paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Vertical Bottle, Trigger Shoe, Anodized Aluminum Body, Lightweight, Easy Field Stripping, and Maximum Performance Valve.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jimmynz Friday, January 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, couple of classic cockers, WGP Sniper
Marker Setup: PPS Blazer, 9 inch dual vented barrel with PPS apex adaptor & apex, male stabilizer, redz grenade asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dual vented barrel, male stabilizer. Other than that, you don't need much. Perhaps the apex if you feel you want it, it shoots great with an apex.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Consistency
- Durability
- Reliability
- Barrel
- Bolt
- EFFICIENCY
- Maintenance
Weaknesses: - Price
- Noise
- EXPOSED BOLT
- Freezes
- R.O.F.
- Ugly
- Detents
- No eyes
Review: Well first up, please bear in mind this is a review from extensive product use. As I write this it's January 2010, I bought it and have used it regularly since January 2007. 3 years. Have used this gun on both CO2 and air.



Strengths, EFFICIENCY! My god... this this is awesome next to a gas hungry CVX valve tippmann. On a full 20oz you'll get somewhere around 1000-1500 shots on a blazer. On a tippmann you'll get more like 500-1000.

The accuracy and consistency are good, though brass barrels are definitely not miles better than any other good aftermarket barrel. You do need a male stabilizer though for good consistency, unregulated the gun spikes a lot on CO2. Durability, this thing is like a tank... you can take it in the shower with you at the end of the day to clean it, in fact, it says to do so in the manual. Maintenance is easy, a few drops of oil in the asa, on the bolt, and ram. Generally reliable, however there are 2 achillies heels with this gun (see below). Upper bolt is good too coz you can pull it out and swab the gun.

Slip fit barrel, though some people won't like this and consider it a weakness. I like it but it does mean you have to use an allen key to change the barrel unless you have a blazer to cocker barrel adaptor.



Weaknesses, EXPOSED BOLT! Much like a tippmann 98... the lower bolt is exposed on this. BAD BAD BAD... get any dirt or sand in there (as I have done more than once) and your gun is now either completely unresponsive... or not cycling correctly until you can get off the field, degass, and pull out the lower bolt assembly for a THOROUGH and DIFFICULT cleaning out. (You have to flush it with tonnes and tonnes of water).

The gun also freezes up on CO2 in the cold. BAD BAD BAD... Palmer owners who live in warm climates like Sacramento will swear they've never had this problem, BUT... you shoot this gun in cold weather on CO2 and it will not cycle correctly, if at all. Similar problem to getting dirt in the bolt. The new synthetic lube supposedly alleviates this... however the difference is minimal/non existence. IT STILL FREEZES UP.

Also, the cocker detends, they are not the greatest... put them too far in and you start wearing out your bolt, too far out and you're double feeding. I've done both. Trigger... the safety switch on mine now will come all the way out (it's not supposed to do that), put this down to wear and tear. Eyes... it has no eyes. Well okay it is an old design of mech gun, but seriously, eyes would have saved me a lot of grief on the field from chopping balls. The breach and upper bolt are a TERRIBLE MESS when it chops.

Expensive, I loved this gun when I got it, but now in 2010... honestly $400 for a basic blazer is too much, not when you can get something like an Invert mini instead. ROF... not very fast. It is fun to shoot as a mech though, it has that very heavy trigger pull cocker feel to it although it's not as easy to short stroke. Lastly, yeah, the gun is loud. But hey it's poppet valve. Even with the dual vented barrel it's still loud. The gun itself seems to eminate the pop.
Conclusion: In January 2007 when I got this, I would have given it a 10 out of 10. Today, I give it 7 out of 10. I do not reccomend this gun to anybody except people who want an oddball oldschool style mech. Ie- the sort of people who like cockers and pumps.

The biggest strength IMO is efficiency, it's amazing, you shoot all day long with a blazer. Biggest weakness is the exposed bolt and the fact it freezes up in the cold. Something many would be owners will be doing since the gun is omni gas capable.

If you want a solid mech you can literally use and abuse, get a tippmann, an A5 or something. The Blazer cannot be used and abused, it has to be looked after. If you want high ROF... get an electro. The Blazer is slow by comparison. Only get this gun if you fall into the quirky cocker type owner of category.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shade12 Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned,
- Tippmann a5, 98, x7
- Emag

Shot,
- Various Autococker's
- Mech Automags


Marker Setup: PPS 2k Blazer
- SO T2W Stock
- PPS Male Stab
- 12" Single vented barrel
- Various HPA Tanks and CO2
- Empire B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ego feedneck mod
Electric hopper
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Very Little Maintenance
Efficient
CO2 or HPA Compatible
See review
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel threads (or the lack of them)
Review: The Good:

- Very accurate. I've used year old paint, mixed paint, inconsistent paint. The blazer has shot them all very accurately without barrel breaks or chops (I've never had a barrel break). Its also very consistent no matter the paint, usually + or - 3 over the chrono.

- Maintaining this marker is very easy, a little oil in the asa and shoot it through the marker and your good. The bolt is easy to take out, just pull out the pin and slide it out of the back. I've never had to take it apart more than that as I've never had a problem with it.

- You can run either co2 or hpa through it, equally well. I generally use hpa but have run co2 through it on occasion and haven't noticed any difference in performance.

- It also feels very nice in the hands, the weight is well distributed (it is a bit on the heavy side but I like it). The trigger also feels nice, very crisp. Safety also works well. I can probably get around 8 bps out of it although I've never measured it with a computer.

- Barrel is very quick to take out (slip fit) although this does mean most barrels won't work. It is also very forgiving on paint (have yet to get a barrel break).

- Best of all no battery's!

The Bad:

- The stock feedneck isn't that good. It's not big enough to work well with a lot of loaders. I do believe they now offer the option of a clamping feedneck straight from the factory. You can also do it yourself by hacking of the stock one and using an ego feedneck.

- The barrel isn't threaded so there aren't any aftermarket barrels for it besides the pps brass, although its probably one of the best ones out there. You can have barrels milled down to fit but it won't work with all barrels. You can get an adapter to use cocker threaded barrels but there is still 1-2" or so of adapter before the paintball gets to the barrel. This isn't really a bad thing, I would just prefer it to be cocker threaded.

- You have to be careful with the trigger as a partial pull can result in chopping a ball. I've only done this once in my year or so of using it while I was using a gravity feed and trying to put down alot of paint. Thus I recommend a electric hopper of some kind (agitated or force feed).

- If you have a problem your probably going to have to ship it back to pps to get it fixed. It is also not a tinkerers marker as they recommend not taking it apart further then pulling the bolt out.

Conclusion: This marker is simply a performer. I think the best thing you can say about any marker is that it's the one you will never sell, and for me this is that marker. Only reason I give it a 9 is because of the feedneck and barrel threads. If it came with a clamping feedneck and cocker threaded it would be the perfect mechanical marker IMHO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheECP Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
(mechanicals I've used)

Automags
'Cockers
Tippmanns
Spyders
Marker Setup: PPS Blazer (green)
10" .689 matte nickel plated brass barrel
Palmer's Stabilizer
12v Revvy
PE 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dual vented Brass barrel in .685
Palmer's Stabilizer
Strengths: Small, Consistent, Reliable, Easy Maintenence.
Weaknesses: Possibility of Short-stroking, Heavy Price, "Slow"
Review: APPEARANCE 4/5

The anno is very nice and shiny, though there are a few marks on the bottom of the body from sealing the air passages. Other than that, it's a very clean design, even though may not be the slickest looking thing. I personally love the looks


PERFORMANCE 5/5

The PPS Blazer shoots like a dream. Out of the box it may require some tuning to the rock LPR and the stab regulator (if you have one) but it's rather straight forward and well described in your owner's manual. Once that's out of the way, this thing will shoot a consistent +/- 5 even with BAD paint. And slightly better as your reg breaks in.

As far as accuracy goes, the PPS brass barrel is easily one of the best barrels out there. With wedgits (comes standard) you shouldn't have to worry about roll-outs (This is a closed bolt marker). Stock barrels are unported and makes your Blazer rather loud, but in a good way. When using good paint (such as Draxxus Gold, or RPS Marbalizer) You will be ball on ball. Of course the major factor in accuracy is good paint.

The trigger feels very nice, much like an upgraded 'cocker trigger. It's nice and snappy, and it isn't very short, but it's not long at the same time, it feels just right. The only "problem" is that if you're not experienced with 2 staged trigger pulls, you may short stroke every now and then. But it wont usually lead to a chop, so there's nothing to worry about. Just practice getting used to the trigger, and you wont short stroke anymore. With this trigger I'm able to pull a consistent 8bps or so.

You'll be very happy with the way this baby shoots, trust me.


RELIABILITY 5/5

This is definitely one of the most reliable markers on the market. This thing is built like a tank. I've used it to break my fall, I've accidentally dropped it a time or two, and not even a scratch.

As you may or may not know, it is an autococker in a sense, and it has all the same kind of parts, BUT the parts that really screw 'cockers up (the exposed airlines) are not a problem at all with the Blazer. Instead, nothing is exposed and all the air lines are actually air passages milled in the receiver! so no leaks or anything like that

And maintenance? What's this? I've never heard of it. Or at least you don't need to have heard of it to take care of the Blazer After a day of play, if it's rather dirty all you need to do is soak the whole thing in the sink (Or take it with you in the shower, yes the manual actually says this!) And then shake dry it, gas it up shoot it a few times to get the water out, then de-gass it. Then all you need to do is put a few drops of oil on the bolt o-rings, the hammer and behind it (accessible through a slot on the side, no disassembly required!) and then some drops down the asa, gas it up take your barrel off, and shoot a few times and your Blazer is lubed

What I just described is almost excessive maintenance, because it isn't necessary to do it that way.

The Blazer will never chop on you if you have a good loader, but if you do get paint in your breach, take the bolt out is as easy as pulling a pin and sliding it out, you can even do this during the game

I think the Blazer's only weak spot is where the barrel is attached. It is a slip fit barrel, and then you clamp it (with an allen screw, or an upgradeable knob)
The only reason it's a weak spot is because Brass isn't the hardest metal, and over tightening or stress on the barrel may damage the barrel.

So just don't take a core sample of the earth with your barrel when diving, hehe. But that's pretty much with any Marker, lol.

Other than that, you shouldn't have to Time your Blazer very often at all. Some people have had there Blazers for many years and have never had to time it. But if you do, Palmer's will do it for you as it's not as easy as it is with a normal 'cocker. I personally haven't had to time mine yet, it shoots just fine


VALUE 4/5

The Blazer is a great bang for your buck, depending on what your ideal "bang" is. If shooting speed is an important factor, then you should look elsewhere because you can find nice electros for the same price.

But if you want one of the most reliable nicest shooting mechanical markers, then look no further the Blazer is your answer. It will definitely shoot like the $700+ you'll spend on it.


OTHER MENTIONS

The feedneck isn't the best, as it's not adjustable (but comes with these stupid white knobs to hold hoppers in place) It doesn't bother me really, because I just put tape around the feedneck of my Revvy and it stays in place perfectly. Though there are mods for clamping feednecks that you can figure out how to do online, google is your friend.
Conclusion: This is easily one of the best Mechanical Markers out there. (I like it better than any mag I've shot) And it should always treat you well, as it has with me. I love my Blazer :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 26th, 2008 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

af895 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8, Tippmann A-5, 98 Custom, electros (Matrices, PM/DM's, PMR, Egos) LineSI Bushmaster... nothing like a Blazer.
Marker Setup: Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer ser#: BZ2581, Right-hand feed neck
12" double-ported PPS Brass barrel, matched with sight bead, brass finish
vertical male stabilizer (a PPS high-pressure regulator)
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA bottle
Pure Energy remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't even think of tampering with perfection.
Strengths: SILENT. Like "crickets chirping" silent. Accurate, reliable, easy to clean, fast.
Weaknesses: Ability to short stroke the two-stage trigger
Review: Wow.

I'm an SP-8 owner who wanted something durable, consistent and easy to maintain.

Since playing with the Blazer, I've decided to sell the SP-8. The Blazer is fantastic.

BACKGROUND
My interest in Palmer Pursuit Shop (PPS) products started when I was looking for the most accurate barrel possible for my SP-8. I bought a 14" unported PPS Brass barrel with Ion threads and was stunned at how consistent and paint-tolerant it was.

I did some reading on the Blazer online. Much like the barrels, there's little posted about them but what is posted glows with admiration.

The last straw was having my SP-8 run low on battery power during a long game and having to walk off. I'm fairly diligent about changing batteries so that event soured me on electros. Further, having the gun turn itself off after an "idle" time, ostensibly to conserve battery power, caused me to miss a shot during another game when I pulled the trigger and had nothing happen.

After those events, I decided I'd look at full mechanical guns with reputations for high-reliability, extreme accuracy and ease of cleaning.

The Automag and Autococker were two of the guns I looked at until I learned more about the Blazer. The latter uses "Autococker-like" action - it's a closed bolt gun * with an LPR to supply low-pressure gas to the system that re-cocks the gun. Essentially, like the cocker, the design evolved from a pump gun with a mechanism that automatically "pumps" or "recocks" the action, hence the term "autococker."

I've heard a number of different stories as to where the Blazer design came from. Though I haven't comfirmed with PPS yet, a common one is that PPS used to build Autococker parts and went on to design a "perfected autococker" where all of the moving parts are contained in the body instead of sitting externally.

The advantage of Blazer over Autocockers is said to be that they never go out of tune unless messed with, staying in perfect working order for years.

* closed bolt guns put the ball in the barrel, sealed at the rear by the bolt, when the gun is idle. An open bolt gun has the bolt back behind the ball feedneck when idle.

NOISE
It's *silent* - with a slight "click" of the ram moving back and forth and crickets chirping in the background. The double-ported 12" barrel makes the gas release practically inaudible.

I was playing my first game as a Dagger - only two of us against four of them. Despite being 20' from my teammate, he told me later, he had NO IDEA where I was. Ditto the other team who just said "all we heard was paint arriving...we didn't know where it came from." (they were 40'-60' away)


ACCURACY
Paint goes STRAIGHT. Even the crappy paint I was playing with - basically "whatever we found laying around" - painted a perfect arc. Interestingly, I chopped one (probably my first short-stroke - or rather, my friend's, as I was letting him take a few shots and he's used to an electro) - and it shot as well through the break as any other barrel or gun. More zingers but still shootable to a point. Pull the bolt out, run a swab through and it's back to ropes. *

The gun has little to no kick. You feel the bolt cycle as a slight "tap" but it's aligned with the longitudinal axis of the marker and it doesn't cause it to jump. The act of squeezing the trigger causes more marker motion than the action cycling.

* Of note: your BEST bet for cleaning is a pull-through type swap - the type that look like a wire with little discs attached at even intervals terminating with a small swab or rag. I didn't have any luck with a Dye double-swab - it's too short and when I tried to pull it out the rest of the way, it seperated leaving me to remove half a swab! Save yourself some headaches and buy a pull-through, cord-type barrel cleaner at the same time as you get the Blazer. Various online-retailers have these. Get one designed for a 16" barrel if you have a Blazer with 10.5" or 12" barrel and you'll have plenty of length.

...more to come...
I will post a more detailed review once I've got more time playing with the Blazer but unless there's some hidden gremlin in it, I'd give it an 11/10. It far surpasses all of my expectations.
Conclusion: "Electros vs. the Blazer" - we're really talking about "handmade bamboo flyfishing rod with brass reel" versus "mass-produced graphite rod with plastic reel." I can catch fish with either but the latter has no character.

10 years from now, nobody will be hot on Ions, DM6's, Egos etc. "The next big thing" will be on the market, being pushed with glossy ads, and we'll have forgotten about the previous "big thing."

A Blazer will still be a Blazer and looked at with respect. This is a gun, like an Automag, that you buy and keep forever. Take a break from paintball for 10 years, dust off the Blazer, oil it up and GO.

No running out of batteries, no short-circuits, no excuses - this gun just works.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 27th, 2007 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wjr Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shot an automag before I bought my Blazer. I would actually have to say I liked my automag more, although I like my Blazer because it's good with c02
Marker Setup: -PPS Centerfeed Blazer (serial # BZ2511)
- 8 or 10in (I can't remember) unported brass barrel
-16oz anti-siphon co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm satisfied without it, but most reccomend a stabilizer
Strengths: -Co2 friendly
-light
-Made from quaility parts
-pull pin bolt
Weaknesses: - I'm not a huge fan of the Barrel cinch
Review: I had an automag for a long while, and I was sick of having to drive 45 minutes to get my HPA tank filled if I wanted to play in the woods with my friends. I wanted a gun that could perform well with co2. I had thought about getting a Blazer before, but they were way to expensive for me. Luckily, PPS was having a sale. They were selling a pair of centerfeed blazers with barrels for $550. So that's $275 per blazer, as opposed to $430 like it normally is. I jumped on this deal. Me and another kid split the package. I ended up paying $300 for mine after adding shipping.

I first shot the gun using a standard tank set up vertically. I read the manual, and set up the LPR. I was very impressed with the trigger feel. I had no paint or chronograph, so I had to wait until the next day to thoroughly test it. I took it to the field the next morning. At the chronograph, I was surprised that it was more consistent then I had thought without a regulator. I remember it had about a +6/-6 fps fluctuation using co2.

Something that I noticed about my blazer was that it cycled much faster when the barrel was off. And sometimes, the bolt would get stuck in the barrel. I asked about this on Mcarterbrown.com, and Craig Palmer answered the question for me. I'm not exactly sure what it was, but I think he told me that the barrel wasn't perfectly round or something. He said to rotate the barrel until the bolt stops sticking. Now it works perfectly
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a high quality, reliable marker. I couldn't be happier with mine, although sometimes I do wish that I still had my automag. If my automag broke down (which it seldom did) then I could take it apart in no time and fix it. If my blazer breaks down (which it hasn't yet), I have to send it all of the way to Califonia (across the country for me). That's really the only major downside of the Blazer for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

409novaman Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, not a bad product.
Typhoon, a great marker.
Marker Setup: Blazer, left feed, matched 12inch ported barrel, twin Stabilizers, bottom line, 45 twin trigger frame, 45mm red dot, Ricochet Apache, 9oz. anti-syphon CO2 tank, Blackpoint Engineering folding T stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, you don't need any.
Strengths: Accuracy and Precision, very accurate, built like a fine watch.
Weaknesses: Makes me want to buy the E-Blazer, I want another Blazer!
Review: The Blazer was a work of art out of the box, light weight and easy to handle. I went out in the back yard and shot 2000 balls to get the feel of the trigger. The dual 45 trigger frame is perfect, the trigger is light and it's movement is short, very short. This thing is fast!
This is the best money that I have spent on a marker and I have been buying them since 1989.
I went to my first game with the Blazer and took my Typhoon as a backup, the phoon will never see the light of day again. The Blazer is so light and the trigger so fast, I had a great time. Everyone was asking about the Blazer and the great shots it allowed me to make during the day. This thing can drive nails at range, put the red dot on what you want to hit and Bapp! Out! The twin Stabilizers keep everything under control.
I have had it about 3 months now and nothing has gone wrong, I have a marker that allows me to stop fixing and just play the game. FUN.
Autococker? Bwahahaha, this marker owns them.
Conclusion: Buy it. If you are short on cash, buy the standard model and build it up with Palmer upgrades when you can. If you have the cash buy it with everything and have fun. This is a great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 8:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

54ogar Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothign like it shoots better than autococker
Marker Setup: center feed, stab, single triger, delrin bolt, pump and semi
Recommended
Upgrades:
a pump kit makes it so you have a pump and a semi-auto in seconds you can change back and forth.
Strengths: No ram 3 way or rods to bend. No back block slamming around deadly accurate
Weaknesses: Weighs 2 pounds have to have Palmers turn the barrel to fit the blazer
Review: this is by far the best marker i have own and i have gone through allot from spiders to cockers to nerve, impy, timmy, and proto matrix. now i have just a stock one and a e2 ebladed one. most impressive things is the total reliability of the blazer. never fails does well on air and CO2. never have to mess with the timing. you can call palmers pursuit shop and they can walk you through any problem. never had a problem in 3 years. you can have any barrel made into a blazer barrel fo $20 through palmers. there is no front block or 3-way rod or ram to bend. you can buy a pump kit and turn you semi-auto marker into a pump and back in less than a minute. the have stock class tube adaptors. most versatile marker it is like having a 2 in one.
Conclusion: if you want a marker that will last a life time and shoots lazers than the Blazer is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbourdon Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: Right Feed
12'' Black Ported Barrel With Sight Pin
Male Stabilizer
Lapco Spoon Drop Foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends on what you want. The marker is great stock.
Strengths: ACCURACY
consistency
durability
simplicity
ease of cleaning
no electronics
Weaknesses: Price, but you get what you pay for.
Review: Before I purchased this gun I looked at everything. Cockers, angels, spyders, mags, tippys, ions, etc... . I realized that I didn't want to go the way of electronic guns. They just seem like there is too much reliance on something that can short out so easily. Then I decided that I wanted a closed bolt gun. I was considering an autococker for the longest time. But I soon realized that they were outdated and buggy. I wanted something reliable. Then I heard about PPS. The blazer was everything that I wanted all wrapped in a pretty aluminum and brass package.

I spent about a week deciding what I wanted to put on the gun. The major decision was whether or not to get the 45 frame. I decided against it and ordered it with the options listed above. The final price with shipping came to just around $700. The customer service is next to none. I called up and all of my questions were patiently answered. If you have ANY questions about their products call them!

The gun came in over spring break while I was in New Orleans helping clean up, so I had a week of extra painful waiting before I acquired my blazer. I also purchased a case of paint and filled two 20 oz tanks to break in the gun before I went to play.

The gun came in an exciting little white box that told me what was inside. My new blazer. I tore the box apart and quickly took the marker pieces out of the box. I then assembled the marker (after reading the manual). It took a little fumbling to make the drop foward work because I needed a spacer to get the duck bill to fit. So I used 1.25'' skateboard hardware because the threads matched (my paintball shop is also a skateboard shop). I lubed the marker, loaded a hopper, and gassed 'er up.

The stock trigger was eons better than my mechanical spyder's. Short and crisp with a little snap that seems to help eliminate short-stroking. Straight out of the box the gun was shooting 290-fps with a deviation of 5-fps. Every ball was landing one-on-top-of-the-other. After the first tank was emptied, I let her rest, and gassed her up with the second tank. I set the rock regulator to a higher pressure as to increase my rate of fire and help with reducing short stroking. After that I set the velocity adjuster to 290-fps after the hammer spring broke in.

The accuracy of this gun just amazes me. I shot a spyder TL for over six years as my primary marker. I purchased this gun because I was tired of losing eliminations because my spyder couldn't shoot the blind side of a barn by the end of the day. I play with this gun this upcoming weekend and I can already tell that I'm going to waste less paint and get more kills.

I know that the marker doesn't make the player, but after 6 years of experience of playing with my spyder and my trracer, I felt that a new gun was the next step in improving my game.

I couldn't be happier with my new baby. The next question is, what am I going to name her?
Conclusion: If you are looking at a new pneumatic mechanical cocker, stop now and take a look at the PPS blazer. I'm glad I did. I give this marker a full 10/10 because of the great product and incredible customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellion360 Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Merlins- very good, similar operation
Autocockers- sometimes very good, sometimes not so good, similar operation
Excaliburs- Very good, closed bolt but disimilar operation, similar feel though heavier
Marker Setup: Viking
CCI DropoutPhantom
Palmer Super Stocker
Palmer Blazer
Custom Sniper
Recommended
Upgrades:
It comes with all the good stuff built in.
But the options I use are:
The 45 frame
Spiral ported barrel, matched 12in: best barrel I have ever used, seriously the best
Palmer Stabilizer reg
Unimount
Strengths: Accurate, just off the hook accuracy. Beats everything else hands down.
Easy maintanence
Tiny
Weaknesses: ROF, it is a mech
barrel doesn't shoot clean well
Review: The Palmer Blazer is really a work of art. It is by far the best mechanical gun I have used. And I have used essentially every other mechanical gun there is. I like mechanical guns.

Blazers work in a similar manner to autocockers, being a two stage trigger pull. But they fire very smoothly and consistantly, like only the very best custom autocockers. The trigger pull on a blazer is not quite as good as some autocockers I have used but it is definitely up there.

The Blazer is incredibly light, It weighs two pounds even. It also just has incredible balance. It is easy to handle and points perfectly with a 45 and a unimount. It also has a smooth feel when firing.

The efficiency on Blazers is very good, I don't have a real number but I haven't had any complaints.

The part about Blazers that is really exceptional is the accuracy. The Palmer's barrels are the best I have used. Far superior to Boomsticks or Ultralites. I have been one balling people with my blazer more frequently than anything I have used. Palmer's barrels combined with palmer's regs lead to some very consistant, very accurate shooting. WEDGITS, these little dimples mean no more rollouts. I have had no rollouts with my Blazer. The consistant positioning of the ball in the barrel probably leads to more constant shots.

The blazer is a fast shooting mech, but I am not able to shoot it anywhere near what I shoot an electro at. Blazers are really fast guns, no doubt, but you have to be able to pull that trigger. You have to work for your speed. I have seen a video of Craig Palmer shooting a consistant 11bps with sound analysis. But I am probably shooting like 6bps. The accuracy really helps make up for a slower rof though. Since I am hitting people on my first shot a lot of the time, the rest of the balls that hit them don't matter.

side note: (e-blazers are available now. They come with E2's and are at least as fast as the fastest half-blocked autocockers out there. Probably faster, and definitely less hassle)

Blazers are very easy to maintain. The bolt design is easy to quickstrip for squeegeeing. There is no crap hanging all over the place to get paint in. You can even take it in the shower with you. Just dry it out with a hair dryer and oil it up afterwards. They don't come out of time and you should never have reason to open them up. Having owned mine for a year, and it being a year old or so when I got it, it has never been opened up for cleaning..
Conclusion: These markers are such high quality.
The Palmer's put a lot of love into these guns and made something really exceptional.
Glenn Palmer is the originator of the autococking mechanism and has really put it to good use. The Blazer is the best mechanical gun I have used. And as it has all the good upgrades when you order it the value is good. Right now a blazer set up how I like it would run you 690 dollars. No small investment, but a good one. I have gone through a lot of guns in my time but I am going to stick to this one. An easy 10, the best.

Plus it is a really custom gun, made how you order it. And not a lot of people have them, which is kinda nifty.

The bottom line is that many many guns have passed through my hands since I started playing. My blazer is the only one I have never considered selling.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 6th, 2006 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PF_Nut Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO Autococker
TippmanA5 w/reative trigger
Tippman Pro-lite
Marker Setup: Has the right hand feed, autococker had a center feed but I missed looking down the top so much I made sure my next one was right or left
Female stabilizer mounted just below the handle
Adco red dot site
Black hard coated 10.5" spiral vented barrel
Protouch trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stabilizer reg of some type, helps tremendously with velocity consistancy
Strengths: - Quick bolt pull
- Super light
- Accuracy is awesome
Weaknesses: - Sometimes I still chop paint
- Bit pricey
Review: After five years of using this tank of a gun it still works but has developed a small leak in the cocking regulator (aka the rock reg). I called palmer shop about it and they said mail it in after running through a few things on the phone and they would fix it for free as a warranty repair! Amazing, after five years they still honor the warranty.

Powder coating on the marker is top notch, after five years of playing there's still no chips or scratches! Mine is just flat black with nothing fancy done to it, I thought at the time it might last longer that way, maybe I was right.

Bought it back in 2000 with a pro touch trigger job. I heard the stock setup was heavy and I didnt want another autococker heavy long trigger. Was very happy with the blazer's trigger, rocking motion, short, and light. Have to love it, but man those electronic marker triggers are soooo light and snappy. Love the blazer, think my next gun may be an electro blazer. Just not looking forward to it having hoses sticking out, will miss the clean design of the standard blazer. Far as chopping paint it just happens sometimes, it's still a two stage trigger so it happens time to time.

Price wise it's 400 stock setup, add a stab, 45 frame or trigger job and a ported barrel you'll be more closer to 650 - 700 dollars. Figure though it's really stood up to the test of time, not bad considering no issues with it until recently and even after the problem it's covered by warranty.

Over the years the barrel has seen a lot of use and it's not near as accurate as it once was. Just worn out, so while the gun is in for repair I told them to match a new 12" dual vented barrel ($125) to it. Matching a barrel just means they fire a bunch of paint through the barrel while turning it, once they find the best position the top of the barrel is marked so you know the best way to attach it to the gun. Slip fit tension system for their barrels in the blazer is sweet!

I also had them do a general maintenance on the gun ($35) to clean it up check any parts that need new o-rings and change em, etc. This has never been done by me or anyone else over the five years I've ran it so I figure it's time.

Not much else to say except I've kept it over the years as my only marker because it's a solid performer. Always worked and it's small size and weight (just two pounds without hopper or air on, add air and a full vl revolution hopper and your talkin about 4.5 pounds) is a huge bonus to me, I'm a tall but skinny guy and carrying around the autococker (had a stainless barrel on it, gun was 5 pounds without hopper or air, add full hopper load and 20oz tank it came close to 8, nearly double the blazer) for a year I noticed my arm was tired after a few games and it became harder and harder to keep the gun up and on target if a match lasted more than 15 min or so in the woods.
Conclusion: It's a sweet gun, but now a days considering the competition hmm The electro race guns sure are fun to shoot but if you must go mechanical this thing is very good (electros are just so sweet, it's why I give this an eight, palmer now offers an electro mod for the blazer which may bring this back to a 10, just cant compete with 15bps LOL)! Palmers was super helpful when I did have an air leak and the air smith they transfered me to knew the gun inside and out. 5 year warranty? Most cars dont have that
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media