paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock / Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock / Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock / Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock

Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock

Paintball Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 6.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $83

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Pro-Team Products three position stock mounts to your marker by replacing the existing end cap. The stock adds a unique look and excellent support for a sniper. Kit includes the three position stock that only fits the A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Collapsible Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Kohlboy Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Doubble Finger Trigger
16" 32 degrees whisper barrel
and of corse this stock
Strengths: *Steadies ur gun
*Good for woods play
Weaknesses: It Rattles
It wiggles
Review: Its good if ur a sniper like me and you need to steady ur aim. it dose rattle if ur not careful. it wiggle a little two but there are ways to fix that. so if u want a good stock that ajusts to the way u want it i would buy it.
Conclusion: Its good 4 senario and woods. If ur a sniper get it so u can hit targets at a distance.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hafellafuser Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: A-5,
E-Grip,
Shock Drop Forward,
Laser dot w/ pressure switch,
3 point sling,
20oz CO2,
& this stupid 32Degrees stock
Strengths: Increases stability,
Adjustable lengths,
G-R-E-A-T Looks
Weaknesses: KILLS VELOCITY
Velocity adjuster- screwed up,
Wobbly, but not bad,
Bad connection for sling
Review: *****CAR STOCK by 32DEGREES*****

OK, so I bought this stock thinking that it'll look great on my gun and won't hurt it in any way. It comes in the mail and I'm excited to death. I install it to my A-5 and try to squeeze off a few rounds. NOTHING. I got pissed off and removed it. Looked it over, couldn't figure out what was going on. Put it back on, same problem. Took it off AGAIN. Next, I had to TAKE THE ENTIRE STOCK APART to figure out how this rear velocity adjuster works. Turns out the rear velocity adjuster arrived broken- on mine AND ALSO on a friend's that ordered the same one.

It's hard to explain exactly how I fixed it, but there are these mini pins inside that guide the long spring pin (that's the PIN that IS TOO SHORT anyway) into the A-5. Those mini pins were all loose and falling around inside the stock. I got lucky, my buddy lost one of the mini pins and now we gotta figure out a way to get another one. Anyway, it took about 2 hours to of trying and failing to get the pins in and the rings in the proper position etc. So I set the velocity to the highest level. Thought the problem was fixed.

Took the marker to the field the next day and it was firing great but I couldn't get the thing up past 240. You could imagine that in a fire fight I was getting hit by people with rentals about twice as far as my A-5 was shooting. This was killing me- literally. I played the worst PB game ever. Only in close range situations did I come out the victor. Who the hell wants to pay this much money for a marker when people with rentals are kicking your butt?

So, I went to home depot and bought about 15 washers that fit exactly onto the pin to give the spring more push. I also ordered a Maddmann Spring Kit that should arrive shortly. The dry fire sounds a lot beefier now that I have the washers on and hope the spring kit will add the needed velocity. I'll keep you guys updated on the results. (Special thanks to PBallOldSchool's review on the velocity problem. I never would have figured out the problem w/o that post)

Another TWO problems that got me are (1) that the stock is a bit wobbly but with some more modding, you can fix that on your own by slapping on some large o-rings or just adding some padding to tighten the fit (as suggested 123cct's review). (2) I bought a 3 point sling and the sling latch is too thick for the CAR stock's sling attachment. I had to use a key ring to bridge to sling to the CAR stock. The key ring makes a bit of noise but it works now.

I HOPE THIS HELPS ANYONE OUT WITH SIMILAR PROBLEMS.
Conclusion: ALL in ALL, if I knew about all this crap I had to do to make this stupid thing work...I still would have bought it. Yeah, call me a jackass. I still would have bought it but I would have fixed and modded it prior to putting it on. I'm just glad I got it working. I plan on writing 32Degrees and telling them all about the CAR Stock bugs. Maybe they'll come out with a revised version, but I doubt it.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 6:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

earlybird00 Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A5, R/T, Dye Ultralite, Crossfire HPA, Lapco Front Grip, Polshed Internals
Strengths: Looks cool, that's it!
Weaknesses: Very loose and wobbly.
Not useful at all w/ mask.
Poorly constructed.
Too expensive!
Review: I bought this stock which was made by 32 degrees and I could not have been more disappointed. I installed it on my marker and I immediately noticed how cheaply made it was. The main body and butt plate are cheap plastic. After about 200 rounds in my backyard, the set screw holding the mounting plate in place let go and caused my a5 to misfire. I proceeded to replace the set screw with a larger on while adding another one to the other side. Poor quality! I then tried using the stock during a woods ball game and found that it did nothing for me other than get in the way.
Conclusion: Unless you are going for mil sim, spend your money elsewhere!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

j3paintball Thursday, May 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Co2 Butt Plate
-Sniper F/X Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5

-Flatline Barrel
-Sniper F/X Stock
-Lapco Offset Sight Mount
-4x30 SWAT Scope
-E-Grip
-R5 Hopper
-SpecOps A5-A2 Foregrip
-Microcoil Remote
Strengths: -Stability for Aiming
-Looks
Weaknesses: -Expensive
-Somewhat Wobbly
Review: While this stock is very expensive, it does add a lot to your gun. It will give you a lot more stability for aiming, and it looks awesome. Just don't buy it for speed-ball, it definitely turns your A-5 into a rifle, which is much better for woods-ball or scenario games. My only compaint would be that the back half is somewhat loose, so it wobbles around a bit. Over time, the same thing happens to the point where the stock attaches to the gun. You still get the functionality of aiming, but the assembly is less sturdy, which is very annoying for a perfectionist like me.
Conclusion: All in all, this is an excellent (though expensive) addition to any woods-ball or scenario player's gun. If you won't mind the wobbling, you should love it as an addition to your marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NemesisMajor Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, E-grip, Remote, 20oz
Strengths: Looks sweet
Weaknesses: gets in the way and bulky
Review: I got this simply for looks and it did the job. Once you get to playing though it is pointless If you are not playing scenario I see no point in using it. It just makes you a larger target. But like I said for scenario play its still a good attachment simply because it makes the gun look like real.
Conclusion: If your not playing scenario don't buy it. I will give it a 7 for durability and looks
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Clutch1 Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used almost all the stocks and this is the best
Marker Setup: I have a Tippman A-5 with the E-Grip, The A-5 Flatline barrel and the All American barrel, the Collapsible Stock, the BSA Red Dot Laser Sight, the Physco Ballistics Drop Forward (on/off valve), 32 Degrees Gauge, the Tippman A-5 Expansion Chamber, the A-5 Power Bolt, and PMI Nitro, Ihave a job, I don't leach off my parents, all my money goes into my gun.
Strengths: adjustable, light, easy to snap in, perfect steadiness
Weaknesses: rattles a little bit but not enough to give away your position, nothing else
Review: I know that alot of people don't like this stock because they say that its made out of a cheap plastic, but it's not, its made out of the same plastic that the A-5 is made out of, if you want a perfect stock this is for you, and for all you snipers out there get this stock!!!!!!!!, I got it and it's amazing, trust me its worth your money
Conclusion: buy it plain and simple,you'll love it,I guarantee it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

123cct Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 rentals
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5, flatline ,collapsible stock, remote, BSA Red dot sight , palmer stabilizer, e-grip,ez sling, cnc machined front bolt, pro team 14" f/x barrel m16 look alike,20 oz. tank and double triggers on stock grip and on e-grip, barrel shroud for flatline, asr-1, dye izon red dot sight
Strengths: Looks good sturdy in the collapsed position
Weaknesses: not as sturdy in the fully extended position
Review: First of all the stock that i have is one of the ones with the rear velocity adjuster. The problem with this is that the original pin for the tippmann is longer, so when you put it on you will meed to get a small metric allen wrench. you will have to extend the pin and then set screw ,and also the stocks three rings will need to be set to the closest position to to the gun because of the short pin. so there wont be any velocity adjusting from the stock. also the designers that developed this should have drilled the pin holes about 3-4 mm closer to to the end so it would fit snug. i heard that the one from ops gear fits snun and feels more solid.

MODIFICATION TIP:

I used a big O-ring between the the 2 prongs of the adapter that goes into the back of the a-5. this will make it more difficult to push the pins into thier respective places but once on it is rock solid. Another modification i made was i took the sliding stock off( just pull down on the lever that moves the stock back and forth) and took it completely off. then i took some thin shreds of duct tape and taped a 2inx2in piece laminated paper to the inside of the sliding stock, make sure that the laminated paper is at least 1/4 inch into the stock, this will eliminate the threads eating away at the edge of your laminated paper. and put it back on doesn't slide as easy as it used to but it doesn't rattle anymore either. If you do this you will have a very sturdy and stable stock.
Conclusion: if it wouldnt be so loose it would be a ten, also having to adjust the pin and set the velocity from the stock to the max setting , then adjust velocity from the screw on the side. if you take the time to do the modifications which i have given you, you will be amazed how sturdy this stock will be. i had to do my own ghetto mods but they work fine so i give it a solid 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 at 8:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OhYaItsaA5 Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: A-5, remote, flatline, adj. stock, E-grip
Strengths: Makes the gun look better.
Weaknesses: It rattles too much and feels kind of cheap.
Review: I like this stock because it looks good. I cannot say it does anything else for me during game play. I do not think it gets in the way of my shooting, I do not use the sights anyway. With the E-grip set to turbo, I just lead my prey and every round is like a tracer. I could see how the stock could be in the way of the mask. If you are all about the experience, not just out to shoot, I think this is a good investment. There are better investments, but if you have everything this should be on your list somewhere near the bottom.
Conclusion: This stock is a great way to enhance the appeal of your A-5. As far as function goes, I can't say it will do anything for your game.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Closed_Fist Friday, December 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used a different stock and never will. After owning this I know why no good players use stocks and why no good guns even have stock options.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Air America Vigilante regulator, collapsable stock, 12" SP teardrop barrel, Psycho Ballistics drop forward, 90ci 4500psi Tank

WGP Orracle Autococker (But that has nothing to do with this)
Strengths: adjustable for personal preference

It is easily removed and put on.
Weaknesses: it doesn't feel very secure.
The guide pin
The stock is too high
More
Review: I wanted to get the stock because I wanted to have a more steady shot and I thought it would look great on my gun. When I first bought the stock, the guide pin was bent and the velocity adjuster was broken, which I didn't think was too bad because the rear velocity adjuster doesn't work as well as the normal one anyway. When I put it into my gun however the guide spring was too bent for the gun to cock. I retuned the stock for a new one which worked fine(probably just bad luck the first time) I put the stack on the gun it looked fantastic. When I used it in the field with my mask on however, I found it impossable to aim correctly. I ended up taking it off. The stock also rattles a bit, so it's not as steady as it could be. The guide pin is permanently attached to the stock, so when I store it I need to make sure nothing bends the pin as it is completely exposed at the end of the stock.
Conclusion: I hate this product and I wish I hadn't wanted my money, there are much better things to get, like a reg, barrel, drop, tank, anything at all is better than this. This product wouldn't be too bad, but it is literally imposable to use with a mask due to how high up the stock is. I need to give this a 2 because it's only use is for showing off. I would give this a 0 if it didn't look good on the gun.

I cannot stress enough how much you should not get this. Its the worst upgrade you can get for the A-5 and is a waste of a lot of money.

Save Your Money. Get Something Else
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfiffick Friday, November 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Folding combat stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel, e-grip, compressed air, intruder vertical bottle foregrip, compressed air.
Strengths: Looks good,solid construction
Weaknesses: had to use a hammer to push the pins in.
Review: Being tall (6'5") the stock did not slide out far enough for me. Also, not enough clearace for my mask to use my sites. I also had to use a hammer to gently tap in the push pins in all the way when I installed it. I e-mailed opsgear, a dealer who carries this product and they say that is the way it is. I consider it a poor design. I went with a JCS combat stock with their 1 inch drop kit. The stock is adjustable to my height and with the 1 inch kit, I get good mask clearence. I also use an intruder vertical bottle foregrip to move my air tank forward so that it does not interfere with my stock. I highly recomend it if you are going to use any stock.
Conclusion: Looks good, poor mask clearance, good for an average size person, poor design on mating of push pins.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media