paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

PMI Hand-Held Chronograph Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Hand-Held Chronograph
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sweet little chronograph fits in the palm of your hand so you can take it anywhere. It's a great item for referees to instantly end arguments about whether somebody's gun is hot right on the field. Comes with instructions and a hardy plastic carrying case with foam interior for protection. It measures speeds from 150 to 450 f.p.s., and runs on a 3-volt lithium battery that provides around 30 hours of operating time. Size: 2 1/2" x 3 1/2" x 1 3/16".
Product Availability 
The PMI Hand-Held Chronograph is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tikiman1989 Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Ultimate Vision Shocker (2003)
Maxflo w/ 68 ci 4500 psi tank
Stinger Bolt
Halo Loader
Freak Barrel Kit

2005 Black Magic
Crossfire 68ci 4500 psi tank
Halo Loader
Freak Barrel kit

Vertical Stock Class Phantom
Strengths: Small
lightweight
easy to use/ operate
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great all around chrongraph. i got this for my birthday last year and have used it alo. took some of my buddies out to the farm so i could give em a taste of paintball and by the end of the day they were chronyin their own markers and everyone was being safe and having a good time!
Conclusion: Everyone should have one or know someone who does, just commen sense
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skunk Thursday, August 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radar Chron - Better, but also comes with a price.
Marker Setup: AKA Excalibur (Year unknown)
Pure Energy 68/4500
Evo. 2
Strengths: Easy to use.
Easy to carry.
+/- 2fps? Maybe...
Weaknesses: 2 digit display for a 3 digit read?
Push button annoying.
Review: Our field started 3 years back and we have used this small chrono, for $75 the entire time. Its easy to use right out of the box, with no defects or battery problems. Our battery actually lasted 3 years, we havn't replaced it to date.

It has a 2 digit display for a 3 digit readout. What were they thinking? It isnt that bad tho, the numbers blink back and forth for you.

Also the button is a little annoying to press, but you just need to tell whoever your chronographing when to shoot and what their velocity is (for simplicity to the customer).
Conclusion: Great chronograph. BUY THIS OVER A LIGHT CHRONOGRAPH! Light chronographs are CRAP! Everybody who plays can spend however much money on a gun, but then they skimp on the safety part thinking a mask is all they need. Wrong. A mask is tested to 300FPS and after that, your lucky. So buy one of these for $75 and you'll never need anything more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Monday, April 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-None
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Strengths: -Helps setting up your marker
Weaknesses: -None yet
Review: I basically bouhgt this because i was tired of having to go to the field after every adjustemt and seeing what efect it had on my gun. I paid around $65 for it. I will say right now that the suggested prices listed here on Pbrevbiew for most products is not the price you will pay for it at a local shop. I am very happy with this purchase
Conclusion: Buy this and be happy. save time by chronoing you marker at home and save the head ache of trying to figure out whats lowering your fps at the field
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chronos - more precise but they ARE the expensive kind.
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Vertical Cocker
AKA Sidewinder reg
Equation 12" Bizerk barrel
Hybrid Mini Savier Drop (MSD)
Hybrid Grind
Empire Reloader
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Handheld
Accurate enough for home chronos
Weaknesses: Battery life, maybe.
Review: (Batter life, continued) i had to replace the battery a month after purchase & i had only used it a few times.

Aside from that, it does the job. i (like most players) fine-tune my markers at home & it helps to know what their velocities are prior to game day. So the handheld chrono is a nice investment.

Even when i'm not tuning anything, it's fun to blow paintballs through my barrels & seeing how fast i can get em.
Conclusion: There aren't a whole lot of handheld chronos out there (unless there are non-paintball companies making them, too). May as well get this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M_Foster87 Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Chronos
Marker Setup: Black Rat LTD, VL Egg, Shocktech 5" Drop w/ Shocktech On/Off, 12" J&J Edge Barrel Kit, ND Internals, Rat Hole Hammer, 68ci 4500psi Crossfire tank
Strengths: Small, durable, easy to use, somewhat accurate, price
Weaknesses: Had some accuracy problems
Review: This is a great chronograph for the price. I got mine used for $40 and it works pretty well. I have had some problems with it registering like 325fps and then drops down to 275fps and jumps all around but I put a fresh battery in and hopefully it will be more accurate. But the chrono is very small and easy to carry in your pocket or wherever. Very durable. Mine is older and it still works well. All you have to do is hit the buttons and your good. For the price this is a good chrono. You dont have to spend over $200 to get a good chrono. I am sure that the accuracy problems were just an old battery so that isnt a big deal.
Conclusion: This chrono is great for the money. It does its job and is good to set your gun up properly or just make sure you arent shooting hot. Great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfan Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 01 Autococker side feed
big drop forward
47ci 3000psi pure energy tank
Strengths: This chrono works well when you are playing at your house.
Weaknesses: If you put your hand behind it then it cant read the speed.
Review: This hand held chrono works well when you need it in a hurry so you can get right to playing or it would be handy during tournaments so you could check some ones speed after the game or during. So it seems to work very well but you half to put the chrono at the tip so it can get the best reading.
Conclusion: I am giving this a 9 because you cant put your hand around it so it can read the speed of the paintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dethspec Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5 Tippmann stock, no upgrades yet. (Just got it for Christmas! :-)
Strengths: Safety and portability
Weaknesses: I don't see any.
Review: I play a lot of rec-ball. So what we have is a bunch of guys running around with markers that have never been chronographed. This is bad. Most newbies think that more velocity means the gun is more accurate.

Newbies, this is not true. It just makes your gun dangerous to everyone else. Supper high velocity is not needed and makes paintball needlessly more painful, which discourages new players.

This is a great little product. It comes in a nice case that should keep it well protected from drops and bumps. It is VERY EASY to use. Simply stick your barrel in the loop. press the button, and fire a paintball. My dog could chrono his gun with this.

It is not perfect, it is a hand-held checker. It is designer to be easy to use, quick, portable, and as accurate as a hand-held device can be.
Conclusion: If you play rec-ball, you should buy this. It is about $90 at most places. It will work, it is cheap, and it makes our game safe for those of us who don't spend all our time at the field with Refs and chrono stations. Buy it, you will not be disappointed, and you keep the rest of us safe.
If you're a ref, why don't you already have one to check those shmucks who turn their guns up after leaving your chrono station?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with Flatline, Tactical Harness, 32 Degrees Xpansion Chamber.
Strengths: Small, Easy to use, Accurate.
Weaknesses: Price? None really.
Review: I play woods ball with several dedicated players who have never set foot on a pay-to-play site. A few of us chipped in to get a chrono for safety reasons, and so that I could get my Flatline shooting at the proper fps. At $85 it is not the cheapest piece of paintball gear you will find, but it is worth the price. The margin of error is acceptable considering that this equipment is less than 100 bucks. All you have to do is fire 4 or 5 paintballs and take an average. This thing is easy to use, it has only one button!

Interesting note: One dude we play with had his '98 shooting at 360 fps. Needless to say, he had to turn it back a bit.
Conclusion: Get one for safety's sake or just for back yard tweaking.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matnoo Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few laser ones.
Marker Setup: Vengeance pro 2.0
Various hoppers
Various cylinder
Strengths: Tiny, accurate, looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: None realy.
Review: It just does its job:
You fire a shot and it tells you how quick the ball was.

Simple.

Why anyone would use one of the huge laser ones, I have no idea, the accuracy of the RADARchron, is +/- 6 fps over 300fps. Which is fantastic.

m@novacrylics.co.uk
Conclusion: Its the smallest chrono avaliable.
Its the lightest.
Its near as dammit the cheapest.
Its accuracy is more than adequate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iman88 Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5,e-grip,double trigger,jj edge kit,exp chamber,pycho ballistic drop forward
Strengths: -Easy to use
-Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: -Little pricy
Review: If you play in your back yard with your friends, this is a must have. It is much safer and smarter to know what everyone is shooting at. and it will make your day fun. It is also alittle scensitive(if you touch the top with the end of your marker it wont read it).
Conclusion: This is a great buy its simple to use,looks good and will keep the game fun. However it is alittle pricy but what is 90 bucks when it keeps you safe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media