paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Scandies Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of various diffrent pods
Marker Setup: 2005 Shocker Vision x2
Ion
Strengths: Stay in your pack well.
Weaknesses: Break easy, open when not wanted
Review: If you are an aggressive player then you dont want these pods. Ive broken two diving over the snake. Broke another slipping on wet astro turf. If you drop them on a hard surface they always pop open. If the lid gets a hit from a ball they pop open. Sometimes the lid breaks away from the body and falls off.
I have tested these in live play for 6 months and i have one left in working condition.
I wont ever buy these again, not happy at all with them.
Conclusion: Dont buy, they are a gimic product
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wdpballa Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummm fatboys and stuff
Marker Setup: graphite 05 speed
45/45 crossfire
halo b
pepper stix
Strengths: Hold alot of paint, button open
Weaknesses: Too much paint for halos? Don't fit in alot of packs
Review: Well i got these becouse they open really nicely, and never when u don;'t them to. They hold alot of paint which is nice but if u have a halo, then it has to be like compleatly empty or u'll over fill it, and it only fits in some paks nicely becouse they are really fat, i hope that's 50 words
Conclusion: I'll give them an 9 becouse i spill alot of paint when my hopper is not compleatly full
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corbo Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pods - better
Marker Setup: 04 freesetyle with HE bolt and 05 board
Strengths: Larger than most, good opening mechanism.
Weaknesses: They can usually just pop open if bumped. A little long for some packs.
Review: Well i have a couple of these bad boys. They hold more paint than regular pods which is good. They might not fit very good into some packs though. They tend to pop open when bumped. I had 2 full ones that fell off my bed onto my floor and just poped open. It sucked. They arent worth the price over regular pods. I wouldnt buy these ever.
Conclusion: Not worth the price over regular pods.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB Professor Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Standard Pods
Kingman Java
Extreme Rage
Viewloader
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ Lapco Bigshot 12"
Strengths: Fast Opening
Cool Color
Holds well in pack
Capacity
Weaknesses: Sometimes doesn't open (rareley)
Price
Review: Okay,
I just randomly needed some pods for my NXe, so I stopped by the local paintball shop and picked up six of them for an outrageous $26.95. Fortunately, my uncle gave me money so it didn't cost me a penny. I opened them up and of course, found the typical Dye quality. They are solid. The key feature of the pods is that you don't have to flick the lid up with your thumb. All you have to do is pull down a little switch and the lid catch releases, popping the lid open. These are pods, so nothing else is really special about them except the way you place them in your pack. I placed them in my pack, so that when I reach for the pod, the release switch is where my thumb is, so I can pop them open instantly.
Conclusion: Good quality. Good features. Good reliablility. But the price is a rip off. Get them if you need good pods and like Dye.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkp8ntballer Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regualar pods.
Marker Setup: Why does that matter?
Strengths: The way you open the lid.
Holds 160 paintballs.
Weaknesses: Bumps on side.
Expensive.
Review: These pods have bumps on the side and i have a worr games products harness with covered holders so i don't really need these. These pods are hard as hell to get out of my podpack i don't know if all harnesses are that way. The lid and how much it holds is what i like. I DISCONTINUED MY USE OF THIS PRODUCT THE FIRST DAY I PLAYED WITH THESE.
Conclusion: Dye usually makes nice stuff but this isn't one i wouldn't reccomend these pods.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Rukus Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Pods
Marker Setup: Black Ion
Egg
48/3000 HPA
Lo Rise QLock
14" TearDrop
Strengths: Durable
They really secure your paintballs
Weaknesses: Price...possibly
Review: These are absolutely fantastic. I've seen a number of guys lose their paint during games and I hate seeing money go to waste like that. When I bought these I wasn't quite sure how impactful they would be to my overall game. I've played Scenario ball and walk on speed ball with'em and they are just fantastic. At no point during the game do I worry about losing my paint if I lay on my back to avoid deing hit during a game of woods ball.

I highly recommend these for any level of play. The worst thing you can do is lose good ammo and shorten your playing time on the field because you can't shoot back.

Get it!
Conclusion: Awesome product. I'm surprised that Dye is the only forward looking company to see the benefit to offering this product. And don't worry about the price...They are well worth it. I bought 3 for my 3+2 harness.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ase Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-X-Global
Fat Boys
CPs
32*
Virus
others.
Marker Setup: Olive PM6
Green Empire Reloader B
System X Hyperflow 68/4500
Strengths: Stay closed, if you close 'em right.
Hold more than normal pods.
New colors=sexy.
Weaknesses: EXPENSIVE
Must be closed completely, or results are disastrous.
Review: These are really nice pods, they're a great thing to have around. They do stay closed if they are closed right, but if you're in a hurry to get onto the field and don't close it all the way, it will open at the worst of times. Now they have more colors rather than just clear. The day I decided to get Lock Lids was when I spilled 3 pods in a row in the middle of a game when I was in the 50 snake. That night I got on Ebay and found 6 for $29 (+ shipping). I am definitely glad I did.
Conclusion: They are a great pod, if you're a tournament player they're worth the money, but if your just a rec baller I don't really think they're necessary.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doja221980 Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt speed pods
toxic pods
Marker Setup: 04 alias intimidator
orange bolt
infamous board
mac dev conquest
halo b
------------------------------------------
04 free flow autococker
e2
tickler lpr
magnum ram
freeflow bolt
empire drop
empire on/off valve
kapp beavertail
freak barrel kit
viewloader egg 2
aci bulldoglll
------------------------------
Strengths: Open with the press of a button
Dye
Easy to get a good grip
Weaknesses: Expensive for pods
Review: I use a nXe 3+2+2 and the dye pods work great with it. Press the button and the lid opens with a snap. ONE time I pulled a pod and I think I accidentally pressed the button cuz it opened while still on the pack but I'm sure it was operator error not the pod. They're a little pricey but they definitly cut down reloading time by a couple seconds (which is alot).
Conclusion: buy them if you play speedball. I don't think they're as functional in recball situations.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

takman111 Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pod, best I've used yet, never had a problem.
Odyssey, had a hole crack into it the 3rd day I used it, also accidentally opened dropping all my paint..
Marker Setup: Mechanical Black Magic Autococker
Strengths: Sounds good
Weaknesses: Doesn't work with NXE 4+remote tank harness
Review: The pods have a push down slide button to pop open the lid. This slide button actually sticks out of the side of the pod. When I try to pull one of these pods down and out of my NXE pack, the button is often hit and the lid opens spilling all the balls. I try to hold the lid when I pull the pod out, but the entire pod gets stuck in the NXE pack often so it takes a lot of effort to get out and this leads to the lock opening.

If I were to design these, I would have the tab you slide down fully recessed so nothing can accidentally push the tab down but a finger in the recess. I think a moron designed these or Dye never thouroughly tested such a big oversight..

So far only the Empire pods have never accidentally released or broken.

Conclusion: Maybe these pods work flawlessly with other packs, but they absolutely stink with the NXE 4+remote.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AsphaltDragon Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much all flip top and removable top pods
Marker Setup: Red Ion, Crossfire HPA, Red Reloader B, etc
Strengths: They lock and hold
Grippy
Look good
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I bought three of these pods from a friend for 10 $, which was a good deal because he spent 6 + tax on each of them.
To test them, I tried them against the basic Java flip top pod, because I had two of those left.
I filled both with paint and shook them. Lock lids hold more than Java and other pods, and despite the extra strain on the lid from the extra paint, they did not open, no matter how hard I shook or bashed them. The Java pods held in a similar way, only they did pop open occasionally from the lid loosening due to movement.
Another plus I noticed, the lock lids have a bigger mouth, making them easier to fill and although you might not think it, they empty noticeably quicker.
When practicing reloading, I noticed the Lock lids to be easier on the hand, obviously due to the bumps that work as grip, but also because the button requires much less effort to open then the Java pods.
The springs under the lid are good and strong, so they snap open and empty quickly.
They seem to be quite durable and probably won't crack upon being hit, unlike Smart Pods which I have seen explode on impact.
I found them to fill my Reloader B with room for another 10 - 15 balls, which is when I will be reloading anyway, so the quantity they hold is pretty good.
Anyone who has complained about them holding too much paint is obviously too cheap to drop a few balls, which will probably happen anyway if you're reloading in a rush.
The only big thing I would change on these is to make the button bigger, it would make using them slightly quicker.
Conclusion: Worth what I paid, since I had bought Java for 6 for 2 for some time.
If you can get them cheaply, go for it, but make sure they fit your harness. They are larger around and longer than most pods, and might not fit as well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 16th, 2005 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media