paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs / Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs / Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs

Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Extremely brittle shell, most intense fill color possible, anti-wiping thick fill formulation, precision sized and finished, engineered for maximum range and accuracy, designed for maximum spread area on impact. Gold shell with a fluorescent pink fill.
Product Availability 
The Zap Chronic Ultimate Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
chain hang Thursday, February 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Formula 13
RPS Premium
Karnage

Marker Setup: Main:
Blue Invert Mini
Vlocity Jr.
68/45k pure energy low pressure fix
secondary:
DM5
Recommended
Barrels:
dye boomstick or ultralite
Strengths: Breaks easy
Thick fill
Shoots smooth
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just tried this out because my team is thinking about using this in a tourney sersies and this is hands down one of the best paints i have ever shot. To start off i did the simple drop from head lengh test (Im 6'1") and it broke with easy eposing the thick yellow fill that could not be easily wiped off if hit on a player. I ran this through one of my friends pmr and my mini and it was very consitant on both guns and i had not had a report from anyone that i bounced one off i knew if i hit someone because i saw it break and never bounced. I shot a full case and only one time i choped and that was because i switched barrels. There was only dimples on a few balls but my case was at the bottom of the pallet which that can explain them.
Conclusion: This is a tourney level paint that should not think twice about buying it will pay off and help you win
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderkiller95 Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
marbz
spank
premium
anarchy
stingers
x ball
Marker Setup: Ion
Q lock feed neck
Maxd body kit
Smart parts on/off
U1 tech barrel
Vrtue ez on
Sart parts qev
Cp sling
Recommended
Barrels:
Any thing that fits i personaly like the un1 tech and the freak and the cp classic
any thing in the 697 and 687 or 689
Strengths: -Breaks on target
-Bright
-Accurate
-Consistantly round
Weaknesses: -Price
-Crap 4 woodsball
-Breaks a little (not a major concern)
Review: I was playing a touney and had 2 cases of chronic and this was my first time using Chronic besides shooting some from my friends hopper and well i was extreamly impressed we lost in the semi-finals so i couldnt play speedball because it was beong used for the finals so i went to play hyperball/woodsball and chronic held up alright the balls were breaking on little twigs now keep in mind this paint is used for shooting at inflatiable bunkers with with open space between them and no trees...the shell is desiigned for speedball because of the brittle shell for speedball not woods now the other paint at the field was spank and that was ment for woods not speedball and. . . well chronic proformed over the whole day with out to many flaws but none to major but ill have to give it a 7 for woods and a 10 for speedball
Conclusion: I have to give it a 7 for woods and a 10 for speedball and ill give it a 10 cuz i play speedball not woods now i proformed alright on woods but not to well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goodie911 Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Chronics
Pretty much anything that zap makes
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Zap Amp Reactor
Two 14 Ounce co2 tanks
And One 9 ounce tank
Recommended
Barrels:
A Good Sized Barrel Works Best With These Paintballs
Strengths: Every Thing
It has A Nice Thick fill And Breaks Every time
Weaknesses: There Are No Weaknesses
Review: I once saw this ball about a month ago and i bought 1 case of 2000 balls. And i went into the target rage with 200 balls in My electronic hopper and Zap AMP REACTOR. I put it on full Auto (20 bps) and they all broke i filled my hopper again and went in with my gun on semi auto every ball broke then i switched guns and went to a 98 custom i filled the hopper went in the target range and pressed the saftey off and started shooting (and i only had a little bit of air left) And they all broke again


Conclusion: Im telling you go out and search for a dealer that sells these paintballs cause i can guarntee you that they will break every time and i forgot to tell you... for those cheaters out there that wipe the paint off when they get hit you can not wipe these babys off Im telling You get these balls
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3022 Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only comparable are RPS Marbalizers

Other tournament grade paint - regular Zap Chronics, Draxxus Hellfire, Severe Cyclone... are good, but simply not so good. Draxxus Hellfire are perhaps the closest, but anyway there is big difference between them.

...and regular field paint (Zap Tork, Draxxus Blaze, PMI Premium) can you really not compare with this.
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), ZGP-94 (two), Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC, AGD MiniMag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosman 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Barrels:
Best will be .689" (medium bore) barrel, or little smaller, but you can use nearly any barrel with this paint..
Strengths: Accuracy, size
Weaknesses: I think that there is no key weakness
Review: This is basically better sort of regular Zap Chronics, more accurate, little larger and little more breakable. It is really good paint, better than most of other top tournament paintballs. There are not many comparable. Only the RPS Marbalizers are imho little better, but the difference is perhaps only cosmetic - Marbs have better seam, are firmer and little larger. For most of users there will be perhaps no difference in performance in between of them.

I have tested many paint brands and sorts, but for the present, only two from them are on the top: RPS Marbalizers and these Zap Chronics 420 Gold or Zap Ultimate Chronics (two names, the same paint).
Conclusion: Number two when goes on accuracy. If you can not have number one, buy this. Final effect will be probably the same.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theled26 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of RPS
Marker Setup: ego 06
cp one piece .689
Recommended
Barrels:
any non stock .687-.689
Strengths: No breaks
Strong bright fill
Weaknesses: They like to get oily when its hot outside
Review: I havent had a break yet and ive fired well over 3 cases. mosssttt shots break on target, but if you got a ripper of a gun who shots a guy one time. ive never had one swerve on me or do somtin crazy in the air. solid paintball, up there with evils and rps makes.
Conclusion: Fairly priced and can shoot very well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderpilot642 Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Menace
Xballs bronze
Stingers
Some others Im not sure which
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs 05
hybrid hedloc feedneck
20 oz co2
cp one piece 14 inch black
dye stickys
viewloader revolution tripod
Recommended
Barrels:
.688-.689
Strengths: Round
Fill
NO DIMPLES
Break on target, not in barrel
Shot straight
Weaknesses: None
Maybe price for rec players and stuff
Review: I got this case for the price of zap rec paint (35 bucks) since zap mispackaged it, so i didnt have a problem with the price.
This is very very very good paint, the fill is super crazy, glow in the dark (not really), neon, so bright it can blind you bright. Its so notaceable when you hit your target since its so neon in color.
There were no dimples, it was perfectly round, which means flies straight.
Conclusion: Excellent paint, i would even recommend for tourneys.
Try it Now!!!
10
this is the best paint ive shot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint men Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
alot of different paintballs dont get me started
Marker Setup: Jt tactical recon, empire electrical hopper, 8 inch barrel with home made silencer, usually 20 oz c02 sometimes a 5000 psi air bottle
Recommended
Barrels:
lenghty barrels
12 inch +
Strengths: They are strong and dont swerve
Weaknesses: None really
Review: These are an effective ball they are bright so it is visible, they dont swerve , they are strong. some times pricey to get but they are a top quality ball i have only tested but they were given to me by someone that has been using for years and he never doubts them
Conclusion: A brilliant ball buy in large numbers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarHamster Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Chronic (non-420)
Zap Spank
Nelson Black-Ops
Nelson Nelsplat
PMI Marbs
X-Ball Gold
Draxxus Blaze
Draxxus Hellfire
Draxxus Polar Ice
Marker Setup: -Custom Built Sniper II (2001 WGP Body)
-Custom Built Autococker (2004 AIM Body)
-Upgraded Smart Parts Ion
-Upgraded CCI Phantom VSC
-Upgraded Ariakon ACP Pistol
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that matches. I'm an advocate of the SP Freak & Powerlyte Scepter barrels myself.
Strengths: -Very Bright Visible Fill
-Always breaks on target
-Extremely consistant & round shell
-Shoots consistantly
Weaknesses: -Brittle shell can break in HP markers or cold weather
-Expensive
Review: I was a huge fan of Zap paint before they got bought out & changed their paint standards (back when Spank was a green shell, not purple). I Thought their Spank & their Chronic were both amazing. Spank was durable enough to be shot through ANYTHING without breaking while still breaking on the target, and Chronic was just as good, only it had the added bonus of being more consistantly sized & round, and thus flew amazingly well.

Then Zap got bought out. After wasting my money on 2 cases of Spank & two cases of Chronic, I gave it up as a lost cause. The new owner cut quality control and raised prices. Spank now broke on a regular basis, and Chronic wasn't much better. My friends & I spent more time squeegeeing our markers & wishing our shots were going straight, then we did getting eliminations.

That brings us up to the present and gives you an idea where I'm reviewing this Chronic 420 from. After giving up on Zap, I discovered X-Ball gold & loved it. I used it for close to a year before my store was completely out the day before paintballing. I'd heard from a few people at the store that 420 was still good despite the new owners at Zap, so I broke down & bought a case.

It cost me $65 which strikes me as a lot considering I pay $40 for X-Ball gold, but I was desperate so I paid it. Upon getting home and looking at the paint, the first thing I noticed is that it was all a consistant size again, just like the old Chronic I used to use before the buyout. It was fitting my .687 FREAK insert perfectly. In 50 something rounds only one rolled straight through, and none were so tight that I couldn't easily blow them out. I thought we were off to a great start. I took a few out onto my back porch and firied off a hopper with my autococker. It looked like we were off to a more then great start. It was not only shooting just as straight as my X-Ball, but I didn't have any of the breaks I feared I might get. I was set to hit the field and depending on how it performed it looked like I had a permanent replacement for my X-Ball gold.

Now before, I start on what happened at the field, I'd like to make it clear that it was snowing, 30 degrees, and windy which more then likely had a big impact on the events.

When I got to the field the next day I went to chrono my markers. This is usually a comical task because I'm walking to the back of the staging area with anywhere between 2 & 5 markers. Today, I was walking back with my ACP pistol stuffed in my pocket, my sniper II & phantom in one arm, & my cocker with tank & hopper in the other. First I tried to chrony the ACP. I should have known better then to even try to use a marker that runs on 12 grams in freezing whether. The third ball out of the barrel was a break. Every subsequent shot after that either broke in the barrel or shot off so wildly that it was anyone's guess where it would hit. Well crap, alright not to be discouraged I put the ACP away & tried my phantom. Hopefully it would fare a bit better on 12 grams. Nope another break inside of the first 10 shots. Hmm, that's no good. Alright I guess I can give up on my pumps & pistols today. At least I have a full case to use with the cocker. I went to chrony the cocker. 276, 280, 288, 284. Good good, shot a rope to make sure everythign was working alright. Suprise suprise, another break. At this point I simply gave up on the Chronic 420 and borrowed a case of polar ice from my friend (which worked well I might add) for the rest of the day.

Not to be discouraged, I took all my markers out to my back yard on the next nice day we had. It was about 48 degrees, sunny, & no wind. I brought out everything this time., My cocker, my piranha, my ACP, my sniper II, & my phantom. Without a chrony I had to hope they were still all chronographed, but I was reasonably sure none were shooting over 300fps just by watching the ball's flight. First I tried the cocker since that had worked earlier. I shot half a hopper in perfect ropes. No breaks & I couldn't ask for better shot consistancy. Next the Phantom. I fired the first ten rounds with no problem. I broke round number 6 in the next ten rounds. So I got 16 rounds before a break. I cleaned the marker out and started firing again, and I got 12 rounds this time before a break. Well, I guess my phantom just doesn't like this stuff. Next onto the ACP, where I had the same results as the phantom. I broke round number 8. Cleaned it out then broke round number 14; well crud. Onto my piranha. The piranha was a paint blender. I broke one on probably the 7th or 8th round & went downhill from there. Well only one marker left, time to try the sniper II. Thankfully my sniper put it's entire mini-hopper of 50 rounds out without a single break & as accurate as I could ask for. After sighting the red dot scope in for the correct distance (a large tree in my backyard) I was able to consistantly put rounds onto the dot.

I don't know about you, but my experiences at the field & at my back yard lead me to believe that Chronic 420 is an excellent paint with a very brittle shell. It seems to be poorly suited for high pressure markers or cold weather conditions. It shot poorly and broke whenever the round was stressed (cold weather or a high pressure markers) and it shot amazingly well when conditions were good for it (warm weather & a low pressure marker).

Would I buy 420 again? Not when 1/2 of the markers I regularly use at the field can't fire it. Should you buy it? I'd say, only if you live in warm weather and shoot an Ion/shocker, cocker, matrix, or other lower pressure marker.
Conclusion: If you're shooting a tippman, blowback, or any sort of high pressure marker or if you plan to use your marker in colder weather then steer clear of this paint. If you use a LP marker & you're willing to treat this paint right (not use it in cold and not abuse it too badly) it should treat you very well, and I would reccomend it.

I'm going to give it a 7 out of 10. Great in the right conditions, if you can meet those rather picky conditions.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tasa Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
maybe evil and marbs
Marker Setup: purple/black acid wash VSC phantom w/ matching 16 inch barrel, T stock, ball detent rings, all clear parts
Recommended
Barrels:
any ...this paint is just that good
Strengths: Best fill ever ,ultra bright , super big break, brittle, and is acccurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: this is the best paint ever i would pay the price for it any day just because i know that the ball ball wont bounce so every shot is an elimination. This paint will win you tourneys and up your reputation at your local field (if you can use outside paint)
Conclusion: BUY THIS PAINT but always make sure its fresh
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbaylor828 Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, Heat, Proball, Midnight, Super Swirl.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with LPK, 2 finger E-grip, Flatline,
Nitro duck 68/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline Works Great with this paint!!!
Strengths: Bright fill, cannot wipe this stuff!! Great shell breaks everytime!!!!
Weaknesses: None At All
Review: I have used so much paint, and I am only impressed with proball more than this paint, simply because it is 20 bucks less than This ulimate and almost, not quite, but almost performs as good as far as range and accuracy goes. But the fill is impossible to wipe, you only make it worse when you do. I will continue to buy this paint forever. Also, the real name of this paint I believe is now called 420. Buy it you will not regret this purchase especially if you have cheaters where you play!!!
Conclusion: Wonderful flight, great shell that always breaks on target and not in barrel, and such a bright thick fill that no one can successfully cheat after being hit with this ball. Buy it, You will really enjoy the money well spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media