paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur / AKA Excalibur

AKA Excalibur Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Excalibur

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Excalibur
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Can shoot 13 balls per second. Features: Tornado(tm)(Pat# 5791328) Valve Low Pressure, High Efficiency, Lightning(tm) Bolt(delrin) with Quick Release Pin, Javelin (tm) Barrel(cocker barrel threads), 45 Grip (double or single trigger), Ball Detent, Built-In Vertical Mount, Sidewinder Vertical Pressure Reg., Vertical Feed, Adjustable Trigger (3 points), Adjustable ROF, Bolt open time, Adjustable Low Pressure Pneumatics Reg., Circuit board accepts ball breech sensors, and Designed for Very Low Maintenance.
Product Availability 
The AKA Excalibur is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AKALMP LP Cocker
Marker Setup: Nickel-and-Black Excalibur with 12" DYE ultralite, Warped Drop-Forward, 88/4500 air system, Revolution hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of your choice, good electro-assist hopper - Rev is minimum!
Strengths: Rugged body and anodizing to take abuse from tourney players
Modular design for ease of maintenance
Impressive cycle speed, Cocker-like range & accuracy
3-point adjustable trigger
Lifetime warranty with good tech support (thanks Sully)
Takes cocker-style barrels
Doesn't need a bunch of gadgets to run right out of the box
Weaknesses: Limited upgrade/accessory path - hey, some of us LIKE to accessorize!
Any color you want, as long as it's black (getting better now)
Needs a high-end hopper to realize its top speed. Revolutions need not apply!


Conclusion: Best marker to come down the pike in the last 5 years. I've shot Angels, Defiants, Intimidators, etc. Nothing came close to matching my AKA LP Cocker until this bad-a$$ came out. Now the Cocker's relegated to back-up status. The Excal's snappy sweet trigger has completely spoiled me!

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
00' Dark Angel LED, 01' Dark Angel LCD, WGP Autococker vert feed 01', WGP STO autococker 01', WGP Black Magic autococker, Free Flow autococker, Bob Long Defiant, Bob Long Intimidator, all these i have tested for the period of 1 week each and have had to repair them for other people, my markers are, Pro team micromag 01', Smart Parts 99' Shocker (with upgrades)
Marker Setup: Micromag out of the box with 12v hopper and 68/4500 tank, 99' Shocker w/ hyper grip frame, gadget grip, Glacier AT board, air assist , and also Smart parts intellifeed for shocker. 68/4500 or 68 CO2 w/ anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward and barrel of your choice.
Strengths: This is probably the best marker i have ever had the priviledge to test i got to test one of the original 10 prototypes ever made from aka lmp, and i also got to test one of the newer models with the new board and I have absolutely no complaints, the low pressure is way better than i ever thought i would get out of my shocker and the distance kicks A$$ and the trigger is adjustable between 3 different settings.
Weaknesses: The only bad part is not having one.
Conclusion: This is a new marker that easily competes with the high end marker market. Front players might still stick with angels due to the little faster trigger and shorter distance, but this is a must for back and mid players and is completely low maintnence and i guarentee that if you ever have a problem with this marker aka will take care of you if you are nice to em. I'm still waiting on money to get mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Custom Cockers, Emags, RTs, Bushys
Just about any semi out there, and many pumps
Sold my $2000 Custom Ripper Cocker to buy this
Marker Setup: I have a swirl milled blue acid wash Xcalibur
Currently I have 68/4.5k Conquest tank on a Kapp Cradle
Also a Full Freak set
And a OLD Revolution from 4 years ago (hasnt let me down yet, hehe)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
This gun is great outta the box
I recomend you get the programming cable and tool kit from AKA though so you can work on it and adjust it your self. I am my local fields airsmith and our whole team shoots Xcaliburs so it is well worth it for me
Also I reccomend a barrel such as the Freak Set or the OTP set with bore sizers so your paint doesnt roll outta the barrel.
I also reccomend that you buy a GOOD Nitro tank to feed this marker. I good screw in will work but do not be supprised if you get drop off with a cheap tank.
And of course a good powered loader, Ricochet, VL Revy w/ X Board, Halo
Strengths: Everything is great about this gun, here are a few of the good points:
Gun is lighter than most
Fast shooting
AKA has good customer service
Very durable
Doesn't break paint
Very accurate
Very efficient
Very consistent
9 volt batteries
Great trigger
I ran 25000 rounds thru it in the first 2 months I had it and have had zero problems. I have broken about 10 balls in that time, all barrel breaks. This gun when properly set up will NOT break paint in the breach.
Weaknesses: Bad, whats that, OK maybe a few nit picky things
Data cable not included
Tool kit not included
Trigger is blocky
Very expensive
Conclusion: Ive told many people "Sell whatever you are shooting, Buy an Xcalibur, you will not ever want another gun!"
I bought one on faith from AKA, and now all my teamates are unloading their Angels, Defiants, and RTs to buy one.
Read my full reveiw here: http://CGBCustoms.homestead.com/ExcaliburReview.html
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used Tippmans, Spyders, Angel leds, Angel lcds, auto cockers.
Marker Setup: I currently use an Excalibur, with 68/4500 preset and a warpfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: This marker is built like a tank. It has been used by newbies as a rental, and used in several tournaments.
Effeciency-enough air to play a few 5-man, or a couple of ten man without worrying about running out
Ease of use-turn it on and go play
no gimmicks- no lcd screen, no multiple modes
Weight-lighter than an Angel or any other marker that I know of
Size-very compact
Trigger-love that trigger bounce
Weaknesses: I have Excalibur #21. I have had the first gen board- sometimes it worked. I had the bad batch solenoids-replaced for free. I wish I could have gotten a larger bore barrel, .684 is just too small.
Conclusion: If you are wanting a marker to play tourneys in, then this will fill the bill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel
b2k2
tribal(3)
all types of cockers
Marker Setup: excalibur
12 inch cp
12inch boomy
kapp drop zone 2
12volt revo
68/4500 nitro duck
48/300 pmi pure energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel and a cradle
Strengths: very good design that was well thought out, extemely low pressure reg(i put one on my cocker and it worked awesome). takes cocker threads which are easy to get at most stores. a real head turner ar fields. accuracy is exellent from close and far range. not on the heavy side at all. it shoots extremely fast at up to 13bps. hardly ever chops
Weaknesses: aklmp has pretty bad customer service. price
Conclusion: great gun for the serious player
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider, Autococker
Marker Setup: Excalibur, Die Boomstick 12", Dye Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, bore size kinda tiny. I myself like Dye Sticky Grips I think they are cool, maybe a new reg. . But you will not need any of these its a great gun.
Strengths: Everything. When i first was shown the gun i wasnt too impressed. Its dull shape didnt really stand out. But when i got this puppy gased up....wheeww.. its got an extremely light trigger pull and you litterally throw a wall of paint. Its got a pretty decent regulator. Its extremely durable. Ive only been to 1 tournament with it and its held up great. I havent had any problems with the gun accept that i left the battery running one time :(. That was my stupid fault. Its got the accuracy of the cocker and more speed. Also much less maintenance than the cocker. Overall a great gun
Weaknesses: Nothing really. It is really accurate. But, sometimes it lacks in distance, but this partially has to do with the barrel. Get a nice barrel like my Boomstick and you will be fine on accuracy. I'm planning on getting a new reg for it but its really not needed the reg is fine. People who have held the gun and other players have said that the gun is bulky and heavy. its really not. maybe it is a little heavier than normal guns but it is worth it!
Conclusion: Great gun. Nothin wrong with it. NOw go and buy it! (if you have the money$$$ hehehe)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

ifju206 Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, Bushmaster
Marker Setup: VL 12volt Revolution, Centerflag 4500 psi 68 cu. inch on gun setup with KAPP drop forward, 14" Smartparts Teardrop, 14" DYE Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is decent, but I prefer Smartparts and DYE
Strengths: Great adjustable trigger, shoots very smooooth and fast, very little recoil, looks great with factory hard anodizing, this gun is also as light as Angel LCD, I like the bolt push pin is at an angle from top of the gun (unlike the Bushmasters)
Weaknesses: The $1300 price tag......but AKA makes everypart of this gun worth it
Conclusion: I think for someone like myself, who played for 7+ years, I shot countless Autocockers, Angels, Mags, and ect.... this has to be one of the better if not the best one yet......I am not out to bash other markers or manufactures, I am just saying that maybe you should try this marker out before you make your decision
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used LCD Angels, LED Angels, Shockers, and almost every other electric gun on the market. Hands down, the Excalibur tops all of them. It shoots just as fast as you can pull the trigger. I will take a Excalibur over any free gun.
Marker Setup: Currently, I don't own an Excalibur. I do however act as the Excalibur airsmith for my team's 11 Excaliburs. THere are no upgrades need for the Excal other than a good barrel. The Javelin is OK, but I prefer a Boomstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Again, no upgrades are needed other than a barrel. I do recommend a GOOD hopper. The Ricochet, HALO or other good loader is a must.
Strengths: Everything is good. For those of you that prefer Cockers - this gun is a dream. All the action of a cocker in a electric gun. It even has a little bit of backblock like slap. Cool.
Weaknesses: In early Excals, there were problems with the solenoids and the reg cores. All of these problems have been addressed and fixed.
Conclusion: I will recommend this gun to any paintball player that can afford it. Yes, it is a little expensive, but it is well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, September 12th, 2001
Strengths: Supurb speed and accuracy. The tech support is great, takes cocker threads which everyone loves, super quiet and such a great range! Build tough, and the gun is able to be played with rough, unlike some other "fragile" electro's. Ready to go out of the box, it performs like a tourney gun with no adjustments.
I have played with Angels, Bushmasters, Defiants, etc. but, bar none, this best gun I have ever had the pleasure to shoot. I shot it one time at a tourney and decided that day to sell my other gun and buy one.
Weaknesses: Stock grips suck, and new ones may have to be modified to fit grip. The gun is pricy, but for what you get it is well worth it.
Conclusion: I would say over all this gun out performs any gun out there. Aside from being expensive, this gun is great to shoot and easy to maintain. I live only a few miles from AKA, and have met the Alexanders (owners and designers) and I must say that they are truly concerned with making the best paintball products out there. They are very friendly and will take the time to answer your questions. The looks of the gun are plain, but they purposly leave plenty of room for custom work. This gun is not one of those electro's that people are afraid to take out and play rough with. The construction of these guns is one of a kind, and the are VERY solid guns. Mad props to AKA for building the Excalibur to these standards!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 30th, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Great trajectory, as good as my Revenge (tricked out cocker). Shoots fast and consistent. great range. Great gun for both front and back players. Uses cocker barrels which a lot of us allready have. Gun feels solid. On/ off switch.
Everyone associates range with the cocker, well this gun with a boomstick will do just as good if not better. best gun I have shot so far.
Weaknesses: If you forget to turn off the battery runs out even when not in use. Shoud have a light or something. I personally had problems with the stock barrel but have talked to others that love the Javelin. I like my boomstick better. Gun is heavier than my revenge but not too heavy.
Expensive.
Could use some anodizing and milling for that high price.
Dont see very many internet sites that carry them. Try www.splat-attack.com
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this gun to anyone that has the money. It shoots fast and straight right out of the box. Like I mentioned, I like the boomstick but others say they like the stock Javelin. Do not see many people with them yet which is kind of nice. I think that is mainly because few internet sites carry them. I have talked to a lot of people with angels, cockers, etc. and they all love the Excalibur. If you just want to dump a lot of paint close up, get an angel, if you want a gun that can snipe from the back AND shoot 10-15 balls per second when you get up front get the Excalibur. I gave it a 9 because I haven't shot every gun out there to say this is the best ever, however it is the best all around gun I have shot so far.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media