paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph / PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

PMI Hand-Held Chronograph Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Hand-Held Chronograph

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Hand-Held Chronograph
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $95

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sweet little chronograph fits in the palm of your hand so you can take it anywhere. It's a great item for referees to instantly end arguments about whether somebody's gun is hot right on the field. Comes with instructions and a hardy plastic carrying case with foam interior for protection. It measures speeds from 150 to 450 f.p.s., and runs on a 3-volt lithium battery that provides around 30 hours of operating time. Size: 2 1/2" x 3 1/2" x 1 3/16".
Product Availability 
The PMI Hand-Held Chronograph is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
wastedwalrus Tuesday, October 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Gun #1-
2002 Autococker
Belsales Hollow Point 3way
Belsales .44 Magnum Ram
WGP Hinge Trigger
All-Delrin Bolt
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Emipre Reloader B
(Everything else is stock)

Gun #2-
Tippman A-5
Response Trigger Kit
Double Trigger
Flatline barrel
Adjustable Car Stock
Front Grip Extension
(Everything else is stock)
Strengths: It's small, comes in handy, easy to use.
Weaknesses: Expensive, doesn't always work very well.
Review: Well, it's cool to have this because my friends and I play outside of parks a lot and we want our games to be safe and fair so this was a must. It's really easy to use but it doesn't always work. All you have to do though to get it working is keep firing it and try to get a reading then it will pop up eventually. It cost me 85 bucks but like I said it was something that I kind of needed.
Conclusion: Its a good thing to have. Could've been made a little better but still good.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups

NSG Splatmaster (side-arm)
Strengths: * Durable
* Lightweight
* Compact
Weaknesses: None
Review: This chrono is pretty nice. All you do is press the button, take a shot and it will say ex: 2-85, then you have to press the button again and take another shot. Its very durable and compact, easy to carry around unlike the big red chronys. I got mine for pretty cheap, 80$, and I dont regret buying it at all. Everyone uses it at my friends field and its a mandatory thing to have to make sure we play safe.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone who is making a field. Its a really nice chrony, and can be very useful.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeadEyE Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field chrono's
Marker Setup: 02' Red vert autococker w/ SP AA barrel,Shochtech-supaflybolt,drop foward, ball detent, front reg., ram. KAPP Reflex frame, KAPP twisted cocking rod, ANS 3-way, DYE sticky 3.
Strengths: -Small
-convenient
-fairly accurate ( says it has a range of +-2) dont know about that
Weaknesses: -read out is 27 first then 5 = 275
- press button for each shot
Review: I first got it and took it out of the box. It was nicely packed and I took out the instructions and checked them out. It was very easy and simple to use it. Although sometimes you have to shot more than once to get a read(it is possible that I wasn't holding it directly under the barrle though).
Conclusion: Overall I think it was a good purchase and that it was worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smblkc Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radarchron
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C w/14" JJ Ceramic, Pro-lite with 14" SS Sniper barrel
Strengths: Hand-held, accurate, affordable
Weaknesses: Doesn't seem to be the most durable
Review: Have used this chrono several times in the past week. I have found that it does provide a reading accurate enough to ensure the safety of the players. As long as you follow the directions, the accuracy should be pretty good.

The only thing that I don't like about it is the fact that it seems as though it is not the most durable piece of equipment. It is primarily plastic, which can crack if dropped. However, if you take care of it, it should work just fine.

Conclusion: For the price, a great purchase for anyone who plays outside of a commercial field, that otherwise would be without a chrono.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluegoose Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Chrono's
Marker Setup: Spyder compact, CP reg, Nitro duck 88 cu 45k tank, JJ ceramic
Strengths: Small, portable, easy to use, suprisingly useful
Weaknesses: fairly expensive for something you don't necessarily need
Review: This thing is extremely useful, even more so than you probably think at first. it saves a lot of time at the field since you can check yourself beforehand, especially after tinkering with somethign, and save yourself the trouble of adjusting at the field. It's also great it if you play at more informal fields since many guys who play like that have no idea what there velocity is. it is a tad expensive for something that doesn't really improve your marker and is mostly for convenience but a good strategy is to try and get people you play with at informal fields to give you a few bucks for makin the game safer for everybody.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this if you play a lot at informal fields or tinker a lot. if you only go to pay-to-play fields that have chronos then it's probably not really worth the expense
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

mechanic79 Thursday, February 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Radar Chrono - big and expensive
Marker Setup: RT PRO, Lvl 10, Intelliframe, warp feed, ricochet 2k, Kapp Drop Zone lll, NItro Duck 88/45k mega reg tank.
Strengths: small, durable, light weight, convenient
Weaknesses: none so far
Review: I purchased this chrono mainly for playing on private land.
It comes in very handy for testing your marker setup after upgrades etc...
The chrono is so light, small, durable, and convenient that it makes paintball much more fun, especially when you can dial in your FPS before you go to a field or use your own chrono instead of waiting in line for the field to chrono.
Conclusion: Anyone that plays on private land, or anyone that doesn't want to wait in line at a field for chronoing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Earlan357 Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RadarChron at the field
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 RT and Autococker. I don't feel like listing all the upgrades but there's a lot on each.
Strengths: Easy to use
compact
Weaknesses: none really
Review: Here's how it works. You push the button, hold it under and an inch behind your barrel with the lcd screen facing you, then shoot. The first number that pops up is the velocity in hundreds of feet per second. The second two numbers are the rest of the velocity. So if your marker shoots 279 then it will blink "2" then "79". You have to press the button to reset it for the next shot. If you don't touch it for 30 secs it turns off automatically.

As for accuracy, its about 3 fps off of the fields RadarChron so it's not as good for fine tuning your reg or springs but still effective. It's great for checking velocity during a game if you're a ref or just in your backyard.

I've dropped it many times with no problems. It comes in a little foam lined case too.(I haven't shot it though)
Conclusion: I got mine pretty cheap, $60 on ebay. It's not as accurate as a $200 RadarChron, but it also fits in your pocket and requires no set up. It does what it says it will. I give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UnknownAssassin Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 2K2 Vengance Base Cocker
Strengths: -Portable
-Fairly Accurate
-Affordable
Weaknesses: -No off button
-Unsure how to change battery if needed...
Review: Good chrono for any type of playing group. It's handy to have for reffing on field during tournaments and also affordable so rec players can use it. Great for outlaw ballers who cant afford the more expensive chronos but still wish to play safe. Easy to use and anyone can learn to use a device with just one button. Also keeps last reading in memory when you turn on next time.
Conclusion: I reccamond you buy this if you don't have a chrono or need a handy pocked sized one for reffing tournaments. Remember! Play Safe!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media