paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DrunkPaintball Sunday, June 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Double trigger
flatline
M-16 6 way collapsable stock

Strengths: Good foam placement
Fog resistant
Sexy look
Shout bounce
And easy cleaning

Weaknesses: Hard plastic ears

Review: I bought this mask on ebay last year along with some other stuff and i have been using it for a year and then got a new one. I have been hit in the face and it has taken all of the pain for me. I absolutely love this mask, except for one thing if you play long games it will start to hurt in the ears. it isn't soft, it is hard plastic.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to younger/beginners any day of the week.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B-boo Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Eliete Goggles, Scott Mask, Profiler
Marker Setup: For my Tipppmann 98C I have a Q-loader, double trigger, palmers stabalizer, Tapco stock, Rocket Cock 2, sniper barrel, Lapco offset sight mount, Adco red dot sight, custom Q-loader mount, and a remote hose.

For my Ion I have a progressive barrel, clamp feed neck, drop forward, Halo hopper, and orange body kit.
Strengths: Very low profile, dead sexy look, and very comfortable
Weaknesses: Rubber bottom rips a little bit easily
Review: I thought that the JT Proteus look really cool and at first this was the only reason that I bought one. When I put it on i soon realized that it was the most comfortable mask that I have ever worn. I really love how increadibly low profile it is. If you have a big head, I mean that literally, Make sure that you don't wear this mask cause you will get hurt. If you have a smaller shaped head and you think that the mask is worth the money and, If you can find one, then make sure you get this mask!
Conclusion: Great mask but it is very hard to find now! I think the overall plus of this mask is the low profile design
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

napalm42 Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt headshield Elite - terrible
a Scott system - not so bad but still way worse
a Tippmann starter pack system - not nearly as good as the proteus
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
X7 hopper
1x30 Simmons Red dot scope
Folding Raider Series PDW stock
Aluminum Gas through Mag
Spec ops SD shroud
stock barrel
CMI thunderpig micro coil remote
Strengths: Light
Flexible on the bottom
Very good FOV
Very nice price
Very VERY low profile
Weaknesses: Very VERY low profile (will explain later)
Removal of lense system
Review: Let me start off by saying i dont believe they are in production anymore but are still available in some places (ebay).

Profile -

The profile of this is EXTREMELY SMALL... i personally play woodsball and although i use a red dot sight for my gun, i do not need a riser this would be due to the profile. Unlike any other mask i know of, i can place my head against the stock of my gun and see through the sights (both red dot and iron sights) However... on the other end of the spectrum the low low low profile causes a problem with revealing your chin when you yell. Yet this can be fixed by either not yelling or by buying a sportz comm system to communicate.


Price -

at $32.00 shipped... what more can you ask for


Looks -

Amazing. it looks like something from Halo and really caught my attention right away.
I have only played 1 game with this mask yet people who were at the field who already knew me because of my customized gun came up to me and told me i made them fear me (no lie)


Comfort -

unlike nothing i have felt before, the foam is so comfortable that i forget i am wearing it. and the strap is very comfortable as well.


FOV -

well let me give u a comparison of the FOV to something most people can relate to.
Take your hands and place them in front of you and move them to the sides until they start to become invisible... this is the FOV of the Proteus. Now if you were to compare this to a JT headshield it would be like wearing a blindfold when playing paintball.


Features -

let me stress the Sportz Comm... with this it makes it possible to use a 2 way radio without having to press the button. The speakers are placed right where the ear vents are and the mic goes right in the middle of the mouth section. This is the most useful system ever. And for 30 dollars who can argue with it.
Conclusion: Let me stress the fact that i am a woodsballer and scenario player, i need a mask that can allow me a great attention to detail and a massive FOV. Along with a very effective way of communication and a handy method for seeing down a sight.

With the Proteus 2 it is possible for all of these, u can see every detail with clarity and see down your scope or sight without an off-set or riser. Also, you can communicate on a dime with the Sportz comm and wont have a problem hearing your teammates
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilpaintball07 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force Vantage- not better, not worse
V-force Armor- worse
JT flex- some may like it, i don't
Marker Setup: -Evil Omen 2.0
-VL evlution 3
-Draxxus 45/4500 tank
-J&J edge kit
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Huge lense
-Colors
-Small profile
-looks
Weaknesses: -Harder to remove lense and clean than most other masks
-better, more expensive masks
Review: While I have seen this mask being used more in woodsball, it works fine in airball. This is one of the most comfortable masks I've ever worn. I love the huge lense so that I can see the whole field. Also i have seen many accesories for this, fan, lense skins, visors, etc.. You can hear fine with em with the ear parts. The one problem i have with these goggles is how you get the lense out but besides that their great.
Conclusion: If your looking for goggles $60 and under, get them over everything. If your going for a higher price get events, profiler or invisions.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spikeman Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT alpha
JT proflex
Dye i3
profiler
tippman mask
lots of others
Marker Setup: Primary:
PMR
14' Ul barrel
Ul frame
Halo B
CP on/off rail
68/3000psi

Back up:
SP impusle
full function bolt
full function hammer
full function valve
full function trigger
20 oz with antisiphon
Halo B

Woodsball:
Spyder MR1
VL 200
16oz.
Strengths: Small profile
HUGE F.O.V
compactness
Weaknesses: Lens
Plasticness
used to be expensive
Review: Hi everyone, so i got my proteus way back when in 2002. It was the top of the line of jt then so i thought it must have been good and it is. I have used it for over 5 years now and I wouldnt trade it for anything but lets go step by step:

Price: now it is extremely cheap(~25/30) but it used to be very expensive
Packaging: Comes in a plastic box with a google bag and the usual jt mask paperwork

First impressions:

Foam: extremely nice and i have almost fallen alseep in it a few times because when you wear it the foam is unnoticeable and it doesnt feel like your wearing a mask.
Lens: the 260 degree F.O.V is huge and it is a thermal lens(double pane like windows) i can see out of my perpherial just fine with the help of it, but one major drawback is that it is a pain(PAAAAINNN!!!!) to install into the goggle system becuase the lens has tabs that must go through the system and its not that big of a deal until you get to the nose area. The nose area has 2 tabs on either side of the nostril part of the system and you are going to need a object to help jimmy one side in.
Visior: its rubbery, it does what it does
Ear pieces: well in theory it sounds good.
Voice amplifier: same as above

In practice:

Foam: extremely nice, really really comfy.
Lens: has yet to fog in my mask and with the added perpherials is very nice, but try not to get shot in the lens becuase if it is bad then you have to take out the lens to get the paint out and you just cannot douse it in water beucase the water can get through the thermal lens.
Visior: i cut mine to make it look like master chiefs visor( sounds stupid but it does look good)
Ear pieces: in my experience there is no advantage to this piece, just a selling point
Voice amplifier: same as above
Conclusion: A great mask but it does have its drawbacks. The lens and plasticness of the main body of it are frustruating but even in todays world it can still hold its own. Im giving it a 8 because its great, not perfect or near perfect(remember 5 is avg)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnybestard2 Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire events, v force profiler, dye invision, proto swich
Marker Setup: 2004 BKO
custom products no rise feed neck
phsyco ballistics on/off drop forward
macroline kit stainless steel freak barrel
68/45 fiber wraped pure energy tank
dye rhino cover
halo B hopper with rip drive
Jt proteus

Back up gun

Spyder E-99
shocktech trigger
shoctech antichop bolt
freak JR
then same hopper and tank as the BKO
Strengths: Low profile
looks cool
comfortable
food vision
Weaknesses: If youre yelling you could get shot in the jaw.
It foggs up
Review: The jt proteus is an over all good mask. It keeps a low profile and keeps you comfortable. I personally also think that it looks pretty cool too. It does fog up a lot but i still think that its a pretty good mask. If i had to rate it, i think it is the 3rd best mask on the market
Conclusion: If your looking for a comfortable low profile mask and you are willing to spend about 50 bucks then this is probably a good mask for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dikrezalb Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision3
JT Proflex 8
JT Spectra
E-Vents
Marker Setup: Racegun Blind Rage v06 with 14" Redz Pepper Stick, Macro Line, Halo TSA Frontman LCD/VL Evlution2, Nitro Duck 68/3000
Strengths: Weight
field of vision
price
Weaknesses: Coverage
Review: Alright, so i bought the proteus II after looking for a new mask for awhile. i looked at the i3, proflex, e-vent, and some other random jt masks. i played with my teammate's i3 and proflex, but i wasnt too impressed with either. the i3 is comfortable, but the field of vision on it is horrible. you cant see anything. the proflex is a good mask, but i didnt like the rubber chin protector. i ended up going out on a limb and just ordering the proteus II without having tested one out. i was impressed with the performance of the mask. it has a great field of vision, the lens doesnt fog (a problem i've always had with other masks), and the mask is constructed very well. there is one downfall to the proteus II, and that is that if you have a longer jaw, it may be partially exposed due to the short jawline of the proteus II. other than that, the mask is easy to clean and maintain, it's light, and it has a low profile. and if you shop around, you can find them dirt cheap. probably around $30 or so. which is a plus, considering the i3 and proflex are around $80.
Conclusion: Overall i think the proteus II is a great mask for the money. it's cheap, durable, and reliable. anyone who wants to upgrade their mask, but doesnt want to drop $100, the proteus II is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paintr Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Gold Vision Shocker
Halo w/ rip
Alot of Ups
47/3000 nitroduck
Strengths: Tight
Light weight
Soo clear
Small Profile
Looks
Weaknesses: SUCH a hassle to swap lenses
Kinda small
Breathing is a bit confined
Review: This mask is a very good mask for the money. The tight profile and how is hugs your face is amazing. It is extremely light so it feels as it nothing is on. The foam in it is soft so no marks on your face or anything. The vocal is great. Doesn't muffle my sound too much. I have also gotten alot of bounces off this mask.
The thing I dislike most about it is how long and difficult it is just to swap lenses. To many things one must do to clean em'. I like how they are small but some people complain that they aren't long enough on the chin area. Also breathing a ruff at times. Air flowage tends to be decent though.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend getting this product. For the cost and great strengths of this mask it is definitely worth it. I recommend going to your pro shop or someone that has one and seeing if you like it first. Some people have bigger heads than others.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoscrooge Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
oh wow tons of different masks,probably best so far other then this one was the dye invision
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker,revolution 2 hopper,20oz soon to be 72/3000,JT PROTEUS 2
Strengths: it has never fogged up on me EVER!!!
Weaknesses: The chin strap,and can be hard to breathe in wrong positions
Review: i just bought this mask and i love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it, its a bit pricey even tho i got mine for $16 it way worth the $60 or whatever it is now it NEVER fogs up which is extremely awesome. balls bounce off this thing left and right people say to get a dye invision well here is what u really need to do ignore them i've tried both and trust me this one is way better then dye invision will ever be


THE BAD
the chin strap can be annoying sometimes but if u tighten it enough to fit you snug but not tight it will be straight

the size it is awesome to be small and harder to hit but how small do u want something honestly you see its not really hard to breathe all the time just in certain positions......we all kno stealth is a plus but if u gotta stop being stealth to breathe it can ruin your game
Conclusion: As you have already seen even the bad parts turn out to be somewhat ok still got to give it a 9 tho just cause of the breathing part it would normally be 8 since 2 things are wrong with it but since i have never experienced any other mask that doesn't fog at all!!! ill give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pwn_n3wbz Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Profiler
E-Vents
Dye I3
Vforce Armor
Marker Setup: Ion w/ups (too many to list)
68ci 4500psi PMI
Halo B hopper
Strengths: Durable mask
Ok vision radius
Stays put on face
Doesn't restrict communication much
Weaknesses: Doesn't cover chin well
Review: I bought these because they were so cheap on actionvillage.com (around $20.00) and lost old mask. I only intended to use them temporarily but after using them for a few days I might save money for more ups for marker. Who knows i might buy a new mask a week later lol. What I choose to do doesnt matter due to the fact that i impulse buy alot. Enuff about that and more about the mask. The mask fits snugg and you can shake your head left and right and it stays in place. Vision is good but keep in mind its not a Profiler or Vents, but i would use this mask before a Dye mask. Im not much of a dye guy. The only bad things about this mask is that it doesnt cover the chin/ neck area that well and part of the mask sticks me under the jaw. This could be because my head is bigger than a 12 yr old's or that it was warped due to heat. no biggie, i'll cut it off or heat it up and mold it back. Just make sure that you have the mask lower on your face or your chin will be in the open. other than that its a great mask for the price, especially now that its on sale. Oh and its not exactly lightweight but its better than a cheap mask like other ones that are around 25-40 bucks.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good mask but dont want to pay $80+, this is your mask. You will not be dissappointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media