paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator / Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is Bob's newest marker for the Storm team. Exciting new shape, same great quality! Has an Lcd screen ,low presseure, simi-auto only, open bolt, Eualizer Board.Capable of firing 25 BPS, Shot Counter, Game Timer, Torpedo Regulator, Anti-chop eye, Custom Milling, 300 PSI Gauge.
Weight: 2.85 lbs.
Length: 19.875 in.
Height: 8.625 in.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Don Parsons Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Started with BOSS. Most experienced with autocockers, mine is a custom 2002, great gun. This is my first electronic, wanted to take a big step for a tournament marker.
Marker Setup: Stock Texas Storm with WAS. Shoctech Ram, Shocktech Bolt, Empire Barrel set and Warped Sportz Lucky 15 Barrels sets
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shocktech Ram with adjustable ram cap and Shocteck bolt.
Strengths: Great reputation. Highly recommended marker. It's lite weight, looks great, and can stream paint.
Weaknesses: The stock ram does not allow adjustment to set the bolt depth in receiver.
Review: First I purchased this marker from my local paintball supplier "New Generation". I wanted local support and instruction from their experienced staff.

The day after picking up my texas storm I had team practice and wanted to use the texas storm to get familiar with it before the CFOA opener.

Could not get the marker to shoot in forced eye mode. After consultation and checkout by numerous players it was determined that the bolt was recessed too far back into the receiver alllowing the paintball to roll back into a position where it could not be detected by the eye. Tilting the marker down kept the ball at the eye and allowed the marker to fire, this was not practical in a game so I played in "bypass" eye mode, and chopped a considerable amount of paint.
After practice I took the marker back to new gen and they "Eric H." cleaned the marker, receiver and eyes, tightened a few things and then installed and adjusted an adjustable ram cap.

After several months of use I was still working to tune the accuracy of the marker, Yes, it is accurate but more of an accuracy by volume marker compared to my autococker. After, installing a Shocktech Bolt and using the Warped Sportrz (one piece) barrels the accuracy improved "DRAMATICALLY!!!"

At this time the marker is very accurate with very consistent velocity.

The bps with a halo belt drive is 20 bps with minimal ball breakage. Ball breakage only encountered with cheaper field paint at high rates of fire indicating that the HAlO B force feed is breaking the balls more so than the marker. With good paint (mid evil or equivalent) breakage is not a problem at the highest firing rates I have achieved.

The LCD is great! BPS delivery, total balls fired, battery strength, game timer, temperature, and mode info is readily available. My friends that shoot DM4's are only guessing at what their bps delivery rate was at game break when trying to close a lane. I can review my numbers at the end of a game and know if I achieved my max fire rate or not. I use the information to set goals and tune my performance.


Conclusion: I believe for the money the texas storm is the best tournament marker available, It's as fast and accurate as the DM4 for 100's less even with the upgrades. It's field proven and the LCD gives valuable feedback to improve your game.

A great tournament gun, fast and light.

At its costs should come with that adjustable ram!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

golai Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 and A-5 with response trigger
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Intimidator, Sidewinder Regulator, CP flame drop forward, CP 2 piece barrel, Halo B, WAS Eye, WAS Switch, Shockteck Superfly Bolt, Kapp Thumper Ram
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Blazing fast with the stock, upgraded WAS Board. Very accurate. Very light. Nice looks.
Weaknesses: None that I could find
Review: I love this gun more than I love my kids..... well almost. The Texas Storm is simply awesome. It fires as fast as you can tap the trigger and puts the paintballs in the same place every shot. The marker is very low pressure so there is very really recoil. I was putting up perfect arcs over some very large boulders where I knew some other players were. Two seconds later they all stood up with my paint on them. This marker just rocks!!!
Conclusion: I would buy the Texas Storm if I were you. Otherwise, you'd better be on the look out for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 2:41 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

dynasty_balla Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, mostly IR3's... Shot some Timmies before this.
Marker Setup: 2003 Texas Storm Timmy w/ Dye mini drop w/Dye on/off, 14in Freak Barrel, Halo B w/RIP drive... Probably something else too, I forget everything.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Freak works nicely if you have the money).
Strengths: WAS 2.6 - Fast as heck
Accuracy (With new barrel)
Flat shot
Looks/Lightness
Weaknesses: WAS board and modes take some getting use to...
Review: I picked this monster up, and almost dropped it again because I was stunned something that beautiful could come from the hands of Bob Long (Joking Bob....)
I put my tank on it and let it rip! This thing is a hose out of the box! Nice and light for front guys, throws a hose of paint of the break for back guys! All around awesome gun! At the chrono, it was shooting pretty consistently, 267, 270, 269, 265, 271... It only got more consistent the more paint I ran through that hose! And when I say hose, I mean hose! You couldn't fit a dime between the paint if you are sweet spotting! I cant tell you how much you will like it.
Conclusion: If you got some cash money in hand, go pick this gat up, or go rob a bank, it is worth it.... You will not be dissappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

elidel1 Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All types of Spyders, Tippman A-5, 2003 Vertical Feed Autococker, 2003 Black Magic,
2003 System X Pro-Vengeance 2.0, Ground Zero Timmy, Ironman Timmy
Marker Setup: 2002 Bob Long Texas Storm Intimidator with the was board and techna trigger's carbon fiber trigger and Shock Tech's adjustable ram, Egg hopper, PMI 68 ci 5000 psi nitro tank, System X X-tem drop forward, Dye Boom Stick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo hopper is a must, a new barrel if ya want and the techna trigger from www.technatrigger.com and a Shocktech adjustable ram
Strengths: VERY FAST, accurate, not an air hog, looks cool, just perfect
Weaknesses: ram, cost, and how much paint you use
Review: this gun is great got stuck loving timmys by usings a friend's ground zero, then i was hooked on intimidators, i love them and i know you will to if you get one, the milling and colors are cool, the rate of fire is unbeleivable, great accuracy, this gun is great, what can i say, for lack of a better word, perfect!
Conclusion: This gun is worth the money, you will be so glad you bought it ths gun is PERFECT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

THE STORM 503 Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Classic, Dragon, Speices, 02 Timmy, 02 Angel, Angel Speed, GZ, new Shocker, Ironman
Marker Setup: Texas Storm, Halo B, Empire Barrel System, PBK slotted bolt, 32 degrees drop, 72ci 4500psi crossfire stubby
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B, Adjustable back cap
Strengths: speed, accuracy, flat trajectory
Weaknesses: it has no WEAKNESS
Review: My opinion is that this gun is the BEST!!!! It is fast, accurate, light, and quiet; what more could you want. I like all of the guns listed above but as a front man this one is my favorite. I have never had a problem with this gun breaking a ball. One may break in the barrel occasionally but never in the gun.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that all around INTIMIDATORS are the best gun money can buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tstimmy Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
angel speed,e-blade cocker,ironmen matrix
Marker Setup: Texas storm timmy ,check it hammer adjuster,dye ultralite,chris lasoya trigger and Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo b ,barrel and hammer stop
Strengths: SPEED,SPEED, accuracy ,looks ,WAS board and efficiency
Weaknesses: version 2.6 board has a glitch on saving eye mode settings
Review: This is the BEST marker period...It is as fast as any hopper on the market will let it go.Its easy to use, set the dwell to 7.5 ,debounce to 2 ,BIP 2.0,Eye mode to forced,ram delay to 15and bolt delay to0.2 and let her rip.Anyone can get 20bps on this gun(even my wife).It shoots just as accurately and flat as an Autococker or Matrx But is way more
air efficent than either.I can get 1100 shots on a 68,3000 tank....The stock reg is very good +/- 3to4fps and will run well down to 50 psi although I prefer 75psi ,with 7.5ms dell setting it gives me the best consistency.When in forced mode the marker will not fire until their is a ball in place , it will not chop a ball .I have only ever chopped one ball and that was because i was in simulate mode.If you want to throw a rope you must have a halo b loader I stated with an evolution2 and in forced mode I could not get over 14bps,but when you install a halo 20-22bps is easy every time.

I let my friend with an e-blade cocker (of course it was broke it is a cocker)use my gun this weekend and he has put his up for sale ...The first thing he said when he came of the field was THIS THING RIPS.......

Conclusion: So in conclusion their are alot of fast and accurate guns out thier but none as lite ,air efficent and good looking as a WAS board timmy....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 6th, 2003 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

um_hi? Friday, September 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
basically every marker on the market
Marker Setup: texas storm cp barrel system x drop on/off revy,halo,egg depending on my mood and many other things i cant remember
Recommended
Upgrades:
um new barrel
Strengths: -shoots great
-accurate
-fast
-looks good
-never chops
Weaknesses: umm i lost my allen wrench soi cant take off my eyes gun is great
Review: ok wow this gun is awesome when i first used it people were dropping like flies it was so great this gun never chops and u dont rly need to add anything u might want to change dwell and debounce but thats it when u change those u will be able to get to 22 bps easy all in all a great gun nothing at all wrong with it
Conclusion: get this gun now plz... u luv it o yea kinda pricy but well worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snapshotnate Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 intimidator, Angel Speed
Marker Setup: 2003 blue/black fade Texas Storm Intimidator, Clear Halo B, 68/4500 ACI Bulldog,
14" black/silver fade Evil Pipe, short deadonpaintball on/off drop, wicked switch, blue Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hybrid adjustable ram cap, interchangable bore barrel, Halo B or Egg 2 and a good HPA system
Strengths: VERY VERY VERY Fast! Looks sweet, WAS board, eyes, not too heavy & FAST!!!
Weaknesses: the hammer bumper, but that is easily avoided by adjusting with an adjustable ram cap
Review: What Can I say, I have been playing for three years and i finally got a "super gun".... I would easily say that this gun is top ten on the market ( if not top five), this gun is super fast...... very low pressure operation (85psi), you have the eye sensor, delrin ( or mabey delron, i forget which one) bolt, not much kick at all, especially when you add a volumizer, very simple to maintain, looks great.... i have gotten sooo many compliments on it and other kids that just drool over it..... i mean it's like the ferrari of the paintball world.... It shoots strings, very easy to force someone else back in their bunker.... this was easily the most fun 1200 dollars i have ever spent......if you are debating between this or another marker, get this i promise you wont regret it!!! and don't forget the Ironman, Dragon, Lasoya, Storm & Species series timmy's are all the same...they just look different......so if your debating between any of the two or three just get what you think looks the best........good look and happy shoppin!!!!
Conclusion: This marker will be the best 1200 paintball dollars you will ever spend, just make sure you can afford to play after you buy it...whats the point of owning a super marker when you can't ball with it.....but if you have the money..buy it....You will love it, I promise!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

slade Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, 2002 Intimidator, Cocker, blah, blah, blah
Marker Setup: Black to Blue fade TX Storm, pure energy 68/3000 preset, revy, unimount, check it pro ram, check it full force bolt, cp adjustable ram cap and longbow barrel system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first thing is definetly an adjustable ram cap, I'd throw the stock on away. And as always a good barrel.
Strengths: FAST, Reliable, and BOB LONG enough said!!!
Weaknesses: Stock ram cap. Barrel.
Review: Very reliable, fast bps, low maintenance, was equalizer board, extremely low operating pressure 70psi, wicked eye, light, adjustable trigger, and easy to clean.
There's not much to lube. It takes me about 10-15 minutes to clean and grease. Once a month I lube the poppet which was difficult at first but now can be done in about 10 minutes. In my opinion this is the best bang for your buck if your going with a gun from BL b/c you get all the upgrades like clamping low rise and equalizer board for cheaper than the other models that come with it.
Conclusion: If I had to do it over I would definitely get this marker again. If you want a reliable, lite, and super fast gun, this is it. If you want a flashier gun with the same inside get a lasoya, dragon, or species. Definitely worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frontplayer627 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
angels mostly
Marker Setup: basicly -03 dark angel
68/3000 aci tank
egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont kno
Strengths: shoots fast very accurate at short to mid
Weaknesses: shots vary a little from far away
Review: I actually play with some of the guys on texas storm at my local feild, really nice. Anyway their intimidators shoot faster than i would of ever thought possible. Its amazing! and ive been playing with angels and matrices all of my time in the sport. I still dont know how a gun is capable of putting out those numbers. The only thing i noticed is when you are shooting fast from say the mid 50 to the back soda cans the shots are kind of inconsistent, but every time they put the shots down on that back right soda can he was out, getting lit up with like 6 balls. I really
Conclusion: try it out, i liked it and would get it if i wasnt 13 and maybe had a car..........and a job
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media