paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod / Dye Lock Lid Pod

Dye Lock Lid Pod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Lock Lid Pod

Paintball Pods / Tubes

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Lock Lid Pod
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 165
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $4

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The patent pending DYE Lock Lid Pod is a first step in pod technology and a must for any serious player. The 140 round LLP is easily opened with a slide of a finger, but guaranteed to stay closed during rigorous play. Paint is not cheap--no more accidental openings and spilling.
Clear, neon green, blue, smoke.
Product Availability 
The Dye Lock Lid Pod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
PB97 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
syn pods
and some basic pods from vrious companys
Marker Setup: 03 Orracle (Blue, Black Fade)
Halo B w/ Rip drive (Blue)
Cross fire 68/30k w/ Dye Rhino cover (Blue)
Hybrid Theory Stage 2 inline reg (Black)
System X Drop w/ on/off (Blue)
Planet Eclipse Nexus upgrade (Black)
Phat Barrel Kit
System X Beaver Tail (Blue)
Hybrid Theory Eye cover (Blue)
Wgp Karnivor Pump rod (Blue)
Kapp Cocking Rod (Black)
Strengths: Very durable
Looks Cool
High capacity
lid locks
grip
Weaknesses: need some break in time
Price
may not fit in all packs
Review: Dye lock lids pods are some of the strongest most durable pods i have ever used. The locking mechinism is sticky at first but after a day of play they should be fine. and thought some people say they can find the button all i could say is pratice. I have seen many pods that crack when hit point blank and have never had this problem with dye pods. They have a large 160 capacity which can fill a halo and pulse easyly. The price point is a bit high but you can buy them in a 6 pack for a reduced price.
Conclusion: This is a a high quality product that could only come from dye. thought the price point is high they will save you from droping a pod of expensive paint
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adidasgolfer06 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt pod
vl pro attitude
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Viewloader eVLution 3
2 WGP 50ci 3000psi tanks

Strengths: Locking lid
Ridges
Size
Weaknesses: Size
Review: i got these pods for christmas and theyre awesome. They hold alot so i dont have to bring as many pods. also with the button, the lid wont open if i hit it on something. The ridges on the side make it easy to hold on since the pods are kinda slippery. The only bad thing i could find is with a halo hopper you have to wait till its very low on paint before you can fill it.
Conclusion: Great pods, do what their supposed to do
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego_Trip Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special ops pods, Gxg pod, Evil pods............nothing compares to the lock lid.
Marker Setup: I Use a Gun metal Grey 06 Ego hybrid grips (Grey), eclipse shaft two peice barrel (gun metal Grey back silver dust tip) silver dust CCU kit, Halo B w/rip & angry board, dye throttle 68 cui 4500 psi air system, Dye Rhino Bottle cover.
Strengths: Doesn't just pop open.
Bumpy for grips.
Holds more.
Weaknesses: Some packs the dye lock lid wont fit in.
Review: These pods are the greatest pods ever they have a locking lid as the name says.
that wont budge unless you open it. it has cool bumpy molding for extra grip.which is nice also holds more paintballs that's the thing i like the most not having to carry more pods when one dye lock lid Carry's about 20 more that's 20 more people shot out.
all in all the dye lock lid pods are a step in the right direction towards no more spilled paint!
Conclusion: Im giving it a 10 because A. holds more paint. B. looks cool. C.has locking lid.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bspitch1 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fat boy, Dye pods,Jt, View Loader
Marker Setup: Smartparts ion, Q-lock feed neck, Egg 2, Trinity drop with Asa, CP trigger, Stiffi
Strengths: Easy to open, Dont Open in your pack, Easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: I picked up these pods at a paintball field for about $5.00. They had Fatboy, but I wanted something that was easy to open. I didn't know if they would fit, but I decided to try them anyway. There Great. They dont break open, and they all worked. This is definantly the best pod to get.
Conclusion: Buy this Pod
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatmaster man Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 06 alien interceptor
Vlosity jr
45 4500 hp crossfire tank
stiffi
Strengths: Hold 165 rounds. hand counted
fills my vlocity jr perfect
Weaknesses: Some of them dont open without an assist. no biggie
Review: Got the pods in smoke cause it kind of hides the brightness of the paint without blocking the view. Bumps are very nice design It helps the paint sit better. Hand counted 165 paintballs cause my friend said they only hold 140 rounds. Bet me 5 bucks. I won.I love these pods and would not trade them for any other pod so i guess that makes the the best at least in my eyes.
Conclusion: Buy these if you have a harness that will hold 160 rd pods you will not regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha Sniper Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops Pods

Generic pods
Marker Setup: Custom Pro with milling of letters and cut off front grip.
A5-A2 grip adapted to a 98
Rocket cock II
APE ramage board
APE PRO-E magnetic double trigger.
Tiger stripe paintjob
Proteam stock
Stiffi Barrel 16"
BT sight rail
Cyclone feed system
Palmers stabilizer
PMI remote
Strengths: Quick and easy open
higher capacity
wont slip
Weaknesses: Tops come off easily
opens with a fall
soft material
Review: I like these pods, they are definately a step up from pretty much all other pods, with the only one rivalling it is the JT one. It opens easily with a push of your thumb. I had problems flipping up the lid on special ops pods. However, a problem that they should fix is that with a small fall will open the pod, spilling pretty much all the paintballs within. Also, with a firm pull, the black cap will come off. Also, in my hands, squeezing it will show that it isnt exactly hard, compared to the extremely durable special ops type pods.
Conclusion: They are good, but they could use a little work with thier durablity factor. I reccomend them definately though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmbxvii Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
12'' JJ Ceramic S2
CCM Feed
Crossfire 45/4500 HPA
Ricochet Apache e hopper

Apparel and what not:
Empire e-vents
Empire Fastpack
Strengths: Fast reloading
spring lid pops up quick
holds 140+ paintballs
nice grips
Weaknesses: Lid will open if dropped or hit against something
They don't fit all harnesses
Review: Alright, I'm going to tell you the honest truth about the Dye Lock Lids. I have used many different types so I'm not biased and I don't care if you decide to trust me or not.
If you want to know the good just look in the key strenghs section, I'm going to explain the bad. The lids will pop open randomly every once in a while and you'll lose all of your paint. I was in a tournament last weekend and twice did I lose 2 full pods. The first time was when one was tossed onto a table (slowly like 6 inches away from the table), and the other time was when I dropped a pod. That was just in the tourny. Another time when I was playing woodsball, I brushed against a bunker and somehow the device was triggered and all my paint was ejected into the mud. IF YOU GET THE DYE LOCK LIDS THIS WILL HAPPEN somtime one way or another so don't be suprised. Also if your gonna get these make sure they fit your harness, because they dont fit all of em.

Conclusion: Im not saying these are bad pods. They have faults yes but the good is = with the bad. Other lids sometimes have the same problem and other lids take way longer to open and have bad grips or no grips. So Im gonna give them 7, but they should really be a very low 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tennisboy34 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None that lock.
Marker Setup: Ion, cp reg, redz on/off, redz clamping feedneck, smart parts all american barrel, veiwloader eVolution 2.
Strengths: Strong, won't open as easily as other pods.
Weaknesses: Will open if hit on the ground hard enough and at the right angle.
Review: These pods are the best in my opinion. Thes epods won't open as easily as the other pods while in play. They have a tab are which u pull down to open the pod. It takes a while to get use to though.The price is very reasonable too. These pods are really strong. Will not break at all unless you probaly hit them with a hammer or something.Alpha Sniper is right in his dispute. I tried it and u can open it up without pulling the tab down. I beat it on the ground and at certain angles and at certain speeds it would open. But it still won't open as easily as other pods. With regular pods i only used them for 1 tourny and i lost at least 3+ pods because of them. I've only used these once so far and i haven't lost any paint yet!
Conclusion: These are awesome, although they open sometimes. I would recomend this product to anyone at any level. I would bye this product over any other pods
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bam wannabe Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
standard pods. this one is more convient
Marker Setup: 06 SFT Shocker
HE bolt
virtue board
q-lock feedneck
empire reloaber b
bulldog 2 45/4500
Strengths: More convient than your standard pod
Lid holds well
Weaknesses: Minimal to no weaknesses from what i saw
Review: Good:
These pods work wonders. its much more convient to only have to pull one out, slide a small button, and then have the lid just snap open.
Combine these pods with a speedfeed, and you will be saving yourself valuable seconds on the playing field. (yes, those seconds do count when you are under heavy fire.)

Bad:
i have heard of some of them getting faulty lids. i have yet to get one like that.
I have also heard they dont fit in ejection type harnesses. they fit just fine in my Mantis 3+2 harness with ejection style pod holders.
The only major downfall i see on these, is that fact that they are a little more pricey than regular pods. it might not seem like much, but when i am paying about 5 bucks for one of these pods at my local shop, and i could just get a regular pod for 2 bucks... it makes me sometimes question why i pay twice as much for one of these. (until i go and play with it, that is)
Conclusion: I love these pods. They will basically be the only pod i use until something better comes along. sure, they may be a little more pricey and your average pod, but i personally love them. if you dont feel like buying enough to fill your whole harness up, just go buy one or two if your shop has them to see how you like them.

i'll give them a 9 because i hear they have their flaws, although i have yet to come across any. and im giving them a 9 because the price is a little iffy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^_^ Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
- GXG Pods
- Diablo Pods
- Viewloader Pods
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04 - Green
- 32 Degrees Spyder Spring Kit
- Spyder Rodeo Stock Barrel
- Trinity Spyder Pro-Lock Feed Neck - Black
- Spyder Rodeo Front Block - Black
- Spyder Rodeo ASA - Black
- Spyder Rodeo Drop Forward - Silver
- Spyder Rodeo Regulator - Black
- Trigger Spring Removed
- Valve Pin Polished
- WGP 50/3000 Worr Gass Steel HPA Tank
- PMI Pure Energy Air Tank Cover - Red - 68ci
- Smart Parts Fill Nipple Cover
- ViewLoader eVLution 3 - Black
Strengths: - They lock
- They say Dye on them
- They hold 160 paintballs
Weaknesses: - Price
Review: Well I bought and Empire Fast Pack from Action Village the other day. And I had heard in many of it's reviews that you should get good pods so they don't open when your playing and lose all your paint. So I got some Dye Lock lid pods with it. When I received them I was very impressed and liked how easy they were to open with one hand. Also I could tell that the lid shuts very tightly and would not open unless I wanted it too. When I got to test them out when I played later in the week I was very impressed with them! I loved the fact that they hold 160 paintballs thats almost all the way full for my hopper, I am also happy to report that they did not open unless I wanted them to. So they work as advertised. The only bad thing I have to say about these pods is that they are over priced. They are $4.00 each which is much more expensive than most pods. But then again I just am careful not to lose them.
Conclusion: Awesome pods! I would suggest them to anyone looking for high quality pods that won't open unless you want them to!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media