paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One of the first paintball guns.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Tracker7 Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Non really
If your talking pistols in general:
Arakion Overlord &
XJ40
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper,
20oz remote line CO2 NXe 4+1
Secondary:
Overlord Rx Pistol w/ laser sight
Second Primary:
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
That's Funny
Strengths: Accuracy
Strong
Durable
It's History
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts
Tuff to cock
Not fast enough to use today
Review: The Gun Itself:
It's the history behing it that makes this gun stand out. if you don't know you need to look it up.
My brother found this one about 10 yrs ago, I still remember when he use to shoot peanut M&M's at me with it.
For all of you who think its one down fall is the steel body and the rust, (not said to be mean) Oil it. Treat it like a real gun and use regular oil instead of paintball gun oil.

Firing:
It shoots great & also has a nice feel.
It's accurate and is a reliable gun.
It can be hard to cock but with a little extra oil in the bolt and some care it can be fixed.

Restoration:
There is a sight out there that has some parts.
Ebay has one sold for parts or intact once in a while.
Some parts can be fixed by a gun smith.
My Brother made his own bolt and it seems to work fine.
Or you could just clean it and put it on a mantel, and tell the historyof paintball to guests.


Conclusion: If you can find one pick it up, you won't be sorry.
And if you are sorry, send me a private massage and I'll take it off you hands.
I have to give it a good rating, because just because of its history.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan pmi
Sl-68
Blood sucker
Marker Setup: VS3 with vs2 trigger
14" j&j barrel
Empire Vents Avatar with dark thermals
Halo V35
88 and 68/4500 Pure Energy with DYE covers
Invert 3+2 Loaders
Invert Digi Woodland Outfit
Spyder MR 1 with rear cocking mod
Halo Frontman
Spyder E-trigger(mech trigger back on for loaner)
Palmer's Stablizer
Pure Energy 16oz tank
Pure Energy 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick change 12gram or CA adapter, pump, feed tube, direct feed mod,
Strengths: Accurate
Dependable
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Steel body rusts
Velocity hard to adjust
Review: Wow, does this take me back. My friend had both of our markers in his attic storage. I got a wild hair one day and popped over there and asked him go get them down for me. I took them home and started cleaning them. I was amazed at how well they had they were preserved. I took both the markers apart and cleaned most of the rust off. I took all the best peices and put them in one of the markers. I put a co2 tank on it and started shooting. I filled the hopper up, went to the back yard and put some 20 or so shots through it. It worked great. Just like the old days. I may try to break this out at our next scenario day and do some sniping!

Some more pics: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/jj145/dean0177/Paintball/
Older%20Paintball%20markers/
Conclusion: This is my first. And just like any firsts, she will always be my favorite. She may not be the fastest, lightest, quietest, best looking girl but she was mine. And we got our fair share of elimations.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: triligy sport
java grips 12volt revy w/ x board
24 oz brass eagle tank (its freakin huge)

proto rail (on the way)
halo b w/ rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
None to speak of i dont think they make upfrades for a marker this old
Strengths: Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow to reload
Review: When i first saw it i thouth it was pos when my nehbior pulled it out of his garage but then my friend said it wouldnt hurt if it hit you but that was a mistake that thing is a connon

I can say i think twice about bunkering my nebior when he uses that thing but it would be nice if it held more balls mainly becuz i can empty 10 shots pretty quick

shot great it was accurate
Conclusion: Its a great side arm
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skamikaze Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmasters, pgps and most other "founding" pistols are no mathc for the 007
Marker Setup: Strictly stock setup.

plus a trigger shoe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger shoe, LOTS of oiling. a sturdy end cap or a ten rnd tube.
Strengths: Accurate. RELIABLE. STUDRY.
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire, often has personality tweaks.
Review: When my buddy brought me a box full of ten Nel-Spot 007s and said "if you know what they are, you can have them," i pretty much died on the spot. found in an army depot warehouse, they had survived aflood and were handed down from paintball heaven to my door. i salvaged seven of them by canibalizing the others and i still use one as my primary field gun to this day.

how can you hate the nel spot? it has the feel and fire of a real gun. it is more accurate than many aftermarket aluminum barrels and has great air usage. without this gun, none of us would enjoy our sport as it is today. i have taken down some impressive player with the nelspot because nobody fears its slow bolt action firing system. what they dont know is that it can hit anything you want all the way across the field, no problem.

the nelspot will always have a place in my gear bag and i will carry one with honor wherever i play. it still proves that you dont need to spend $1000 on gear to be a good player.

yeah, there are some weak points, but seriously, the gun is 24 YEARS OLD! and it still shoots better than a spyder. the bolt is slow and often stiff but care usually fixes that. it only holds seven rnds but thats all you need with the accuracy of this thing. its a rock and cock and that is tough when you are shooting fast uphill. the lack of an anti double feed often causes a cut ball but not a big deal.
Conclusion: Still the best pistol and the reason paintball exists
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson based pump guns such as the Kingman Hammer A and the DSDS 494 pistol. Other pump markers as well including a Sniper (Autococker with pump) P68SC and PGP. I've played many games with all of these including a Nelspot 007.
Marker Setup: Nelspot 007 with some left handed friendly upgrades, notably the addition of a pump handle, aftermarket valve with external 12 gram changer, and custom made lefty grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you don't have a pump handle get one. The "bolt action" can be stiff to say the least. If you're left handed try to get an external 12 gram changer and nicer grips.
Strengths: Small. Gas efficient. Somewhat durable. Accurate.
Weaknesses: Not for lefty. Stiff pump. Steel rust. Paint flake. Loud. No easy velocity adjust.
Review: OKay, everyone loves this gun and I can't blame them for being nostalgic, but there are a few drawbacks to this marker.

First off if you're left handed you'll notice this marker is not made for you. Originally this marker only had a bolt handle on the left side. The grips are also formed for right handed people, and the 12 grams held inside the trigger frame is changed from the left side. There are upgrades that make this marker more useful for left handed people, unfortunately since this marker is now so old these are hard to come by.

Also, this marker is made mostly from plain steel. The paint will flake off and the marker will rust if you're not careful. The inside of the barrel (in fact the entire inside) is also left as uncoated steel and will rust very quickly. Don't leave this in your gear bag in the basement too long.

The way this marker comes stock the hammer and bolt tend to get jammed up with the hammer spring and the power tube, and also jammed up against the inside of the body. This can make the marker quite stiff to pump in both directions. You can make it easier to pump by sanding this or that ... but it can be tedious work.

The velocity is tedious to adjust too. The major adjustments are made by changing the hammer and valve springs. There were aftermarket products made in the old days which made it easier to adjust velocity, like a air restriction screw in the bolt, but like all old parts they can be difficult to find. Adjusting the springs though works well enough these days to get you within a resonable velocity ... 250 - 280fps.

The screw to tighten up the 12 gram cartridge inside the handle will loose the ring very quickly. The hole the ring goes into is not drilled through, and since you always put a lot of pressure on this part to tighten it up, the ring gets all bent out of shape and drops off in no time. Just a bad design. The problem is if this happens on the field you're out of luck until you can get a replacement of some kind, or start using vice grips on the screw.

The marker is loud. It can be quite satisfying shooting at someone and hearing it go BOOM but it can make your ears ring if you're indoors.

For a marker with such a short barrel, it's very accurate. The bore size tends to be small, even with modern paint and I think this helps.
Conclusion: Well ... since this was the first marker people played the game with, you just have to get one if you can. Overall this is a good marker, and a lot of fun to play with. It's functional, but not the slickest of designs. A little tweaking though and some choice upgrades and you have a nice little marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint magnet Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Nelson-based guns - most are generally lighter and have more features. The fact that new guns are still being made off this same design is rather impressive in itself.
Marker Setup: Nelspot 007 (made in March, 1986)
custom-made battle grips
speed wheel
10 round tube (missing magazine plug)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend battle grips...the speed wheel is nice to have too. The thing I'd recommend most is a velocity adjustable bolt -- I don't have one and changing springs gets old fast. Most come with a pump handle that has been added by a previous owner. If you plan to shoot more than 10 rounds in a day you'll need one too.

Aftermarket parts and accessories aren't all that hard to find. You can find CA valve bodies, extended barrels, and direct feed bodies pretty easily if you want.
Strengths: Accuracy, durability, efficiency, nostalgia
Weaknesses: It lacks a few modern refinements (what would you expect?)
Review: This marker has been shooting people for over 20 years and is still going strong--to my knowledge, it's never even been rebuilt. It has some rust on the internals, a very short barrel and runs off unregulated CO2, yet with a good paint-barrel match, yet it's one of the most accuate guns I've ever shot, bar none. The stock iron sights are dead on. It's a little on the heavy side, weighing more than most new full-size guns, due to the fact that it's made completely out of steel. I kind of like the weight though, it gives the gun a very solid feel.

The pump stroke is short and snappy, like all Nelson based designs, though not as smooth as some. Efficiency is good as well, as is the trigger pull.
Conclusion: I love shooting this gun. It's a piece of paintball history, and is guaranteed to get you looks at the field...likely from players younger than the gun itself. If you're into pump play and looking for a great pistol or even primary gun and like Nelson based designs, this is a great gun.

If you're new to pump and are looking to buy a primary gun, I'd probably get something like a Phantom though...it will give you all the fun of pump play with all the modern features.

Overall, I'd have to give it a 10, given the fact it was made 20 years ago. If I were comparing it to modern pumps such as the Phantom or Palmer guns, I'd probably give it a 7.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 3rd, 2006 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pnda_express Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used many nelson based pumps like horntes, phantoms, mavericks, traccers, tagmasters, tigersharks, and the like.
Marker Setup: Usually a kp-3 with shotgun belt loops on the stock or a Sam Tussing nickel plated pgp with all the goods or a PMI-1 With a Direct Feed and bolt action. I got to many guns to choosew but those 3 see the most use.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pump arm, phantom internals, maybe a wire stock, and a quick cnager.
Strengths: Basically the grandfather of paintball, Its fairly accurate, good efficiency , light, strip it in seconds.
Weaknesses: Bolt action hurts, the body can rust, the 12 gram pierce pin
Review: Pros- Its basically the grandfather of paintball (next to the 707). Its fairly accurate, good efficiency (about 45 shots of a 12 gram), and its light. You can strip it in seconds also.

Cons- The bolt action is very hard on the hand. First off its hard to cock it even for the strongest person after a while. Even with a pump arm its hard still. Then the body can rust so you dont want to leave any paint or anything in the gun or yur screwed. The 12 gram pierce pin doesnt have a shell around it to guide the 12 gram into the pin so if your in a hurry you can mess up.
Conclusion: If your looking for a stock class gun get something like a pgp. If your looking for a collection gun get a nelspot. A 6.5/10 on performance but a 10 on collectability.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patrick_Spears Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP Pump-Action Pistol
Talon Pump-Action Pistol
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ RT (Modified to 35 BPS), 5X Scope, adjustable stock, custom cut grip and lighter trigger spring

PMI Piranha 2K3 E-Force Pro

PGP Pump-Action Pistol

PT-Enforcer Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
None....It's good already
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Ah, back to oldies and classics. This is the 1st gun ever made for rec. play. I have one and it's great. I use it a lot. It's accurate and good looking. But, it is kinda easy to break. Plus it's hard to pump. But in other words, this gun is cool. It's hard to find and works great.
Conclusion: If you can find one, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bag of luck Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pistols, none of this era
Marker Setup: BE rainmaker, tlaloc chip(not installed yet) and in the process of buying an angel lcd
nel-spot 007 in mint condition with original warning sticker in place
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: collectable
old
reliable
Weaknesses: absolutely none for a paint pistol this old
Review: got a mint condition nel-spot 007 at a yardsale for $10.
have used it to hit a powerline transormer(its fun-wait till they blow up) 3 times in a row from 70 feet.

absolutely no weaknesses for a paint pistol this old

nice pistol, old reliable, mine is still bolt action with no upgrades. fun to tool around with, i would get too serious with it though it could lose a firefight to a stingray(cause every1 knows what good guns stingrays are)

i give it a perfect score because it was built in the mid 1980s and it still performs and doesnt break down. talk about reliable.i have never had to do anything, not even oil it because theres already oil in 12 gram c02's
Conclusion: nice pistol, old reliable, mine is still bolt action with no upgrades. fun to tool around with, i would get too serious with it though it could lose a firefight to a stingray(cause every1 knows what good guns stingrays are)

i give it a perfect score because it was built in the mid 1980s and it still performs and doesnt break down. talk about reliable.i have never had to do anything, not even oil it because theres already oil in 12 gram c02's
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None , really close is a phantom stock class for performance.
Marker Setup: I have both an Autococker & an automag ( i will always have a mag)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pump arm if you can ever find one.
Strengths: The original tac driver, at short ranges nothing compares.
Weaknesses: Spare parts HINT someone could really make a nitch for themselves making spare parts
Review: I bought a nelspot back in 93 for $10 it was in bad shape & took many hours of tlc to get it up & running. Once I got it going it turned into my primary indoor gun. Sadly in 95 I had to get out of paintball for a few years ( kids new house etc) I sold the nelspot to a team mate that rose to legendary status locally in all the indoor venues. He had more work done to it had it looking flawless. Sadly it was stolen a couple years later. If you can get a nelspot do it, few markers are as durable. I wish that they still made them I for one would buy one in a heart beat.
Conclusion: The nelspot though hard to find is still one of the top three stock class markers to have ever been made. It is the original & I dont feel that its ever been outdone, my stock class phantom was almost a tie.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media