paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Hoff Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP pods- decent, my second choice
VL Wal-mart special- hey, we all make mistakes......
Marker Setup: AIM 18 Autococker
ANS Swing Frame
Planet eclipse Ram w/ QEV's and LPR
Evil Driver
CP Reg
Supercharger Valve
FBM Mercury bolt
Orracle 3-way
Shocktech mini-drop
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Eliminates spills
High capacity
Durable
Weaknesses: Price: $20+ for 6 pods.
Review: I used to play with VL pods until I saw these dye ones at my local proshop. I went ahead and spent the money and have never regretted it. Even in playing woodsball in heavy fire I still have yet to spill my paint and I never have to worry about my lid getting lost. I have used the WGP pods occassionally but the dye is worth the extra money.
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this product. 9/10 only because of the price. Lets face it, you are just buying plastic.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballmike89 Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt pods, virus pods
Marker Setup: prostock
20 oz co2 anti-siphon
14' ul barrel
shocktech bolt
dye sticky 3 grips
eVLution II
Strengths: The locklid thing
Weaknesses: None
Review: These pods are the shizznit, i always have a hard time opening my other pods with my gloves on but with these i just pop the thing down dump the paint in my hopper and im done within a matter of seconds. These pods you dont want to lose when your out playing because they are probably the best pods available, i lost one of mine so im down to 2 dye pods that will actually work.
Conclusion: Buy it, buy a hundred. Then give some to me lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pedrodinero Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts tubes, CP tubes (they're all fatboys anyway, just a different name on the outside)
Marker Setup: Vision Shocker
NDZ Ripper trigger
NDZ Stinger bolt kit
16" SS Freak AA
Halo B w/Rip
68/4500 Worrgas adjustable
Strengths: Hard plastic, nubs for grip, easy to open
Weaknesses: WILL OPEN IN YOUR PACK!! 2 pc construction will come apart
Review: Ok, i started playing tourney ball a while ago and i got a nice 3+2 pack, and when i was looking for pods to fill it i read every review and looked at so many different ones, and all the reviews for these were great, so i figured i'd go with these. Let me just say it was one of the worst mistakes i've made since i started playing 7 YEARS AGO. I have dumped plain CRAZY amounts of paint on the field because of these...it seems like one out of every 5 times i reach for a pod it's already opened and either dumps all over my hand or is already all gone...it's ridiculous. The other day i was dropping a full pod on my carpeted floor from no more than 6 inches up and it came open 8 out of 10 times. I was so pissed i immediately called my sponsor and had him bring me some Smart pods for our next tourney. The real kicker here is that you're paying at least 4 and as much as 8 dollars depending on where you get em. For the Smart pods or any other Fatboy variant you will pay only 2-3 and i am 110% happier with those. Plus if you're using a halo, these pods are almost TOO big...i had to empty my hopper just to use the whole pod, and usually ended up wasting. In a tourney it's not a big deal b/c i'm only caring about the speed, but i don't have the money to be wasting all this paint all the time between overfilling and dumping pods and how expensive they are it is a TOTAL waste of money.
Conclusion: I guess to be fair i should say that these probably aren't the worst pods in the world, but when there are others out there that are so much cheaper and work so much more consistently, i don't see any reason at all to go with these. If you have any questions about which pods to get, always remember that one piece construction is the way to go...KISS: Keep it simple, stupid ;)
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

uber_bunny Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other pods
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, back-cocking system, 12 volt revolution, 14" tru-flight barrel, double trigger, etc. etc. etc.
Strengths: -It's a pod
-Won't misopen
-Durable
-150 Rounds
-Good gripping
Weaknesses: -Price for just one
-sometimes lid gets stuck
Review: I just picked up 4 of these today, didn't want all six because it's 5 dollars a pod here...

The Goods:

-Its a pod
Yes, and this is why anyone should buy it. Pods are essential to the game.

-Won't misopen
These pods have a little button that when you push up, the lid flies open very fast. No more reaching the pod with both hands to try to keep the lid up!

-Durable
Ok. I sat on these and I'm a pretty big kid. Only for about 5 seconds I was sitting on them, then realized it, got off, checked them. They were all in one piece. Thank God. : )

-150 Rounds
The pods that I got were 150 round, not sure if there are other sizes. But 150 is good for any player. It fills most hoppers up to the lid and ensures you'll be shooting for quite a while.

-Good gripping
The Lock-lids have bumps all over the pod for better gripping. I got to tell you, it works well. My gloves that I use, the fabric is wearing down so I have no grip on my gloves. But these pods ensured I had a good grip so I wouldn't drop it.

The Bads:

-Price for just one
Although these are 'higher grade pods', 5 bucks for one just isn't fitting for most people.

-Sometimes, Lid gets stuck
Yes, the lid does not open sometimes so occasionally, you will have to use both hands. But this only happens on rare occasions. Just make sure there's no paint goo or grass or dirt around the lid and it should be fine.
Conclusion: At 5 bucks a pod, not alot of people will rush out there and take them to the field so they can throw them on the ground and accidentally step on them. But aside from the price, these pods are top-notch for any level of player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dlrash Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
hmmm ,any 140 rounds i guess, these and guppys are the only pods ive owned.
Marker Setup: Dragun Drallion
3a 10pc Barrel Kit
WGP ERGO reg
Psyco Ballistics Drop
Kapp Ram With QEVs
Shocktech Superfly
Kapp Ball Detent
Steel Braid Setup
50g Microswitch
3a/Centerflag 68/4500
Strengths: Strong
Keeps paint locked in
slides out easy
Weaknesses: Hmmm none really, besides the fact that they are a lil big.
Review: These pods are great. Was happy with them since the second i pulled em out of the box. They are durable. I stepped on them several times and they dont bend or show any signs of wear. They also do exactly what they are made to do, lock the paint in. NEVER have i had an accidental spill or anything. Definitly worth the extra buck or two.
Conclusion: Go buy some now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark fenix Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Phat pods
Marker Setup: -Fenix
-Check It Products 15* Assault Block with Bob Long Mini Guage
-Bob Long Torpedo Reg. with Violent Products Derlin Piston
-Trinity Push Button On/Off ASA on a Violent Products No Drop Rail
-Trinity Low Rise Clamping Feed Neck
-Maddman Rocket Valve
-Dark Horizons TI Hammer
-ACP Blue Bolt
-ACP Thrasher Trigger
-ACP Snatch Grip
-DYE Stickie Grips
-50g T-Switch
-T-Board with T-Chip
-Break Beam Eyes
-Hybrid Technologies Timi Skull Shadez
-45/4500 Pure Energy with Dye 05 Rhino Cover
-Full SS Freak Kit
-Evo II with Z-Board and Paddle Mod
Low pressure set-up. 300fps at 280psi
Strengths: -Lockable
-Strong
Weaknesses: -Does not fit all harnesses
Review: These pods do what they are supposed to do. They lock and open when you want them to. I have yet to encounter a problem with these. They have only opened when i have pushed the button. The bumps on the pod help with getting a grip on them. I did have touble with fitting these pods into the Redz Harness. They fit but they fit a little to tightly
Conclusion: These are the best pods on the market that i have used. Get some and try them out or just buy one and try it out. judge for yourself. im sure you will like them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swimfan144 Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Springs Pods
Marker Setup: Colbat DM4 w/ tadao chip
Strengths: Holds 160 paintballs
Nice bump grip
Good idea about locking lids
Weaknesses: Button sometimes hard to find
Does not stay closed all the time(read review)
Review: These pods were a good idea when i first read about them because i had common problems about pods opening up on me during an intense game.

so i pick me up about 4 of these

now i had been using a cheap no name harness with no elastics or anything on it and the pods seem to always open on me while still in my harness so i figure it must be cus the harness is so cheap that the pod creeps up into the loops and the button gets pressed.

i then buy a brand new EMPIRE FAST PACK harness and try them for the day hte pods still! opend during a game and damn i lost to much paint i couldnt spare. so it wasnt the harness it was the pods.

the thing is the its a good idea but u cant really pack these pods. now i sorta pack my pods tight enuff so they dont rattle when i run also so the paint doesnt bounce around and break on me. but i think that puts to much pressure on the cap and the cap cant take the pressure so it opens up.
Conclusion: Overall good idea but not durable enough for me. i think fat boy pods or syn shock pods are to go. FAT BOY because they are relatively cheap and the cap is hard enuff to stay shut but not to difficult to open with ur finger. and syn shock pods cus they got that cusion so no rattle or paint break. also they got a strong lid. just like a dolalr or to more.

i give it a 6 because it was a good idea. and all but it just not durable.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3,2,1 10seconds Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
any other pod
Marker Setup: 04 shocker, M3 Dynasty Board, Air Efficiancy bolt, titanium boomstick, Dye sticky Grips, Hyper 2 inline regulator
Strengths: You will NOT loose paint while diving or sliding ever again
Weaknesses: Wastes time
Review: You waste a lot of time trying to find the little switch and getting your thumb around to the switch just to open the pod when on normal pods just flip your thumb and its open. Don't get me wrong they are great pods DYE had an ingenious idea i don't know how many games i've lost because my pods opened and i lost my paint while i was diving or sliding but what good is having your paint when instead of shooting you are spending time trying to open your pods. I guess it just takes som getting used to and i just havn't gotten used to it yet
Conclusion: If it works for you GRAVY but it didn't work for me
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevc2181 Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
too many to list
Marker Setup: angle fly black dust, evolve newton kit, halo b, evil scion
Strengths: Easy open, no accidental open, durrable
Weaknesses: Bumps make it hard to put in some harnesses
Review: This pod it the best i've used yet, it's the only one I've had so far that has never accidently poped open. It's made of very hard plastic. I've had no broken ball from shots to the pod. It doesn't fit well in my NXE pack.
Conclusion: I give a 9 of 10 because it isn't compatible with some pod packs.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheCockerGuy13` Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye pods, Fat Boys
Marker Setup: 2004 Blue ProStock with E-Blade, Nexus Kit, 14" Utralite
68/45 Pure Energy Nitro
Revvy Hopper (soon to be Reloader B)
Strengths: The bumps on the pod feel cool
Weaknesses: Hard to find the "switch" to open pod
Review: I wish I did not buy these pods. When I first got these, I was stoked because they look really cool and the design, I thought, would be solid. However, once I opened the box which they came in, a referee took a pod and dropped it about 5 feet from the ground and when the pod hit the ground, the top popped open. I did that to all my pods, and they ALL opened. Now, imagine you sliding feet first in to a bunker and your pods opening. Do you want that? Didn't think so. If the opening lever was across from the hinge and not at an angle, they would be better, but I guess Dye didn't think of that. I have played with these pods five days, about five to ten games each, and in a majority of those games, I lost approximately seven pods worth of paint from the pods simply opening. I give two thumbs way, way down.
Conclusion: Don't buy these unless you want to fiddle around to find the "switch" and want to spend more money to buy paint to make up for the paint you drop on the ground while getting shot on the pods or sliding in to the bunker...go Fat Boy or Dye's other pods
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media