paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer9876 Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular pods, action village pods, view loader pods
Marker Setup: -06 burgandy dust infamous intimidator
-dye 68/4500 tank
-halo v35
-bob long gear drive on/off asa.
-freak it


-Proto rail
-ricochet apache
-Evil 45/5000 tank
-ndz eye cover, bolt cap, feed neck collar, eye covers
Strengths: Fills my halo perfectly,
Grippy (if thats even a word)
Good locking mechinism
Weaknesses: Little pricey
With some packs it doesn't work.
Review: I got these pods at a store for 3 dollars a peice, and i bought 3 just to try, after using them the first time i couldn't stop using them, i now have 8. I had a redz pod pack that i used at first, that had pre fit straps (no stretchy stuff), basicly i had about a half inch of velcro holding it in, so a pod dropped every once and a while. I just uppgraded to a empire pack that has the elastic stuff holding them in, and not one opened pod, and they work perfectly. Before i got these pods i had more standard pods open then these, and commonly a pod would get hit and they would just crack and or shatter. These are pefect pods for what i do.
Conclusion: Taking into acount that they are expensive and not all pod packs work, i would rate it a 8.5 but i cant do that so a 9 will have to do, and no its not a 10 because the pod would be free it would make its own paint and you would never have to grab the pod it would fill your loader as you empty it, so basicly no pod deserves a ten, but a 9 will work.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-Mikee Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, All others Ive used have better construction
Marker Setup: PMR LE
Vlocity
68/45 Carleton w/Macdev Reg.
Strengths: The design is pretty nice w/ extra capacity
Weaknesses: -Open in the pack, a lot.
- The two pieces randomly seperate a lot.
Review: I traded two of my Zap pods for these. (honestly, the best product zap makes.)
I wish wouldnt have done it.
The first week or two they worked fine, and I liked them.
Then, they would start opening in the middle of my games and when I reached down for a pod my paint would spill everywhere.
After my experience with these, Im gonna buy my zap pods back.
Conclusion: If you like to keep your paint, I wouldnt reccomend buying these, youre better off buying a less expensive pod that works better.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hellfingerz Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular crap pods, evil chrome pods (blinging), jt speed pods (CRAP)
Marker Setup: ion, empire fuel 70/4500, vlocity with lithium battery,empire tank cover, empire revolver barrel, q lock, virtue board, virtue qev, virtue breakbeam eyes, white body kit, dye inline hyper reg 2, TechT L7 bolt
Strengths: See review...
Weaknesses: See review...
Review: The good
Dont break open
Hold a lot of paint
durable
cheap
The bad
Dont fit in injection style harnesses well (like sprint pack)
Makes the pack scrunch together really tight if your carrying a lot of pods
Hard to get out of the pack since their so big and bulky
Conclusion: Dont get these if you have an enjection style harness, theiir great pods but i had to stretch my pack out for the pods to fit. Other than the sizing problem there great pods and they never bust open. Giving an 8 because they dont fit in packs very well and this slows down your reloading speed
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wmiles11@yahoo. Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spec Ops 140 rd Pods
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 05 ACS
Stock Everything
VL Revvy
20 oz C02
Strengths: Secure Lock Lids
Hold 160 rds
Push Button
Looks
Weaknesses: Price
Review: These are awesome pods made by one of the best paintball companies out there. They hold 160 rds which will fill up most of an average hopper. Also, they are not to big (my opinion) and fit well into by Nxe 4 Pod Pro Pak (which has ejection) unlike many people say. The button is easy to use and the lids magically open when you push it. This is very convenient when you have gloves on or when its cold and your fingers are very numb. In other pods, the thumb thing would get me killed because I was trying to open them with my gloves on. Also, the lids are very secure, I have dropped them, hit them, threw them, and they stay shut. However, before the game you need to make sure the lids are secure becasue I closed ithe lid weakly (my fault) and the pod spilled. Also, they are $5 a pod compared to the other $2-$3 pods. But the perormance is worth $2 difference.
Conclusion: I would definatly recomend this to anyone who wants to get easy to use pods that fill up most of an average hopper. Spend the extra $2 and buy these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonas Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi pods,fatboy pods,proto pods,evil pods
Marker Setup: Invert mini(love it,tight) ,stako tank (lightest 68ci? ,from polen with love),gurrilla-air the myth (smalest,lightest?),Vlocity jr +star chip
Strengths: Grip ,no spill
Weaknesses: Lid,size
Review: Easy to use, but sometimes the lid won't pop,but you can fix it with sandpaper.
the size is ...well good and bad,it will be bad if you have some backpack they wont fit
but also they fit more paint so if you have a dye backpack buy this ,if not go and buy some fat boys instead
Conclusion: No spill,160 rounds,good grip,wont fit all backpacks and that's the real problem bring you're gear to the store to make sure they fit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moffetts_is_agg Saturday, April 21st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fatboys, generic pods
Marker Setup: A4 Fly
JDS STD LPR
Evolve Lite (sometimes...)
Evolve Ram
CP HPR
Strengths: 160 rounds
Don't usually open unless you want them to
Weaknesses: Cheap plastic
Big
Can open when you pull them out
Price
Review: I bought some of these way back when, and they were about 5 bucks each. The knobs on the outside prevent it from fitting in most packs correctly, and can be a real PITA to take out of the pack quickly. The extra width allows the pods to hold 160 rounds, which is good if you like to lay down the pain. It only took about a year for them to begin breaking apart where the lid meets the pod body. If I'm not careful taking them out of my pack (when I actually use them...) I'll rip the lid off and dump my entire pod. The clear pod material is little more than blister pack plastic. Very thin, very cheaply made. Another issue is that if the pods aren't positioned correctly in the pack, you'll end up pushing down on the relase tab when you grab the top of the pod to pull it out, thus resultiung in 160 rounds on the ground. ALong those same lines, the tab can be pushed down completely by itself by rubbing up against the pack. This issue is dependent on the type of harness you have, but it's irritating and has resulted in paint dumps. I bought some Fatboys, and the body material is real plastic and is about 5 times thicker. Harder to open, yes they are, but I have never had issues with them. Lock Lids are not very good, and I never use them anymore.
Conclusion: Don't buy unless you have the time to position them correctly and grab them out of your harness correctly.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

websuffer22 Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
evil,pmi
Marker Setup: airborn ion w/virtue, halow/rip and victory, fire bolt, 360qev, redz peperstick, dyesticky grips,q-lock redz on/off,crossfie carbon fiber wrap 45 68,dye rhino cover
Strengths: Durable, Extra paint, Button, Ribbed
Weaknesses: When dropped opens, Too big for ejecting harnesses
Review: These are very good pods just don't drop them or they usually open and u loose paint but all and all very good pod ribbed so they don't fall out when running, a little too big for ejecting harnesses i have some myself and i love em,there a good product i haven't hade any problems with em except opening when dropped
Conclusion: Buy these if u want a good pod
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zhelldog Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Here are the pros and cons of the Dye LLP(lock lid pods)

PROS:
-hold 160 rounds ( i counted)
-fit in most pod packs and scenario vests
-the lock lid

CONS:
-are kind of pricy

Dye did a great job coming up with the ingenious lock lid pods. Here is how easy they are to use:
1. Take out of vest or pack.
2. Pop up the top of your hopper.
3. Push button on pod.
4. Insert pod into hopper.

Hey, its better than fumbling around with tough-to-open pods that can make reloading take longer than usual.
Not to mention that these are the only pods on the market(to my knowledge, at least) that hold a good 160 rounds!

Anyway here are the steps for reloading with a regular pod:
1. Take out of vest or pack
2. flip up the hopper top
3. try to push the pod's top up with thumb
4.try again
5. finnaly succeed in opening it
6. quickly put it in the hopper and run cause there are probably a bunch of guys about to bunker you soon cause you took so long to reload!

Yeah, ill stick with the LLPs

Thanks for readin
Conclusion: Great pods, innovative and very usefull, great for all paintballers. I recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintball48 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal pods
Marker Setup: Ion
Fire bolt
Virtue quv
All american barrel
Empire b2
Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi
Strengths: Do not open when you take them out
Weaknesses: They canot fit some pod belts because of the bumps
Review: I would get dye locklids because they do not open when you take them put of your pod belt.Some pod belts canot fit the dye locklids because of the bumps.if you ever lose paint when geting your pods from your pod belt i would get these they are the best pods i have ever used.
Conclusion: There just three more dollars than a normal pod.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phrenologyfiend Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months51 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many other generic pods
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix 6 (Olive)
-14" St!ffi Switch Barrel Kit
-Critical Raze Trigger
-Lucky Un1tech Board with Spitfire software chip
-Halo B
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi tank
Strengths: Functionality
Ease of use
Capacity
Weaknesses: Size
Cost
Review: These are without a doubt the best pods I've ever used. We've all been there. You're in a firefight behind a bunker and you reach for a full pod only to notice that the lid came off when you were crawling or sliding. While these don't prevent the lids from opening under all possible circumstances, they do a much finer job than anything else I've tried, and they do it without having to buy another attachment (i.e. JT Speed Coller/Speed Pods).

Strengths

Functionality: GASP! They actually do what they advertise?! As stated above, while there is no practical way to guarantee that a pod will not open at an undesired time, this is the best way to prevent it I've seen while still maintaining ease of use. In the time I've been using these pods, I've only had them open accidentally twice, and it took me hitting the open button in just the right way.

Ease of use: These are so easy to use one-handed. You just hit the open button and the spring-loaded lid does the rest.

Capacity: They hold 160 rounds. Better than the 100 round holders we used when I started playing. To quote a wise man, "'Nuff Said!"

Weaknesses

Size: While these are not noticeably longer than other 160 round pods on the market, they are wider. This is due to the dimpling on the pods, presumably to add either strength or extra grip. It does add grip, but it also makes fitting some pod belts or vests a problem. These pods are almost as wide as Q-Loader pods.
Some people have also complained that the dimpling warps their paint shape while the paint is sitting in the pod. I haven't noticed this, but it's something to watch out for.

Cost: These pods are a bit pricey. The cynical side of me would like to say it's because they have a Dye logo on them, but realistically it's probably due to the obviously more complicated manufacturing process. That being said, they're still worth it at between four to six dollars a piece. This is still a cheaper option for more secure lids than some of the previous solutions (i.e. Q-Loader) and without needing to buy extra parts (again, JT Speed Coller/Speed Pods).
Conclusion: Absolutely buy them! Regardless of the size and cost, they are the best, most secure pods I've used. It's nice to know when you throw someone a pod, that it's less likely to open in midair and that it's universally compatible because it needs no special housing or attachments.

So, final rating . . . on a scale of 1 to 10, with 5 being the average, I'm going to give these pods a good, solid 9. There's some room for improvement, but they work as advertised and are still an amazing product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media