paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 / Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
One of the first paintball guns.
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Nelspot 007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Layman Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned it well over a month, and under three months.
There isn't anything comparable to it other than stock class markers.
edit: well, I've had a Nelspot for well over a year now, thought that I should rewrite the review.
Marker Setup: Primary:
Mac1 Annihilator
10oz Thermovalve tank

and other stuff too...
Recommended
Upgrades:
A pump handle is a nice upgrade for it, although the bolt action by itself is fun. Try to find a rear quick changer for it. They are far less common than the 007's themselves, but work really well. Changing out the internals with a Lapco #6 power tube, Black Magic cup seal, and a Lapco Grey Ghost hammer has been recommended several people.
Strengths: "The following field contains too many words." - sick if trying to shorten...
Weaknesses: The following field contains too many words." - sick if trying to shorten...
Review: Wow, I got a Nelspot! This little workhorse is very tough. It feels about the same weight as a .38 revolver. It is suprisingly accurate with Zap Chronic. I have used this for only a few games, but have shot it around my home with the same accuracy that I have heard of in other reviews. Even at a good distance (50-70ft?) I was able to snapshoot and gog a guy. The bolt action of the 007 takes a little getting used to. It will tire your hand out having to use as much force to close the bolt. The Nelly is around two pounds. It will hold 8 balls with the original factory setup. It comes with a screw installed in the top tube to help the balls roll into the power tube. If you remove this screw and use a 10 round tube as a magazine, or clip, you will increase it's ball holding to 17. When I say accurate it will put a ball onto another ball at 25-30ft. I noticed that even after breaking a ball it still seems to fire straight. (I can't figure out why so if someone could tell me please PM me.) It takes 12g powerlets and will get an average of 22 viable shots. When I say viable I mean fast enought to still break on clothing. It will get around thirty shots off of a 12g, though the last few are slow enough to catch in your hand. Nelson, while not still making parts, has parts in their stock that they are happy to sell you. I was very pleased to get the Nelspot 007, and even more psyched when I found it to still compete with the rest of the guns in the the semi world.
edit
Well, I am still pleased with it's performance. It is a great little shooter. Using many other brands of paint in it, I still am suprised by it's accuracy. I have had a few pass through my hands now, and they all vary with their gas consumption. You still should get about 20 great working shots off of any of them. They are becoming more available on eBay, and the price seems to have stayed steady. The barrels are easily rustable, but just as easily cleaned out. Taking steel wool and a straight stick in a drill will take any light rusting off.
Down sides= They are all steel. Steel can rust. You must keep the gun oiled up like a firearm to prevent rusting. Some really don't like the weight of them.
Conclusion: If you have the ability to get one, then go for it. Be patient and look on eBay. Aside from being a great collectable it serves it's purpose well. Take care of it and it will take care of you.
editIf you are able to find one buy it to try. Even if you don't like it, you will still get your money back out of it if you are patient when reselling. This is a piece of history that you should make an effort to try. Everyone's seen a Timmy, not everyone's seen a Nelly.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 27th, 2005 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PolishMarksman Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing comes close.
Marker Setup: Nel-Spot 007 - Had to re-grind the CO2 puncture-pin, but other than that it is all stock.

AutoMag Classic - Powerfeed, New Barrel, new back end, remote N2 setup, old-school 200-round non-powered hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Re-grind the puncture pin. Not necessary, but if you do it right, it gets you a better seal that doesn't break as easily (Normally, jarring the screw at the bottom of the handle will cause you to lose the seal, and your gas with it).
Strengths: ACCURATE, Gas-Efficient, Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow refire.... so what?
Review: I've reliably gotten 30-40 shots with a 12 gram cartridge, and can hit the cap of an Aquafina bottle at a range of at least 30 feet. With accuracy like that, you don't need a high refire rate.

The gun is older than I am, and still works like new - how can you beat that?

Like I said, regrind the puncture pin (to get a bit more of a bite on the CO2 cartridge) and you almost never lose CO2.

Have had one (technically two) ball breaks, and that was only after trying to fire two paintballs at once. Never broke a ball other than that.

One last thing -- if the barrel starts to rust (non-aluminum guns tend to do that) primer brown/green paint, although tacky, stops outside rust (after some elbow-grease and sand paper), and steel wool keeps the inside nice.
Conclusion: One of, if not the, most accurate, gas-efficient, reliable, and all-around-great guns on the planet ...

The only way you won't like this gun is if you want to blow 2000 rounds of paint in a 5-min speedball game, and like to paint trees. If you have any skill whatsoever, this is a force to be reckoned with.

Oh, yeah, they wouldn't let me but a score of 15 out of 10. I wonder why...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Misiek Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested: PGP (cool), PTExtreme (piece of junk)
Marker Setup: hmm... mine one was "Daisy 007" but look as Nelson 007 :) only modification is CA (custom made)
pictures:
http://belial.do.pl/pmp/misiek_nelspot2.jpg
http://belial.do.pl/pmp/misiek_nelspot4.jpg (with CA adapter)
Strengths: some piece of paintball history
Weaknesses: uncomfortable for left-handed players (i.e. for me)
Review: I found this marker in my local shop - it was in not working condition (leaking form valve, not cocking). Some parts from CCI (thanks Mike) make this marker working and ready to play.

with all stock parts this marker has velocities about ~-150fps

Later my friend made CA adapter, for any stock changer, but I think this is wrong - co2 cartridge in grips are more comfortable and marker with external stock changer looks ugly :)

i'am left-hand player and use of side-cocking is problem for me (maybe in near future I modify body for right-side cocking)
Conclusion: great 'gun for collectors or paintball museum
great 'gun for scenario players, as backup / sidearm or for spies/traitors :)

overalll rating 9 of 10 :) ....for history of this 'gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 1:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chickeny Saturday, June 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
no others like it
Recommended
Upgrades:
can't really upgrade it
Strengths: good backup
fun
classic
Weaknesses: hard to cock
a little heavy
co2 hog
Review: well this was my first marker that i picked up for $5 when i was off and on in paintball. it lasted me many good games as a sidearm and was just all round fun to have a classic gun (the first). i even had the original 10rnd tubes that said the paint was "harmful if swallowed" lol. it lasted me till this year when i finally decided to part ways with it and i sold it to a friend (so not much loss). i probably would have stuck around with it longer but nelspot is re-releasing it within a year or two so they're as valuable as a paperweight but i still pulled off $40 3 years later. this thing was great in the fact that it could keep up just as good as rental guns and even shoot a little more accurate! it was a co2 hog tho and i could only get about 20 balls in b4 i had to switch up the co2. also the bolt was really tough to pull back and i needed a padded glove on my hand or else i wouldn't be able to hold anything in my cocking hand for about a week afterwards.
Conclusion: i really did like my nelspot 007 but as i started going out of recball and into speedball i decided to get rid of it, that and because they are going to be quite worthless soon. if you can hold out to the re-release of the 007, i suggest you do because i'm sure it will be a great gun. because of the accuracy and ablility to keep up with most rentals, i'll give "nelly" a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chill_Bebop Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68, PGP, pgp 2k, Zeus, Splatmaster, ETC
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Lite, Tippmann m98 w/flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe convert it to pump if you want
Strengths: accurate, strong, reliable
Weaknesses: extremely hard to find parts, kinda heavy if ur a wuss
Review: The first paintball gun ever. The bolt action is super retro and sweet. Can actually put it in a regular handgun holster if you want. The reliability is unreal. feels real

The people who used this gun were inspired to make the splatmaster, the second paintgun ever, which was cheaper to make, and brought a ton of people into our sport. i give this an 8 because its a quality made marker. its truly a legend
Conclusion: If you can find one, buy it immediatly!! These sell for alot of money
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

CockerKid09 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE OTHER LIKE IT
Marker Setup: 2K1 right feed cocker w/tons of crap
2K2 Max-Flow 45-4500
Freak 10 inch red Teardrop w/ SS back
12 Revi
and some other stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well not sure how many thier were but i say if u get your hands on one keep it like it is..
Strengths: Um not alot
Weaknesses: Um its really old and hard to find any new parts
Review: This gun is a classic I have one and i found it in a basement. I had to make a new sear for the gun because the original was rusty and broke. Goes through 12 grams quick like 12-15 shots. Only holds 10 over the barrel so technically it could be Stock Class.
Their awesome looking and heavy like a mofo. if you can find one get it. Not to speak it was THE FIRST paintball marker made.
Conclusion: AWESOME collectors item, if you find one get it. Its totally worth it. I have it and im getting new parts for it like a valve and such. Did I mention THEIR AWESOME.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media