paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
peteralexander7 Monday, July 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all of them
Marker Setup: -Main: AGD X valve automag
-Back up: Smart Parts Vision Impulse
Strengths: Holds 160 rounds
Lid doesnt pop off when taking out of pack
Weaknesses: Over time lever can weaken
Doesnt fit in all packs
Price
Review: I do like the dye lid lock pods a lot. I do believe they are bit over price when you can get pods for a dollar that work pretty well, why pay $5 for one. Well the reason why I did, was I love my JT slam pack/ Reds 404. But the JT Slam pods that go with them have the one issue that if you get shot in the pod, now you have paint down your pod tube. These are a great replacement for them.
Conclusion: They are worth trying out, buy one and see if it is something that fits your style of play, because they will be an investment since they cost a lot more than the cheaper pods
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TacitusSicarius Monday, January 10th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Generic, run of the mill pods (not near as good)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Powers G4
Empire Prophecy
Strengths: Locking Lid
Grip on outer surface
Weaknesses: Size
Some Pods don't work optimally
Price
Review: These pods excel far beyond normal pods in my opinion. The locking mechanism keeps these pods closed in most all normal circumstances, provided you don't throw them against a wall or something.
The size of these pods can be a slight issue, they dont fit very well in some pod packs, so that's something to look into if you're considering these pods.
One of the pods I have doesnt open immeadiately after sliding the locking mechanism open, however I've found if I just slide my thumb upwards afterwards and bump the lid up, it springs right open.
These pods are on the pricier side, but I consider them worth it.
Conclusion: This is a great product that does what it needs to. Just make sure that they will fit your pack before laying down the money on them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Sunday, November 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PROTO 140 Round pods
GXG Camo pods
WGP 140 round pods
100 round guppy
32 Degrees 140 round pods
Marker Setup: White/Blue Planet Eclipse SL8R w/ RF chip installed, Empire Prophecy, Ninja Paintball 50 ci/4500 PSI stubby tank, Hammerhead Barrel system



Backup marker:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ autococker->98 barrel adapter, Empire two-piece 14" barrel, DYE rotor loader, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank.
Strengths: Easy open lid
Durability
Capacity
Weaknesses: Price
If someone borrows one, they tend not to give it back
Size
Review: If you're looking for a one liner, then get this:

These are the best pods I've ever used or seen, bar none. Pick one up and you'll see what I mean.

Now for a review. I bought four of these two years back, when I began getting really into speedball. Since then, they've been shot at, shot up, landed on, caught underfoot, cleaned, filled, re-filled, and plain ol' used.

Two years later, they still work exactly as they did when I first bought them, with barely anything to show for their wear except some rub-off on the logos on the lids. The plastic used to make them is rock solid; I've dropped a full pod off a table and haven't had a single broken ball. The easy open lid is great. Though it won't totally prevent openings (nothing can), I can safely say the only time I've ever had these open on me is when I didn't snap it completely shut. If it clicks when you close it, it won't open again until you slide the tab. These can be used one handed to great effect. Their 160-round capacity is a god-send for higher capacity loaders, and the bumps on the outside make it harder to be a klutz when you're scrambling for one. I've heard rumors that the bumps on the side cause dimples on the paint inside. To my knowledge, the bumps are in no way a part of the inner casing. The only way paint will dimple is if you leave it in one place for a long enough period of time.

Do they have flaws? yes, though not many. Quality doesn't come cheap- at five dollars a pop (when I bought them), losing one of these hurts. Their size, while useful, also makes them difficult to squeeze into a lot of harnesses, especially those with elastic ejector loops as part of the design. They'll fit- they'll even shoot out faster into your hand- but don't be surprised if they take a little extra oomph to fit in.

Conclusion: The DYE locklid is the best pod I've ever seen, and it makes a great, high capacity companion on the field.

Great for people looking for a high capacity, easy-open (hard to spill), rock solid, and reliable pod for everything from speedball to scenario play.

Not so great for people buying on a budget, or who are careless with pods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jebus2 Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Pod
Marker Setup: Redz Ion
Peperstickz 14"
Luxfer 68ci 4500 w/ Myth Reg
Triumph SSl 200



Tippmann 98 custom
Vertical adaptor expansion chamber kit
J&J 14" Ceramic barrel
Strengths: Great idea with the lid
Holds a little more paint
Weaknesses: Such a B*tch to get out of the pod pack
Review: Ok, when I was at a local tourny recently one of my team mates asked if I wanted to try his lock lid pods. So I had a quick look at them and put them in my pod pack to see how they would slide out. THEY DIDN'T!!!!!!!!! The extra bumps they put of the side for extra grip are way too grippy. It took me about 30 seconds just to pull it back out. I was expecting this to be a high quality product. Disappointing...
Conclusion: Its a great idea but Dye just couldn't cut it. Not reccommended.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THEDEAN911 Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap Rental pods
Marker Setup: Smart Parts EOS w/ freak kit
Strengths: Great Grip
Price (for what you get)
stay closed
Weaknesses: None
Review: These are my first pods that I've paid for, and they are much better then anything I've used in the past. the button can take some time getting used to, but it NEVER to me any more time to open then a normal pod. When I though them, they stay closed, normally pods never stay closed when the hit the ground.
Conclusion: They only about 1-2 dollars more then other pods, and it's very worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcron12 Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Random Pods
Marker Setup: ion w/ ans drop & Cp feedneck. Redz Peperstick 14 in
48 3000 hpa tank
empire reloader 2 w/ standard crown

98 CUSTOM
GRAVITY, QUANTUM
20OZ
12OZ
Terminator barrel
Strengths: Compacity, Durible
Weaknesses: None
Review: These pods helped me tremendously as a front player. When you throw them they dont open. My team we use these in games and use them as a target. The only problem is that I have an Empire 4+5 pack and with this pack you have to take it off to put the pods in or have some one else do it overall 10
Conclusion: These are amazing
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 15th, 2009 at 1:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Holland Saturday, January 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT pods, other dye pods
Marker Setup: mr2 with tiger shark, bolt j&j barrel, torque loader (35 bps), sticky wraparound grips
Strengths: Strong doesn't open while running you get more than you pay for
Weaknesses: None
Review: these are the greatest pods I've ever used! i can pit 160 rnds. in it or i can put bt paint grenades in it. You can do nearly anything to it and it wont break. also the lumps on the pod are they help me grip it and they also keep paint from dempleing as much if you store them. they are super easy to clean and can save you money easily. yesterday a took it put a few rocks in it then threw it down from 25 feet on to concrete and it didn't break nor open. also if you use a paintball caddy which i do they load so easily with it
Conclusion: I would recament this pod to anyone! mine has paid for itself already. i use to loose 100 rnds. a week of play but i now maybe loose 1-5 rnds. a month
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BackInTheGame Monday, November 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various pop top pods
Marker Setup: PE Ego 08
Crossfire 70/4500 stubby
Stiffi one piece 8" and 12" barrel (.689)
Empire Magna loader w/ RF transmitter installed in Ego
Strengths: Large capacity
Ease of opening
Weaknesses: Pods not opening as they should.
Review: My friend used these prior to me getting them. I asked if he has had any problems as what I have heard but he has had none at all. I'm a person that likes to flick open tops of pods and it is not always cooperative and takes some effort at times. So i decided to give it a whirl and bought 6 smoke and 6 red. I immediately tested all of them as far as popping open and only had a problem with one. It was just sticking a little bit and use of a file fixed it. All in all they have worked fine for me. I know there's inconsistency of the number of paint it will hold. Though it mentions 160, it will most likely be the smaller balls that accomplish this. I had another friend who just got them. He used cheap paint and was only able to get 150. I tried with some cheap paint too and got about 155. I'm happy enough with 150.
Conclusion: I would recommend these to my friends but make them aware of the pods difficulty to open sometimes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rap4 Pods
VL Pods 200 rd
100 rd. VL Pods
Marker Setup: Dye Dm6, G3 Stock barrel
DXS 68/4500, Proto Cover
JT Proflex Revolutions
Proto 4+5 pack, Rap4 Pods
Grey Rotor, Quickfeed
Strengths: Capacity
Looks
Doesn't come open
Weaknesses: Learning Curve
price, maybe
Not Super Practical
Review: I love these PODS!!!!!I used them for the first time after getting used to my Rap4 ones, and I saw the difference. Using my Pulse with the Virtue Crown, I can fit 175 balls in easy. The 140 rd. pods would leave an empty space in my hopper where I saw room for more balls, and therefore more loading. Dye Locklids allow you to have an advantage over the competition by truly taking 160 balls onto the field.
You do have to learn how to simultaneously pull the pod out and open it with the tab, but get over it, they are awesome. I am no longer worried about my pods coming open


SUPER MAJOR EDIT:
Not too into them anymore. Difficult under pressure to actually use. I am switching to my Rap4 pods again.
Conclusion: Seemed good, but a faulty design makes a regular pod much better.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 1st, 2009 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballa100 Friday, June 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal pods- better
Marker Setup: Ion w/ tons of ups
phantom with frantom barrel
Strengths: Bigger capacity
Look cool
DYE!
Opening style
Weaknesses: Price
Open easy
Size
Opening style
Review: I used these for three months for 2 of those months they worked awesome they never open on accident or anything. Then all of the sudden paint was dumping out left and right. Any time i would even bump he pod lid it would open i didn't even have ti push the knob. And since the pod is facing down the paint fall all over.
Conclusion: Dont waste your money get normal pods they work better and don't break. Its a gimmick dont fall for it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media