paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask / Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Scott USA Hotshot Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Scott USA

Buy Scott USA Hotshot Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Scott USA Hotshot Mask
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 101
Average Rating: 7.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the perfect goggle system for the beginning player.
Product Availability 
The Scott USA Hotshot Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Jakeweeks Saturday, March 26th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Pro Vantage
Proto Switch EL
JT Proflex
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Stock Class
-Green/Silver Splash Anodizing
-Taso Grip
-Clear Acrylic Hardware
CCI bucket changer
11' barrel
Strengths: Good protection
Nice field of vision
Good foam work
Easy to clean
Lens
Cheap!
Weaknesses: Must be assembled
Hard ears - sometimes uncomfortable
No thermal lens (subjective)
Review: I've had this mask for a very long time and I rarely have trouble with it. It has EXCELLENT face coverage, paint is easy to clean, and it is comfortable to wear for long periods of time. Plus, it has that old-school look that I heartily approve of. The lens hardly fogs at all, no matter the temperature. It doesn't get too hot inside, either. The lens can be tough to remove, but it's a quick swap after you do it once. In addition, it's very well constructed, which isn't something you can say about all masks of this vintage. And best of all, this bucket of magnificence is available for a pittance.

There are some downsides, however. Some may scoff at the fact that you have to assemble it when you first get it, but I doubt that there are hardly any in the world today that remain unassembled. And it isn't like it's difficult to put together anyway. Secondly, the hard plastic ears are sometimes irritating when you raise your mask. Third, some people who like thermal lenses won't like the stock lens.

Conclusion: For this price point, this is one of the best masks around. However, I recommend boosting your budget and going for a Vforce Vantage or Pro Vantage instead. These are more comfortable to wear and easier to live with. This does come free with older Tippmann packages, so if you're planning on picking one up, or if you see one of these masks up for sale, I highly recommend you to pick one up.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 23rd, 2012 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holmzinator Sunday, November 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme rage 20/20 goggles - uncomfortable pinched ears and really bad fogging
proto - fogging discomfort
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 16" Smart Parts Progressive
Tippmann 68 Carbine with 16" 32 Degrees Night Stick
Coiled Remote line with Quick disconnect
Pure Energy 72 cu/in 3000 psi nitro tank
3 Pure Energy 20 oz CO2 tanks
Strengths: -Inexpensive
-Easy to clean
-Great for beginers
-Removable Visor
-Comfortable
-Does not fog bad
Weaknesses: -Hard to wear (Only because I have weird shaped head)
Fixed By wearing backwards hat
Review: I think this mask looks nice and after using the extreme rage goggles this mask is great. Only minor fogging when worn correctly (found out hard way) and the only problems i have with it is that the strap slides down but that is because of my head shape and pinches my ear when i play with a headphone in. the worst it fogged is when i wore a headband and broke the seal letting in sweat. also when playing sniper for long time w/out movement like 45 min.
Conclusion: I like this mask so much i had bought a second one. Also for the price i paid $30 and $20 cant get much better. thermal lense is also great for owning for 3 years just now replacing lense. Lastly very easy disasemble for cleaning.
I give it a 9 because nothing is perfet and it could always be better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MaD_pb Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Masks
Marker Setup: Way too many to list
Strengths: Price, good visibility, light
Weaknesses: Hard, overly vented (eat paint occasionally), limited neck protection
Review: I've used a lot of masks. I've owned several of these. Honestly, they're one of my favorite masks in the price range (I got mine for about $20 on sale).

Most of the reviews have slammed this mask. If you look closely, most of the low ratings are from folks who got theirs in a Tippmann power pack. Realize, if you get a mask in a kit it there are differences. For one, if you buy a mask off the shelf it generally comes pre-assembled. Also, in the kit they use a single lens. All single lenses fog up. It doesn't make the mask bad, it just means you have a crappy lens. A lot of JT masks also had single lenses. The ones I got had the *thermal* lens.

The mask is comfortable for me. Good strap placement, comfortable foam, good visibility. I do agree that it has limited neck protection but low profile masks do.

The main drawbacks of this mask are:
- The large vent holes by your mouth (I've eaten paint)
- The entire thing is a hard shell. Paint will break on it. Flex's are better for this, especially in the chin section
- Limited neck protection
- Make sure you get one with the THERMAL LENS
- If you get it in a kit, some assembly may be required
Conclusion: If you get the non thermal version in a kit, just keep it as a backup. If you find the thermal version for under $25 it's worth the price IMHO.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chukklez Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Headshield
Marker Setup: Blue/Black Rex M2 autococker, VL 200rnd hopper, 9, 16, and 20 oz. CO2
Strengths: Kind of cool looking
Weaknesses: Fog
Fog
Fog
Fog
Fog........fog
Paint won't come off lense
Strap sucks
Review: I'll keep this short. I got this mask free with my tippmann 98 powerpack a few years back. It is a decent mask and it does it's job, but it fogs like there's no tomorrow. The strap on mine is all worn out and can't be tight anymore. I got gogged a few times and have cleaned the crap out of them and still can't get all the paint off.
Conclusion: In closing, do NOT get these. If you get them in a package, whatever, cool, but if you have a choice, just don't. You'll be wasting your money.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diablo balla Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first mask and i am upgrading today for sure
Marker Setup: diablo mongoose 2 led
proto 14 inch barrel 1-piece
plastic self lubricating bolt
evolution 3 view loader
Strengths: There really are no streangths of this item. it just sucks.
Weaknesses: Everything. Fogs up fast. Hard to clean...not strait.
Review: I got this mask the with the first gun i got. A tippmann 98 custom. about 2 years ago. I thaught it was all cool that it came in a package with a 9ounce co2 tank. Until i actually started playing more with my cousin did i realize that it was a crap setup. So i went out and got a 20 ounce co2 tank and sold my tippmann. saved up. and got a diablo mongoose 2. But i still had this mask that would fog up even when i was playing in 60 degree weather. and this thing takes a heck of a lot of patience to clean.And another thing was when i got it in the package....it was all bent up and would not straiten out for anything.
Conclusion: Dont buy this mask.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shiekahn_boy Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, i havn't had enough money to buy a new one. I have tried on a JT Proflex and i like the feel.
Marker Setup: Who cares? Is the player not the gun.
Strengths: 1. Very Durable
2. Free visor?
3. uh... havn't had any scratches yet.
Weaknesses: 1. Fogs like hell.
2. Difficult cleaning the lenses at times.

Review: More cons:
3. Hurts my cheek bones.
4. Hard plastic = easy busting
5. presses on your ears and if its a little loose it will slip off easy.
6. Had to adjust the band a few times.
7. Glasses don't mix with this mask.

Jeeze, this mask will give you hell in high humidity. I had to aim my breathing down so it wouldn't fog as bad. Its durable and i have to give it points for that, but its just flustrating. Ive been screwed over by fogging a whole lot and I suggest another mask. Don't go out and buy a too expensive mask. JT Flex masks are always good. You only buy dye and empire if you whant to show yourself off or if you have a sponsored team.
Conclusion: This mask isn't very good on vision and comfort. After awile it will bug the hell out of you with cleaning also. The most important thing is the mask and spending extra on a comfortable anti-fog mask is worth every penny. I give it a 4 because im generous. I really whant a different mask after playing awile with this mask
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tysmash Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only one i've used.
Marker Setup: 98 custom with dye boomstick 18"
Strengths: It protects your face.
Weaknesses: Big, easily fogs up, hard to clean, hard to assemble.
Review: This mask is the only one i've used but it is not good at all. It fogs up very easily. I use anti-fog spray and it still fogs up sometimes. It came with my tippmann 98 custom power pack. It came in three pieces and was very hard to assemble. It is also very hard to clean.
Conclusion: Don't buy this unless it comes with your marker. Ill give it a one because it didn't break when i got shot in the mask.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfoo98 Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few others....extreme rage
Marker Setup: yah yah
Strengths: Came with marker.
Weaknesses: Fog!
Hard to clean
Big.
Review: Well this came with my gun. This mask is the only one ive owned and can tell its one of the worst masks. unless you get this with a marker.Never buy this. it fogs up so badly. if you get gogged. takes a while to clean it up. hard to see after.
Conclusion: Do not buy. I'll give it a two becuase it protects me.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShiGGy Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
java mask
Marker Setup: spyder sonix, java 200 round hopper, 12 oz spyder co2
Strengths: It was very cheap
Weaknesses: Hard to clean,uncomfortable,doesnt look that nice, hard to find,the fog
Review: Not the top of the line mask but good for beginers

Pros
-It was cheap
-easy to breath in

Cons
-hard to clean
-really uncomfortable
-doesnt look that nice but not the ugliest
-hard to find in stores
-the fog is very annoying

I think this mask is not that bad for beginners but I wouldnt buy it again.
Conclusion: I recomend this Mask for beginners
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

animal mother23 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force profiler
V-force vantage
Marker Setup: a-5
raider 14'' barrel/ with m4 handgaurd
m4 stock
m4 clip
Strengths: It's free
Weaknesses: Uncofortible Hard to clean
Slips off face
Fogs
Ugly
Review: When I first bought my 98 powerpack I thought I got a deal. I was wrong!!! I was a newb to paintball back then. After a while I was noticing my mask was having some problems. Im surprised that it hasnt broken yet. It has all the problems you can get with a mask but breaking. Scott should forget about making masks for paintball.
Conclusion: IF you buy a powerpack you need to consider buying a new mask
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 at 6:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media