paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
timmylord711 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun (first gun), Hybrid Quest Autococker (w/ and w/o eblade), Black Magic, Dynasty Shocker, Trix, Dm4, Shocker 03, 2K2 Timmy, Alias Timmy, Strange Vision Impulse, many more
Marker Setup: Black Texas Storm Intimidator, Black Halo B, Shocktech Supafly Bolt, Centerflag 68/3, Boomstick 10" (Front Play)/Freak 14" (Back Play)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shocktech Bolt, Barrel
Strengths: very good accuracy, very good air efficiency SPEED!!! no kick, fairly lightweight, very comfortable ergonomics
Weaknesses: None in my opinion, just that the gun is longer than most
Review: When i first got this gun, i was awed by the milling. the gun is beautiful. When I first aired it up, it took a little tweaking of the hpr/lpr to get it shooting right (Input pressure needs to be between 50 and 100 or you'll blow out your solenoid). Once I got it set up (dwell at 7.5, eyes on force) and reduced the trigger pull, i was ripping 17bps no problem on an otherwise stock gun. I was noticing that there was a bit of kick, however, but that was completely dissolved when I got the shocktech bolt. It increased the already great air efficiency and took away the last of the kick, It just required me to turn up the hpr a little. I have put lot of paint through my TS and the only reason it has chopped paint was that the paint was bad anyway. When using GAP or XBall Bronze and up, it shoots flawlessly, i havent found other paint that it really likes, but I havent tried it all either. The gun is a bit longer than most high end guns but it makes for better ergonomics and it has improved my snap shooting 100%. Plus, you can find these guns for $800 at some stores, possibly less if used.
Conclusion: This gun is incredible, pick one up for $800, and it shoots as good as if not better than guns like dm4's/dm5's and the high end timmies that all cost over 1.2k GET THIS GUN ONLY IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING THAT WILL DECIMATE THE COMPETITION!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Culptr Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Other Timmies
E-class Orracles
Shocker 2003
Various Angels
DM4's and older Trixes(hate them all besides the DM4)
Marker Setup: Orange w/ Black Accents Texas Storm Timmy
Empire Re-Loader B
Crossfire 88/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel if you are an accuracy obsessed guy but, otherwise nothing.
Strengths: FAST
Air Effecient
Pretty dang accurate w/ paint barrel match
Consistant
Quiet
Weaknesses: Ok on accuracy
I like LCD screens in the grips
Ummm...thats it
Review: When I shot a texas storm intimidator is was only my second time to ever shoot a timmy. I had shot a Dragon before and i liked it alot, anyway. A couple of Saturdays ago i shot my friend Jaque's TS Intimidator. It was set on debounce two and he was standing there ripping it already. I asked to shoot it and he agreed. I took the gun and sorda looked it over and then began to shoot it....only two words: FA and ST. I had to of hit 17 bps and it was ripping like crazy! While holding it i noticed it was a bit heavier than an Alias but not to much. It is hardly noticeable but if you whine about it you are just a whimp. I notice the air effiency was rather nice, right up there with Angels and cockers. On DB(debounce) 2 i could hear the spaces between shots and then i would hit a spot and it would sound like a gun running out of CO2. It was awesome!
Conclusion: This is a very nice intimidator and i suggest it if you are not up to spending over a grand on a gun but you want good quality. If you have about a grand i would go for the Alias, but if not go for either the storm or a lasoya(basically the same gun). All in all this is a very nice marker. If you have the money, buy it know!!! I give an 8 because of the barrel and the LCD. ;)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

knucklehead0206 Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
You name it and I've shot it. Cockers, mags, Trix, Angel. Old school Vm-68, Ranger pump, NelSpot 007, RPGIII, blah, blah, blah
Marker Setup: Currently shooting a Texas Storm Timmy upgraded ram and a reverse polarity TECHNA TRIGGER (the best trigger on the planet!) Egg with zboard, 68/4500 crossfire, Evil pipe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You can get an adjustabler ram cap if you're using a Halo. New ram with the deepset bumper is nice. It shoots sweet out of the box.
Strengths: Fast, accurate and reliable. What more do you need.
Weaknesses: A touch heavy compared to the new Timmys, Shocker, Nerve, Freestyle. Trigger is just garbage.
Review: Well let me just say that I couldn't be any happier with this marker. I have had NO problems with it in the 6 months that I have had it. None. It shoots straight and is mad fast. It's pretty air efficient, the eyes work great, the anno job is sweet, nice milling. Comes with a clamping feedneck and a nice LPR. This thing was shooting +/- 3 over the chrono out of the box. In the 16 years I've been playing I have never seen that out of the box. NEVER. NEVER. I am talking no break in. Just keep the bolt lubed and follow the manual reagrding maintenance and yours should work as great as mine. I wish the hoses were a little longer because they can be a little frustrating to put back together but that's just a minor thing. If I have something bad to say about the marker is that the trigger is garbage. That thing had to come out of there. It wasn't smooth and was tough to shoot. Get it out of there and put in a CP ballbearing trigger or go the whole way and get the TECHNA CARBON FIBER TRIGGER. That's the finest trigger I have ever used.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is that I love this marker. Beside the trigger I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Listen, no marker is perfect so all of my reviews start out with a 9 and go down from there. This marker is a solid 8 which is awesome.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

reo01 Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, Naughty Dogs Autococker, Angel 4
Marker Setup: Texas Storm, Freak kit with All American Barrell, Frenzy Board, Shock Tech Internals, Crossfire 68/4500 LP, Dye Rino Cover, Dye Mini drop forward," Egg" loader (soon to be a Reloader B)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell Kit and bolt, Frenzy Board
Strengths: Fast, light weight, accurate, no chopped paint, air efficient , consistent air pressure, looks, quality
Weaknesses: To change the battery you must strip the gun, out of date manual
Review: The Electra was a good beginners gun and the Cocker an increase in speed and accuracy. The Angel 4 was even more impressive than the Cocker but in my opinion the Storm is easily the best. Fast (25bps), light, accurate, and reliable the Timmy is low maintenance and easy to understand and operate. Add air, size the paint to bore and go play. Over the chrono I get +/- 2 fps variance and that definitely helps with the accuracy. Consistent air supply along with consistent paint to bore fit is the key to accuracy. The Angel4 is a very good gun as well but I personally prefer the trigger pull and the 45 grip frame over the trigger and space frame of the Angel. For me the 45 frame allows me to get on target faster and more naturally. The Timmy appears to be much longer and taller than the Angel but if you lay them on top of each other the Angel is less than an inch shorter. Height is equal. Chopping paint hasn't been an issue.
The biggest drawback is to change the battery you must remove the grips, grip panel, and eye cover. I did see where a company called Blitz Aphix has released a version that has battery changing from the back of the grip. That would be much better. Still the battery issue isn't enough to downgrade the gun since the battery life is around 15-20,000 shots. The manual has not ben updated since the GZ Intimadator. I would expect better from Bob Long. I would have expected a manual similar to the Angel manual for a gun of this class.
Conclusion: Even with the 2 downsides listed above the gun performance is still a 10. Using this gun will take equipment performance out of the equation. Your results on the field will be limited only by your skill, not the gun. What more can you ask for out of a paintball gun?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 16th, 2004 at 8:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hailstorm13 Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WDP Angel Speed, Warped Cocker
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
66ci, 3000 psi Nitro Duck Tank
Evo II Hopper
Lucky 15 barrel Set
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good Barrel kit might make it a little more accurate than it is now. I also recommend a better regulator for it.
Strengths: Accuracy and shiz hot fast!!
Weaknesses: The regulator blew on mine.
only works on select times
Review: right when i got this gun out of the box, it rocked. We used it the following day, and the bottom reg blew and i had it sent to nebraska to get it fixed. We then used and the gun has always had minor problems until the reg blew again and we got it fixed again.
Conclusion: This gun has been nothing but a royal pain in the butt to fix and maintain. When the gun wanted to be good, it was. But when i wanted it to, it sucked.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 8:52 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

junkyman22 Sunday, June 27th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my bko which is almost as good becuase i have upgraded it a lot
Marker Setup: bko with a lot of upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: accurate with a new barrel
fast as all heck
aweseom
Weaknesses: none that i found
Review: well i was paintballing with my friend a couple weeeks back and he let me use his texas storm timmy a few games. man this thing rips!!!! i was using the timmy with a 68/45000 nitro duck adjustable tank, smoke halo, daiblo inferno paint, and a phat barrel kit thingy.
it is sooooo awesome. seroiusly i usiually kill like 5 guys a game, but with this thing i was killing at least 15 a game. if u have a deep piggybank, definitely look into this timmy or any other kind of timmy (i have tried almost every kind).
Conclusion: its awesome. get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

mitch578806 Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Tippman 98 Custom
Angel Speed
Angel IR3 Fly
Angel LCD Fly
Marker Setup: 2004 Texas Storm Timmy w/ Frenzy Board and Oakland Assassins Team Series Barrel; ANS Adjustable Ram Cap; Crossfire 45ci. 4500 P.S.I.; Empire Reloader B; Psycho Ballistics On/Off Drop Forward; Dye Stickies.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap
Strengths: Accuracy, SPEED, Weight, SPEED, Anti-Chop System, SPEED, Milling, and SPEED
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is amazingly fast, especially with the new Frenzy Board in it, on the 2004s the milling is a little different and the weight is almost as good as the Alias. You are definitely gonna need a really fast hopper, like the reloader b or a halo. an egg with a Z-BOARD might keep up but you will have to run the eyes on delay mode and increase the time. I almost got an Angel 4 but i was talked out of them because of some of the problems they have. I was told that they hardly ever chop a paintball and the people that told me that were right, I have not chopped on ball in almost 6 cases of apint through it.
Conclusion: I think this or any timmy are by far the best markers on the market today. If you have the budget I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FuzzyGreyTurd Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Impulses, Angels, other Timmy's
Marker Setup: 2003 black to grey fade
Blade trigger
check-it clamping feed
hydro delrin bolt
cp front reg.
2004 macdev reg.
macro-line setup
macdev 68 4000 conquest
CP adjustable ram cap
CP blade trigger
Empire 7piece barel kit
was 2.7 board ( swhtched from frenzy brecause of excess bounce)
CP flame drop
"egg" loader with the z board
surefit clamping neck feed
Macdev conquest 68 4500 reg and tank
Dye sticky grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
The upgrades that I have on mine make this gun one of the best I've shot. Out of the box this gun performes well, but does need a few thigs to work perfectly.
#1 barrel kit
#2 ram cap adjuster
#3 fast loader
#4 good air
Strengths: This gun is milled beautifully. It is very light and consistent. great colors
Weaknesses: Needs barrel kit, could have a probles with different size paints
Review: I would have to say that I am very pleased and impresed with this gun. When I first purchased it from Predator Paintball I was supposed to receive a red to black fade. Well that never showed up, but in place of it they offered me a grey to black storm. What luck, I ended up with a gun that I think is much better lookig than most
Now to Performance: the first time I put paint thru this gun I was amazed at the bps. this frickin' thing laid ropes and ropes and, you know what I mean. The problem I found with the frenzy board that came in it was that no matter how I tried to change the setting it would "OVER" debounce. I tried trigger adjustment, dwell settings, new loaders, new barrels, expansion chambers and awhole lot of little stuff. I foud that my problem was with the ram cap. This gun definately need an adjustable ram cap. Other wise the ball rests out of sight of the vision eye and make the gun freeze up. You could always change the eye mode to bypass but that defeats the whole purpose of having the eye..
Once this $35 problem was solved I must admit, this frickin gun kick$$ big A$$
Conclusion: Great Gun - Could use a barrel kit - Very fast and accurate - Durable - Light - Gorgeous
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 9th, 2004 at 12:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K2 Intimidators, Lasoya, BKO's, Cockers, Angels
Marker Setup: Black TX Storm Timmy, Halo B, 88/5000 PMI Pure Energy Tank, CP Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adj. Ram Cap, Drop or rail, Upgraded Barrel
Strengths: Fast, light, well designed.
Weaknesses: None
Review: A top of the line, fully upgradeable markers, the Storm Kicks butt. It's the best 2nd Gen. intimidator for the price as it comes with the WAS board and only needs minimal upgrades. It's a paint throwing machine and out of the 3 Timmy's I've owned, it's by and far the best.
Conclusion: You've got to get one. It's the best milled, best looking marker, a lightning fast machine!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

khaos Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used almost every type of marker on the market.
Marker Setup: Texas Storm with hammerhead fin and barrel kit
12volt revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
an adjustable ram block
possibly a barrel sysytem
Strengths: comfortable to hold
amazingly fast
accurate right out of the box
Weaknesses: Almost forget 'walk-on' play
Finding a fast enough hopper
Buying enough paint
Review: I like the marker it is blazing fast and unbelievable accurate even with stock barrel. Is easy to care for. Feels like it was made for my hands. I would recommend it to anyone, it has not let me down yet. As my setup is I have to keep an eye on my speed it is very easy to out shoot my revy but I have tested egg's and halos and I have still had the marker hesitate because of the eyes when I shoot fast bursts.
Conclusion: If you want a fast accurate marker this is it....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media