paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
shakman119 Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My dark intimidat (this comes close)
2k2 intimidator (same speed a little rougher thoe)
Marker Setup: Currently:

Bob Long Texas Storm Timmy
Black To Orange Fade
Check-it Rail
Check it On-Off
Steel freak back
Chrome tear-drop freak front
Frenzy 110
Hybrid Ram System
Split shelled halo (black-Red)

Back-up
Ninjia Turtles Ion
CP 2 Piece
Cp rail
Cp On off
De-Magno trigger
membrane mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger is a must if you dont like it, than I would say barrel, and third I would say bolt
Strengths: Speed from WAS and Frenzy
quite
Looks
Quality
solid stock
Weaknesses: Involves a lot of tinkering to get perfcact
stock barrel
Review: This is my buddys marker, I love it and respect it. He had some issues with eyes, but those were all fixed for 50.00. I am so happy to finally have my own

In testing, it was extreamly bouncey due to his was board settings. I put on his beefed out halo and let a rip, it felt so nice, you can only hear the bolt moving.

Accuracy was sweet because of the freak.

efficencey was bad even with his cp reg, I do not know the actual numbers, but it was bad

I finally got rid of the ugly beast (proto) and picked up a storm along with an ion.
I truely love this marker, even with the stock trigger set-up.

I was able to break 15 bps IN SEMI no-bounce the minute I picked it up, also efficency was better than my buddys, (probably becasue of the torp-vs CP)

The looks are to die for

The frenzy 110 board is easy to program, and settings are clear because of the LCD screen. My settings are more conseravitive but I was still shooting really fast. This got even better with a pro trigger job, by Max, hollar atcha boy. I just flat out love the feel of this thing. No kick, no drop off.

All things are fairly easy to adjust but you must know what you are doing. One hicup about the torp vs the cp is that the cp hose goes underneath the marker making for more room to get tight, the stock torp the hose goes in the side taking away grip space.

On a BYOP day at a local field, I bough 20.00 a case walmart paint, and decided to take a chance. The paint was called "monster balls" and came in a cheep bucket. I did not have a single chop or barrel break all day, and my paint had very little spread. This thing is gentel.

Chrono readings with the stock torp are: 297-298-297-299-300-298 Which is plus minus 3 fps! This leades to no kick and more accuracy, even with bad paint.

Nowadays people are saying Schould I O5 my timmy?

I would personally say, no it is not necessary. The lenght is the 02-04 clammy makes the gun balance well, although it is tall, it still looks great. The mill lines are ment to go with this pattern. 05'ing a marker seriously does very little accept lower the profile, and move the lcd. Most 05 boards are available for the texas storm, but who would want to get rid of frenzy or was.

If you must have the latest bling bling, go for it, it can not hurt, but it is a waste of money. Paintballers are broke.

Now I bet a ton of people are asking how does this compare to the Ion?

Well I am an Ion owner, and I have the truth for everyone.

Both Bob, and Billy and Adam produce some great guns, both have great customer service, and little to no defect markers

The ion is a great marker, and on pure semi, both of them are about the same speed, the timmy is a hair faster, and you can controll bounce to make it crush the ion.

You buy this timmy for the prestige of owning one, so people stare at it when you play, everyone and there sister and momma have an Ion, be different.

The Timmy is made out of metal compared to plastic, the bolt set-up is easier to access and has a lot easier cleaning process.

Accuracy stock is sadly the same, bob schould invent an insane stock barrel. But when upgrading barrels (freak for timmy) (cp 2 piece for ion) The timmy easly outshoot it, hitting all shots in a 1ft by 1ft bucket

Both markers have little sound when being shot.

The Ion is smaller and lighter than the timmy, although both feel great in my hands.

Software in the ion includes ramp modes, but stock software for the timmy does not (2k3-2k4) but the timmy has a LCD which makes it a wash.

It all comes down to do you want a honda civic, or an escelade?

I have them both, I am a lucky man.

Conclusion: Used right now there a great value, make sure you test before purchaceing used.
If you find a gem, your in luck.

450-550 realistically

They can compete with the big boys
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 5:54 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

littlekev6102 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just aboput every high-end out there
Marker Setup: 2k4 Black/Red /Chrome fadeTexas Storm Intimadator
Hybrid Adjustable Ram Cap
CP Trigger
Frenzy board
Red Halo B w/ rip
45/45 Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
bolt
grips if you would like them
Strengths: FAST
comes with a clamping feedneck
LCD screen if you like it like me
Weaknesses: On the heavier side
not too efficient
Review: Well i just got this gun in a trade. Its pretty really nice, looks great, and FAST!
I took it in my backyard and start shooting a tree and this thing RIPPSSS! A few seconds later, I was done with the hopper. I wasn't to accurate with the stock barrel and all bet it wasn't horrible. I refilled and started taking single shots more for the accuracy. Not good but not bad but i wasn't using the best paint in the world. Anyhoo after a while my tank was empty! so i cleaned it and everything and put it away. The next day i went to go shoot it again and it was leaking horribly! I took it to my local shop and they said the cup seal was broken. It only cost 5 dollars but it was still such a hassle. Now its all done and i love it still.
Conclusion: All in all its a good gun
I'm gonna give it a 9 because its not perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TStorm Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Intimidators, shockers, cockers, protos, Ions, and Angels.
All of them fall short when it comes to my storm.
Marker Setup: -VIRTUE'd 2k5'd Texas Storm Intimidator with: Empire frame, Alias Front Block, Alias LPR with Shocktech LPR Piston, 2K5 Solenoid, One Piece Gen4/Defiant 2 eyes , Shocktech Ram, Shocktech Ram Cap, Shortened Shocktech Bolt, Empire Poppet, CP reg, Empire Skull Grips, critical trigger, Urban Camo VIRTUE membrane pad, Shocktech Rail Drop and Shocktech On/Off.
-2 Piece Dye Ultralite (.694)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (mine came with the freak but I traded it for an Ultralite because they are amazing. My friend has stock assasins barrel and it was okay but not anywhere as accurate as mine with the ultralite), New reg ( I personally don't like the torpedo and my CP is better) and a new trigger (stock trigger is okay but overall the critical is a much nicer trigger and helps to lead to a much better setup)
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, light Weight (when 2k5'd), Milling, Eyes.
Weaknesses: None, but if anything, a bit heavy, but all fixed when 2k5'd
Review: I have owned many guns from tippmanns to cockers and i have shot such guns as shockers, e2 cockers and ions and out of all of these guns i think that the Texas Storm Intimidator is the best of them all. This gun out of the box is a little lighter than 3 pounds and its fast. This is the fastest gun i have ever shot. Not only is this gun fast but it is accurate also. When i went to a local field i shot my gun at the chrono and with the cp reg i was shooting 255-256-255. After, I started to rip on it and every ball hit the same spot.
At my house with paint i can easily shoot 15 bps without any effort. And when i try with this gun i can get up around 20 bps, no joke. This gun has only chopped on me once and that is when i forgot to put my eyes in all the way and i cut through the eye wires and the eyes wern't working. But even when the eyes wern't working I only chopped 1 out of about 2 to 300 paintballs.
Not only is this gun the fasted and most accurate gun I have every owned, this gun also looks great. All Intimidators are amazing looking, and this one is no exception.


-edit-
This gun is amazing. I went to my local field and I did the stupidest thing possible. I left my gun on simulate and i was trying to play. The only thing that went wrong is that the gun didn't fire on every shot. I went to the chrono so I could try and figure out what was wrong. I started to rip on it to make sure it was nothing wrong with the trigger and, and the gun had burps of speed but still didn't shoot everytime. So I went into the WAS menu and checked my settings to find out if all my settings were okay. That is when i realized that my gun was on simulate. I was amazed because when the gun was on simulate, not even checking to see if there were any balls in the breech, my gun didn't chop once. I was amazed. I have had guns that would chop with the eyes on but this gun didn't even chop 1 ball when it wasn't even sensing them. I think that this gun may be the most amazing gun I have ever had. (This was before it was 2k5'd, and it had a WAS board)

I don't know what people are talking about when they say that the intimidator is capped at 25. That might be with paint, but so far I have gotten my gun to cycle much faster than that. Yesterday at my local shop, they let me shoot my gun and i hit 32 with air. I was talking to one of the guys there and he was talking about how he could hit 36 regularly with his storm when he had it. So I think the 25 cap is just for bps cause i definitely did 32 cps yesterday. (Once again this was before I 2k5'd my gun and had the WAS board.)

WOHOO!!!
I just 2k5'd my gun and it is going to be a beast. I am getting it all professionally installed by shocktech. I will write more about it when I get it back.

VID!!!

http://media.putfile.com/storm-rippin <------ (Copy and paste)



Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you are looking for a fast, sexy and extremely accurate marker, then this is the right marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 at 9:00 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Hman769 Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost everything under the sun
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Evil Pipe/Empire 7 piece
Alias LPR, Front Block, and Volumizer
Shocktech Bolt
Shocktech Ram
Hybrid Ram Cap
CP roller
W.A.S. 2.7
Recommended
Upgrades:
adjustable ram cap, trigger, barrel (like almost every marker)
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, consistency, and reliability
Weaknesses: Nothing to complain about, just gotta keep up on maintanence like any other marker.
Review: Another great product by Bob Long. This is by far one of the nicest markers I have used to date. This thing flat out rips, and it has ripped for about 3 years now... I have only had minor maintanence issues with it, but even those are simple o-ring replacements or something simmilar. The biggest problem I have had, was with the poppet o-ring and getting it to set and seal right. Other than that treat it with good and it will work awesome for you.
Conclusion: Great marker, especially now with the prices, WOW! I payed about 1,250 for mine..., still worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 17th, 2007 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8nt_freak1852 Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, empire intimidator, ebladed cockers, lasoya timmys, 2k2 timmys, etc.
Marker Setup: blk-blue storm intimidator
68/4500 crossy
halo B
dye stickys
cp snatch grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: Fast (very fast), accurate, quiet, low pressure, easy to use, and eyes.
Weaknesses: Mine might be a lemon...check review.
Review: ok when i got this beast,i aired it up and let it rip it worked awesome, the next day i took it to my field to play i was soo excited, i went into the chrono and shot an entire halo at 16 bps and no chops or anything, i was very plaeased i played w/ it all day and then it started leaking i found out the ram needed a new oring, so i replaced it the next saturday i went to play again then the ram sleeve came out of place fixed that then the bolt internals (ball bearing, spring and screw) goes missing! i didnt touch it at all! so that screwed my whole day over so i played w/ my old cocker. i couldnt figure out y it started leaking AGAIN! so i sent it to blast (bob longs shop) i got it back and it worked for a halo full of paint and started leaking again i had to send it back in and i got it back 3 weeks later and it was fixed yay! it worked for another month and now it is crapped out, it needs new ram sleeve orings, one of the barbs snapped off in the ram sleeve while i was playing, and it doesnt shoot, the noid clicks but nothing happens.. although my love for timmies is unconditional this one must be a lemon, lemons happen about 2 or 3 out of every 150 so its not very common.
Conclusion: This gun rips as fast as any out there or faster. It is accurate. Mine breaks alot but when it is working, u had best hope im on ur team >= ). I give it a 9 cuz not all products r perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CoolMike Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel
Matrix
Marker Setup: Black to Silver fade Texas Strom Timmy, freak kit, adjustable ramcap
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable ram cap and a new barrell
Strengths: Looks, light, fast, accurate, efficient, and price
Weaknesses: Stock ram cap needs to be replaced and the barrell isn't very good.
Review: Wow, that is all I can say about this gun. This gun my favorite gun I have ever owned. I probably won't be getting a new one any time soon. This gun can shoot over 20 bps, is super accurate, super consistant, and has hardly any weeknesses. No one will be unsatisfied over this gun. The price is good also 800$ if you get it from the right website.
Conclusion: If you want a cheaper high end gun that shoots ropes and is accurate get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beau Robinson Tuesday, January 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Silver Bullet (doesn't really compare)
Marker Setup: I have the Bob Long Texas Storm, with a evolution II w/ Z-board hopper, stock barrel, and 88 5000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would upgrade the barrel and an adjustible ram cap.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate (with stock), Light, Doesn't Chop, and Air Friendly.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: 1. This gun is all out incredible. The eye is extremely fast and if you have a fast hopper on it this gun will rip. It is very air friendly and doesn't need much. I suggest getting a adjustible ram cap so there is not as much air pressure on the balls when you shoot. Though, no upgrades are needed for this gun. The only thing I don't like is the cleaning it is really hard and takes a while to clean everything. But if you plan on spending that much on a gun you should take the time to clean it.

2. When I grabed the marker and took it out of the box I was amazed!!! It was so incredibly light and was at least two pounds lighter than my other gun. When I first played with the marker which was about a week and a half later I was amazed yet again. I did not need to refil my tank all day. I had not used my tank, I used my friends 68 4500. I took the gun to the chrono and the only thing I had to adjust was the pressure in my gage. The volocity was set fine. I took it out to the field and I started playing against another team that was there that day. I saw that I was shooting streams of paint and when I walked off the field after the game I read the LCD and it said that I had shot 17 bps. I had never shot that many balls a second in my life. The gun was all out amazing. If I were someone thinking about getting this gun I would in a second.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone and if you are thinking about getting one you should. It is the best gun that I have ever shot.... GET IT SOON!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 21st, 2005 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigtbone Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, 04 Shockers, AKA Vikings, DM4's, DM5's, 02 timmys, E-Bladed Cockers, pretty much all the high-end guns
Marker Setup: Blue Texas Storm, 2 piece CP Barrel, Freak Kit (i got 2 barrels for a little selection), Blue Hybrid Naked Lady Grips, WAS 2.8, Reloader B, Check-It unimount.

Impulse, Freak Kit, Check-It feed neck, nd bolt, nd blade trigger, vision, some cradle that i got from my friend, new style vertical max-flo.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Fast Hopper
Strengths: Super Fast, Accurate, Light, Sexy, LCD screen
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything yet
Review: I got this gun for christmas and i have to say wow. Im kinda sad that i waited so long to upgrade from my impulse because compared to my storm that thing is a fat(tall and heavy) and slow. The first time i messed with the lcd screen i was shocked i mean the freakin' thing tells you the temperature and all the different things you can mess with through the lcd like the deboune the eyes and well...everything. The only thing I dont really understand is Simulate mode and what the purpose of it is. I read the WAS manual and it says that your not supposed to shoot paint in Simulate mode because it was chop and crap like that but it just seems to me that it just has mad bounce...i don't know. And another thing is that my mom got this from a friend of a friend of mine and he had it in tournament lock mode so i havn't been able to screw with the debounce and stuff like that and i still think this gun rips. Anyway its good.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome and right now the price of a new one is awsome considering just 2 months ago it was over a grand and now its like 800 new and you can get a good used one with a couple of ups for like 600 on ebay or pbnation so ya im not saying this gun is the best gun you can buy because i dont know what gun that is because its pretty close between a few, i think, but for what you pay for you get a whole bunch back and you can play tourny's with this and do really well...if you dont suck for an example my friend used this exact gun in cal jam before he sold it to me and they got in 3rd....Go Elusive.........
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pullethmyfinger Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X NME
OGI dragun the one, and the drallion
Cockers and other guns
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Texas Storm
Smoke Halo B
68/4500 Angel Air hyperflow
Shocktech drop with macro line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit stock barrel isnt to great ( but how many are)
maybe a trigger but theres nuthin wrong with the stock one though (but ive heard nuthin but good about the techna i cant wait to pick mine up)
ive read stuff about an ajustable ram cap im gonna pick one up (dont know alot about um though
Strengths: Speed
Price
Looks
that about sums it up
Weaknesses: If ur new to electros it could be confusing (refer to Review)
Review: So i just got a brand new texas storm i oppened the bax and gazed proudly its wonderful lookin however it dont come with a bottomline so i had run to atlanta (thats 2hours away from where i live(theres no suck thing a Paintball store down in Georgia) to grab one, kinda sucked but o well i get to shot my new timmy now or not as it turns out the eye is sent on delay mode and to fire the gun it needs to be on force mode( i will not go in to detail on how long it took me,2 friends,and my dad to figure this out for it would bring shame to my family) but once we got that straightend out it worked wonders on my first gun with a walkable trigger i was gettin 13 with no setting changes (might not sound impressive but it is where i live so dont ruin my moment) trigger bounce is set stock on 12 so im gonna lower it for more speed i had a rough time gettin it started but its a great gun once u break it in( i dont mean that litteraly) be sure to have a swap if u use the stock barrel though cause i had a couple of barrel breacks fixed um in a sec with swab though it was probly the paint i had though most of it was Wallmart paint i used up all my good paint on my friends new gun and needed a cheap alternative (hobby town is way to expensive and dont even give that great of paint )so i had to go to wally world in the end it is a great gun buy one if uve got the money bout 700-800 if u look probly the best gun in that price range havent shot others so dont know for a fact though but u wont be dissapointed i promise


Edit
i got to use it today it rocked my world i had a ton of people ask to hold/shoot it i dont mind that kind of stuff but some people do i was testin it out gettin bout 14-15 then a guy with a nasty shocker (that has nerve ramping) came up and startin shootin (he got 25 ) so that wasnt cool but o well it worked wonders on the field i got 4 peeps the first game i think we were playin 7 v 7 just walked up the side keepin um pinned single handedly the last guy was brave and jumped out shootin he ended up hitten my hand but at great personal cost :) cant wait to play again


Edit
its been about a month and the only problem ive had was my solinoid(cant spell sry) it crapped out on me but i called bob long (GREAT customer service) they sent me a new one (got it in about 3 days)for free stuck it in there and i rip like new
Conclusion: Buy one if u want a high end gun for realitivly cheap however if uve got money get an alias or a newer timmy but there 300+ $$s more but i dont here many bad things about um im gonna give it a 10 on perfomace but man was it annoying getting everything set up but since it was my fault i wont dock any points ill edit after ive had some good chance to use it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

brenspbplace Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a tippy a -5 with response trigger. ( does not even compare)
And a spyder pilot . ( does not compare either)
I also tested a friends dragon timmy.


Marker Setup: I have a blue to black texas storm timmy with green Halo B with rip drive and a aci bulldog 88 4500 hpa tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A check it unimount .
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy, Speed, Looks, lcd, Gas Mileage, and Bragging Rights.
Weaknesses: None I have seen.
Review: When I first opened the box I thought it looked great. I got a check it unimount and put on my tank and hopper. It was a windy day and it was still dead accurate. I noticed it was very very fast I loved it. This is my favorite gun I have ever had. Two of my friends have DM5's and I can go just as fast. This gun is the nuts.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a gun in the 800 dollar area you should defiantly get the texas storm intimidator. You will intimidate at your local field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2005 at 8:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media