paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
andress Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cockers (pretty much all of 'em),angels,timmys,bushmasters,etc.
Marker Setup: aka marlin cocker (upgraded excal) with featherlight body from jmj designs
total freak barrel 12 inch
max-flo regulator (costum made)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ok, a really good marker as it comes right out of the box... i got it a new barrel but that javelin shoots so damn straight but it wont fit all paint
Strengths: fast, accurate, sweet looking, super low pressure, almost no need of maintainance
Weaknesses: none, stock barrel dosent fit all paint
Review: an excellent marker from an excelent company AKA really outdid themselves with the new excal, i got it a featherlight body cause the costum body was kindda heavy.... shoots straight, fast and accurate right outta the box... even though the stock barrel brakes cheap paint its damn good i reccomend a boomy or a freak...... kindda pricey but well worth the $$$... sweet sweet sweet trigger shoots really really nice.... cool milling
Conclusion: GREAT GREAT GREAT..... really good marker... if your going serious get it cause its well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MojojojoAF Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Powerlyte with Eblade, Cockers with Eblade and they don't compare
Marker Setup: EXCALIBUR, Sidewinder reg, Dye SS Boomstick, Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
It was perfect, I dont own it but it worked hella good for me.
Strengths: Quiet, fast, accurate
Weaknesses: I don't own it!
Review: I tested this Excal last night after practice and I was really very impressed. It was quiet and soooo fast. It had no kick to it at all, and I was ripping paint. I ended up playing a game with it and it was down to almost 300psi and was still ripping, although the ball began to arc just a bit. I had never used a gun that was so low pressure.

There was no eye, but I never chopped once. I did not feel any weight penalty as I had heard nor did I see anything wrong with the gun except the splash ano wasn't my flavor.

I can not tell you how impressed I was, I had been using me Ebladed cocker all night and was very happy with it untill I started using the Excal.

Conclusion: If you can afford one, I am going to guarrantee you will like it. This marker rocks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 31st, 2003 at 7:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toothpastedog Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, impulses, e-mags, shockers, matrixes, and other electros
Marker Setup: impulse vision, max-flo, hsw front grip, k2 werm trigger, voodoo bolt, tapeworm, nd front cap, nd bio cap, sp brass hammer, strange derlin bolt pin, silk shot ram, rip valve, smart grips, twister lr, freak, ti boomstick, halo, warp (don't use it that much due to halo), and a old angel led frame converted to fit on my impulse (w/ some mods) made by imperial (werm) paintball. i thinks that's it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. a new barrel isn't nessisary because the stock one is a great high quality barrel, but its bore size is tiny (the barrel is meant to be used with the highest quality small-bore paintballs). other than that the only other upgrades you need are only cosmetics except for maybe a drop forward.
Strengths: Autococker, angel, shocker, matrix and tippmann
Weaknesses: Price tag, ugly, break in time (?)
Review: If i could have any gun it would be a JMJ concepts milled featherlight excalibur. if i could have any other gun it would be a stock excalibur. if i could have any other gun it would be a jmj concepts viking (you get the point)... this a great paintgun. as the adds and early review said, it has the long balling ability of a cocker, accurracy of a shocker, speed of an angel, low pressure operation of a matrix, and the siplicity of a tippmann. i didn't get payed by aka, it is true this is one of best stock or customized paintguns in the world. before i tried it i had heard of a break-in time for it to loosen up the internas. after the break-in time it would be primed to low its operating pressure. i did (i got it out of the box) find a breack in time for this gun. i shot 500 ball through it and it was ready to go. maybe i mis-understood the break-in time concept, but what ever. great gun, and if you were thinking of geting another angel priced gun get it, but if i had that money i'd get a jmj excalibur.
Conclusion: Also another bad thing about this marker is that it is expensive even stock. when you buy it you should get an ajustible, high quality air set up (like a macdev tank). even though it will run on co2 (only with a primary palmer or maxflo reg + the aka stock reg and a remote, and an antisiphon set up on the tank), i don't suggest using it (i never suggest using it, except shocker). as long as your running hpa your fine, and since this gun is so efficient (i forgot to mention that) it can be paired with a small tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 31st, 2004 at 6:01 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Heavy Hitter Wednesday, June 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my other excal, nothing is quit as good
Marker Setup: EDGE EXCALIBUR with 68/45 maxflo with freak n all those goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good air system and the WAS board
Strengths: AWSOME ACCURACY!!!! it comes tricked out basically you dont need to upgrade anything
Weaknesses: the marker rocks no problems except the customer service of AKALMP
Review: the only problem with this marker is the company that makes it! the marker is awsome the customer service SUCKS!!!!!!! they fix a problem and creat a new on its an on going process but the marker rocks

the marker is an awsome example of an awsome paintball gun the company that makes it is an example of shame and i hope that this review helps you and i hope the company realizes that having a lady answering the customer service that doesnt know jack about the paintball industry isnt a good plan thanks

BRian

PS about the custom service problems i speak on behalf of many people thank you
Conclusion: the marker is an awsome example of an awsome paintball gun the company that makes it is an example of shame and i hope that this review helps you and i hope the company realizes that having a lady answering the customer service that doesnt know jack about the paintball industry isnt a good plan thanks

BRian
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Ender Wednesday, October 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The shocker is the only other ultralow pressure electro I've tried.
Marker Setup: '02 Dye Cocker, Dye pneumatics, 16" Ti Boomer, Angel IR3 minireg, Izon, 68/45 AA Raptor Air, Warp Feed, Evlution II revy, Shocktech beavertail, low pressure exhaust valve, low pressure conversion(running 230 psi currently)
'99 WGP Cocker, Shocktech front block kit, Supafly bolt, Benchmark 45 grip, Dye Stickies, Ti Boomer 14", Shocktech df, 32Deg 68/45 CA tank. Shocktech beavertail, Ricochet hopper
'02 SFL Emag, level 10 bolt(duh!), Warp Feed,(duh!), Ti Boomstick 12", Home built z-grip with electronics and solenoid integrated
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are looking to upgrade anything on this gun, stay away from the internals, nothing you could put in there would make this marker any better than it is now. The only thing I would suggest is a Ti Boomstick. I would put a Ti on any gun I own.
Strengths: Ultra low pressure means ultra high effciency. The only other gun I have ever used with better efficiency as an electro is the Shocker, and that was the only thing it did better. It can shoot faster, and more accurately out to 40-50 yards. Past that neither one is very accurate but then nothing but a cocker or a flatline tippmann is.
Weaknesses: There are few upgrades available. This is only a bad thing if you are like me (diehard cocker fan) and like to tinker and upgrade until you have replaced every piece of your baby with something new.
Like the Shocker, the Akalmp is a bit unwieldy, but this is not a partcular concern to most. As far as aesthetics go, this gun is not for show. Again another idiosyncracy of cocker or angel owners used to seeing all kinds of cosmetic tailoring, not necessarily a bad thing.
Conclusion: This is a get down to business type of marker. Just gas it up and plan on running out of paint before you run out of air, no matter how big your harness is.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

excaliburfiend Monday, September 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tricked cockers
ALL ANGEL
timmys
Marker Setup: Excalibur #347 Red acid wash fade/ custom milled
10 inch dye boomstick
stick trigger
68/4500 conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
new software when available
Strengths: everything
most consistent marker, most efficent marker
shoots like a cocker......
i love it
for some reason the genius' at AKA made the gun sooo low pressure it is incapable of chopping paint!! hummm
Weaknesses: expensive, and the wait to get one is really long
Conclusion: GET ONE

I wanted the best marker on the market and i chose this one, i could have gotten a IR3 but i didn't want one, i tried both the cobra mamba IR3 and this and i liked this much better.. is just cant chop paint.. also its much cheaper then the cool IR3's

I love this marker and i woulnd't trade it for anything. the only think that might come a close would be a RACE free flow cocker. but only if RACe actually got the act together and made their product reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kman2002 Tuesday, August 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 2k2
Marker Setup: black milled excalibur with 14" smart parts AA, shocktech drop and 68/4500 pmi
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a barrel if you plan on using medium bore paint. the stock javelin barrel works very well but only with smaller bore paint.
Strengths: - gas efficient. almost 1900 shots with 68/4500.
- mat black anodizing is tough as nails.
- excellent stock barrel.
- comes with stock sidewinder reg. super consistant and adaptable with many air configurations because of the swiveling bottom.
- very accurate. same as an autococker better than the angel.
- great point ability. you can sight down the gun and barrel better than most guns.
- adjustable trigger makes ripping string of paint so easy. no need to go faster than 10-13 bps.
- not too heavy.
- uses 9v battery.
-tight profile.
- good customer support.

Weaknesses: - not cheap.
- should have and "on" indicator. battery dies fast if left on too long.
- you have to pay for software kit to increase bps speed to 13 and the tool kit needed to take the gun apart. (gun costs enough already)
Conclusion: very well built gun which performs everything very well. if you can live without the bells and whistles and don`t need to unload an insane amount of paint, this is the choice of high end electro markers that`s going to ultimately get you more kills.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all of them
Marker Setup: blue milled excal, with freak, dyna flow68
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing to the gun but i would recommend some rechargeable batteries
Strengths: this gun is basically an electric cocker, through the software you can program the BPS, the dwell for the hammer release, hammer drive, bolt release and bolt drive. the gun does need to broken in with 2-4 cases(thats just fun though)
to put it simply its a the trajectory of a cokcer with the speed and comfort of an angel. the service at splat attack has been super
Weaknesses: Ive been hearing about battery problems with the xcal but have not experienced them myself. I played the last three weekends plus alot of shooting in the backyard and my batt is ok. these are typical problems of a new gun on the market, some will have problems others dont.
Conclusion: a solid marker shoots straight fast and is everthig you pay for
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kano2001 Wednesday, May 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
well it shoots like a high end cocker and a triiger like a bushmaster but with a snappier trigger.
Marker Setup: Pbexcalibur(purple, aqua blue acid wash
freek system 14 in all american
12 volt viewloader
45/4500 pmi tank
Back up
Bushmaster 2k2 lcd
gladiator reg w/asa
sonic lpr
teflon ball detent
freak
vaporized
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well U could get a new barrel b/c the stock barrel bore is small but pretty damn good, I use the stock barrel instead freak which I find more efficient
Strengths: Shoots very straight with flat trajetory like a cocker.
very quiet
low pressure can get 1500 shots out of 45/4500 psi tank.
easy maintananace
can go down to 65 psi
can stick ur finger in the breech a pull the trigger without getting ur finger broken off
very light and balanced
nice trigger
tournament semi so no need for any tournament locks
Weaknesses: takes bout 9 cases to break it in so the volocity stops dropping off.
Conclusion: overall good gun not only b/c I have it becasue it shoots very straight . Like an autocoker it curves down alittle but that is possitive b/c u can shoot over a bunker and let it curve down to hit the person but the curve cant be ever in a negative way. Lets just say If I got a bushmaster and my excalibur and putthe guns at the same level the excal will shoot farther due to flatter trajectory. For the bushmaster to shoot at watI'm shooting at he will have to shoot like an ark. I give it a 9 b/c every day newer and beter things are coming out but right now this is as good as it gets

Any Questions??
email me at kano2001@aol.com
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers black magic, dye, sleeper etc...angels, mag rt mag, tipmans and so on
Marker Setup: excal with boomy, agd 4500 flatline air, halo, shocktech df
Recommended
Upgrades:
performance wise nothing has come across my mind the stock barrel (javelin) i think is more accurate then my boomy but it doesnt shoot as far. for comfort some dye sticky's a good drop foward. this gun is ready to go
Strengths: this gun is great. it shoots far and so so accurate and very compfy . i dont chop paint i never did yet. (i just knocked on wood). very very quiet and super low pressure. the trigger feals amazing it is adjustable and easy to do it. it has a short pull and is sensetive if you tighten it up you can got a bounce back going if you like that. the javelin realy might be a better barrel then a boomstick i just use the boomy because it bothers me that i bought it before i got the gun and i am brainwashed by dye prodects . the gun is made solid you realy dont have to worry about something breaking. cleaning is a piece of cake actualy i should say oiling because i haven't had anything chop (fingers crossed). i can go on on . the lifetime waranty is nice oh and you get a bag
Weaknesses: the bad? ok i will nit pick. not the lightest gun but it realy isnt that heavy just not one of the lightest. it eats batteries. the light by the power switch blinks red when the battery needs to be replaced but i just think it blinks red sometimes and causes me to replace even more batteries atleast its a peice of cake to switch them out and i take them from work so they are free. the price but if you are worried about that you shouldnt be reading this. the warranty card was a crooked photo coppied piece of paper it got me nervous until i fired it. also i cant bring the floppy disk in the bathroom to read.
Conclusion: this realy is an amazingly well made gun it may not be the fastest out their and doesnt have a lcd display. but it does shoot 13 bps and i think it is the most accurate i ever fired and shoots the furthest outside of the flatline so you decide do you want a gun that tells you the time and has a fully auto mode you cant use or a gun that kicks a$$.... i gave it a 9 because a 10 gets no bad comments no matter how petty they are and i havent fired a 10 yet
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media