takes a back seat to no one. Take that to the dead box honcho.
Conclusion: Price is great now for these guns. It's like $895 on the ANS site, and you can pick'em on auction sites like ebay for $400-$600 if you look. ANS has a great product, and great customer service. Performance to money ratio, it can't be beat. If your a cocker fan, get one. Rating 1-10, forget that, it's solid. Uh,oh here come the comments.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

darktamer Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other e-cockers, mostly eblades, are the most similar that I've used, along with almost any other high end gun on the market.
Marker Setup: Yellow/black ANS 2k4 GXe w/ QEV's
Freak kit
68/45 PE tank
Halo w/ rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV's are good
Halo is a MUST, it really won't work very well with out a halo or reloader b, it will work okay (but not very great) w/ a z-board egg. anything below will starve this gun.
Strengths: -See review, can't list them all
Weaknesses: -See review for explanations
Review: I've had this for a while now. The previous owner was not very knowledgable about the gun and didn't really care enough to make it work to its potential. I got it and it worked okay... not very great, just okay. Finally I got smart and sent it back to ANS to get QEV's installed and a complete rebuild (it was pretty messed up). At the same time, I got a 68/45 tank and a halo. All these together made people wonder how in hell it started working so good all of a sudden... they were truly dumbfounded.

It doesn't chop thanks to break beam ACE, and shoots as fast I can pull the trigger. People with DM4's and shockers were complimenting me on it's speed. And it flat out looks dead sexy.

Now the negatives:
-The RIP (the computer interface used to time the gun) can be hard to get used to, as you can control the timing aspects of the gun to a very fine extent, much more so than the eblade, which allows to get more performance out of the gun, but also allows you to screw it up a lot easier and more seriously than an eblade.
-It's pretty heavy compared to other high end guns on the market now, such as shockers/egos/freeestyles. All together, with full halo+barrel+68/45, my setup weighs about ten pounds. In the heat of the game I don't mind too much, but it does tend to slow you down.
-I don't know if it's my particular setup, but it's not very efficient. On my 68/45 tank I get about 6 pods shooting fine, and on the 7th I start getting serious drop off before it runs out. This is fine for me, as I never have to shoot more than... say 4 pods in a game, but for serious back players that need to shoot paint constantly, it could be bad.

For pics of my gun, go here:
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/8426/10003649gc.jpg
http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/2172/10003351rj.jpg

For a vid of it in semi-auto mode, go here:
http://paintballuploads.com/login/files/GXesemid.WMV
Conclusion: If you love cockers, this is your gun. With the resale on cockers, you can probably pick one up for maybe even less than 500. But if you have the money, you many want to look at some costlier guns for better efficiency and weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 28th, 2005 at 10:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

codekevin0403 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-orracle
05 superstock
mech. cockers
ans gx-4 chaos
Marker Setup: 2005 Freestyle Pro
Halo B w/ rip drive
max-flo w/ 68 ci 4500 tank
Predator Board w/ 2005 settings
Evil Pipe kit

03 Shocker
Nerve Board
Check-it low rise
Max-flo w/ 68ci 4500 tank
Halo B w/ rip drive
Full Freak Set
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel kit is always a good thing to do. You'll definitely need a halo b or an empire reloader b to keep up with this crazy thing. QEV's are a must!
Strengths: Cocker Accuracy
Angel Speed
Breakbeam Eyes
Looks
Anodizing
Weaknesses: The whole thing is a bit heavy but that's okay
Review: The moment i got this marker, i was amazed at the quality of the anodizing! It was seamless, but then again, this marker is from ans. I ordered an ANS 68/4500 tank along with it, put on the qev's, timed it, and i used one of my halo's and took it outside. When i started firing, i was in awe at how fast this thing could shoot! I never thought a cocker could shoot this fast, which is kinda why i stayed away from cockers for a while. The raceframe was extremely easy to change the settings. The looks of this marker are on par with the other ans cockers, and that's really good! The eyes were also a great piece of work! Didn't chop anything firing 1000 paintballs, even in the barrel! The accuracy was also one of the best from a marker i've seen in a while, much better than my freestyle, and just as good as my shocker. I also loved the way the raceframe fit in my hand personally, it was much better than an eblade in my opinion. I just wished the back of it had that cool led board thing, but it doesn't matter at all. (yes i know that was a stupid thing to say) I have to say this is the best marker that i have shot that is under a grand, way better than my freestyle. I love it. Oh, and did i mention that this thing goes full auto!!!! i love that : ) it makes my day.
Conclusion: You must buy this marker if you are in the market for a high end cocker!!! This is the best cocker there is!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kcgjbarnes Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SFL Cash Money Series E-Blade Shocktech Auto-Cocker, Eclipse E-Blade, Angels all kinds..
Marker Setup: A.N.S. GX-E, Dye Ultralite Barrel, Kapp drop forward, 2 Eclipse QEV's, Halo Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV's, And also run a Halo, Dye Barrel
Strengths: Accurate, Very Fast.
Weaknesses: Hard to get working exactly right
Review: I recently purchased a Chrome GX-E straight from A.N.S. Once i got the marker I shot the stock setting on the gun and it chopped paint. I changed the setting to the papers that came with the gun, still chopped paint. Then I changed loaders from a Empire Halo to ricochet, and even a 12 volt still chopped. I ended up calling A.N.S. they told me perfect setting...set at 35 bps. It's awesome now. Its just took awhile to get the gun straight. I also added 2 QEV's (Quick Exhaust Valves)$30 they are a must on this gun. I have the setting here they are as follows (5,6,1,1,20)( Ace mounted on, Use Ace on,
CTO adjust off,Default load time 60, Eyecheck 225, Eye ok 225, trigger filter on.) These setting are only if you want this gun to fly and have QEV's. If anyone has any problems with this gun chopping they need to change to these settings. I actually like this gun it shoots better then the Shocktech SFL Cash Money Series Autococker. I would definately tell anyone to get this gun that has got the fever for a accurate and very fast autococker.
Conclusion: My final conclusion is that this gun is great. No kidding. Very awesome. Get One.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8nTballer374 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gx3, Gx4, Mini e orracle, eclipse autococker, shockers, angel speeds, timmys, wgp vertical autococker, nightkasts, outkasts, karnivors,
Marker Setup: GxE- black to chrome
-dye sticky grips
-halo b hopper
-pure energy 68 cu 3000 psi
-ANS stock 14 inch double piece barrel
-QEV'S
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo b YOU MUST GET A HALO B FOR THIS MARKER TO APPRECIATE IT!!!
-QEV"S YOU MUST GET QEV"S TO USE THE MARKER TO ITS FULL POTENTIAL!!!
(QEV's are quick exhaust valves)
-You can get a boomstick for this marker but the stock 2 piece barrel ANS gives you is dead accurate.
Strengths: -ACCURATE! WOW! see review
-FAST! FAST! FAST! see review
-THE EYE! AMAZING! see review
Weaknesses: -Some people might find it a bit heavy but I like heavy markers...
Review: Well I walked into ANS and I was going to buy a dm4, but when I saw the GXE I was like wow! The people at ANS told me that it is very fast (fires up to more than 20 balls per second) and it is very accurate.
-QEV's HELP A LOT!!! and I mean a lot!!! if you don't have the qev's the marker will only shoot to about 15 but if you have them they shoot over 20!!!
-Looks!!! Dead Sexy! it may not look like a dm4 but its not the looks that make the gun shoot fast or accurate...
-ACE (Anti chop eye) this eye is great!! I went through 3 cases of paint before i chopped 1 ball. 1 measely little ball!!! OUT OF 6000 paintballs.
-SPEED!!! WoW!!! youv'e seen some of the really fast guns out now such as the Angel speed, timmy, dm4-dm5... THE GXE OWNS THEM ALL!!!
-Accuracy: The accuracy on this gun is amazing! You can shoot someone without even trying to shoot them. You can snapshoot without aiming and get people out. It is just simply an amazing gun. You have to try it out to believe it.
-Rip Software /Race frame. The rip software comes with the gun. Basically you can set your gun however you want it, from how much bps you want, how you want your ACE system, how you want your gun to shoot such as Classic mode, burst mode, semi auto mode, full auto mode, and hyper mode.
So I went down to my local field with my team to scrimmage other teams. The gun was just ripping at the other team like no tomorrow. The GXE can play any position from front, middle, snake, back, just name it and it can play it. This gun does everything from the accuracy of a cocker, eye of an intimidator, and speed of an angel!!!
Conclusion: My final recommendation is you should go get this gun. It is hands down the best gun under $1,000. I mean it has the accuracy of a cocker, eye of an intimidator, and speed of an angel!!! If you get this gun you will never be satisfied with another gun again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2005 at 10:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tweakedld Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
LCD Angel, Mini Angel
Marker Setup: ANS GXE, Black to blue, 12 inch titanium boomy, Halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B, BOOMY
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Accurate, Sexy, yO
Weaknesses: On the heavy side, But still sexy
Review: The gun is beautiful, one of the best ive ever used,, if you want fast and accurate.. this is your gun sEXy yO, i like how accurate it is man... one bad thing is so much paint but hey if you rich ? doesnt matter... this is almost as good of a gun as a DM4 which is one of the best ive tested... dont beleive me read the other reveiws
Conclusion: Buy it i swear its pro so nice i love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cockerwalker05 Wednesday, July 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none this high
Marker Setup: ANS cocker witha custom milled body and blue AirBrush designs
-dye boomstick 12 inches
-32 degrees stickies (i dont care if they are 32º, they still comfy)
-68/45 n2 tank
-drop forward
-empire reloader
^^^^^ i added those goodies.... it was give to me from my uncle who put new internals in it
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a hopper, halo b cuz my reloader aint fast enough... if theres an eye for it get it mine didnt have one.
Use compressed air or nitro
GET a BOOMY
Strengths: Accurate good lord it accurate
good on gas
SeXxXy
Got good distance on shots
Weaknesses: A lil heavy but i like it it feels unspydery
Review: I love this gun, i got it free lucky mee

The gun itself stock rocks, but now i kick real ars... its way better than a timmy or angel wid all my upgrades. its sexxxy as hell and noobs are scared of it. if it were a car and the gas prices are like they are now, id recomend it i got about 1300 out of my tank
and i can bunker ppl from 100 ft wid no probs so i like it
Conclusion: If u got money to spare get it its a good steal
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NgoSoup4you Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orracle E, 97 Cocker
Marker Setup: ANS GXE BLACK to BLUE polished with 2 QEV's, Halo B Loader, Pure Energy 45 / 45, Stock 12'' barrel.

SETTINGS WERE GIVEN TO ME BY ANS
RIP SETTINGS, 5,6,32,1,22 (semi auto)
Using...
ACE MOUNTED, USE ACE, CTO ADJUST, USE TRIGGER FILTER, USE LED
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Loader (Revy is way too slow), and Two QEV's (improves ROF by about 5 bps)
Strengths: -Shoots FAST!
-Shoots ACCURATE!
-Consistent
-Velocity Adjustments is easier then regular cocker
-Strong Design
Weaknesses: -A bit heavy
-You shoot alot of paint.
Review: The marker is obviously VERY FAST. The stock settings that the factory gives to you is a bit slow, but if you call up ANS they will be happy to give you new settings that really make it shoot faster.

The marker comes with the RACE frame which allows you to customize your shot time, dwell time, open time, load time, close time, and with many other options.
ANS has by far the best customer service I have seen around. BAR NONE!

The marker seems to fire very accuratly with the stock barrel and at stock or modified settings approved by ANS. I would not mess with the settings too much or else you will experience chopping.

Otherwise the marker performs great on most paint (although I called ANS and they told me I should use any RPS paint like PMI Premium or Evil). I have fired over 5000 rounds and i only experienced 1 chopped ball. Even then, I believe that it was because the loader was running low on paint, and as a result the loader was not loading it at its peak capacity.

One minor complaint.
The Pin on the back of the gun actually snapped during a day of play. I was shocked. But then i called ANS and told them my situation and they quickly sent me a FREE quick pull pin no questions asked.

NICE going ANS!
Conclusion: Get this GUN!

I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants speed and high accuracy. Its way faster then the orracle and looks way hotter.
This gun wont let you down with its great ANS customer service!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxcarnage Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
KAPP flame cocker with worrblade and eye
Marker Setup: chrome ANS GXE with A.C.E
dye sticky 3 grips
qev's
14"freak barrel system
warp feed
pure energy 88cu 3000 psi fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
hpa at least 68 cu tank,freak barrel kit
Strengths: excellent frame system,great milling,stock barrel is ok,very sturdy design
Weaknesses: weight is about the only weakness i really found
Review: after purchasing my gx-e i went out to the local field and put some paint through it......i loved the function of the eye,and the overall feel of the marker immediately, It only took me about ten minutes of play to start outshooting my 12v revvy, i noticed that even with the stock barrel this thing was really pretty accurate for me,even with a lousey paint/barrel match,i have yet to really change the marker itself and took it to a tournament last weekend and had no problems caused by the gun itself, I play mid and shoot alot of paint, this baby never let me down i love it so much im never getting rid of it

by the way we finished third in the tourney and i could controll lanes and zones pretty easily
Conclusion: this is hands down one of the best buys for an electro cocker i have found....i love mine and would reccomend it to anybodyabout the only bad thing is its a little heavy but once you get used to it you dont even notice it really.....heck i even put a big tank and warp on mine and still play mid/front with it......buy it and you wont be sorry i promise
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media