paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Evil_Wayz Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
GxE, Extreme Rage
Marker Setup: BT-4 Iron horse
BT E-grip
Apex barrel
Ricochet AK loader
specter one point sling
BT magazine expansion chamber
Strengths: Strength
Weaknesses: Size, Cost
Review: I was interested in these because they claimed they were the same size as regular pods but hold 20 more. Well, they do.

I have read that these don't fit well in covered harnesses, which isn't entirely true. I have an old spyder harness which I am sure came out pre Dye LLP and Q-loader, and my Dye pods fit but the Q-loader pod doesn't.

I will agree with the opening mechanism comments, out of 8, one didn't open right. HOWEVER, I bought mine used, so that might not be manufacturing defect.
As a test, I filled one up with paintballs and then stood on it for five minutes. Didn't break.
Nor did the lid open. Next time I go play, I am going to jump on the defective one and see if it breaks or opens, but on carpet with my 195 pound son it, they withstood the pressure.

I tried that with my GxE pod and am now the proud owner of a broken pod.

These are great especially if you have teammates that run out of ammo and need to have a pod slung to them.

They are a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Only time will tell but I think the locking lid design is solid, and the extra capacity is worth having.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slimjim12 Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32* pods
Marker Setup: Ion, redz white body kit, white virtue ezON, CP reg, q-lock, CP on-off w/rail, TechT L7 bolt, SP qev, Dye Ultralite 14", centerflag 92/5000, halo B
Strengths: Very strong
Easy to open (good and bad)
Look good
Made by dye
Weaknesses: Open easily (good and bad)
Big
Expensive but you get what you pay for

Review: Strengths:
They are very strong I dont think its possible to break the main body without a tool and the lid seems strong too.
They are easy to open this is good and bad but the good part is if you put them in your pod so the button is where your thumb will be you can open them very easily and very quickly.
They look pretty good and are distinct.
They are made by dye.

Weaknesses:
They open easily 3 times they have come out of my pack and opened. And once they opened then I rolled one to a teammate.
I have heard that they may not work for some packs because they are very large, however they work fine with my Nxe pack.
They are expensive but because they are so durable they will last long enough to be worth it.
Conclusion: I like um and think they are worth the price. I would give a 9 of 10 but they dont work for everyone so 8 of 10 it is.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
draxxus pods- harder to open
Marker Setup: ion, 72/3000 air tank, empire barrel kit, clamping feed neck, halo
Strengths: Good opening system
makes u reload faster
look good
Weaknesses: Hold lot of paint- ill explain y this is bad later
some lids dont work
Review: I got a couple of these pods, and they work awesome. the button thing to open the lid is really easy to use, and its a lot easier to reload without havin to pry the lids off ur pods. they dont open when u dont want them to, so u wont spill paint or anything. the only thing i dont like about them is they hold 160 rounds (and i dont think they sell 140s but if they do, tell me). when u reload a halo b and have any paintballs left in ur hopper, it will almost overflow with paintballs. its kind of a pain to wait til your hopper is completely empty to reload, sometimes u dont have time in a game to check how many are in there.
Conclusion: I would definitely get these pods if i had a larger capacity hopper than a halo b. they work great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jonnerz26 Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Pots
Fat Boy Pots
Marker Setup: Ego 06
Cure Bolt
Stock Bolt
Dye Ultra Lite 2 Piece Barrels
Eclipse Shaft One Piece Barrels
Reloader B With Suicide Shells
PMI 5000Psi Fibre Wrap Tank
Strengths: Locking lids
Extra 20 ball capacity
Cool bumpy texture
Strong
Weaknesses: CAN Pop open if not loaded correctly.
May not work with "flap" packs
Review: As Most other people have commented on these pods are great, i use them in sup'air and in the occasional walk on. They hold an extra 20 Balls than other pods which can really make a difference. I use an empire fast pack 3+2 and these pods fit snuggly in the pack and don't bounce or move at all. I can't comment on packs with flaps as i do not use one. Pulling them out is a breeze due to the bumpy texture of the pod. Don't by clear ones though, some tournaments don't allow clear pods I believe (off the top of my head)
They are also super strong and will take a good beating, though i wouldn't recommend hitting them with a blunt object!
The only problem i found was if you added an extra one or two paintballs to remove rattles they do seem to pop open but this can be remedied by correct loading and tapping them lightly on a bench or floor with your hand lightly covering the lid.
Conclusion: Fantastic product manufactured by Dye.
I would recomend these to any paintballer
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 7th, 2007 at 4:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mtbrdude Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal pods with a snap lid
Marker Setup: ICD FS8
J&J Edge kit
Strengths: No accidental openings.
Holds 160 balls vs 140.
Weaknesses: Larger than normals pods, so they're hard to get into some packs.
Review: the bumps on the outside of the pod, combined with the nice push-button lid opening helps prevent those accidental paint spills. the only problem is that they're harder to fit into any pack that has an elastic ejections system.. my empire pack closes JUST enough for the velcro to overlap..

Conclusion: These pods are worth the extra couple bucks, get them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ocianic Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ah some stock ones idk what there called
Marker Setup: Ion tippmann a-5 tippmann 98
Virtue 16'' stiffy 16'' cp classic
Virtue eyes stock
Virtue ez on reg
New designz trigger
Q-lock feed neck
Freak jr barrel
Cp drop
Cp reg
Cp on off
Strengths: Strong
Never broke
Always stayed shut
Weaknesses: None at all
Good product
Review: I recommend buying this product because they are very strong you can slide and not brake a single one you can throw them to the side and doesn't even harm it the lid never stoped working on me always held my paintballs in them over all this is a great product....
Conclusion: They are just plain awesome pods never used anything better than them..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jumpingmustang Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
garbage
Marker Setup: 2006 SFT smart parts shocker
Strengths: Lid,strong,160 ball capacity
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Havent used them yet but they are nice,they cost me $25 . Fit nicely in my empire pack . The lid is a litte hard to get used to.I'll write more when i get use them, but it is a all around good pod for any kind of paintball
Conclusion: If you play hard get them,if you like a big load get'em,if you are pro get'em
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EgoManiac777 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most other pods...
Marker Setup: Olive/Black Maniac Ego
Pulse Loader
ANS 68/45 tank
Strengths: -Ball Capacity
-Locking Lid
-Bumps
Weaknesses: -Price maybe
-Lids open too easy
Review: I bought 2 packs of these pods, 6 for $20 each. That may sound a little expensive for pods, but I tell you these things are worth it. They hold 160 balls, compared to the 140 balls that normal pods hold, and for a back man like me that is a complete bonus. Also, the locking lid makes opening them a breeze. Finally, the bumps on these help make them not slide out of packs. The only bad thing I can say about these are that they open a little too easy, and it has cost me quite a few pods of paint on the ground.
Conclusion: I give these pods a 9, only because they open a little easy and paint can spill out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

anthony15 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
regular pods
Marker Setup: spyder sonix, rocking frame trinity front block, hybrid feed, redz pepper stik
cp drop dead on expansion chamber shooting compressed air
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Lid doesn't hold that much better than other pods
Review: I found 2 of these pods and used them. they are stronger than other posd and I really like the bumps for extra grip. the only thing is the 'lock lid' doesn't really lock the lid. I threw a pod to my friend and it busted open and paint went everywhere.
Conclusion: These pods are cool, way to expensive $20 for six! They are not much better than regular pods that are only 1-2 bucks a piece. If you happen to find one on the ground they are pretty cool, but otherwise just buy off-brand pods.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepunk13 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
really any pod
Marker Setup: Z series Intimidator w/ W.AS. 2.6 equalizer board, LCD display, Reloader B, Pure Energy 72ci 4500psi tank, dye rhino cover, lucky 15 barrel, cp on/off, and critical trigger
Strengths: Opens quick, holds more paint
Weaknesses: Dimples can make it harder to pull out of pod and price
Review: ok, this isn't the only pod i use, infact i use it least. There's really nothing special about this pod. In my area they run $6 each so i don't buy them, i just pick them up off the ground after they've been sitting there all day. For a while i used a full 4 pack w/ my reds flextech, but stopped because it was VERY difficult to insert and remove the pods from the slot. An ejection harness does help, but dosn't eliminate this problem. The thing i liked about this pod was that it had the dimples which allowed for more paint, but it's not enough to overcome the fact that it's a hinderance when inserting and removing from the pod slot. In my preferance these pods were made bye dye, and for dye. Any other harness and you won't get the full performance outta the pods.
Conclusion: If you have an ejection style harness it helps to get anything outta these pods, otherwise save your money
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media