paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask / JT Proteus II Mask

JT Proteus II Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus II Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus II Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The backbone of the new Proteus™ is still one of the most innovative creations, designed for maximum protection with a minimal target zone. The JT Uni-body polymer mask features one of the lowest profiles on the market today. Engineered for maximum effectivemess for communication on the field, it incorporates unique audio capabilities and fog-resistant performance making this the most advanced goggle system available. A 260 degree field of view is provided by the Spectra™ lens, the most popular in paintball.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus II Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
BunkerNinja Thursday, December 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Vision Impulse (red, vert. reg.)
10in. Freak
VL Egg
PE 68ci 5K HPA tank
and other stuff
Strengths: very good foam
small frontal area
good optical clarity
can cause bounces
lots of accessories
Weaknesses: not as cool looking as others
foam can come loose
quality seems poor
Review: Although this is a superb mask it has several down falls. Mine has fogged before despite the anti-fog lense. The foam around the lens isn't secured very well and you certaintly shouldn't tug on it. This mask is very comfortable if you have a normal sized head and jaw. If your head is too big then it won't fit the mask very well, and if your jaw is the wrong size then it will stick out the bottom.
Conclusion: I sounded pretty harsh in the review but the faults are barely noticeable. Over all this is a very good mask and I would recommend it to someone who wants a product that is easy to find parts for. Otherwise I would highly recommend the Dye Invision.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AJcool Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X-Ray Goggle
JT Nvader Goggle
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 Avant, Smart Parts All American 2000 14'' Barrel, Empire Reloader, JT Proteus Mask w/ Vortex Fan and new thermal Lens, JT Gloves
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: The JT Proteus mask is a good buy if your looking to get a good mask. Its main rival in my opinion is the Dye Invision, they are both good goggles, but a lot of people like the feel of the proteus mask more. The key thing with the proteus mask is not to harm the lens. Never touch the inside of the lens with anything but water and a micro fiber cloth. Im serious when i say that, it will ruin it if you use lens cleaner, or a harmful surface to rub it. The mask wont fog if the thermal coating hasnt been harmed from the inside of the mask. A vortex fan is a decent upgrade if you want to circulate the air better.

The Good
-Small Mask = Small Target
-Its stylish
-Doesnt fog without harmed lens (dont touch inside)
-Fits comfortably to your face

The Bad
-Tends to keep all your re-breathed air inside the mask, can get muggy.
-Not a lot of breathing room, the mask is held close to your face
Conclusion: I recommend that you buy this mask over others. You can get it for 50 dollars and you can upgrade it. The vortex fan works decently, and you can buy new lens'es with colors or just to replace. I have not used the communication kit but that also is built for this goggle. I subtracted a point because this mask has bad circulation. You end up breathing your air over and over again without a fan. When you run fast and breath hard this can be annoying.

edit: took off another point after playing with it more. It really makes it hard to breath a lot because its so tight to your face.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

drsnoze Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nvader, Invision
Marker Setup: 2002 Vision Impulse
2003 Vision Shocker
2002 Toxic Matrix
Tippmann 68 Carbine with grenade launcher
Car 68 (special police and swat addition, looks like M4a1)
Tippmann 98 Custom
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Almost Never fogs
Light weight construction
Very well vented
Allows voice to travel
Weaknesses: The rubber part that goes over your chin could be longer
changing the lens
Review: This is a very good mask, well constructed, well designed, very comfortable, impeccable field of view. The main problem I see with it is that the rubber part that protect your chin could be longer, but i have a very large head. Also changing the lens is an announce because i am changing my lens around once every 2 months. But it doesn't affect the performance of the mask.
Conclusion: I give this mask a 9 because god could only create a perfect mask
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

infusion Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Invision
Marker Setup: 2003 IMPULSE
ND green front cap
ND green low rise
ND equalizer bolt
ND green ram assembly
OTB black vert frame
CP green flame drop
Eclips solenoid optimizer
68/4500 nitro duck
Strengths: Extremely comfortable
can see every thing
can hear great
Weaknesses: strap in back comes loose
chin hits the bottom
Review: I love this mask it is he best mask by far. I used the DYE invision for a hole year and when i first tried on the JT USA Proteus II Mask I just loved it. it is so comfortable and small and just all around great. you should get it over any mask this one is the best.
Conclusion: Get this mask no matter what you will love it i guarantee it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JohntheBunkerer Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Mask
rental masks
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Remote Line
20 oz Tank
Red Dot sight
Strengths: Fits so snug.
Great ventilation.
Good hearing.
Weaknesses: Ear pieces hard to rotate.
Price.
Review: This mask is so awesome. It profiles the face so well and it is so comfortable. The hearing cups are an awesome idea. The ventilation system is also really good. It can be upgraded for those hardcore players like myself with the Sportscomm, the vortex fan and a visor. My only gripe is that the neck protection is minimal but anyone looking at the ceiling deserves to get lit up anyways. I neck guard or turtle neck solves that problem anyways.
Conclusion: This mask is very proficient at keeping the fogging at a minimum and when combined with the vortex fan. Fogging is a thing of the past. Unless you sweat like a horse. It fits great and looks so sick. It's almost weightless. The field of vision is also key because the view is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball123456 Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no products that compares
Marker Setup: autococker 2003, Psycho ballistics drop forward, 3A 68/3000psi hpa tank, revolution hopper
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: This mask was a great buy. It has never fogged up on me or my friend that uses it. It is light weight and has a large field of view, especially allowing good peripheral vision. There is plenty of venting and cooling allowing it to be light and not fog up, but it also makes it so you dont eat paint if you are hit in the mouth area like some othe masks (invision).
Conclusion: This mask was a great purchase and i would recommend it to anybody.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 10:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chazzly Monster Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt x fire(foggs more)
jt nvader(foggs much more)
Marker Setup: 98 custom, flatline, remote, double trigger, proteus 2 mask
Strengths: a low profile mask
breathable
doesnt fog
your able to see practically the whole field
Weaknesses: a low profile mask
a pain to change the lenses
Review: This thing is nice. i love it. This thing is perfect for the sniper becsuae you can fit your head into anything to look around. i love the ear pieces too. This thing looks awsome also. The lenses are hard to change but that is a small price to pay for greatness. The foam is also the best i have ever felt. Its like wearing a pillow.
Conclusion: BUY IT. this is the cheapest tournament grade mask out there and having absolutely no fog is worth 65 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tofuslayer Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
invision
Marker Setup: Dye Autococker all stock halo b loader
Strengths: very cool looking ,comfy,low profile
Weaknesses: kinda hot and heavy DONT OPEN YOUR MOUTH WITH THIS MASK
Review: I love this mask, its very soft and looks awsome,also it offers a low profile.
Only major problem is how short it is DONT OPEN YOUR MOUTH WIDE!
i was yelling at the enemy in speedball and got a welt on my chin that hurt like hell
The way the holes in it are built allow for minimum splat on your cheeks
Conclusion: I reccomend this mask to any player that is a serious torny player and a person that wants and awsome cool mask!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

getupk8 Saturday, October 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle goggles with yellow tinted lenses.
Marker Setup: I use a JT Excellerator 6.0 with all the stock parts which are excellent and a 14" custom barrel a 12v revy and tons of other great stuff!
Strengths: So comfortable and great with a fan.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is awesome it is so comfortable and has little ear things where you can adjust the way your ear covers go so you can hear things in front or behind you. Great for a front man or back man. It is also so cool looking and the visor is great. Mine is awesome because I got the fan on it which is great so if you get the fan it'll help a lot more. Also the thermal lenses are great at not fogging up .
Conclusion: You should definillety buy this becuse it is such a great deal and awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

R3MY Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is the greatest mask.
Marker Setup: Silver BKO, Empire Cradle, Empire ON/OFF, KAPP Silver Grips, Soon upgrading to an Evil Omen or Autococker.
Strengths: Light, Doesnt Fog, Good Protection, Bottom is mad of rubber.
Weaknesses: None that I know of.
Review: This mask is great. I bought it after my JT nVader Mask Cracked. I love this mask its awesome. Pretty easy to clean. About 2-3 minute to clean. All you gotta do is pop the goggles off (30 seconds) Wipe up any paint you have on the goggles and mask (depends on how much paint there is, so any where from 10-45 seconds), and then pop the goggles back into the mask (30 seconds). Its really easy to clean, the mask is connected to the goggles by little rubber spike that go through the holes in the top of the goggle. Its made of (and im guessing) a rubber/plastic mix. Because its hard, but its still possible, and the bottom inch of the mask is all rubber, so if u get hit there, its gunna bounce. Its got a very low profile, It fits rite to your face. I've bin hit in the mask twice. And I didn't feel a thing. The ref had to call me out, cuz I didnt even know I got hit. It vents really well, the only thing on the goggle that fogs up is the part of the mask rite infront of your mouth and nose (I know this because I have the clear one, and you can see it). But that doesnt effect the mask at all. The lens is awesome, it doesnt fog at all. Just spray some water on it, and clean it off with a paper towel, and the paint, and any dust on the mask is gone. This mask is awesome, go out and buy one.
Conclusion: This mask is great, I love it, and you will too. So stop reading this review and go buy. You most definately wont regret it. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media