paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68 / Sheridan VM-68

Sheridan VM-68 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan VM-68

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan VM-68
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Sheridan VM-68 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Evil_Wayz Thursday, March 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This thing predates anything I own
Marker Setup: BT-4 Iron horse
BT E-grip
Apex barrel
Ricochet AK loader
Mamba fighting sling
BT magazine expansion chamber
Palmers Stabilizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Phaze 2 lower bolt, venturi or Starfire upper bolt
barrel upgrade or a cocker adapter
Air America x-chamber ( if you can find one)
AirAmerica Black Rain reg ( if you can find one)


Strengths: It's BEAST. Get as dirty as you want.
Weaknesses: Hard to find upgrades and after market parts anywhere but Ebay.
Review: I always wanted one of these markers when I was a kid. Never could afford one til now. So I went on Ebay and got a vm-68 with a few upgrades on it for the low low price of 60 bucks.

It came with an Armson swirl barrel, AA x chamber and a VERY rare Black rain reg. Also a pro team's feedneck, and a trigger shoe.

I didn't have the valve tool so i had to take the barrel off to adjust the valve, which was kind of a PITA but not that big of a deal. Once I got the valve adjusted it shot like a dream with co2.

I was shooting eight inch groups or thereabouts at about 40 feet. I really need to get a stock barrel and see if the Armson spirals were hurting or aiding my shooting.

Trigger pull is fairly heavy, and don't expect to be walking the trigger. This marker shoots like a real rifle, has a bit of take up and let off in the trigger.

All in all I enjoyed the experience, and this is my play marker now. I wouldn't take it on a speedball field unless everyone else was playing stock class, but in the woods or in a scenario game this is a fine machine.






Conclusion: It's not the lightest thing in the world, and it's loud, but it's decently accurate, and it's nice to shoot a piece of paintball history that still works after all these years.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EruIthildur Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar, but I've used some Spyder products (Victor to Imagine and MR2). I've used the Tippman 98 and A5. I've also used some high end Autocockers.
Marker Setup: VM68 Magnum (Felted down interior)
Dye 14" Barrel
Stock 12" Barrel
Short 8" Black Barrel
Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
A remote or drop forward!
Although the stock barrel is fairly accurate, get an upgrade!
A regulator is just about a must, although I don't have on yet.
Nitro.
Strengths: Deathly Accurate.
Sturdy.
Reliable.
It's rare, which is always neat.
Can be quieted.
Weaknesses: Gas hog.
Heavy (If that bothers you).
Parts are rare.
Review: Out of the different guns I have seen and used, I have yet to find anything that rivals this gun. I do have the Magnum edition which changes a few things. This gun goes back to when my Uncle was younger, he cleaned and oiled the game after every game, it was almost in 'new' condition when he gave it to me.

Some upsides:

I've had three problems the whole time I have owned the gun:
1. Seals needed to be replaced (got the gun with that issue).
2. I put a part in backwards when I was brand new to paintball and couldn't figure it out.
3. A bolt came a little loose after a bit of use and the safety wouldn't go on.

This gun is LASER accurate. I run straight Co2, either fed straight onto the gun (which eats seals [duh!]) or on my remote (lets me borrow larger tanks). I plan on getting a MacDev LegionAir '05 soon. Regardless, at 60-70' out earlier today I bothered to aim somewhat carefully and nailed three shots within two inches of each other. I've never mounted to gun down, but I can get within 6" when I aim at 120' out. BUY PREMIUM PAINT! It pays, you take LESS shots. I usually use Zero Tolerance paint mixed for my climate and current weather conditions. There is a HUGE difference in accuracy even versus Diablo Heat or mid-end paint. I've only broken TWO balls, both of which were $20 for 2000 deals when I was out of my fav. stuff.

I am almost exclusively a scenario game player, so all of my paintball buddies tend to know their stuff for their guns, along with my other 'technical' friend we have had the least problems (although, he disasembles his gun before AND after every match ENTIRELY).

The VM-68 is heavy, which is a good and bad thing. It's sturdy and helps a little with the kick, but for people who don't weighlift like I do, it might be found heavy.

As to the issue of fire rate, people can mod the gun if it is important, but do you NEED to fire that fast? I've played a little speedball and never have had to 'open up' past 3-5 bps.
Conclusion: If you want a good a reliable gun that is accurate, this is a gun for you.

If weight or fire rate is an issue you might want to look at alternatives.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kit352 Saturday, August 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: trilogy comp-

worr hinge frame
slik bolt
phat drop and asa
planet eclipse qev
halo b
68ci 3000psi pure energy ca
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, modified stock bolt, new barrel.
Strengths: Milsim weight and looks. Very rugged.
Weaknesses: Very heavy (7 lbs)
monster kick
ball detent
gas hog (maybe 300 shots per 12oz.)
Review: I got this gun to add to my growing collection of pb guns. i always wanted one since i was a kid but never could afford it. after watching ebay for a while i decided to get a parts gun and a really good gun. i couldnt find any good guns for a decent price but i did find a parts gun for cheap. a buy it now of $25 dollars with the item description of "used, havent fired, good for collectors only. it didnt have any pics and the seller wouldnt respond to emails so i decided to take a chance on it hoping i could aleast get a decent parts gun on the cheap. when the gun finally arrived i was totaly blown away. not only was it in the original box the gun was in brand new condition. guy bought it years ago (1992) and never even gassed it up. figured no one would want it so he just wanted a little for it to sell quick. i took it apart replaced a few cracked orings (autococker stuff fits for the most part) put it back together and aired her up. this thing kicks like a mule, rapid firing sends the gun all over the place. the best way to shoot is slow and steady so the gun dosent kick off target as easily. the gun is a bad gas hog so you may want to add another tank or get an expansion chamber or reg. you can only fit a 12oz on the front of the gun so you may think about a back bottle setup. im gonna keep mine stock and just live the little quirks of such a unique gun.
Conclusion: It will never be able to compete with any slightly modern gun but its not meant too. back in the day it was the gun to have and paved the way for future guns. if you are getting this gun its to have a unique gun that you dont see to often and maybe playing with every once in while. it makes a good back up gun in a desperate situation. if you plan on using it as a primary you will be slow, heavy, and gas dependant. youd be better off getting a spyder than this. id buy this again in a heart beat but i want it for the nostalga not the performance although its not bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red2k1tib Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman prolite
98 custom
model 98
spider compact
Marker Setup: an autococker barrel adaptor and a variety of barrels. A sliding m-16 style stock.
Strengths: Indestructable.
accurate.
Just plain fun.
It's History.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Gas hog.
Parts are getting rarer.
Review: This marker is old, and has alot of history. This marker was the tourney gun back in the day. It weighs a crap ton, it eats CO2 like 427 vettes eat gasoline.

I still love it.

The marker is accurate, (equal with all the tippmanns). Its has a decent rof for its class. It's kinda scarey looking, and the horzontal tank under the barrel is crazy looking. It kicks like a mule when it fires, but you can make these guns about 4 feet long with barrels and stocks, and makes for a crazy-fun woods gun. I would'nt play with this gun if it was my only one, I just enjoy getting it out with friends and giving it a whirl. Its many flaws (well considered today to be flaws, considered back then to be awesome) would keep me from playing with it exclusively. I would recommend anyone who wants a cool marker for cheap (check ebay) and to own a piece of early semi-auto history to seek one out and give it a whirl.
Conclusion: Lots of fun, and very nastalgic (considering I played when this thing was considered the best around.) People who want one gun to do all things, should avoid it due to the above, but for just playing woods ball with a large gas hoggin brute of a paintball gun, by all means get one and have fun!! The 9 rating is for when it was a brand new design. Now I would give a 7 or so.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

68kaiser Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
old spyder, puma,
Marker Setup: vm-68/ 16" smart parts AA barrel, expansion chamber, bottomline, sigh-trail with red dot,
field strip screws, mods to bolt and trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above.
Strengths: Durability, looks bad ash, old school, simplicity, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Gas hog.
Review: The vm is a very solid marker that demands respect and if not given it will get it after you light some one up. some people say they are to heavy, my self i like how they feel much like a real gun not a toy like most markers. Don't worry about finding parts they are around you just have ti know where to look and honestly the only thing that will wear out are the o ring's and you can find them at hardware stores.
Conclusion: A very solid marker that will get looks on the field and serve you well if maintained properly. Go get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hunta Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
striker (i know its not much like it but what is??)
Marker Setup: stock with a laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight of some kind of sight
Strengths: STRONG AS HELL
easy to upgrade
cheap
single trigger
gas in the front!
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts
gas hog
the feed for the paintball is small
Review: When i first saw this gun on an online auction i knew i had to have it because the gas at the back of guns always bugged me, the gas at the front balances the gun so it is really steady.
(i have seen heaps of custom vm 68 with the gas at the back, i don't know why you would do that but what ever)

Some people complain about it being too heavy but the weight in my opinion is an advantage because it makes it steady and it's not like it makes too much of a difference unlees you're playing like a 24 hour game.

I have had a history of breaking guns but this thing is built like a tank! and it has only broken
3 paintballs since i got it

it's not super accurate but its ok to about 20 m which is good 4 bush play

it's a bit of a gas hog which is a bit annoying but it does look awesome

Conclusion: it would be good to put a some kind of sight on it

BUY it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VM68Elite Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: -VM68
-Expansion Chamber
-Double trouble trigger
-Precision Markers bolt
-16" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Bolt
- Double trouble trigger (uneccessary)
- at least a 14" barrel
Strengths: -Powerfull
-Easy to use, take care of, clean, etc.
-Accurate
Weaknesses: This is an old gun, it is heavy and loud, parts are hard to find
Review: Excelent gun. I am never going to change my gun until i can't fimd parts for it anymore. i have never had any issues with it. This gun used to be my bros. and he didn't have any issues with it either. "Its not the gun but the player." i am definitly going to use this gun for a long time.
Conclusion: As a classic gun i know that this used to be top of the line.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sambad Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann procarbine, Custom 98, A5
Marker Setup: Sheridan VM68 with a 16" "Mystery barrel"
Recommended
Upgrades:
A stock, a good red dot sight, a sling; a remote is nice, too
Strengths: Super strong, reliable, solid, simple, easily upgraded with home made parts
Weaknesses: Heavy, front mounted gas cylinder, velocity difficult to adjust, slow rate of fire.
Review: The VM was one of the first semi automatics, and was built to last forever, which it will. Unless you actually put it on an anvil and hit it with a sledge, it will last as long as valves, ball detents, and o-rings are availiable. I just keep acquiring them ( I have four) because they are so easy to modify. I have made stocks, trigger guards, etc, for them. For a scenario player on a budget, you cannot get a more mil-simable marker. It is so massive you can drill and tap into it to add on all sorts of stocks and grips and make it look like virtually anything on the cheap. It has so many big strong screws going through the back of the frame that you can hang stocks and sights and such off it with little modification. Plus it already has the Lone Star grip of the M-16.
Even the front gas cylinder mount allows some creative action, since you can put a tapped stopper into it and a few elbows and hook your flex line to it, leaving more room for improvisation. Palmer's still has the rebuild kits, and unless your used VM fell into the hands of a primitive Pete mechanic who has stripped all the screws and shot it constantly while full of grit, you can restore it to like new mechanical condition easily.
Conclusion: I think that you simply cannot find a used marker for under fifty bucks that can touch the VM. If you are a low budget scenario player and a tinkerer, you can easily build something up that will impress the guys on the field, and with a good quality barrel keep up with the Tippmans yet.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedFuZZy Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Rainmaker, BE King Cobra, Palmer Cocker, CMI Thunderpig, PGP, Spyders/Piranhas, Tippmann ProAM
Marker Setup: Rainmaker with MAC mount, mag ASA w/ gas through, 14" B.O.A. snakebite, angel LCD frame w/ TLALOC chip on '99 RM board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Same as any marker at first. New barrel, Palmer's Stabilizer, bottom line setup and perhaps a good stock. Maybe a better grip later as well like a 45.
Strengths: Durable, reliable, many upgrades, cheap upgrades, as accurate as others, great feel.
Weaknesses: Recoil, loudness, gas inefficient, weird velocity adjustment, heavy, upgrades less common are all weaknesses.
Review: Although it may seem as if this gun has way too many weaknesses, that is far from true. Sure it is an ancient chunk of aluminum in paintball history these days, but if you want something reliable unlike most of whats out there, than this beast is what you need. It can be suited to scenario needs as well, with tons of CAR stocks being made for the thing. There are so many different configurations too, its hard to truly do this gun justice if you leave out the upgradablility factor. Even though some parts are getting a little harder to find, practically all of its weaknesses can be fixed via all the aftermarket parts out there. You could run your car over this thing and it would still work. This thing will even run off liquid CO2 unlike most other guns these days. There are several homemade upgrades you can do as well that will significantly increase efficiency and reduce other problems. VMs have a special feel to them as well with the additional mass and recoil. Barrels are fairly cheap too running at about half the price of the normal cost in most cases. Armotech guns use the same barrel threading as well as Bruizers, so barrels are still being made as well as Lapco's cocker to VM barrel adpater, so don't worry about whether or not barrels can be found.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone seriously considering getting into paintball. People shouldn't start out with anything electronic in my opinion or anything expensive, but rather reliable. Malfunctioning equipment can give the wrong impression on paintball and take away the fun aspect. This gun is built like a Tippmann, or maybe its the other way around. For a good reliable gun that's highly upgradable with CHEAP upgrades if you look around the Internet, you can't beat the VM. Otherwise, I'd have to recommend a Tippmann, but then you wouldn't be oldschool and/or get those funny looks at your gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BennayBoy Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Vm 68 with Starfire bolt, mp5 stock, and a DYE Boomstick Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt.
Strengths: A Very Durable and dependable gun, low maintenance, and accurate.
Weaknesses: Very heavy, velosity adjuster inside. Hard to find parts for anymore. Not very CO2 efficient.
Review: This gun is a very good beginner and pro gun. Its very dependable, and since its made of solid alluminum, its very hard to break. The stock barrel it comes with is also very accurate, surprisingly. Every once in awhile the gun will chop balls. But for the most part i dont have any breaks. Its a very good sniper gun and also can put out the paint fairly fast in close melee's.
Conclusion: I personally recommend this gun to players of all age's and experiance. Its a very durable gun thats good all around.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media