paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 / PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3

PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
onlinekid2 Tuesday, July 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
friends kranivore
Marker Setup: 14in razzor(not amazing but gets me by)
riochet apache hopper(not forcefeed but dose do a great job, used it on a dm4 and i kept up with the guy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
HPA
Strengths: Easy fieldstrip
Sterdy
Weaknesses: triggeris unreiable (broke) PMI fixed it with fast S/H!
Review: I haved played for a year and i got to see i think this gun is great i can keep up with any one at me local field(with in reason) and it and really need much upgrades....
love its and some ppl think it looks like an old angel!
Conclusion: Hey ,you ,looking at the screen Buy this gun if you want a good pretty fast relaible gun (thanks too the PMI Service) THEN get IT!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmipaintballer1 Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k3 e-force sts
9 ounce tank
revvy with x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Kind of long trigger pull
Body of gun gets cold with co2
Chops
Review: The other day was my seconds time paint balling and a fourth through the day my gun wouldn't shoot. The staff at the park took it apart and couldn't find a problem so now i have to send it to pmi and see if the can fix it.

I also have a neighbor with the same gun that is going to ship his in too.


edit- I called pmi and explained my problem they sent me a spring kit for free it didnt take very long to get to my house the first spring i tried didnt work then i put in the red spring and it worked perfectly. And the people at pmi ar really nice.
Conclusion: Its a gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 21st, 2005 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ontknow8122 Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha STS E-Force 2k3
Recommended
Upgrades:
spring kit
barrel
Strengths: Fast at shooting
Good price
Reliable
Weaknesses: Weak stock spring
Review: Great gun for anyone. Has many features (semi auto, full auto, 3 6 9 round burst) shoots 12 balls p/s. I have used this gun since I started paintballing and I have liked it ever since. I would recomend this gun to anyone. Also the gun is accurret. Good for both speed ball and wood ball. Nice confertable grip and double trigger.
Conclusion: Great gun for anyone with a strong fire rate and many modes
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

konastuff16 Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-piranha eforce gti
-piranha eforce srt
-spyder tl plus with sprint grip frame
Marker Setup: ricochet hopper
3000 psi tank
smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and i also recommend that you use psi.
Strengths: -Very easy maintenance
-Great accuracy with new barrel
-12+ shots per second
-Lightweight
Weaknesses: -The people ruining this guns rating for stupid reasons.
Review: I have had the great opportunity to play with this gun a few times and it was just great. The easy to use velocity adjuster was very convenient as was the eforce grip frame. This gun was very consistent and would never chop a ball if u properly shot it, fully pull in the trigger. The accuracy with the progressive barrel was very nice and consistent. The only bad thing about this gun are the owners who are too lazy to clean and change the o-rings on they're gun who ruin the rating on this gun. Here's a list of what to do it the following problem occurs:
1-When u buy it, the spring will not yet be broken in. When u notice the velocity going down turn the velocity adjuster to the right and this is for the review about the guy who noticed his velocity going down when he bought it. Obviously the spring will loosen a as u use it so give the gun a few games before setting your final velocity.
2-The gun wont shoot on low velocity: time for you to change your o-rings. The same problem occurred to my buddy and he simply went to the field pro-shop changed the o-rings and the gun worked like new again. This is for the guy who wrote the review about his gun having to have a rebuild witch is total B.S.
Conclusion: So i end this review saying that this is a perfectly good gun and that it's definitely worth the money. It shoots great and it's easy to maintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renegade_pball Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about every other lower end gun
Marker Setup: my field retals consist of tippman 98's, piranhas, spyders, and some misc. others.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a trash can
Strengths: Looks alright
Pmi design is great for maintenance
Built stonger than spyders
Weaknesses: I cannot possibley explain the crappyness in 15 max words
Review: Ok, if you have had or know anyone with problems on an sts 2k3 eforce read this article, because mine has had every problem i've heard of with the sts, all wrapped up in one crappy little package.

-not recocking....after some tinkering, i found it was the flush cocking mechanism at fault. i oiled it with little success, so then i switched with one of my regular rental cocking rods and solved the problem. Turns out the flush cocking sometimes binded on itself.

-massive blowback....shipped it straight to pmi for this problem and they did something or other. Still had a problem so they shipped out a new valve. The blowback was still excessive. At lower velocity, like 240 it was ok, but 280fps was nothing but trouble. You could take off the hopper, cock it, put one ball in the chamber and stack 2 more on top, and it would blow the top ball out of the feedneck from the blowback. The result is crazy chopping at higher rate of fire or with the modes, because it always wants to pop the balls back up the feedneck a slight amount, slowing down your ball feed drastically. No loader on earth can fix that problem it your balls are popped up before they drop. I have never found the root of this problem, and i am sick of even trying. I've rebuilt her to the nuts and it hasn't changed a thing.

-chopping/pinching....try like 5-6 chops per 100 balls at fast firing. supposed to pinch but i still got alot of chops. The reason was the excessive blowback explained earlier. i even tried a plain old steel bolt from my rentals to slow the gun from cycling so fast. No success. And for all you little know it alls that are going to tell me it's barrel breaks not chops, don't waste your breath. I put a smart parts progressive on it (very large bore size) and still the same problem. Plus any moron knows the difference between paint blasted up into your hopper and out the barrel (chop!!) and just seeing paint in the barrel past the chamber (barrel break). Even with a richochet ak the chopping was and is to this day still a ball chomping pig. I actually put the trig on one of my rental guns and it works way better than it ever has on the original sts.

Conclusion: I bought it as an upgrade rental, but I'm sick of trying to make it work and cleaning my hopper and barrel. I ripped it apart and use it as parts for my other rentals!! There really shouldn't be so many major reoccuring problems in a massproduced marker like that. I give it a 2, because it hasn't given me herpes or anal warts. You can argue with me if you want if yours is a good one, but mine sucks plus i'm always right....remember that.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 12:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ender-03 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder-Xtra
Spyder Imagine
Diablo mongoose 2 reincarnation
Marker Setup: Piranha sts 2k3 e-force
12 inch spyder barrel
Halo Frontman
20 oz

Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Longer barrel
Spring kit
Strengths: Trigger sensitivity
FAST
Light
Sexy
Weaknesses: Needs new spring(out of box)
Bad barrel
Review: Overall I liked this gun. I got it for Christmas and i was ready to play the next day. The gun didn't work out of the box. It needs a new spring or you will only be shooting 170.
I was pretty ticked when i went through 1,000 paintballs trying to fix the gun. I guess it was my fault for trusting PMI.
Conclusion: This gun is fast and fun but i recommend a new spring kit. I also would like to emphasize the need for a fast hopper. A plastic won't put this gun to its limits.
(Gets a 7 because it didn't work out of box)
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spydinator Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI SRT 04 same garbage as the STS
Marker Setup: Spyder compact with electo grip, evil delrin bolt, 16" two piece AA with a costum valve, six stage sub zero exp-camber running from a remote line to a Pure Energy 45/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cash refund
Strengths: Looks good
Nice grip
Weaknesses: Everything else
Review: Im not trying to rip Pirahna up. I like PMI they have nice products and great service but when I purchased my E-Force STS it was the worst gun I have ever owend. I didn't even get a chance to play a full game because every time I shot the gun it would chop or something would go wrong. I tried everything to get my gun to shoot clean. l bought an evolution II, delrin bolt, two peice AA and a turbo valve but nothing worked. I noticed it had severe blow back which caused most of the problems. Out of a case of 2000 this thing would chop at least 1000 balls. It was a waste of money and time. I brought my gun to PMI and they gave me a full refund and with that money I bought a Spyder and it has not chopped or let me down yet. I now spend time having fun insted of cleaning my bolt and barrel with the STS. I hope this review helps you reconsider buying this product. If you are going to spend a fair amount of money on a gun you don't want to waste it on one that you won't enjoy.
Conclusion: If you are looking for fun at a low cost this product is not for you. When it is all said and done you will waste hundreds of dollars trying to get this thing to work right. Im giving this marker a 1 because I don't want anyone else to buy this marker and be disappointed like I was.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

uthanak2323 Thursday, November 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My old R6 Mech and my friends crap BE Eradicator/ Nice Tippman Prolite
Marker Setup: Stock STS 2k3 w/ homemade drop that brings the tank down 3" and foreward 5"
Also some homemade mods that include drilling out the Venturi and drilling the asa for more air flow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a regulator if you're using Co2 or HPA, the gas thru is not good enough
New Barrel (as always with stock guns)
Drop Foreward (contact me and i can make you one for 5$)
New trigger if u can find one
HPA or at least Anti Siphon Co2
New electro hopper- Revolution w/ Xboard keeps up very well but if i have access to one, the Evolution 2 is a superior choice
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths:

*This gun rips fast as lightning. It has 3-6-9 round burst, full auto, and semi that is capped at 13BPS.

*Only time i chopped a ball was when i forgot to turn on my hopper (not used to having a electric hopper) The other time i almost chopped a ball but instead it only pinched the ball, forcing me to recock.

*Milling is beautiful. I love the shape of this gun. It is also very comfortable to hold and shoot, especially if you get a good drop for it.

*Threaded feedneck. This allows you to use Impulse threaded feednecks, very good move on PMI's Part

* Rear cokcing is great, no worries about getting slapped in the face by a cocking arm.

*Thumb adjusted velocity is really useful when tuning your gun, only need an allen wrench to lock it in place.

* Comes with a volumizer (or Low Pressure Chamber) Not a cheap knockoff liek in other PMI guns (like the R6 that is only a cap, no real LPC)

* Accurate even with stock barrel, although an aftermarket barrel wil lbe even better.

* Semi Auto Tourney lock is located on top of the grip frame after you take it off from the body. When engaged, the gun may only operate in semi auto mode. Thus eliminating accidental slips that can get you in trouble in a tourney

* Trigger pull is very light, although a little long as ill eplain later. The trigger is also very comfortable to walk/rake

* Runs off normal 9 volts but it includes a rechargable battery and a charger (for your car and household outlets) I use Duracell 9 volts as a backup in the field.

*Operates great on Co2 if it is anti siphoned. If using co2 withought anti siphon, it can suck liquid and ruin orings and casue spikes in velocity

*also has low pressure capability. Buy yourself a good regulator, high flow valve/valve pin, Dark Horizons titanium hammer, and do some low cost mods to improve air flow, and you will have achieved low pressure and better efficiency in no time.

Weakness:

* Venturi is utterly useless unless you like wasting gas. Also the venturi is not removeable like in spyder stock bolts. This is eaily fixed with a vice, drill and proper size drill bit. 5 minutes of work gives you way more air efficiency and will cost you nothing.

*sometimes uncocks itself when using Co2 at a high rate of fire for a prolonged period of time. Not really the guns fault, but can be annoying although it rarely happens.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great gun for the intermeiate player. This gun will keep up with todays modern speedballers very nicely. Its low price and preformance is by far worth the investment. I give this gun a 10 for its beautiful looks, smooth operation and price, and not to mention PMI's precision products and awesome technical service.

If you are looking for a GREAT marker at a very fair price, but dont want to sacrifice preformance, buy this gun today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kill_StompyDBI Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha EForce STS2k3, PMI Adjustable Feedneck, System X Dropforward with On/Off, 16in PROgressive Barrel, 68/3000 Pure Energy Nitro Tank, Superfly bolt and a eVlution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A motorized Hopper
A new barrel
Strengths: Durable
Fast
Easy to Upgrade
Weaknesses: Needs a motorized Hopper
A bad stock barrel
Review: I bought this gun at my shop because it was on sale. I brought it home, hooked it up with some nitro and began firing. When I was firing, I noticed that there were no problems with it but just a weak spring. You should buy a new box of springs because the ones that ship with the gun are very weak. I was probably getting 120 fps. I played the next day at a local field and it fired fine until I started outshooting a gravity feed. This gun REQUIRES a motorized hopper to work. Anytime you dont and outshoot it, it will pinch balls by the bolt. The stock barrel is not very accurate because most of the time, most balls will veer verry far from the target. I was using a PROgressive 16 inch barrel which drastically improved the accuracy.

*EDIT*
After a few months of use, my gun is having a problem. It will fire but uncock itself after everyshot. I will be taking this to the shop to find out what the problem is. Anybody with suggestions, I'm open to them.

*RE EDIT*
It turns out that I changed the O-ring to a different sized one.
Conclusion: It's a good cheap gun that can get some fast speeds. It only needs a motorized hopper and a new spring and you're pretty much set to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 17th, 2005 at 2:17 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Merc4Hire Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Spyders and clones. Tippman 98's. rental junk. old pump guns. I don't remenber what all.
Marker Setup: 2K3 Piranha STS eforce , gravity hopper, teardrop 14", Stock barrel, normal Co2's...Nothing fancy, but I can shoot people the same no matter how much they spent on equipment. They can shoot me too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Empire Reloader
Teardrop, or J&J, Or 32* Whisper, etc
tape over the very bright red "On" light with electrical tape.
Drop forward, depending on balance preferences and tank size
Strengths: Cheap for features and quality.
Feild strip
Lotsa Burst Modes
Weaknesses: *Stock barrel is a stock barrel
*easy to accidentally shoot
* pointless double trigger
Review: I bought this after I helped my father buy a pair for my twin brothers. It is essentially an improved spyder, but cheaper. Mine cost $130 with gravity hopper, mask and 9oz Co2. I added an after market barrel after 1 day of play and some homemade sights. (I taped a short piece of1/2" tube to side of barrel just behind porting and used a zip tie as rear sight. works well enough that I probably won't bother to get a real sight. Who cares how it looks, it works!)

(+)Cheap for level of features and quality.
(+)looks good if you care about that.
(+)super fast and easy to field strip (apox 3 seconds)
(+) has 3, 6, 9, full auto and semi modes, as well as tournament lock for stupid parks.
Similar Kingman products only have 3 shot and full auto.
(+)flush cocking knob- no beavertail or getting hit by cocking knob.
(+)rear velocity adjuster. easy to adjust velocity. Not really field adjustable though
because if you don't use the set screw the velocity knob will loosen during firing and
lower your velocity.
(+) Battery lasts about 6000 rounds per charge.
(+) comes with both wall and car chargers
(+) can use a normal 9v battery
(+) Gas consumption about 580 shots on a 9 ounce Co2
(+) when it runs low on air it does not "run-on" making that Bra-a-ap noise that says,
"come kill me" it does a quiet little "pfthfp" noise and that's all.
(+) it comes with PMI's better bolt: red
(+) it is supposed to come with 3 color coded springs. all 3 guns in my family came with
the medium (blue) and LP (white) springs but not red (high) which leads into the next
point.
(+) PMI had good service. I called them and their service guy took my word for it and sent
new red springs for my brother and I with no charge and no hassle. He even included
2 sets of spare O-rings that I didn't ask for. He did not even bother to ask me for
serial#s to see if I was lying to get extra parts.
(+) all O-rings except 1 are normal tank O-rings not some thing weird it came with a
spare set. Kits with extra ball detents and valve stopper only cost $5 at the local store.
(+) takes spyder barrels, and probably other components.
(+) super easy and short trigger pull- it is like playing Unreal and sniping with the
mouse. easy to "walk" the trigger on semi.
(+) feeds pretty reliably even with gravity feed. if you do only 3 or 6 shot bursts so the
hopper can keep up you will almost never chop.
(+) burst modes and auto are set to 12 bps which seems about right to me.
(+) burst buttons are convenient and water resistant.
(=)stock barrel is par for a stock barrel.
(=)grip frame is plastic but it works and is probably just as tough as aluminum. it is
very comfortable and needs no mods.
(=) ASA is fine but you might want a drop for 20 oz or bigger
(-) there is no real safety and it is super easy to bump the long soft trigger
accidentally. you only have on/off, which resets it to semi.
(-) as usual, they put a vertical sight rail behind a vertical feed... however it is
removable and you can get adapters. PMI does not currently offer a custom
offset sight rail to fit this gun.
(-) There is not one single straight surface to sight along because of the fancy millwork.
(-) double trigger takes away grip and is pointless on an electronic frame. The only
time you would use it is when they don't allow burst. I would almost shorten the
trigger so i can grip the gun better without accidentally firing with my middle finger.
(-) if you plan on using sustained full auto, you should get an Empire Reloader.
(-) the 9 shot burst is superfluous and is just 1 more mode to cycle through.
A burst mode slider switch would be nicer than buttons , and would solve the
on/off reset issue.
Conclusion: Buy it unless you want to go Pro or be a poser pro. If you want two million balls per second get something expensive that does that out of the box. Don't expect to upgrade your way into the big leagues. That ends up costing just as much and doesn't work well.

This gun is cheaper than Kingman equivalents and the velocity and cocking knobs are nicer, as well as burst modes.
It is cheaper than a stock Tippman and works better. It is easer to adjust and dissasemble. parts are cheaper, and it doesn't cost an extra $99 for burst modes. It is just as accurate with the same types of aftermarket barrels as a Tippmann and more accurate than thier stock barrel.
It is basically the best deal for an entry level player and equivalent to a $250-300 Tippman or Spyder setup.

Actually for a few more bucks buy the 2004 Piranha SRT eforce. it is an identical gun with more color options and an anti chop bolt.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media