paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
supra_man101 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, e-cockers, viking
Marker Setup: 03' cocker
sticky 3 grip
14'' kaner
cp razor drop and asa
egg
nitro duck 45/45
**knoe its not the sh!t but am getting a dm4 soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new grip
WAS board and eyes if ya dont already have em
Strengths: FaSt!!
super accurarte-closed bolt
comfortable feel

Weaknesses: Not the lightest out there
Review: Wow wow wow. The first time i used an excal was at a tourny, a friend let me use his extra, and was an old, old excal (serial number 00056) with all this new stuff on it (WAS board and eyes, double finger trigger, ect,), and was a really fast, accurate gun. And one thing that i really loved about this gun was that it is probalby one of the most air efficient guns out there, and u can probably get close to a case of paint on a full 68/45. I played back so i didnt have a problem with the wieght, but this gun coulb be a little lighter, not saying its heavy. The only problem i had was the old stock feed neck, which wasnt threaded and was glued, and after about 5 games, fell of over and over and over, which was a little frustrating. When buying this gun stock, it takes some money to make it a really comfortable, perfected gun. One thing that is really important in performance that only come in the 04 excals is the WAS board and WAS eyes. U can shoot sooo much faster with them, and cost about 240 dollars for that setup. With out them, u cant shoot faster then 16 without chopping. The only other performance upgrade is a new barrel. The stock javelin barrels arent anything to brag about, and there also sort of ugly. Those are the only rell performance upgrades. A new grip would be comfortable, the stock plastic ones arent that good. With a lil bit of tweaking and timing here and there this gun can become as good performance wise than a dm4, and are probably a teensy bit more accurate than a dm4.
The good thing about excals that make them like no other gun is how they operate. Everyone knows that cockers are some of the most accurate guns out there. AKA took the closed-bolt operation of the cocker and put it in the excalibur. Actually, excals work a lot like cockers, and have that accuracy AND the faster speed. Why are they faster then even E-cockers (talking about excals with WAS setup)??? Because they work like cockers, but all of the moving stuff is done electronically and internally, getting rid of al of those moving parts.That is also why there a little bulky. One more thing about these is the milling. I have one word for the milling and body...boring. Its too blocky and doesnt really have what u would call inovative milling.
Conclusion: Overall this gun (with WAS set-up) kicks a$$ and is one of the best oiut there, with accuracy thats arguably the best, speed that is uncapped, and not super heavy, so an excal with a WAS board gets a ten, but one without gets a 9 cuz the ones without eyes tend to chop, and it gets dirty when it chops, and is a b!tch to clean, so it gets a 9 without WAS setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 at 2:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Montypup Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almso every other high end electro
Marker Setup: 2k3 Acidwash half-milled Excalibur, WAS board, WAS eyes, WAS switch, 14" ANS S-5 barrel kit, Hybrid rail, 68/4500 Centerflag "Thunder" Dynaflow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the pandora board, eyes and switch. They turn the excalibur into a machine gun. Clamping feedneck also helps too.
Strengths: Very, very smooth. Little mainteance required, no need for major upgrades (except for eyes)
Weaknesses: Limited to 10bps out of the box, stock barrel isn't the best.
Review: I picked up my excalibur used. This helped me save over the overpriced retail price. I immediately sent it off to get the eyes drilled and put into it. After getting it back, it was one of the fastest gun i've ever shot. I was amazed by not only the speed, but how smooth it shot. It's also easy to take care of. All you have to do is put a drop of extreme lube into the asa, dry fire a few times, and you're ready to rock. Overall, this is an excellent marker, from a company with an excellent reputation.
Conclusion: A bit overprices, so pick up one used. This is one of the best guns i've ever shot, right up there with the dm4.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CheetohFingers Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushys, tippys, angels, spyders, cockers
Marker Setup: 04 jmj featherlite excal
halo b w/ z code
sceptor kit
macdev conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above
Strengths: Accuracy, Efficiency
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: You should get most of the idea by now.
However, it was thought to be heavy, but the jmj milling makes it about 2.5 pounds.
It used to be slow but was'ed out i can get about 18bps.
It is still expensive, efficient (1800 shoots on a 68/4500), deadly accurate, and low low maintenance.
Unfortunately it is no longer in production.

Conclusion: If you can find and afford one, get one!
Closed bolt gnomes really do exist, and they live in much faster markers these days!

Edit: After a year of use, I like it even more. I may never replace this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 8:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frisky Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulses, ebladed cockers, but nothing really compares to this marker
Marker Setup: 03' Outkast cocker graphite with a 15* asa, dye ultralite boomy, JAM ani-chop bolt, and a cam adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
none this thing kicks major huevos stock
Strengths: A C C U R A C Y
Weaknesses: none that i really recognizedbut it is heavier then my buddys impulse
Review: when i went to the so-cal paintball expo they were letting people shoot these markers with brand new ricochet apache loaders on em full of paint. i picked this puppy up and checked the trigger, very VERY light snappy pull. i started ripping on this trigger and shot half the hopper in ( it seemed like) two seconds, fast as a mofo. but the best part was that the paint placement never moved. there was one paint splat on the target board and i shot 200 rnds. AWESOME accuracy , way better then my buds impulse. i didnt want to put this thing down, if i had 1300$ i would have bought that thing right there.
Conclusion: awesome marker from 1-10 it gets an 11
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mattdieter Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
matrix
Marker Setup: totaly chome RT Mag
- benchmark 2x grip
- clear dye panel grips
- level 10
- halo tsa
- 68/3000 fiberglass
- dye cradle with on/off


Recommended
Upgrades:
a hopper that feeds over 13 balls per second
freak system
Strengths: fast
nice trigger
accurate
low recoil
Weaknesses: heavier than other electros
high price tag
Review: Before I owned a gun, I used to borrow this one. I never appreciated it until I shot other guns. Compared to cockers, this is just as accurate, way faster, and much less of a problem. Compared to mags it is faster, and more accurate. And angels, intimidators, impulses, bushmasters, and open bolt guns don't hold up to the accuracy of this gun. In fact, the only guns that I can really compare are the matrices and shockers. I used to have a lot of fun with this gun. After I bought my first personal gun (Bruizer), I relized what a perfect paintball gun the excalibur was. I really would enjoy if they dropped the price on them about $500. In my oppinion, if the only things they changed on the excalibur were the price and the weight, it would be the most popular tournement gun ever. I really miss this gun :(.
Conclusion: I would buy my own if I had the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vmhuang Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Gold PBX Excalibur
Evil pipe
CP Perfect drop
2K3 Conquest 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.. nothing to upgrade
Strengths: Reliability, consistency, efficiency. All excellent
Weaknesses: The only thing is the weight on an unmillled. But customs can be under 3lbs.
Review: Dare I say it!?! It is the perfect marker. Low maintenance, super reliable, nothing to adjust besides velocity. Nothing to fiddle with, just gas it up and go. I get close to 2000 balls for a full 68/4500 fill. What more could someone ask for !?!

It is a little pricey compared to most other markers, but compared to the Ironmen Matrixes or the Dragon Intimidators, not that bad at all. But like these markers, you get what you pay for. AKA has super tight manufacturing tolerances which makes for a super reliable marker.
Conclusion: If you got the $$$... get the Excalibur. Prefer an open bolt feel, get its brother the Viking. Can't go wrong with either... want something even more exotic!?! Get custom ones by On Target Entertainment (Immortal), JMJ Concepts (Featherlite), Splatt Attack (Streamlines), Destructive Customs, Bonebrake and a few others. Visit Pbnation for all the info.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

templeton5 Tuesday, October 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ok here we go!
-Ripper Timmy
-Ironman Timmy
-Species Timmy
-Classic Timmy
-Angel LCD
-Angel Speed
-Eclipse Angel LED
-Dark Angel IR3
-Eblade Cocker
-F5 cocker
-AKA Viking
-Matrix
-Dye Matrix
-Tequila Sunrise Matrix
-Trauma Matrix
-NYX Matrix
-Bushmasters
Marker Setup: Aka Excalibur
-Dye Boomstick
-WAS board w/ eye
-Twist lock rise
-Angel A.I.R
-Soda Can Mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS board if u don't have, so fast its crazy
New barrel like a freak, boomy or pipe though the stock is great
Reliability
Strengths: Pretty fast
Accurate
Awesome Customer Service
Weaknesses: Sorta heavy
Hard to find
Expensive $$$$ if u dont know where to look (hint ebay)
Review: This marker is great i bought mine just lately off ebay for $825 shipped. This marker is fast and extemely accurate. On the flip side it is sorta heavy( mostly because im using angel air). It can be very expensive if you buy it directly from the factory. The main thing about this gun is that is very reliable. My teamate has an angel and it just keeps breaking down from board problems and leaks. No offence to WDP i love their guns i used to own one.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. I say if you have the money then go for it. The gun is fast and accurate. Pus the service and reliablility are top notch.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 28th, 2003 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

P8ntballfanatic Sunday, October 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about all electro guns out there: intimidators angels e-blades vikings excaliburs impulses
Marker Setup: blue acid wash half milled excalibur with eyes pipe barrel razor cp drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
eyes are nice HALO B is a must
Strengths: very accurate fast lite butiful Your ideal gun
Weaknesses: none yet except that it costs a tone over 1500
Review: The excalibur is one of the nicest guns availibil on the market today. it shoots very nicey and you can set the balls per second to what ever you want to keep up with any hopper. The eyes seem to work with the best and one thing that i liked was the fact that they drilled the eyes at the bottom of the bolt chamber so the ball has to be seeted all the way in before it will register the presence of the ball.
Conclusion: If you have the money to get one I would recomend it but if you cant trade for one that is bone stock the still shoot nicely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iLUVvikings Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking
Ir3
Angel lcd
Autococker
Intimidator 2003
Marker Setup: Viking with was board, wicked switch, scm, ccm no rise, jmj blade trigger, dye sticky 3's, check it unimount, and an assortment of barrels.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eyes, and a light trigger. make sure you have a fast hopper.
Strengths: A C C U R A C Y. It can be fast.
Weaknesses: isn't the fastest gun out. you need to have the skill to use it.
Review: I have to say that this is simply the best gun I have ever used( so far). The accuracy is the best, and if it is upgraded to the max then watch out opponents. My brother owns a featherlight, and he simply gogs everyone. If you want to survive a match up against one then when you put him in, then don't you dare let him out. I have read reviews about other guns having incredible accuracy, but when i used them i never saw it! people always said you could nail a tack all the way across the field with what they had. they never said it didn't take them all day and several cases to do it. I am always sold on accuracy and this gun has it, but I don't have the money, or at least the courage to spend my money to get one.
Conclusion: If you are tired of missing game winning shots, then you need to try one out. They are not the fastest gun out(the viking is), but they make the money shots all the time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ILLSTATE Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other excaliburs and closed bolt guns
Marker Setup: Mountain Dew Excalibur 207
16' Dye Ultralite .686
PE 45/45 NO DROP
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you have an older model, put new 'noids and was board and eyes and if you have a hundo laying around get the scm
Strengths: Very smooth and easy to rip and INCREDIBLY gas efficient
Weaknesses: Pricey at start and upgrades are pricey as well
Review: well mine was a machine gun, pretty much was one of the smoothest, straightest shooting guns around. Only downside is mine was a battery hog. Other than that absolutely beautiful. I had an ugly color, but you'd only say that after i cracked you one in the face. This gun on the other hand IS always that consistent -/+ 1 or 2 unlike other people that claim this consistency.
Conclusion: well its an incredibly well made peice of machinery. Worked perfect all the time and incredibly consistent and efficient and smooth.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media