paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron / Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron

Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sports Sensors, Inc.

Buy Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Just hold the small
RADARchron™ within 1/2 inch of the Marker barrel, about 2 inches
behind the marker barrel exit and reading the velocity of the expelled
paintball. Simple one-button operation turns on the radar transmitter and
feet per second paintball exit velocity is indicated on the LCD.
Product Availability 
The Sports Sensors, Inc. RADARChron is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
509th Brujah Saturday, August 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98C, response trigger, CO2, 16" ported barrel
Strengths: Rugged
Portable
Easy to use (when used properly)
Affordable
Weaknesses: Have to hold it just right
Review: Anyone who plays paintball needs to own a chronograph. This one may not bee 100% accurate, but it will get you really very close. I think it's probably more consistent than my marker is so I fire three shots and use the average so long as it doesn't exceed 290.

If you play around 280 like we do, this chrono will get the job done without breaking the bank.

The only weakness is you can't put your finger behind it while holding it or it won't work. Sure, you *could* use the strap, but why???
Conclusion: I've been very happy with it. The best part is after your friends drop it for the 20th time, it still works.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego_Trip Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Large feild chrono.
Marker Setup: I Use a Gun metal Grey 06 Ego hybrid grips (Grey), eclipse shaft two peice barrel (gun metal Grey back silver dust tip) silver dust CCU kit, Halo B w/rip & angry board, dye throttle 68 cui 4500 psi air system, Dye Rhino Bottle cover.
Strengths: Small
Cheap
Fairly accurate
Comes in cool little case
Weaknesses: Temperamental
Review: This is a pretty cool chrono i as a ref am glad that they did make it Small cause i wouldn't want to carry the big red one around! i like the fact that its yellow so you could find it if you dropped it. i like how they made a loop for lanyards to connect to.
the only thing wrong about it could be the price but i say to the people that think they are to expensive well how much are your EYES worth to you? they usually laugh and say good point. safety is key nothing elses really matters. i also use this chrono when im done cleaning regs and stuff so i can get my marker shooting just right. these chronos are nice and light plus they come in there own bright green case.
all in all these chronos work well and i feel anyone should buy one if you play paintball.
Conclusion: Im going to give it a 8 cause its kinda a battery hog, and a little temperamental.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr. K Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Strengths: Size portablilty
Weaknesses: Reliability
Review: Very disappointed. Looked good out of the package but was never able to get it to work on the field. Started giving error messages that battery connections bad. Couldnot see anything wrong so sent $ to the company for a new battery ( the battery is unusual and not available at RadioShack). The co took the $ and never sent me the battery. They do not have a web site to deal with.
Conclusion: Not worth the time, expense or effort
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ThePBMinistry Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
x-radar
Marker Setup: Various
Strengths: Durable and reliable with a very afordable price.
Weaknesses: Finger in front of unit stops function, must push reset after every shot.
Review: You simple cant beat this Chrono for the money. The company is very friendly and helpful. Their 800 number is molded into each unit so if you ever have a problem you allways have their number. Comes with a nice carrying case. I highly recomend everyone own one of thease great chronos to keep their markers in fine tune!
Conclusion: Best Chrono for the money hands down!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaptainFuzzy Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
those big red dealies, some other kind of hanging one... uh... I dunno names
Marker Setup: ULE mag
Strengths: Small, inexpensive, convienent
Weaknesses: Accuracy, display
Review: This is a handy little tool to have on the field. With the push of a button you can check velocity on the fly. As some of the other reviews have stated, it's not quite accurate enough to really fine tune a gun, but it's great for checking for hot shots and keeping the velocity at a generally safe level. These little buggers are quite the asset to refs on the speedball field when time can really matter.

My only real complaint is that the display is only two digits so it gets annoying to read, otherwise this is a wonderful product for the money that really does it's job.
Conclusion: Unless you want to buy one of those little walmart VL chronos or spend a bunch more on a big red on this is really the only way to go. Does it's job well for a decent price so I'd say it's a solid nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Quagmire_FamGUY Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
big red chrony, forgot what its called
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion(blue)
Pure Energy 68cu/3000PSI
(Coming SOON) Empire Reloader 2
(Coming SOON) 14inch St!ffi
Smart Parts RASE 68cu tank cover(Blue)
Viewloader 200rnd hopper (Blue)
Strengths: More affordabel compared to others
Somewhat reliable
Weaknesses: Inaccurate at times
Multi porting throws it off
Review: This is great for personal use. When you go out into the woods or just dont have a chrony near by bust this baby out. It gets confused though with barrels that have been ported like 50 times(ex:whisper). If you truly need this, then maybe get together with some friends and all pitch for it.
Conclusion: Get if if you really need it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ta2maki Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The red chrono at the fields, Chrony F1
Marker Setup: E99 Avant
CP 2 piece barrel .689, .696, 16" front
Halo B
Bandit Nylon Bolt
Dark Horizon Ti striker
32* Spring Kit
Stock Valve modded for high flow
CiP 15* Assault Block
CiP Speedy drop forward
A/S 20 oz. CO2/ 4500psi 70ci crossfire HPA
Dye Sticky grip
CiP Sweet Spot Trigger
IS 50g switch
CiP Spyder to Impulse feed port adapter
CiP Surefit Impulse Low rise feedneck
Palmers Male Stabilizer
Bob Long 1200 psi gauge
CiP Spyder Dragon Grip
Strengths: VERY compact, inexpensive.
Weaknesses: Only 2 digit readout
Review: Every paintballer should have one of these, especially outlaw paintballers. It is very easy to carry with you and is affordable. The only problem is that it only has a 2 digit screen so it will first show the hundred number then the rest, but that doesn't make it bad. Accuracy isn't the best, but it is good enough to make sure everyone is playing within safe velocities. this thing is small and light enough to keep in your pocket, even while playing, so anytime you are suspicious of a hot shooting player, you can check right then and there. I play on a field on my friends ranch and often there are alot of kids, so we use it all the time to make sure everyone plays safe. Definitely a great investment
Conclusion: Safe play is a top priority. Your paintball group should have at least one chrono and this is the cheapest and works great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The "Big Red Box"
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Small
- Measures velocity
- Durable
- Not horribly expensive
Weaknesses: - Two digit display? Aaaarrrrrgh!
- Not the most accurate, but it is good enough.
Review: It's not mine, but I use it all the time. Performance seems good enough, but on very moist, humid days the reading can be thrown off a little...

What's up with the two digit display? I don't get why the designers couldn't just stick a three digit one in there...
Conclusion: Small, durable, useful...I would say get it. An overall good product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k WGP vert autococker
12"DYE Boomstick
ANS pneumatics kit w/ QEV's
ANS GX-II regulator
15* ASA
WGP hinge trigger
Sys. X drop w/ on / off
Shocktech Supa fly bolt
Stock hammer, valve and springs
Halo B w/ rip & Z-code
Centerflag hyperflow 420 68ci 4500psi hpa
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi hpa
Strengths: Portability, reliability, consistent, easy to use, comes w/ protective case, yellow
Weaknesses: Two digit display, functions, should come w/ lanyard.
Review: This chrono is not only useful as a safety precaution, but usefull for measuring the consistency / efficiency of your marker. Fine tuning my Autococker is now so (so, so) much less of a guessing game since I got this chrono.

Getting an accurate reading is really easy if you think about what you are doing. First, read and understand the instructions. Almost everyone needs to be shown how to use it properly to get an accurate reading. Second, get a lanyard so you don't have to hold it on the barrel (your hand can affect the reading). Put the strap around the barrel and pull down on the lanyard (make sure the strap is adjusted properly so that the chrono is 1/2" below barrel) . Third, Make sure that the chrono doesn't slide around on the barrel. Every reading should be taken at the same exact location on the barrel to ensure the same reading every time. That's how it's done. Measurements good enough for safety reasons are far more simple.

The operation or this chrono would be better if you didn't have to push the button after each shot. The display would be better if it displayed the reading in one 3 digit display rather than displaying the reading in two segments (hundreds column first then tens and single column second. hard to explain).

At any rate the radarchron is actually fast and easy to use. Once you have the barrel strap adjusted, the only setup required is to pull it out of the case and turn on.
Conclusion: There should be one of these little things at every game! Another reviewer stated that this device costs less than 2 cases of paint which totally nullifies any argument as to the cost / usefulness ratio of this device. I agree!! Safety should always be first priority to keep the game fun for pb veterans and to start the game right for newbies.

This device has made my gun better and the game much simpler. Worth every penny!
9/10 because there is room for a little improvement.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aedonite Saturday, February 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Big Red Radar Chrono. The big red is faster and easier to use. Just walk up, shoot, BING, you're in.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix, Hammerhead 1pc. 12in. barrel, HALO frontman, CIP 15* Assault Block & Powerstation In-Line Reg, Dye dbl. Trigger Frame & Grips, Dye Gauge, D/F, Maddman Rocket Valve, 32* Springs, Modified stock bolt, HPA tank.
Strengths: Small.
Inexpensive.
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: I picked this up for safety at our outback/renegade field. After reading the instructions and trying it out I found that it does what it's suppose to do. It seems accurate, but I haven't been able to do a side by side comparision with a big red yet. It takes more time to chrono a group of players than with the big red, but sometimes there is no rushing safety.
Conclusion: If you ref, then pick one up for spot checks on velocity. If your a player who is concerned about the safety of yourself and others (and you should be) and can't shell out the $300 for a big red, then get this as a good alternitive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media