paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
XxXChRis0069 Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
that little pos that came with the compact 2-in-1 package back in the day
Marker Setup: ehh i dont have time for all my junk on here right now, plus its gonna be changin real soon
Strengths: OMG soo comfortable and it *never* fogs!
Weaknesses: haha weaknesses? it has none! wait j/k its a lil hard to take apart
Review: wow the proteus is great and the only thing i would recommend is getting a clear lens with it for night play or low-light play.... ummm o yeah when ur going to take out the lens to clean it or put in a new one, make sure u have a while to do it cuz its not the easiest thing in the world to do
Conclusion: pshh i love it and it doesnt look bad either
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 17th, 2003 at 11:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Banoo Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Lousy rental mask.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Proteus II mask and A3paintball HPA tank with Remote.
Strengths: Very compact!, Extremely comfortable you almost forget your....whoa! I'm wearing it right now!
Weaknesses: Has a thermal double lense, but still fogs if you breath directly on it.
Review: I absolutely love this mask! It's soo comfortable and awesome. It conforms perfectly to your face but also covers only what needs to be covered (if you have a long face your chin might stick out the bottom when your talking). The lense is great, only fogs if you breath directly on it, but that wont matter because you dont breath there anyway, also the lense kinda reflects your face a little (not enough to matter though). This mask is extremely light and seperates you from everyone else on the field.Ok, a little warning first-off. Almost anywhere you look at this mask on the internet, the picture will make it look Brown and black. IT'S NOT!! It's like clear except for a smoke-stained look is added to it(still looks awesome). And another warning!! People seem to be too stupid to label the Proteus II "proteus II', They will most likely just label it 'Proteus'. To tell the difference between the first and second models, just look at the sun visor, if it goes back all the way, it's a Proteus. If it goes back halfway, it's a Proteus II.!
Conclusion: This is the best mask out there (besides the Dye Invision, also very nice). and I reccomend you buy it for $49!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viper x-pb Monday, July 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Alpha 2000 - One of JT USA's cheaper masks. $20 at Wal-Mart.
This Cheap Brass Eagle Mask that came with my Stingray II with I first started out with paintball. I didn't feel very safe with it on. Threw it away.
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS, J&J Ceramic barrel, bottum line, PMI elbow, VL 200 ct hopper, fiber optic site
Secondary: Brass Eagle Stingray II, BE upgrade barrel, quike pull pins
Strengths: Comfortable
Low profile
Looks cool
Sufficient padding
Variety of colors
Weaknesses: Didn't look like it would protect Jay Leno's chin very well.
Review: My friend get this and I got to try it on and move around with it on.
It was extremely comfortable and fit snug against my face. A mask that allows you to use your periphial vision!!! I only got to wear the mask for a short period of time so I can't really say much about long term use. I really liked it and I'm actaully concidering getting this mask.
Conclusion: Paintball Googles are the most important thing in paintball. Get something that you'll like and feel comfortable with, even if it mean spending a few extra bucks. This mask is awesome. I'll give it an 8 for now since I've only tested it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thugluv Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none compare!!!!
Marker Setup: GX 4 cocker wit ha lotta crap on it. a good gun, but you don't care
Strengths: stix to yo face like hot wax that your lover pours on you
Weaknesses: some of the older models have earpieces that cave in, and shatter your eardrums
Review: i gots mine wit a fan and goggle sack for $60.... but i'm willing to bet you won't!!! it's a good mask, that's why you see it on all the pros. It works well with my glasses, but then again, my glasses are kinda small, so don't buy this mask if you're a nerd. I would however, recommend waiting for the new jt fx-10 that's supposed to be better than this one. The lens is very hard to take out, but that's kind of a good thing, because it's also harder for the lens to cave in on your eyeballs
Conclusion: buy this mask, but only if you can get it for $60, shipped, with a fan, goggle bag, and bj
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Okibi Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Shield Rental - Solid, fog resistant, cheap. Great rental mask.
JT Spectra Rental - Hard, ugly, fogs. Base model, horrible.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
12" SP Teardrop
Custom Dropforward
VL eVLution
Check It Assault Front Block
More...
Strengths: Great looking.
Fairly fog resistant.
Accepts accesories.
Weaknesses: Expensive.
Lenses fog occasionally.
Lenses glare.
Lenses scratch with cleaning.
Hard to replace lenses.
Review: I was really looking forward to getting the new Spectra Proteus 2. I saved up $125 Canadian and bought one in clear. The Spectra Proteus looks very nice in my opinion and the ear pieces do tend to work. It comes with a nice adjustable visor and accepts Vortex and X-wind fans. The Proteus is designed to channel your voice to your teammates and stop the echo in the mask. Where the Proteus really shines is in speedball, if you turn to ear pieces to face the back players you can hear their shouting much better. And if you play as a back player you can turn the ear pieces frontwards to better hear the enemy players.

The only problems I found with the Proteus is it's stock lense and the price. The lenses tended to fog before and after most games, I believe a fan would help clear this up. I've never fogged during a game however. :) The clear lenses also seem to induce a bit of glare. The visor helps cut this down, but a shiny barrel or metal zipper seem to glow with the way the light bends through the lenses. I believe a new mirrored, gradient or coloured Spectra lense would fix this. And as with all JT masks, replacing lenses is a horrible waste of time. You'll have sore thumbs after, lol. :D If JT could incorporate something like the VForce quick change it would make everything much better. And lastly the price. For the $125 Canadian I spent, I could have easily bought 3 or 4 VForce Armors, but you get what you pay for and the Proteus II definately outdoes the competition... except maybe the Dye Invision.
Conclusion: They are great goggles, but the stock lenses aren't the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 3rd, 2003 at 10:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

x evil angel x Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other JT masks
Marker Setup: Angel Speed, Check it Drop Forward, Twin CP Volumizers, Evil Pipe
Strengths: Comfort
Light
Wide vision
Colors
Design
Sound
Weaknesses: none. this is the perfect mask is your head isnt big
Review: This is by far the best mask out there. Its so comfortable to wear. The visibility is unmatched! Outgoing sound is way better. It doesnt trap your voice inside of your mask, it goes out cleary. The looks are awesome too. The materials used in this mask are of good quality. JT Elite masks are hard and plastic-like with poor visibilty and sound capabilities. Spectra is the way to go.
Conclusion: If youre looking for a great mask, buy this one, if not then mask sure its a spectra lens JT mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PAINtball Ruler Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some Cheap Brass Eagle piece of crap from Wal-Mart
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Factory Installed Response Trigger
40 inch Java Remote Coil
Dye Boomstick 16'
Freak With 2 Inserts, .684, .686
Pure Energy 16oz ,co2
GT site rail, from Psycho Ballistics
Strengths: Never Fogged Up
Great Looks
Visor is really nice, and free.
Good Hearing
Weaknesses: Haven't encountered anything that has troubled me about this mask.
Review: I Really like this mask. Some of you may disagree, but since the only mask i have tried is the worst mask in the world, I'm giving this a ten out of ten, also I did'nt find any weaknesses in this product. The visor is great and keeps the sun (and Rain) out of your eyes. The hearing in this mask is phenomenal, i can hear even the slightest whirl of wind. The Spestra LEns really helps too. When wearing this mask, it feels like I'm really wearing nothing.
Conclusion: Great Mask, Go For It it is made by JT, so you know the Proteus will be the best mask out there. Also available in Chameleon Colors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer42o Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision.
Marker Setup: Impulse, revvy, 68/3000 tank, 12inch stock barrel
Strengths: Thermal lense is very nice to have, no fogging, nice ventalation.
Weaknesses: ears feel unconfortable, not too bad though. A bit pricy.
Review: This mask is the best of the best. If you want a high quality mask, you should definatly consider this. The Ventalation is directly in front of your mouth, and its big enough to get a lot of air in, but small enough to keep most paint out. The ear area is kinda uncomfortable, but not that bad. There is NO FOGGING whatsoever. The thermal lense is awsome.
Conclusion: The best of the best. A bit pricy, but its one of the greatest masks out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ddtrok1 Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Xact (sucks)
Marker Setup: 2003 Autococker, Freak Barrel System, System-X drop forward, VL 12V hopper, JT Proteus II Mask, Crossfire 3000psi 68cu.
Strengths: Super cumfortable, never fogs
Weaknesses: thumbs get sore by the time your done changing the lense.
Review: This is a very nice mask. its extreamly comfotable. As long as you change the lense when nessisary IT WILL NEVER FOG! And you dont even have to change the lense that much, after you change the lanse a few time then it get easier and does take as long, and it doesn't hirt as much. The hearing isn't noticable changed. And it doesn't scrach very easaly. It is true that your chin may stick out the bottom when your breathing hevaly but it doesn't matter that much.
Conclusion: this is an all aroung great mask if your willing to pay for it. with my old mask it foged up almost every game that lasted more then 10min. I play rec and this mask was worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigballs Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy Raven masks, Flex 7, Nvision(over rated)
Marker Setup: BL Intimidator, Egg 2, Ultralite barrel
Strengths: Max protection around the face IF you play keeping your marker close.
Weaknesses: Rinse that lens down then the antifog is gone with the wind
Review: str: Awesome looks! FOV is awesome and the lens stands up to fog. MOST comfortable MASK I HAVE EVER USED. AWESOME protection around ears.

weakness: being a 2 peice type lens water can get in it. Little or no chin protection when shouting.
I love this mask, its way comfortable, super breathable and the game is so much funner when you dont have to worry about equiptment. I play lotsa night games and the moisture from the night air and from breathing and sweating can really do wonders to "fog resistant" lenses. The Proteus stood up to these nasty conditions and I was able to take advantage of this in my games were i knew my adversaries were foggin bad. I play tourney style Airball and you have no time to worry about fog or how your mask is buggin so do yourself a favor and put the money down and get yourself quality stuff. ITS FUNNER! Dont be cheap and PMI yer games your gonna end up with better stuff anyways.
Conclusion: Best mask I used and you can pick it up cheap online. You cant play if you cant see, so dont get called out on fog. Nvision is overated in my opinion and people are biast when they rate them high since its hard to see in them breath in them, and replacement gogs are a grip of cash! But if you like hype by all means then there the best HYPED gogs in the biz. But if you like game get a proteus!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media