paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
pbf_98 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many different pods
Marker Setup: 2k4 Species Intimidator
Halo (w/rip drive (coming soon!))
12'' Assassin barrel
48ci 3000psi PE (steel)
Strengths: Take most shock
Weaknesses: Just read the post.
Review: Strength:
The dye lock lid has been built nice strong and sturdy, out of my 10 pods I had at the field today, the lock lid (2 of them) is the only pod that did not break any of the paint being used which was very extremely over the edge brittle.
and that is the only strength I find in this pod.

Weakness:
first off same with most Dye products Over Priced, where I am they cost 5 or 6 dollars a pod.
secondly: the opening mech hardly works like its supposed to.
The top of the pod is too small for the pack I got (nxe) and gets stuck in the pack, rendering the pod useless.
With the opening mechanism failing the lid does not always stay shut and when you pull the Velcro from your pack to release the pod all your paint spills on the ground. Now let me relate that to something else happening, say you pull out your wallet and you're going to pay some one for something, so you pull out a 100 and it falls into a wood chipper or a paper shredder, that's what having a whole pod spill is like, because paint is basically money to us.
Conclusion: Based on the math in my review there is 1 strength vs. 3 or 4 weaknesses, so I'm not going to recommend this product at all. and that would leave it with a 33% good item so I'm giving it a 3 and 1/2 ratting.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nightwolf5523 Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just cheapies... and they suck
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 05 ACS
Crossfire Fixed High Pressure N2 Peanut Tank - 70ci 4500psi
Viewloader Evolution 3 Hopper
Redz Flextech 4+1 Harness
Custom Springs
Dye Lock Lid Pods
PMI Pure Energy Remote Coil With QD & SC
Strengths: Lock lid, Grip, Looks, Size, Durability...etc.
Weaknesses: Nothing!
Review: Well last weekend I went paintballing and was talking to this guy before the games started and he had these pods and I told him I had just ordered some and they had not arrived yet so he let me borrow 4 of his the whole day and they were great! Never spilled paint or anything, definitely worth the 5 bucks a piece.
Conclusion: Buy them!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quick_2 Friday, February 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Attitubes - Garbage!
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Hybrid Gen 7 Grips
Alamo City "Low Blow" Bolt
Empire Fast Pack 5
3 Smoke Dye Lock Lids
JT Flex 8
20 oz Co2
24 oz Co2
Strengths: Stong Construction
GOOD Plastic
Locking Lids
Weaknesses: Some Lids aren't as great - Read Review
Cost a Little More
Review: Well i have three smoke lock lids and they are as they claim to be... The Best!... they are way better than my attitubes, when you pick them up and squeeze one of both pods you can just feel that they are better.. it's hard to describe... although they do cost a bit more they are well worth it... i would recommend these to anybody in need of a pod... they do carry quite a lot more of paint.. which can be good and bad... but overall i rate these a 9... because of the lid issues.. two of my lids need to either be pushed a little bit after the button is pressed or the paint needs to push them open... it's only a small glitch but it still bugs me
Conclusion: If you want the best... buy these!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KMAYER12 Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: -Invert Mini w/ ups
-VLocity
-Crossfire 70/45 HP.
Strengths: Capacity
Easy to open
Weaknesses: Cost
Doesn't fit in many packs
Takes a while to get used to
Review: I own a few Locklids, but never use them in the game, for the fact that they don't fit in my pack. I do throw a lot of paint, and the capacity of these pods are great, but like I said... that makes them too long for my pack. Opening is pretty easy, and it clicks shut nicely.
Conclusion: Great pod for back players who use a lot of paint. 8 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

waternchlorine Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard 140 rd pods
Marker Setup: A-5, Saw Stock, new innards, Flat line

A-5, Custom stock, new innards, 20 inch smooth barrell
Strengths: They carry 160 vs. 140 rounds.
Weaknesses: The latching mechanism doesn't always function. While running a few burst open.
Review: Overall, I was hoping these pods would be the save all for losing rounds. The first major battle I used them in was ION 07 in PA as a sniper, and me and my partner decided to keep the special sniper paint in one of these pods... ya, big mistake. Now not all of this was the pod's fault -it popped out of my vest, but I bought these things to stay shut even when dropped. It wasn't just 1 pod, I've had this problem with quite a few different pods.
Conclusion: To be honest, don't waste your money... or paint. Get some normal pods.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maunz Thursday, November 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp pods, jt pods, pgear.com pods, and fatboy pods
Marker Setup: icon black dm7 w/ hatred board
black halo b /rip and symbio board
68/45K
Strengths: Doesnt open when not supposed to
Nice grip
Holds extra paint
Weaknesses: Doesnt fit all harnesses (too fat)
Review: I bought a six pack of these recently. They are a very good pod. Easy to use, secure, great bubble grip, and they hold extra paint. Along with its good points it does have one very big problem, it doesnt fit in all harnesses. Whats the point of having ba pods if you cant carry them? If you do your research and find harnesses that except these you will be ahead of the class.
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good product. It was my fault I didnt make sure they fit my harness. I give it a 9 because of its unusual size and complications with all harnesses
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarlockMercer Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7, M4 stock, remote line, aimpoint red dot, RIS foregrip, sight elevator
Strengths: Durable, lock-lid, holds alot of paint.
Weaknesses: If any, it's the fail rate.
Review: These are the first pods I've actually owned. I've seen alot of pods on the field, but these are the only ones I've actually owned, so take this review as it should be.
They're pretty tough. I've fallen on mine and nothing's happened.They didn't break, crack or otherwise fall apart. I did, however, break a couple of balls when this happened but, that's to be expected when 240 pounds falls on something. (not fat, just a BIG guy)
Haven't had a single pod open yet. They lock tight. Which is good. Although, some of my pods won't just flip open. I have to actually flip them manually. It's a minor thing that I have to correct. A little shaving along a rim with a sharp blade fixes it, just be careful not to shave too much off or the lid own't lock.
They're pretty inexpensive. When you look at what you're getting, the cost is actually pretty low.

If any weaknesses, it's the fail rate. I bought a 6-pack, and had to send 2 back. They just wouldn't lock. DYE was really good about it. Replaced them no questions asked. But, a 1 in 3 fail rate isn't very good.
Conclusion: They're probably one of the better pods out there from what I've seen. I play with a couple of tournament teams here in town, and they all use the lock pods. Which is what prompted me to buy them. They're tough, lock well, hold alot of paint and have a good company backing them.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego59 Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal Pods
Marker Setup: 06 Warped Sportz Dark Ego LE Dust White
Tadao M7 Board-Blue LEDs, 06 Blue Hybrid Grips, Dust Blue Kila Detents, Dust Blue Critical Ram Adjuster, Dust Blue Critical Trigger, Dust Blue CCU Kit, Bump Paintball LPR&HPR Pistons, Cure Bolt& Orange Spitfire Bolt, Warped Sportz Titanium Rammer,
Dust Blue Star Reg,Dust Blue Hybrid Push Button on/off, ND Blackout Screw Kit, Dust Blue .692 back, Dust Blue 14inch Front Dye UL Barrel soon: Redz Pepperstick Barrel Kit due to sponsorship
Blue Vlocity
Dust Blue CP 68 4500 LP Tank
Blue Egg2
ACI Bulldog 3 68 4500 LP
both tanks in 05 Blue Dye Covers soon to be: Redz do to sponsorship

03/04 Silver Dust Angel Speed with Predator Eye Upgrade (Blue Eyes installed)
SS Back Full Freak Barrel Kit
Check-it Silver Dust Clamping Feedneck, Kapp Blue Polished Breech Knob, Warped Sports Silver Back Plate, Warped Sports Silver Dust Iron Cross Detents, Blue Grips, Silver Cobra Flat Blade Trigger, JAM Bolt, Silver Dust DYE Volumiser or Silver and Blue Polishes Twister Volumizers, Silver Dust CP Direct Mount On/Off and Dust Silver CP Shorty Reg
Strengths: Dont Open unless you want them to, Hold more paint
Weaknesses: Expensive, Start to open once in a while as they wear
Review: These Pods are great. They hold around 160 balls instead of 140 and that means you carry more paint with fewer pods. They dont open for the most part when you dont want them to but as they get older they are more prone to it. They look cool in my opinion.
Conclusion: Great Pods. Highly Recommend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p-baller100 Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader pods
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue on/off
Tech-T L7 bolt
Redz 14" barrel with .689 back
Virtue eyes
Dye membrane pad
Scenario Dreams T- board
CP twist lock feed neck
Evil Detonator regulator
Qev
ndz autococker breach
lucky stage 2
Draxxus Pulse Loader
48/3000 tank with assault regulator and unique tank cover
cup of love every day
Strengths: Strong
stay shut
easy open
hold 160 paintballs
looks
it is DYE
Weaknesses: A little hard to come out of pack due to its size
price
Review: I really like these pods. i have filled them up wiht 163 paintballs and shook them upside down and it did not pop open. i started to shake as hard as i could and very fast and it finally opened. there is no way it will shake that hard or fast when in the field plus your pod pack strap should keep it closed. i am using a redz pack with the elastic straps and it kicks the pods out fine so i dont really have a hard time taking them out.the bumps on the pods make it just a little bit hard to get out. which will cost you time in reloading. but it makes up for that by a sipmle push of the button to open. they are very strong. i personally had them laying on my floor cause im to lazy to pick them up and accidently stepped on one of them. i wiegh 145 pounds and it didnt even crack. hurt my foot more than the pod. they are also dye and look quiet nice. it helps a little in saving paint. when i used to open my other pods the force from opening the lid made me spill about 10 balls. the only thing is they are about 5 bux a piece but if you are buying online ive seen some on ebay a lil cheaper.
Conclusion: a very good pod. i have a setup made for the fastest reload possible and this is a big help. if you have a standard pack that doesnt have elastic it might be a little bit tough to come out but is still worth it. Excellent product a 9 only because of the size. which isnt a real big deal. please feel free to rate my review and ask any quetions.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 2:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

babustos Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generic 140 rd. pods
Marker Setup: Blue Dangerous Power Fusion
Blue Egg 2
68/4500 Air America
Blue Free Agent cover


Strengths: Durable
Great capacity
Weaknesses: Doesn't open every time
Only one available opening at one spot
Opens by itself
Review: I had to buy one of these because one of my generic pods broke, and another one broke recently. They're pretty durable and have great capacity, but I'm just not a fan of the way they open and close. Its too easy for them to open by themselves, I stumbled backwards onto my pod pack and all my generic pods seemed fine, but the Lock Lid was the only one that opened on its own and spilled paint. The Lock Lids are also pretty thick, so packs that don't have stretchy elastic might not hold them well.
Conclusion: I wouldn't buy one if they didn't match well or if my store carried other blue pods. They are pretty expensive for just being pods, but you're paying for the name.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media