paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
toomuchice Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt proflex 7
Jt X fire
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05
68/ 4500 psi,
Evlution II w / Z Board
Strengths: Strong
Good looks
Very Light!!
very low profile
Chin straps help keep mask on
Weaknesses: Exposes the neck
Thats the only weakness I've seen
Review: I had bought this mask, and the first thing i thought when i pulled it out of the box was, wow, this is a very good looking mask. i tried it on. the mask fit so well and it was so comfortable. i walked arong my house to see if I could breath easily through the mask, to see if my head would get overheated, and to see how well the vision was. I could breathe as almost the mask was off, the way it is made My head stayed nice and cool no overheating at all. the vision of this mask is insane!!! I was able to see almost as well as if I was using my own eyes with the mask off.
Conclusion: If your looking for a mask i suggest buying this one. it is absolutely great!!! it fits all sizes, the chin strap is very awesome, and the vision onj this mask is insane.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I'm_Addicted Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7 Ize
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Competition Cocker, Whisper Barrel, 20 oz. CO2, EGG 2, JT Proteus mask
Strengths: Lens, Field of view, Compact
Weaknesses: Not enough neck protection
Not very pretty
Review: I got these goggles for X-Mas and man they're sweet. I've played about 25-30 games with them and they haven't fogged up or anything. They are really easy to clean but thats probably because I have only got hit once in the mask and it was really cheap paint. This mask is really comfortable and have a great field of view. I haven't gotten hit in the neck but you might want to get a neck protector.
Conclusion: Great mask buy it If your sick of your mask fogging up, just watch out for your neck. This mask is only $50.00
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 10:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trajik78 Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
deadon drop down
expansion chamber
xcel 12" barrel
flush cocking mech.
Strengths: Llight weight
Great visability
Flexable
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Not protective for lower face
Review: Well built and easy to use and disassemble. I have to sell mine cause it just doesn't offer enough lower face/neck protection. My chin sticks out below the mask line. If your looking upwards and have your mouth open your gonna get a mouth full of paint. Might be protective enough for kids/people with small heads, heh.
Conclusion: Over all a good mask, just not for me cause of the short face proctor.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mynameisgeorgel Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every low-end mask ever made
Profiler
Switch
Marker Setup: 04 Red impy
progressive barrel
Voodoo Delrin Bolt
Extreme Rage Low Rise Twisting Feedneck
CP Roller Trigger
dragun drop foward
max flo reg
crossfire 68/3000
Strengths: Comfort
Close Fit
Clear
Fog Resistant
compatible with Vortex Fan
Weaknesses: Short
Expensive
Review: Ok, I own a paintball store and just happen to be browsing through our wholesale catalogs and saw this mask. I also play on a tournament team and have wanted Proteus masks for the team. Anyways, i got this mask for $47 which is good compared to $80 retail. I've been playing paintball for a good 6 years, and have been through plenty of cheap masks, and this is easily the best mask ive had.

Pros: Lightweight
Wide lens
Thermal Lens, it won't fog
Can use Vortex fan
Rubber causes bounce
Close fitting

Cons: Price (for people who buy them retail)
Short, if you have a big head, it doesn't protect your chin very well
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great mask. Doesn't look as good as a profiler or an invision, but works as good if not better. I give it a 9 for comfort and durability, not a ten because of the size
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, standard package deal. Nothing special.
Strengths: Light, comfortable, easily adjustable, no fogging, very little smudging.
Weaknesses: Mouth/chin guard doesn't go down as far as I would like.
Review: I bought this mask after looking at some of the other reviews here and I must say that it was worth looking into because this is the best mask I have used thus far. Sure, I'm new at this and the only other mask I have ever worn is the one that came with my starter kit but this was an investment that was worth it. My other mask really pressed against the bridge of my nose and caused more discomfort then anything. This mask is roomy and comfortable to the full extent of the words. The padding around the goggles is nice and thick so it rests at a comfortable distance from your nose and mouth; no chewing on your mask while talking basically. Not to mention the mask itself is light and flexible, not made out of hard, stiff plastic like other masks. Some may think that's a bad thing but I feel it adds alot of needed comfort while still maintaining safety.
The goggles themselves are very nice, offering up a large viewing area that doesn't feel too narrow or squished in anyway. I didn't find myself snapping my head around to look for my target constantly and was able to focus. Even in the sun there wasn't a lot of glare for me even though everybody else I played with complained about severe glare. And they didn't smudge, just don't use your fingers to clean up that bit of paint spray. Use a glass cleaning cloth or something similiar and you are all set.
I noticed some people had issues with the ear pieces of the mask. While they are there for cosmetic look and don't actually offer up a headset or anything of that nature, I didn't have a problem with them pinching my ears while playing. It felt very comfortable and light over all and was well worth the price of what I paid.
Conclusion: Light and comfortable this mask has everything a person is looking for. It doesn't fog, even when breathing heavily and it doesn't hurt your vision at all. And it also gives you a bit more of an edge when dealing with glare compared to other masks. The best part for me was the fact my nose wasn't pinched by the mask, even when in a full run or diving for cover. Not to mention it comes with it's own carrying bag and is definately worth your money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlexK84 Friday, November 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
invision
Strengths: Light, breathable, low profile,180 degree view
Weaknesses: Bottom rubber part is short *hit in mouth*
Review: i love this mask. i used to use one of those masks that comes with the marker, and i didnt know that i could get somthing better. i used to get headaches *from the pressure of the goggles on my forehead*, and was always short of breath. i got my proteus and the first thing that i noticed was that it was so comfortable. it was like holding a pillow on my face...exept that i could breath. i absolutely love the mask, exept that there is the considerable risk of getting hit in the throat and chin because the mask is alittle short. if you yell there is the possibility of eating a whole paintball.

the proteus II mask is well worth the $50 that i spent on it, its light, flexible *balls just bounce off alot*, relatively inexpensive, breathable, huge view *cant see the edges of the mask in my peripheral vision*, and it looks sweet
Conclusion: Great mask. I highly recommend it. Im giving it a 9 because it offers little on mouth and chin protection. Might consider wearing a neck guard when wearing it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Danimal Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Elite Xfire, Proflex (also a great mask), Invision.
Marker Setup: 2003 Autococker
Dark Vengeance delrin bolt
Junior Freak Kit
68/4500 3a tank
VL Revolution
Strengths: *Spectra Lens has great field of vision
*Low fogging
*Very Comfy
Weaknesses: *Price
*Spectra Lens (tedious to change lenses)
Review: I will start with the strengths
1. The spectra lens has the best vision of any lens out there.
2. Unless your playing in the rain and its 80 degrees out, you wont fog this mask
3. This lens is probably the most comfortable I have ever tried on, that includes the proflex and the profiler

And now for the weaknesses
1. The Proteus is a tad pricy, and the spectra lenses arent cheap either.
2. The lens, as with any JT mask, is kinda tedious to change/ replace
Conclusion: Buy this mask. Better than proflex (exept in the looks department), and way cheaper than the comparable profiler.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tK421 Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
FX-10 = crap
nForcer = nice
nVader = nice
Spectra Proteus = Excelent!
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo Camo
Strengths: Looks, Field of View, feel + comfort, no fog.
Weaknesses: Sliding down your neck feeling if not worn properly. Price.
Review: Slight feeling of it sliding down your neck if you have the strap low on the back of your lower head/neck which all ya have to do is tighten the strap and keep it on the upper part of the head. I LOVE this mask. After trying many others, this one is very very nice. It's low profile is sweet to. Once you get the hang of changing the lens it's no prob.
Conclusion: If you don't mind paying around $80 it's worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigballin7 Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some scott goggles and they dont even compare at all
Strengths: No fogging-comfortable-low profile-nice looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: This goggles are great and are not at a bad price at all, i never have had mine fog and i have been playing with them for quiet a while, look good and are very low profile, and let me tell you they are super comfortable and they also have a flexable body so the balls will just bounce right off.
Conclusion: If you want a mask that will not fogg and for a good price then this is very good mask for you
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DKilla Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Generation E Matrix, Black (Soon to be all polished silver)
Mini Trinity, Tentacle Volumizers, Timmy Reg, ND'z Ball Detent Breech, CCM Lo Rise, Aardvark Bolt Kit
Angel AIR
Pro Team Warp Feed
Evo II
Strengths: -IT NEVER FOGS!
-Comfy
-Ventilated
-Looks great
-Great vision
-Great Protection
Weaknesses: -Lenses are a pain to change
Review: All I have to say about this mask is that it is probably the best freaking mask out on the market. I've tried on several different masks: Spectra, Pro-Flex, Invision, V-Force Shield, and Profiler. They don't compare with this. This mask hugs your head and fits nice and snug giving you no bouncing on your face. The ear pieces actually do allow you to hear a little better. It is very much ventilated allowing the wind to go through your mask while you run and cools you off just a little.
Conclusion: I really like this mask and would recommend it to anyone playing out there. I just can't find a better mask. All I know is that when mine breaks or goes crappy I'm getting another one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 25th, 2004 at 12:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media