paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail / Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail / Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail / Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail

Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pro-Team Products

Buy Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This carry handle mounts to your sight rail, making it much easier to carry the marker on long hauls.
Product Availability 
The Pro-Team Products ASR 1 Sight Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Donster 125 Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lapco offset sight rail
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Vortex Mod, BT Fixed Sight Rail
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Price
Not very functional on its own
Review: Well let it just be known that i have the BT version of this sight rail, but they are both EXACTLY the same save for the name. and since there was no category for the BT version under the A-5, i put my review here. Let it also be known that i used this sight rail to mount my lapco on to it, so now my scope is raised and offset.

Construction/looks:
This is a very durable sight rail. the fact that its made of solid metal (aluminum i think) should speak for itself! IT looks really cool as well and has a whole cut out in the back of it to reduce weight. Other than that, there is not much else to tell.
+4/4

Functionality:
This is where the sight does not do so well. IMO, you cant really use a sight rail on an A5 unless it is offset if you have a stock. Furthermore, the cyclone makes it difficult to use a sight on your gun unless it is offset. This sight rail is fixed on the top of you gun so while it looks ni and can be mounted with cool scopes and such, you are going to have a hard time using them if you have a stock. The other problem with this sight rail is that it can only mount scopes that use a .22 rail base (3/8"). While this does not hinder me at all, those of you who use a scope with a 7/8" mounting base will either have to get new rings, or a new scope.
+1/2

Installation:
Installation is a snap, it uses two scres to attach and tighting two metal clamps that securly fasten the rail to your gun. It is quick and simple and does not require any noticable use of brain power. =P.
+2/2

Price:
If you ask me, this is pretty pricy for just a hunk of metal that IMO cant be used unless you mount a Lapco offset to it cause it would be impossible to look down any scope/sight if you have a stock on.
0/2
Conclusion: So overall, not bad, but you shold get more for what you pay for. It certanly fit my bill and i love it. I now have a raised, offset sight rail that allows me (with my special ops A5A2 stock) to see down my scope.
P.S: i hope my ranking system/review structure was easy to follow! if you have any questions you can leave a comment. dont dispute it pleaase if there is a genuine mistake, leave a comment and i shall rectify the error ASAP. Thanks!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 24th, 2007 at 7:49 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SicilianFool Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, that I know of for the A-5
Marker Setup: Black A-5, Flatline, R-5 Ridochet Hopper, Shoctech dovetail Drop foward, Shoctech foregrip, M4 F/X Commando Stock, 68/4500 Crossfire HPA tank
Strengths: Strong
Reliable
Easy Installation
Weaknesses: Maybe a half and inch sort
Review: This is a great visual upgrade for you gun, it gives it a little M4 feel. All you have to do to install is loosen the back screws slide it over the stock rail and retighten the screws. Can be used as a great handle for transporting the gun. Did exactly what I excpeted to do and for a cheap price.
Conclusion: Great product, can raise sights by a good inch or two. dumby proof
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pac Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: pro/carbine
adapted a5 flatline
98 bottomline
2.5x scope
bt raised sight rail
combat feed
either this piece or a regular 200 round by pmi
Strengths: Rraises up sights
Good looks
Weaknesses: I guess its kind of expensive
hopper interferance, with a sight on
Review: Overall a nice product, while I don't know if it was worth the $30, still raised sights, which is what I needed. I had hopper interferance at first so I had to get a hopper with a long neck. It is also a little small for using as a handle, at least for my hands.
Conclusion: I would suggest buying this if you need to raise your sights, that probley about it though. If your trying to make you gun look milsim you should look into the M4 handle one that BT makes .
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cool_Clay1 Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Cp Classic Barrel 14inch.
Car. Stock
Asr-1 Sight Rail
Lp kit w/Tippmann Reg.
Double Trigger
PmI 48/300psi N2 tank.
Strengths: Small
Looks Good
Easy mounting
Works well
Weaknesses: None yet
Just you Need a Ricochet R-5 to Mount a Scope or sight.
Review: Well So far Its Great i Havent seen any problems. It looks Great. And you can Sight things well if you have a Ricochet R-5 Hopper, if you want to Use a sight. you need it. But anyway Its a Great Accesorie to ur A-5. I bought it for $20 at a PB stop in Grass Valley, Calfornia.
Conclusion: Overall its a Great thing to have if you want to add style to ur Gun. It gets a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 at 2:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BMFer Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline, JCS MP folding stock w/RVA, Male Palmer Stabilizer, ASR-1 sight rail, remote.
Strengths: Looks good, carrying handle.
Weaknesses: Hopper blocks vision, expensive, small.
Review: I only purchased this item as a throw in to get free shipping. I value performance over looks, this piece is definately more about looks than perfomance. It does look good on the A-5, it provides a sturdy carrying handle and also provides a raised sight line for those who use stocks.
It is a little too expensive for such a small piece of metal. Also, the stock hopper blocks the sight line with this sight, maybe the Rico R-5 hopper, when it comes out, would help. This sight also makes taking apart the A-5 more difficult.
I would also recomend peplacing the s/s slotted screws with black hex bolts from your local hardware store.
Conclusion: If you value looks and mil-sim, you will love this sight rail. But, those who value performance maybe a little disappointed.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knightedwarrior Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ RT,flatline,16"armson stealth,bipod,2X trigger,palmer stabilizer w/ gauge,macroline,lapco longforegrip, ASR-1 raised sight rail W/ lapco offset sight mount W/ BSA 30mm red dot sight & 16-24X50mm scope,redhot powertube & superflybolt, tactical harness vest w/6+1w/ remote, M4 collapsable stock, A-5 sling
Strengths: Very durable
Easy to install
A convienant carry handle
Looks cool
Weaknesses: None with my setup but possible hopper interference with others
Review: This is an excellent product when used right. 1) you can use the sight rail on top to add a sight of choice and use a low profile lid for the cyclone and go sniper style. or my set up 2) I installed the ASR-1 and then mounted a Lapco offset sight rail onto it (trust me on this one, it looks nice) the larger picatinny rail (or 5/8 or weaver whatever you want to call it) is now on the side of the ASR-1 rail and perfectly eye level for the user with a stock. I use a BSA 30mm red dot with it and a flatline barrel or a 16"armson stealth with a bidpod and with good placement and a little patience, everyone there will walk out with your paint on them. on the lapco rail, there is a 45 degree 3/8 mount and I added a large 16-24X50mm scope with illuminated sights and not only is the look of the scope and the red dot phenomenal, it clears the hopper and the stock sights, and it is definitely a great scouting tool. I also added a night vision scope for night games and it definitely marked many people. The look puts the intimidation factor off the scales and the practicality is also a major plus. This earned me the nickname "Predator" at my field and has never let me down. I have taken shots directly to the ASR-1 and lapco and there is not a scratch on them. Very sturdy and worth the money.
Conclusion: With an offset sight rail and a good sight, this is one of the best innovations in accuracy. Definitely get one and take down the spray and prey and save money on paint by hitting your target with the first shot. Sturdy, practical, and tactical; what elso do you need?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 24th, 2004 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oatmeal Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard A-5 Sights
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline barrel
Sniper F/X stock
ASR-1 sight rail/carry handle
In Yo Face offset sight rail
Daisy red dot sight
14 oz. CO2
Strengths: raised sights
solid construction
easy to mount on your gun
Weaknesses: Small
Expensive
Review: After putting a stock on my marker, I realized that there is not enough mask clearance to use the stock sights on the A-5. The ASR-1 sight rail raises your dovetail almost 2 inches higher, so you can mount a sight that you can actually use. When I put a dot sight on this mount and used my low profile loader cap (20-30 rounds) I could be a very effective marksman, often getting "kills" with short 3-rd bursts, because I didn't have to trace my shots to the target or guess where the first shot would go. The problem this sight rail presents is that if you mount a sight on it and want to use the regular A-5 hopper, the hopper blocks the sight, rendering it useless. To solve this problem you will need some sort of offset sight rail (I really like my In Yo Face offset sight mount--only $15), which will actually make using your sight even easier, because you won't need to tilt your head at all to look through it, and the hopper will no longer block your sight.
Conclusion: If you are a "spray and pray" kind of player, this sight rail probably won't be of much use to you (other than for looks), as sights are not your thing. However, if you like to use sights when you play, the ASR-1 sight rail (along with an offset sight rail and an actual sight) is one of the best investments you can make for your marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pm6825 Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Sight
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
32 Degrees Whisper Barrel
Response Trigger
Proteam M-4 FX Stock
Proteam ASR-1 Sight Rail
PMI Coiled Remote
Strengths: High quality construction
Must have if u have a stock
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love Pro Team's products. The ASR-1 Sight Rail is very nice looking and is built with high-quality materials. I liked the stock sights because of how they look, but this sight even enhances the look and provides a nice handle for carrying. Personally, I think the A5 looks its best with the Pro Team's M4 FX Stock, ASR Sight Rail, and a Flatline barrel.
Conclusion: Buy it you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

123cct Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: a-5 ,flatline, suppressor, palmer, asr-1,bas red dot,e-grip,ez sling,double triggers,car stock, pro team m-16 front sight and hand guard, bb 14" lapco and more
Strengths: gives you the height you need to use a scope w/ stock
Weaknesses: small
Review: Before I put this on i was leaning the side of my head on the stock to shoot with the sight. now all i do is slightly lean my head and the red dot is right there in front of me. it doesn't look as cool as i would have expected. but it gets the job done so i would recommend it
Conclusion: buy it if you need the clearance to use your scope with a stock.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 4th, 2004 at 1:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shakey Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Low Pressure Kit
Tippmann Flatline Barrel, Hammerhead Barrel
Dead On Paintball Grip Adapter Block
Dead On Paintball Pro-Style Drop Forward
Palmer's Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator
Pro-Team Sniper FX Stock
Pro-Team ASR-1 Sight Rail
Full Boar Products Sight Rail
Smart Parts Female On/Off Valve
BSA 30mm Red Dot Scope
WGP WorrGas 70ci/4500psi
Hogue .45 Pullover Rubber Pistol Grip
Macroline
Ez-Sling Universal Sling
COPS911 Custom Flatline Barrel Cover
Extreme Sports and Hobbies MP5 Handguard Kit
Strengths: Raises your sights, could be used as a carrying handle, looks
Weaknesses: Kinda pricey, small for a carrying handle
Review: I bought this in conjunction with my Full Boar sight rail, so that I could raise my dot sight to a point where I don't have to move my head to bring my sight to target, and still not have my mask interfere with my solid stock. It serves my purpose quite nicely. Almost looks like an assault rifle sight.

It is a bit pricey for such a small raised sight rail. Speaking of small, Pro-team claims you can use it as a carrying handle. You'd have to have small hands, because holding it like that is a bit uncomfortable.
Conclusion: Depends on what you think you need it for. If you have a stock, it would be a good accessory if you like to use the sights or want to add a dot sight to it. However, this will put your hopper in front of your sight (most of it anyways). To counteract this, you'll need to learn to look with both eyes on your target.

Practice this: 1) Focus on an object on your desk. 2) Now, put your right hand over your right eye. Notice how your other eye compensates for the obstructed view and creates the illusion that you are seeing through your hand? Keep practicing this until putting your dot sight in front of you and seeing through the hopper is like a reflex.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 24th, 2004 at 10:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media