paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
XaViEr3 Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vforce armor, vforce morph
Marker Setup: Bob Long Empire Intimidator, 14 inch Dye Ultralite, Odyssey Halo B with ripdrive, 45ci 4500psi and 70ci 4500psi stubby Crossfire n2
Strengths: doesn't fog, comfortable, low profile, light, good field of vision
Weaknesses: expensive, hard to change lens, no neck protection, lenses scratch easily
Review: This is a good mask. It looks cool. You can get a fan and tinted lenses for it so that is cool. I like this mask a lot but my lens and my visor got scratches on them after the third time playing with them so I had to get a new lens and I don't really use the visor.
Conclusion: I recommend that you buy this mask if you have the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DOCTORJS2008 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine,16 inch costom products barrle, coustom products flame drop, 16 oz chromoly co2 tank, and a 12 volt revy
Strengths: one of my strenghts is a very quick trigger
Weaknesses: with the spyder imagine there are not any weaknesses
Review: This mask is AWESOME! Not only does it look good on the feild it is very comterable. this mask is also very low profile.
You can also play whe it is very hot outside and you will stay cool. it is like you have no head gear on!
The weekend after i tried this mask i was amazed and you will be too!
Conclusion: TRY IT, IT IS THE BEST!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 28th, 2004 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PsikoDragon Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7, Dye Nvision
Marker Setup: Evil Omen w/ Halo Backman hopper, 20 oz pure energy on/off valve (gettin nitro soon)
Strengths: Small target, no fog, no glare
Weaknesses: i havent found any yet
Review: There are a few things i look for in a mask. the first being "will it fog." I got the mask a week before going to a friends b-day party. Almost the whole day was spent playing speedball. It was about 90 degrees outside with 70% humidity. The mask never fogged once.

The second thing i look for in a mask is will it glare a whole lot. During the same day there were also no clouds. PLaying speedball means that there were no trees to block out teh sun, but incredibly i had no problem seeing my target.

Third thing i look for is FOV. Awesome FOV. It covers a full 260 degrees. That means not only can you see in front of you, you can also get a great range on your preipheral vision. Of course you cant see behind you but thats a no brainer.

The last thing i look for is if the mask looks good and fits right. The mask looks awesome. Kinda like something out of Halo. And as for it fitting right. The mask fit like a glove. I put the mask on and it didnt even feel like it was there.
Conclusion: An overall great mask. I hear the commmunication radio thingamajigger isnt all its cracked up to be. A defnite buy if your serious about playing. Dont ge the Nvisnion. Its overrated.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmbndthoughts Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 RT w/ Flatline.
Strengths: 1. Comfort
2. No fog
3. Good visibility
4. Stylish
Weaknesses: None that I can think of.
Review: JT Proteus II mask is an awesome mask. When I first started playing paintball I had to use a rental and it sucked. This is my first mask that I bought and I am glad that I bought it. When I showed up on the field with my new mask everyone was like wow. . . They were hating and just wanted one for themselves. Another reason why you should buy the mask, to increase you popularity. 8-D
Conclusion: In conclusion this is an awesome mask and I recommend it to any and everybody to buy it, as long as you are willing to spend the money. But trust me it's worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulseballa Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vforce profiler, JT alpha and proflex.
Marker Setup: I use a TKO impulse with dye grip, freak barrel, blue i frame, vision, tapeworm, voodoo bolt, titanium cross hare pin, NDZ hammer assembly, check it uni mount, halo b, check it clamping feed, HPW kung fu snatch grips, pure energy 68/4500 tank, and vert max flow.
Strengths: It is comfortable, tight, and appealing
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, and expensive.
Review: This mask is definetly appealing to the player. It is definetly the most comfortable mask I have ever used and it is easy to breathe in. It is light and definetly sticks to your face and doesn't have any excess parts sticking out. It is really hard to clean though. Like all JT masks the lens is really hard to take out.
Conclusion: I would get a fan eventually because in the summer it gets really hot in that thing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushmasterpb Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: Bushmaster B2k4
Revvy
Nitro
Strengths: Comfortable, light, looks good, very good ventalation, does not fog at all.
Weaknesses: I found it hard putting the lens in but thats not the masks fualt
Review: When i first got these goggles i knew i was going to never need a new pair again. There very comfortable and look awsome. You can see perfectly down the field through the lens. This mask is totaly worth it and it is very inexpensive for whats it worth. Its very durable and it justs looks awsome and has never fogged on me ounce.
Conclusion: Great mask and i would definatley recommend it to anyone looking for a great mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

levitynyc Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals. JT nVader. JT nForcer.
Marker Setup: not important....its a mask
Strengths: Super Comfortable. Has not fogged on me yet. Looks cool. Wide field of vision.
Weaknesses: Throat / Jaw Protection. Hearing adjustment thing makes no difference.
Review: The Good:

Mask offers superior anti-fog technology. It is a pleasure to put it on, I'm a newer player and I've used rental masks and have borrowed friends of mine's lower level masks from JT. This mask blows them COMPLETELY out of the water.

After about an hour of playing you barely notice you have a mask on. It naturally fits around my head and face. i bought the steel blue one and have had refs and other teams comment on how awesome the mask looks.

The Vortex fan easily snaps in underneath the visor.

It offers a 260 degree field of vision which makes a huge difference in peripheral vision. Cleaning the lenses is a snap.

If you are a talker, sound resonates well out of the mouth guard.

The Not-so-good:

The hearing technology bragged about from JT means nothing....it really doesnt.

Another half an inch on the throat and chin protection area would do wonders. If your mouth is open wide your chin is exposed.

True story: I poked my head out of a bunker when a paintball came in from my left and smacked me in the side of my head towards the front. The mask held up great as I didnt feel much pain...but the impact knocked my head backwards....almost instantly another one came in and POW!!! i took one flush right underneath my chin. Another half an inch of mask would have saved me the use of a band aid.

It really is a great mask and would be perfect if it had better jaw and neck protection.

Dont be fooled by high internet prices for this mask. (75-100 bucks)
Conclusion: An awesome mask. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. Excellant mask for all skill levels. Go get it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 27th, 2004 at 9:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sir_paint Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt spectra
Marker Setup: Syder compact 2 in 1. 12 inch barrel,expansion chamber,regulater and gauge
Strengths: Comfortable
Doesn't fog
Easy to adjust the size
Great field of view
Weaknesses: The price
Maybe too small but it does fit to your head nicely
Review: When i first put this mask on i was blown away...Just having it on my head and not playing, i knew this mask would be great to use. First game i played with this mask was great. I was at the top of my game because of the quality that this mask offered.
The anti-fog is great.This mask has two lenses in it. It's called combat vision and it is great but one time the lens on the inside cracked so water was getting in between them and i had no way of getting it out so you have to wait for it to evaporate.
Other than that i love this mask
Conclusion: Great mask. go get it if you have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cybrax Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A V-force mask Profiler(Pretty Damn good) some other Jt- usa masks nVader( fair) and a brass eagle mask( HORRIBLE)
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with some upgrades not really important since we are talking about masks
Strengths: Vision
Never Fogs
Looks Great
Durable
Excellent Hearing
Close fit
Weaknesses: Expossed neck
can get muggy inside
Chameleon is worthless
Review: Ok recently i recieved a protus 2. Like everything i get i like to test it while its under warrenty. This mask being no exception i put it through the following tests.

Test 1: the fog test
Temperature 45 degrees
Distance: one mile and a half
Result: No fog on the thermal part of the lense
Rateing: 9.5

Test 2: Trial by fire
Distance: 30 ft
Weapon: Tippmann 98 custom
Weapon mussel velocity: 290 fps
Rounds fires: 30
Rounds bounced : 3
Lense hits: 5 (No damage apparent after cleaning)
Neck hits: 5 (I was wearing a neck guard)
Rateing: 8.5

Test 3: Fit
Jumping Jacks: 50
Result: Mask didnt budge 10

Special Notes:
Mask can get muggy if you arn't running. -1
Mask looks great +1
Lense hard to remove -1

Conclusion: Overall this mask scores a 9 out of ten. I belive this is the second best mask on the market. The V-force profiler is better than it but it is also more expensive. Be sure to purchase a neck guard with it. I would actually not recomend getting a fan unless you need it. The thermal lense really is resistant to fog.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano2213 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 2k3 BKO w/ palmer and aka mitey max
Strengths: Comfortable
Good Vision
Dont Fog
Compact Feel
Cheap-for a great mask
Weaknesses: None I have seen so far
Review: This mask is very cool. Looks great and feels great on your head. It is a very comfortable mask and nice and compact. The mask is very clear and it doesnt ever fog, only when you breath on it heavily. It's easy to clean, looks really cool, feels great, and doesnt fog. What more could you want. Also it is very affordable.
Conclusion: I would definantly recommend this product to anyone that wants a nice mask, for a great price. It is very comfortable, compact on your head, looks really cool, doesnt fog, and it is cheap. Get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media