paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board / Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 336
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New VL Y-board eVLution II. Feed up to 19bps, and solved most problems regarding light. Other than the Y-board, the hopper is the same.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader eVLution II Y-Board is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
rocker2rocker Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Halos, empire reloader,
Marker Setup: icon z, whisper barrel, evollution 2 with Y board
Strengths: Fast,durable, shape
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a good hopper I only played 2 games with it and it works really good. The hopper has an eye wich it really helps. The lid makes it easier to load without spilling an paint. The shape is really neat and is pretty sturdy. Its speed is 19 bps with y board and 17 with out
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninja shocker Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo b ( better for front)
ricochet (good not great)
Strengths: Decently fast
adjustable speed settings
holds alot for electro
Weaknesses: Battery door can come loose (tape will keep it in place)
Review: Of the many hoppers i have used the egg as it is called has served me well and i still use it as my favorite hopper it might not be quite as fast as a halo but it has a greater ammo capacity making it slightly better suited for back players also some people say that this hopper is of poor make but i have used the same one for over a year and have encountered no problems with the lid or the overall construction
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to any back player but not so much to front due to its size also if possible put the Z-board on the egg to give it a little more speed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EMPIREMAN14 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution 2
Halo b
Empireb
Marker Setup: Diablo Mongoose
14 inch proagression barral
Evolution 2 with y board
Diablo wrath trigger
68ci 3000psi tank
Strengths: Nice no spill lid
Cool shape
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this hopper when I first got my diablo I bought a revloution 2 hopper. It was nice but I was not very impressed with it. Then I tryed my friends halo b I liked it but it was way to big and bulky I did not like it that much after I got my evloution 2. it feeds very fast and is very reliabel.
Conclusion: I love this hopper and you should to
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TerrorTrooper Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revvi
Halo B
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego (Blue to Silver Fade)
JT Proteus Clear.
VL Evolution 2 (Y Board)
+ Zeus G2 as a backup.
PMI 5000 PSI 68 Cu
Strengths: Fast Enough.
Nice Shape.
Weight Well Distributed.
Reliable.
Weaknesses: Battery Door.
Swine To Strip.
Poor Construction Materials.
Review: ok, when i got my Viewloader Evolution II (egg 2) with Y Board, i was rightly Sceptical of the claims of 19 BPS that is stated on the Box.. But most companys advertise there products with an unrealistic theoretical maximum, so i wont gripe too much about that..

I have seen a lot of people moan about the spacer between the 2 batterys.
Saying that with it in, they had to remove their batterys with pliers ect..
Obviously those individuals didnt read the manual that came with the Egg..
OK. its a hopper, youve handled other hoppers.. but instructions are there for a reason, you never know what tid-bits of information might be in them worth noting...

Said people are quick to scorn the spacer without actually realising what it is for..
well.. let me enlighten you.. C class Batterys (9V square ones to you and me..) are not manufactured to a specific size, none of them can agree to a standard size, granted, most makes of battery fit rather comfortably without the spacer, (so if your forcing it in anyway.. then frankly.. that was silly thing to do.. wasnt it?) but a couple of makes 9V batterys are rediculously small.. so the spacer will go inbetween them to stop them rattling about in the casing..

OK. now i got that out of my system.. im sorry if i sound condescending.. but please.. read the manual people.. it is there for a reason, and should only be used if needed..

Right, Let me start my Review..
NOTE :- i have 2 Eggs.. what i say covers both.

STREGNTHS :-

- "Reliable." All in all, i have had very few actual technical glitches or problems with this loaders mechanics, when it does act up, it either needs new batterys or a good clean
and its right as rain.

- "Relatively Fast." This loader feeds quite happily at 13 BPS, with a fresh set of batterys, it can just barely manage 15 BPS. this is by no means what its advertised at, but this is generally more than adequate unless you got super fingers, or ramping..
In whitch case, slam a Z Board in it, this should knock it up a ball or 2..
(i measure its speed with an EGO with Eyes on.)

- "Battery Life." The General Concensus seems to be about 5000 shots on 2 x 9V batterys. i actually get between 7000 and 10000 ber pair, whitch im quite happy about.

- "weight distribution." ok, this is down to personal preference, but the Egg comes back from the feedneck rather than being directly on top of it like other hoppers, the laws of physics & perpetual motion, and my personal prefference of how my gun weight should be distributed at the rear, make my Egg the hopper of coice for me if im going to be swinging my gun about a lot.

- "Shape," The Eggs profle is pretty decent, especially after you trim an inch of the feedneck, and its shape just looks cool...

WEAKNESSES :-

- "Build Material." The shell and feedneck of the Egg feel like some Brittle Thermosetting Plastic, and sure enough, they are..
Ive had several broken Battery Doors, and a couple of broken lids.. both my feednecks are also cracked, but so far, havent had to replace them.

- "Stripping." The Egg is fairly simple inside, but BE WARNED! pay very close attention to how it comes apart as if you dont, putting it together again can be very tricky! its not all that hard once you get the hang of it, but the first time can be VERY awkward..
I put this down to poor design. (i had no trouble with the lid springs..)

- "On/Off Switch." Although i havent actually had a problem with this, the little metal lever switch does seem like it "Could" potetially be easily damaged either on the field, or in the kit bag.. and i dont think this was the best idea Viewloader ever had when designing the Egg. Consequently, i always transport my Eggs in their boxes to prevent this ever becoming a problem..

<<<EDIT>>>

An Extra weakness i found on the Egg.
i recently purchased an SP8 whitch has a 45 feed neck with Elbow.
i bought another Egg & Z Board as i was happy with the one on my Ego.
When used on a Scenario Marker, this Hopper has a MAJOR problem.
Due to the Eggs unique way of oppening, (Mainly sliding the lid back over the hoppers
rear end) i find this puts immense strain on the Elbow of a scenario marker..
(due to the hoppers feedtube being right at the front, and the lid at the back, a simple understanding of physics and tensile stregnth should have made me see this coming..)

i will not Edit my score as i am still verry happy with Eggs.. but it seems i will need to cut my losses, and buy something top loading for my SP8..
Conclusion: The Egg is a Decent Hopper for the Price, as it will keep up with the demands that most players will exert on it..
I get the impression that perhaps Viewloader were in a hurry to get the Egg on the market, as i feel some really poor design choices were made in its construction
and have resultantly left it with some rather dissapointingly obvious design flaws..
Apart from that though, it is a fine hopper, and i would recomend it..
I gave it an 8 as it is certainly an adequate hopper...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

spion009 Monday, February 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader II
Marker Setup: SP Ion
48/3000 PMI HPA tank
Egg II
Strengths: The Egg will keep up with almost any marker I have not had anything break
Weaknesses: Speed adjuster kinda worthless
Lid snaps hard
Review: I have not disassembled this yet but in my experience i would say it is a very good loader if you find a deal on one pick it up I got this one for 30 dollars and so far it has not given me any problems. The only real problem with this woulf be the feed neck it feels really flimsy but it is very strong and also the feel neck does not fit into any o ring feed neck you nned a clamping feed neck.
Conclusion: i would recommed it and it can be found very cheap the only people i would not recommend this to are people shooting 20+ balls per second but you can pick up a Z board for that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplatCase Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only other hopper that I have used was the good ol' "shake n bake".
Marker Setup: Red and Black Spyder Pilot ACS
-Stock Everything
-Evo 2 Loader
-20 oz CO2
Strengths: -19+ bps feed rate
-Very easy to use
-Looks are killer
Weaknesses: -Flip lid is very prone to cracking at one of the two hinges.
Review: I have started out in paintball much like many of you. We all start with inexpensive equipment that points us in the general direction. From my very humble begins from a pump Brass Eagel kit, to a Pirhana R6 kit, and finally to my current Spyder Pilot and other said pieces of gear.

-I have never used an electronic hopper until recently so I was completely blown away by the product.

-When I purchased my gun from the paintball shop that I went too I was given a discount on a loader and the salesmen recommended this particular loader.

-I did manage to crack the hinge for the flip lid on one lazy sunday afternoon while just opening and closing it in a sane fashion. I was quite upset that after spending $80 of my hard earned money that the lid would break doing what it is suppose to do.... Just by opening and closing it. I did write an email to the company but it took a good 3 1/2 weeks for them to respond (I've yet to follow up upon it), in the mean time I was lucky enough to purchase one from the field that I play at for a reasonable $3. I was talking to the gentleman behind the counter aiding me and he parted some information along the lines of ...."Yea, the first generation were build like rocks and nobody had a need to buy spare parts, now they use crappy plastics on purpose with the hopes that customers will have to buy replacement parts". I found that be dishearting information.

-In the future I will consider looking into other electronic loaders but for now this bad boy does a fine job.
Conclusion: Functions great for the time that I have had it. Hopefully the new flip lid will not break anytime soon. Understand that a *10* is given to what I feel to be exceptionally phenominal products/values/buys/etc.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snagz Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/rip drive
Gravity viewloader
Marker Setup: black ion
lightning bolt
j&j s2 ceramic barrel
redz cam loc neck
vp scythe trigger
psychoballistics z-drop
pmi 68/4500
Evo II Y-board
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Durable shell
Weaknesses: In review
Review: I bought the egg because i didnt have the money for a halo and needed an electric hopper. I like the look and that it has a good ball capacity. It feeds fast enough for stock ion's, but any upgrades you can easily out shoot the hopper. I didnt like how high it sits, so i took a dremel and cut the raceway so the elbow sits flush with the feed neck for a much lower profile. I havent had anything break on it yet, but i have had two friends break their lids where they pivot. I strongly recommend finding a way to reinforce that area, also taking the one or both springs off so it doesnt snap back when reloading cause that can crack the lid. Also the battery door is a bit flimsy, but when attached i havent had any problems. I dont like that you have to lean the gun forward to get a full fill compared to the Halo where you can leave it level and that when you are refilling during a game the lid can be a pain to open. The adjustment screw, which is a plastic plug that inserts into an allen hole on the board, broke off when i was speeding up the feedrate. That could have been made better. If it were built a little more sturdy, the price would be right, but all the little things that break they should lower it a bit.
Conclusion: It's a decent hopper, but if you are going to be playing for a while, i recommend going with the Halo. Just all around a better hopper. I am content with this for now, but will be upgrading in the near future.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 1:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spinal Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, Evo2 w/ Y-board, NDZ Clamping feedneck, JT 50/3000, Empire 7pc kit
Strengths: Feeds fast
Good plastic
Light
Weaknesses: None
Review: As the saying goes, "You get what you pay for." I didn't pay a lot so I don't expect top of the line performance but I didn't pay a little so I expect it to be decent. This hopper delivers, I got it and i must say I am impressed. Its consistant and doesn't go through batteries. I've shot about 2 cases so far and still haven't replaced the batteries. Although people complain about the battery door, lid where the paintballs go in, the ones on mine are fine. Then again I don't really know what people do while they play, but thats besides the point. But i must say instead of the raceways coming in 2 halves it should be one solid piece for the neck not 2.
Conclusion: Overall this hopper is good for the money, its relativley fast (and with my gun i cant outshoot it anyway), only thing it needs is a better neck.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 19th, 2006 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer667 Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy.
Extreme rage overdrive. (crap)
Gravity feed.
Marker Setup: 2005 autococker prostock.
All american barrel.
Egg.
3000PSI tank.
Strengths: Durable.
Fast.
Large ball capasity.
Weaknesses: None that I have found.
Review: Well, first off I would have to say this is a great hopper. I decided to get this hopper after I kept outshooting my revy ( and this is with a mech cocker). Now revys ar'nt bad, but I still dont think they can do more than 10 bps. Well anyways let me get to the strengths of this hopper. For all you prostock cocker owners out there this hopper's feedneck fits perfectly in my feedneck. This hopper is also very durable, you can drop it on the concrete ground many time's and it will not even crack. This is good for when you do your superman slides on to a bunker and slam your hopper into the side of it. Also this hopper has an impresive drop rate. 19 bps is more than fast enough for any marker ( even though on my drop tests I was getting 18 bps, not a big deal). Anyways for all you back to mid players, this is the hopper for you, I can fit 200 balls in it with a .689 size, this is the perfect amount of balls for me ( I play back to mid). Also I dont know if this is true but when paintballs hit this hopper they seem to rickochet away, I guess this is because of its curved design.
Conclusion: Well anyways this is a great hopper for skills from noob to pro. All in All this is a great loader. Buy it.

I am giving this hopper a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dropkickahippy Thursday, February 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b- much faster, much sturdier, a little bit heavier, soooo much better
revy with Xboard- slower, stronger
Strengths: Cheap
Strong feedneck
Holds more than a halo
Weaknesses: Looks
makes gun off balance
plastic breaks a lot
loading is annoying
SLOW
Review: I hate this hopper so much. It is very slow even with zboard and high quality batteries. It also makes you point your gun up too high since it throws off your setups balance. I bought this used from someone at my field and throughout the three months I used it I had to buy a new lid, new right shell, and a new battery door becasue the plastic is so weak. I also lost so many paintballs because it is weird to load it
This hopper should not be bought by anyone, it was a waste of my time and money.
Conclusion: DON'T BUY IT. It is not worth the time to try this. I spent more money on an used egg2 with zboard and new shells, battery door, and lid than I did on my used halo b with z code.

If you want a electric hopper, your only choices should be a viewloader revolution and a halo/empire b.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media