paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
Adema3412 Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force shield
Marker Setup: Hopper Right Chrome Automag, Chrome Kapp Foregrip, Chrome Double Trigger Intelframe, chrome drop forward, 12" JJ Ceramic, 12v Revy with X-board and intelfeed, and 48 ci 300psi centerflag preset
Strengths: small, snug fit, great thermal lenses, and looks great
Weaknesses: Doesn't protect your chin if you got a somewhat long head
Review: Overall, the Proteus 2 is a great mask, it has yet to fog on me, and it has such a snug fit, but it still is comfortable. The lens replacement is very easy, did it in about one minute. The Proteus also looks great, especially the chameleon. Also the bottom is somewhat flexy, so its possible to get some bounces. In Addition, the 260 view is great, it gives you the same vision you would have when not wearing a mask. There are a couple of downsides, the mask is a little small so for some people their whole face my not be protected, and also if u get his in the bottom center part you will eat paint, but that really isn't a big deal. The communications thing doesn't really do much, but the mask does allow more of your voice to escape then others i have used, so in that sense the Proteus does have better communications. Overall a great mask, at a great price.
Conclusion: this is probably one of the best masks on the market, because of its small profile, snug fit, 260 degree view lense, and great looking, and also very inexpensive about 50 dollars or so for clear.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RuffRyderZilla Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor Mask
Marker Setup: A-5 DYE Ultralite
Strengths: COMFORTABLE!!
No fog.
Small target.
Weaknesses: Sweat + Heavy breather = Will fog
Lens = Hard to take out.
Review: I bought this mask recently and used it yesterday (6/4/2003). This mask is very very comfortable, wide vision area, and hearing your teammates/twigs break is great.

I sweat A LOT and breathe very hard. Because of this, my mask fogged up a couple of times. In the field, I took it off to wipe the fog with my shirt and it helped. I honestly don't think heavy breathing had any part in fogging the mask. The sweating was the problem I had. If you sweat a lot, I suggest you wear a headband to soak it up. The vortex fan would help too. If you don't sweat a lot, then you will be fine.

Now, the lens. While I was taking out the lens, it was very hard. The lens were in the mask so well that you really had to pull the lens to get it out. I took me like an hour to just the lens out and all I wanted to do was rinse and dry it. My fingers were hurting so bad from the frame thing which made it harder. Of course, this was the first time taking any lens out of a mask so it may be easier for the people who have more experience. Putting the lens back into the mask is easy though.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an incredible mask. I believe it is worth the money spent ($70-$90).

The only real problem (I had) is the lens. Others may not have a problem with it. Putting the lens back in the mask is easy.

EDIT on 8/11/03: After playing several games with this mask, it seems very hard to breathe. Although I am a heavy breather when running around a lot, that circle in the middle just doesn't help much. Breathing in the same stuff you breathe out makes you lightheaded and that's bad. I'm taking away one point to make it 9/10.
I am not taking a point off for it.

Buy this mask!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 11th, 2003 at 7:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmxer2002 Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invisions
proflex
Marker Setup: 2k2 chrome angel LCD
2k3 board, 14 way, etc..
warped sports dual volumizers
egg 2
P.E. 68/30 tank
Strengths: its a really small target. kinda cool looking.
Weaknesses: they tend to fog up. kinda heavy. they get really hot too.
Review: i got these for my birthday. i loved them,until it got hot. it feels about 100 degrees inside thosewhen its hot outside. the communication ear pieces dont really serve a purpose either. they are small targets though. ive gotten a couple of good bounces off of them too. this mask is good if you wanna look somewhat cool. but your better off getting the dye invisions.
Conclusion: this mask is good if you wanna look somewhat cool. but your better off getting the dye invisions. ill give it a 7 because of the smallnes of it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

proteus sniper Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle (cheap $13 @ wal-mart) and JT USA, the other wal-mart $20 mask...
Marker Setup: I honsetly dont have 1 @ the moment, i sold it, but im prolly gonna get a 03' cocker vert feed,bever tail, and maybe N2 or Anti-syphon, or a M3 Bonz LCD
Strengths: GREAT, flexible, good-looking, name
Weaknesses: -NONE-
Review: I have the Proteus 1 mask but: This mask has worked great, I orderd from pbfantics, and it got here in 3 days, and then i wore it a little outside to te the fog resisitance-great- i trying depritley to fog it up and it wouldn't! My sister is 1 and she was eating, and her hands were wet w/ crums and water and sticky stuff, and and she touched my goggles! I quickly dashed over to the kithen and wiped it off VERY EASILY!
Conclusion: anti-fog works, good looking, flexible, easy to wipe off nasty stuff= I'd buy it, you WILL be satisfied!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RX-8 Sunday, May 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Invision(not as good)
JT nForcer(Its decent)
JT Prosheild(doesn't even compare)
Raven NVX(better than the invision, not as good as the proteus II)
Marker Setup: Kingman Electra
Check it stick trigger
14" evil pipe barrel
eVLution II
45/4500 Pure energy
Bob Long torpedo reg
WGP Torpedo drop
Strengths: VERY small profile, big FOV, looks better than any mask, light, fits snug, flexible lower.
Weaknesses: Changing the lenses is a pain in the ass but not too bad.
Review: This mask is so comfortable it's actually nice to wear. Unlike so many other masks, this one is light and doesn't make you want to just rip it off and throw it after wearing it for a long time. The profile is smaller than anything else on the market. People complain about their chins sticking out, well mine does the tiniest bit if my mouth is open as much as I can, which only happens during the blood curdling scream that happens if you get junked. Then again my step-brothers chin almost sticks out constantly. It does hang out when he breathes so it depends on the person. The mask stays in place and has never fogged during a game. I breathed directly on to the lens and it cleared itself in about 3 seconds!!! I'm not sure how well the earpieces work but it's cool to say that you have em. any hats(toques, sockhats, beanies, torniquets, baseball hats, bucket hats, etc) will fit under it comfortably unlike the invision. The lenses were a pain to change (I bought chrome lenses) but not as bad as I was told it would be. if you're deciding between this and the invision, get this. If it's too much I would suggest getting the NVX (way better than the invision).
Conclusion: I would reccomend this mask just because it is so comfortable and because of it's looks, but the fact that every other part of the mask is great is a hell of a bonus.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 12th, 2003 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbSamurai Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt nvader
Marker Setup: 2k2 blue vertical cocker, warped sportz dark series 14" aluminum black, dye swing trigger chrome
Strengths: LOW profile, kick ass style, does not fog unless humidity VERY high
Weaknesses: it fogged only once for me, vortex fan helped
Review: i LOVE my mask, it kicks so much ass. the foam is extremely comfortable. i got it in 3 days, great service. my steel blue mask looks SO sweet, also the 360 degrees rotating ear piece is pretty cool, however i always keep mine forward so i am not sure if it is significant unless you play speedball (im a woods ball player)
Conclusion: if you are looking for a VERY low profile mask that hardly ever fogs, this is the mask for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kblaster Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7
Marker Setup: Esprit 14" custom products stainless barrel,32 degrees blow forward block,12volt xbaord rev hopper, java bottom line ACI gas through foregrip, ACI quick disconnect coil remote , 47 / 3000 cross fire C/A tank.
Strengths: VERY form fitting to my face.makes for a nice snug fit. and smaller target.
Weaknesses: If the humidity is up and your a heavy breather it WILL fog.
Review: GREAT mask I love mine. Like I said I had a fog problem with mine. I bought a Vortex fan for my goggles Im not sure if it fixed the problem because I haven't played in high humidity since that day but I will let you know how it works when I do. Has not fogged since that day though. Looks Awesome! Feels Awesome! Very comfortable. Good quality mask.
Conclusion: Great low profile mask. If you are buying it only for the "ADVANCED COMMUNICATION" thing don't bother. Its a nice idea but not very effective. But other than that a good sound buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 16th, 2003 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media