paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 57
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Vertical Bottle, Trigger Shoe, Anodized Aluminum Body, Lightweight, Easy Field Stripping, and Maximum Performance Valve.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Blazer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, March 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Typhoon ('96), Blazer ('98), Palmer Cocker ('00).
These are all Palmer products and I've noticed that the trigger feel gets smoother and nicer with the newer models. The Blazer tested here is no exception - it's trigger is the nicest of all the Palmer markers I've tried.
Marker Setup: Matrix (LED w/ pushbutton) with AA Messiah @ sub-200psi input. Trinity reg, High Efficiency (Red & Blue) bolt kit. AA Armageddon 68ci 4500psi, no drop forward, set at 800psi.
Palmer Cocker same, except AA Vigilante @ 325psi input.

Lapco, Custom Products and DYE aluminum barrels of various bore sizes. 12V Revies w/X-boards and 6-arm paddles.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the 45 grip frame (either single or dual shoe, whatever you prefer). It makes the Blazer feel really solid and the setup is SO nice for the trigger you don't need the ProTouch option. For an extra $65(single) or $85 (dual) it's money well spent.

Get the 12" barrel vented (reduce noise & turbulence) & match-honed (optimize accuracy). If you can live without the nickel plating, having a bare brass barrel gives the gun a funky, old school look.

Get a Stabilizer with the gun, or buy an Air America Vigilante or Black Ice as an aftermarket reg. The Blazer works great at around 500 to 600psi.

Don't bother with the LP/HV valve. The Blazer is an awesome medium pressure gun. With medium pressures, you can pretty well eliminate having to change your barrels for paint matching purposes.
Strengths: THE TRIGGER with the 45 GRIP FRAME!

I needed to put that in caps. The Blazers have this stigma that the trigger pull on them is heavy and stiff. That may have been true on older models (comparing an older 1998 Blazer with dual trigger to this 2002 Blazer dual trigger, the old '98 is certainly heavier and longer in trigger pull). But if you order a Blazer with the 45 grip frame, the trigger is, in a word, INCREDIBLE.

The pull is very, very short. Measured movement in the center of the upper finger groove is a stunning 1mm. This is incredibly short for a mechanical-only trigger. Even the bottom sweep of the dual shoe is still a short 3.75mm. That's well under a stock Cocker's trigger pull, and you'll find even some high priced custom Cockers with trigger pulls of 4mm.

I would characterize the feel of the return spring as "springy". I wouldn't call it soft or mushy, and it's certainly not hard. If I had to compare it another recent marker I've used, the SFL, I would say it's a bit softer than the SFL. The SFL I would call "snappy". Sorry I can't be more precise about this, but I don't have a way to measure the actual pull in lbs.

Fast strings of rapid fire are easy with this trigger. It can be fired as fast as any custom, high end Cocker.

The bottom line is, the Blazer with the 45 grip and trigger assembly option, has a very smooth, short trigger that is not heavy. So forget about the old stereotype of the Blazer having a heavy, unwieldy trigger. Yet, because it's a Palmer, this is not some unreliable trigger that's been pushed past the edge of reliability. It's like the three previous Palmers I mention above - it's built with the same dependability as those markers. All three of the older Palmer markers I've used have NEVER required re-timing, even the 6 year old Typhoon.

For the extra $65 to $85, get the 45 grip frame option. The 45 grip frame improves the trigger pull so much, Palmer's doesn't even offer a ProTouch trigger job option for it. The improvement comes with the price of the grip frame (and you're still under $500 for a top notch gun).

Very light in weight. Very short in length. Doesn't extend as far back as a Cocker, so it's less likely to hit your lens or mask.

This Blazer came with a Stabilizer. Good choice for an in-line reg. The Stab adds about $95 to the price. If that's too much for your budget, an Air America Vigilante, which is priced less, will work just as well. An in-line reg will allow you to reduce the input pressure to around 500 to 600psi, which is the optimum working pressure for the Blazer with its regular valving.

If you must have the Low Pressure/High Volume valve option, it will add more cost to the gun and it won't reduce the pressure that much (goes under 400psi or so). If you really want an ultra low pressure gun, then buy a Palmer Cocker (300 to 350psi), an AKA marker or a Matrix (around 200psi) instead. The Blazer is really at its best as a medium pressure marker.

By leaving the Blazer with its regular valve, you'll have superior range and eliminate the need to change your barrels to try and attempt to match the barrel to the paint. Medium pressure guns are much less sensitive to bore-to-paint match. The Blazer's barrel, which features the famous Palmer elliptical design (tight at breech end, large in the mid-bore, tight again at the muzzle), will shoot almost any size paint, esp. when combined with medium pressure. The barrel also features three indentations or Wedgits at the breech end, which will prevent rollout of small paint.

The only reason to change barrels is if you want a shorter or longer barrel.

Closed bolt accuracy. Once again, we're talking Autococker class here. Snap shooting is a breeze.

Quick release bolt with a pin that doesn't have to be removed (woo-hoo!). Quality Palmer parts which are built inside the body. The famous Palmer Rock allows absolute minimum pressure to the cycling of the bolt, which helps to reduce paint chop. Quality build.

Can work well on CO2 or HPA. If you don't fire an entire hopper's worth of paint, CO2 will work just fine. if you like chucking a lot of paint, then HPA will work great on the Blazer too, on both the regular as well as the LP/HV valves.

Very reasonable price for a marker that is easily as good as any top, pneumatic marker. Even if you add the 45 grip frame, in-line reg and barrel options (vents, match honing), you still have a competitively priced marker.
Weaknesses: I took this marker to a field where the staff are Matrix and Cocker fans. These guys are used to $1000+ markers. The shop owner (who uses Matrices & Cockers) was so impressed he wanted to buy the Blazer. 3 out of the 4 people who shot the Blazer did so perfectly with no time needed to adapt to the trigger.

The 4th person, however, managed to chop a ball. He's used to using a Matrix and finds he chops on most pneumatic guns. It's possible to short stroke the Blazer, just as it's possible to do so on any Cocker. So players who are used to electro's may need time to adapt to it.

If you want to do a lot of upgrades to your gun, the Blazer isn't the gun for you. Almost all the aftermarket products are made by Palmer anyway. If you look at their option menu for the Blazer, there's actually plenty of choice. But compared to all the accessories available for a Cocker, it's a small list.

If you believe in ultra low pressure markers, the Blazer is not your gun. To me, this is a non-issue. If a gun is accurate at ultra low pressure (like my Matrix), that's fine. If a gun is accurate at medium pressure (like this Blazer) that's fine too. But if you must have ultra low pressure, then get a Palmer Cocker instead, or any of the various other manufacturers' markers that are designed specifically for low pressure.
Conclusion: GREAT trigger feel with the 45 grip frame. Don't believe in the old myth that Blazers have a stiff trigger pull. Blazers today have a short, smooth and springy trigger that's a pleasure to use. Easily a match for any high end Cocker that you can think of.

Use an in-line reg (either the Palmer Stabilizer or an aftermarket reg like the AA Vigilante). The Blazer likes medium pressure (500 to 600psi) best.

Accurate and great for snapshooting. Great parts. Quality build. Can go either CO2 or HPA with no mods. Can withstand severe tournament use.

May take some getting used to if you use an electro. Low upgrade path.

Fantastic value, even with the 45 grip frame upgrade (HIGHLY recommended) and barrel options. The Blazer is a best buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

RamboPreacher Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The autococker would be the closest comparative pneumatic semi-marker. I have had about 8 different cockers of the years and don't own any currently (does that say anything?) Cockers are great if you wnat to tinker with your marker all the time,a dn you can deal with down time. But if you want a marker that works, the Blazer is the one. (can there be only one?)
Marker Setup: Which one? oh for the purposes of this review, my blazer is completely stock aesthetically speaking. I will list the additions:
bottom line stabe on a stock
original (really old) wooden PMI grips (similar to SP, but natural wood)
cut, polished nickle, named sight hood (Charity)
shocktech LP chamber
*" BOA barrel (although there is absolutely nothting wrong with my stock brass 10.5" barrel
I recently started using a ricochet2k on her
I normaly use a 16oz "pinaple" anti-siphon tank, though I have a couple different HPA's for cold temps and for easier fills at tournies. (I prefer co2)
I also tinkered and got a small pressure guage on the back of my rock (on a 90 degree elbow)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades... Let me start by saying that contrary to the popular misconception - the Blazer trigger is not bad. It is not too heavy nor is it sloppy at all. My blazer is one of the originals (SN BZ006), and it's trigger was a bit heavy at first, and I did get s Pro-touch trigger job about a year after I had it (mostly cause I had an extra hundred bucks and wnated to see teh difference). If you are a double finger trigger person (I am not), then I recommend that you do NOT get a PTTJ.

Other than aesthetics (ano and other eye-candies), I would say the next thing to get after you decide on a blazer (bone stock) is a stabe. Maybe in conjunction with a bottom line setup if you play that way, but that too is a personal preference.
Strengths: What would you expect from the man that invented the pneumatic automation system. With the capability to have a extremely high rate of fire, this thing can spray with the best of the JAE's (Just Another Electro). The problem there is - what kind of hopper can feed it that fast? Not even a force system like a warpfeed, since it won't work on such a smooth working marker like the blazer without some special modifications.

The Blazer is always being fine tuned and even though mine is one of the first ones available, I still love it. There has been many updates to teh base system over the last few years and it is alwasy being developed. It started as teh culmination of what was learned from making Typhoons from scratch over may years previous to the release of the Blazer.
Weaknesses: hmmm... Other than the comments about it being ugly (which I disagree with), or that it is a chopped off looking cocker, or that it is just another cocker clone (which as I aluded to earlier is just the opposite if reality) - The only things that I can see that might be considered bad is that more people don't know about them. Palmers doesn't do much advertising and as a matter of fact, if I hadn't interceded and created palmer-pursuit.com, and given it to them, it may not be around today. - and I guess there is the possible issue of teh short-stroking. Some people just don't know how to shoot a two stage trigger (and therefore they can't shoot a cocker either). no trigger flutterers allowed.
Conclusion: The Blazer is, in my opinion, the best marker for the money. A bone stock blazer is ready to take out of the box, gass up, load up and play in a tourney. There is not much choice to upgrades, but you don't need to upgrade stuff that is already industry standard in 3rd party upgrades for other markers.

If you do upgrade, get a stabe, then deal with the trigger feel next (double finger trigger, OR the PTTG).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
An Autococker. Compares in the way it functions and performance and has a familiar feel to it when shooting. I feel the Blazer is more superior than the Autococker.
Marker Setup: Palmer Pursuit Shop Blazer:
- Black, right feed
- .45 frame, double trigger w/ guard, Pro Touch Trigger Job, sight ring, male stabilizer, drop forward
- nickel plated highlights (trigger, trigger frame, barrels, stabilizer, sight ring, etc.)
- 10" PPS barrel (nickel plated, spiral ported), 10" Lapco Bigshot and Autospirit - all matched

Nova 700 ET
- Darkstar Electronic Trigger kit
- 16" ported brass barrel
- dropforward, female Palmer Stabilizer w/ LP springs

I run the Blazer w/ a 20 oz CO2 tank and the Nova with an N2 tank on a remote hooked up to a T-Stock. I use a Richochet for each gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are necessary, but I would recommend a male stabilizer or at least a vertical foregrip to make holding it easier. Couldn't imagine shooting it with a vertical tank.
Strengths: My Blazer has never broken down on me. I keep it well lubed and clean constantly.

It is an accurate gun and I just love the trigger. Think of a short, crisp hinge Autococker trigger with a nice snap to it and little dead pull. I can get a VERY high ROF going and little shootdown.

Palmer has the best customer service around (Let's see Bud Orr reply personally to your EMails!) and the craftmanship is excellent. It is an uncommon gun so you will get looks at the field.
Weaknesses: Since it is uncommon, if it (I don't see how) breaks down it will be rare if someone at the field can fix it. DO NOT LET SOMEONE WHO KNOWS COCKERS CONVINCE YOU HE CAN FIX IT.

Conclusion: This gun is absolutely flawless. Period.

If you are looking at a Cocker, I recommend seriously looking at a Blazer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Had an F4 Illustrator--great gun, but i outperfomed its maximum capabilities.
Marker Setup: Blazer - .45 Frame - Fem. Stabalizer on a DF - Macroline - SP Gas thr foregrip - Nickle sight hood - 12 inch PPS spiral ported matched powdercaoted barrel - 14 inch PPS spiral ported .688 brass barrel - 11.5'' Lapco Bigshot - 9" Extremepaintball custom barrel - 20 oz CO2 and 47ci Bulldog
Recommended
Upgrades:
First of all, if you can find them (check the POG Classifieds) Buy them used. Why? becasue 1. They never break- so you know its a good quality used gun 2. helluva cheaper 3. most come with upgrades that would cost you more in the end. ( I got mine used for 600 instead of the 1000+ that it adds up to be)

Anyway if you get one new, get either the Protough trigger job or .45 frame. Stabalizers help in cold with Co2, other than that most other upgrades are cosmetic.
Strengths: Personally I love to be original and different. Everyone in my region has M98, Cockers, Mags, Angels, etc. I am the only one with a Blazer. And it gets all sorts of looks and attention at the field.

Anyway, the 45 frame trigger pull is lighter than my friends Mag and shorter than his brother's Cocker. The PPS barrels ROCK. The pneumatic arrangement is ingenius...makes me wonder why the heck Budd Orr stuck em all out in front to get banged around....

To sum it up, read the next post down, I dont wanna repeat everything that guy said! :)
Weaknesses: The only BAD thing is that they dont come with a night vision thermal heat seeking automatic Warp electro milled trick auto sniping option.

B U T W H O N E E D S A L L T H E H Y P E ? ? ?

What makes a good gun is error free operation, quality design and user friendliness. So therefore, there is no BAD.

Conclusion: Excellent gun. Dittos to all the stuff already said below.

Please look into the Blazer before you follow the Lemmings into the "Sea of Mags Cockers and Electros"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Blazer, 10.5in vented & matched barrel, sight hood, male verticle stabilizer, female bottom line stablilizer with ring mount on Lapco drop-forward, 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame (by Benchmark I believe), 16oz "stubby" anti-syphon CO2 bottle, 12v revolution loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
stabilizer (one if not two for CO2 use), vented matched barrel, 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame
Strengths: Extremely accurate, compact, lighweight, reliable, low-maintenance, CO2 efficient, very few upgrades to make it top-notch and customer service is awesome. The only time I have broken paint in this gun is when I short stroke.
Weaknesses: Only one place to get gun repaired (if ever required), no after market upgrades (for those of you who like to work on your own markers),
Conclusion: Imagine an Auto-cocker with top of the line pneumatic components installed by a master airsmith. Imagine an Auto-cocker that has the most accurate and quiet barrel possible that was made specifically for your gun (not model but individual gun). Imagine an Auto-cocker with a Benchmark 45 style 2 finger hinge trigger frame. Imagine an Auto-cocker that works flawlessly and efficiently on CO2. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is low maintenance and requires virtually no adjustment to velocity or regulator pressure. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is flawlessly consistent in operating pressures using CO2. Imagine an Auto-cocker that is easier to field strip. Imagine an Auto-cocker that you can wash in warm water, the entire gun. Imagine an Auto-cocker that has a shorter body and lighter weight. Imagine no more, what you got is a Palmer Blazer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 10th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
An autococker, hooked up myself.
Marker Setup: to much to type. list of actual guns Blazer, Model 98, Carbine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All depends, if you care about being quiet, MUST get spiral vented barrel. If you like light short trigger, must tell palmer you want the trigger job. Wanna shoot at low pressure, get the low pressure valve installed. Stabalizer is a must.
Strengths: Everything, i havent experienced anything wrong with it. I absolutely love it, never had a problem. The only 1 thing is if you lube the bolt,(tiny ass bolt, smallest ever), and shoot, youll get some lube in the barrel, whichll mess makes shooint paint horrible, but vaseline works great on the bolt, and everything is fine about that. Another good thing is, to clean the gun, you can just put it under a sink, and run water, take a shower, give it a bath ,antyhing(it even says to in the manual!!).

I had a cocker, i sold it, my cocker was worth 900 dollars, it was bigger, heavier, cost more, more problems, not as reliable at all, have to baby it way more than a blazer, it couldnt use c02, blazers can use both, my blazer is extremely accurate also, never breaks paint unless you short stroke it.
Weaknesses: Every field i play at , referrees try to buy it off me. Seriously. Its a rare gun in michigan.

Prices are good as far as performance upgrades, but cosmetic upgrades are way to much. My gun is beautiful and i didnt pay anything for cosmetics.
Conclusion: Its a great tourny gun. Great Rec gun.

People will say "well why doesnt everyone have one if it was so good?", those people are jackass's and paintball store owners who love cockers. Reason why is because they arent mass produced, each is hand built by one of the Palmers themselves.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bruizer Pro, Viper M1, Custom 98, Typhoon
Recommended
Upgrades:
.45 gripframe
Strengths: The Blazer is small, light, handles well and shoots well. Is there much more you could ask for from a paintgun?

With the 45-gripframe from PPS, the trigger is short and light. Combined with the small size and great balance, the Blazer is great for indoors play and for speedball. A good trigger and good handling allows you to fire fast and fire accurately.

The stock length barrel (10.5") is very good -- there's no performance-related reason to go with the 12". Likewise, there's little need for a non-Palmer barrel on the Blazer as the barrels from PPS work very well. The Blazer will put paint right where you aim it, like any good paintgun with a good barrel.
Weaknesses: There's very little that's wrong with the Blazer design and build quality. The only thing that I can think of is that however short and light the trigger is, if you like electros, it's not as short or as light as an electro-trigger.

There's really nothing about the Blazer that makes me wish something was different about it.
Conclusion: There is almost no direct comparison that can be made to the Blazer except the Typhoon -- and that's only because it's from the same shop and uses the same pneumatics. But in terms of design, there's nothing like it.

It's an autococking paintgun in a package that's smaller and lighter than your typical blowback.

I am *very* happy with my purchase, and I would recommend the Blazer to anyone. It shoots well, it handles well, it's reliable, it's easy to take care of, and you will not find a smaller or lighter autococking paintgun anywhere.

I gave the Typhoon a solid 9 rating. The Blazer deserves something just a little higher. I don't like to give 10's, since nothing is *perfect*, but it deserves something just a smidgeon higher, so it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Macbeth Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Lite (stock)
TIppmann Model 98(all sorts of upgrades)
00' Cocker (Eclipse pivot frame, bomb 3 way, lightning bolt)
Marker Setup: Palmer Blazer:) (black)
1x 45 Frame (black)
Gas thru vert grip (black
10.5" vented, matched barrel (black with black muzzle break)
"Typhoon Style" Foregrip
Black, angle cut sight hood
Female Stab black
20oz anti siphon
I'm currently between drop forwards, but I always run "something"

Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the barrel matched, it is completely worth it.
45 frame, it makes the gun feel fantastic.
Stab, it will make your gun run like it was on nitro.
Strengths: +/- 2 FPS, eveyday
Incredible pointablility, and accuracy. Just pop out, squeeze off a few rounds, and make a kill.

Its LIGHT.

It is incredilby durable, I flet right at home coming off a Tippmann...
It's pretty rare.

Weaknesses: Noting really....

Well, it is ugly.
It takes unthraded barrels, which is kind of a pain.
Conclusion: I am gonna see about getting my Eclipse frame milled to fit her...that coul be nice....

Get one, they are great for the budgetd tourney play, who needs a gun to haul ass any day of the week.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used cockers, mags, tippmanns and spyders.
Marker Setup: I have the Blazer with the shortened trigger, male vertical stabilzer, 20oz CO2 tank with anti-siphon tube, and the custom spiral vented brass barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All the stuff I got ; )
Strengths: I'll tell you what. Out of 2 and half cases of paint I only chopped 3 balls, and that was becuase I was an idiot and forgot to turn my viewloader on and when a kind broke my hopper elbow on the breakout and oozed paint in and out of the hopper. It shoots just as fast as any cocker out there, and just as accurate. It is very compact, lightweight, and looks unique. It feels great shooting a maker that was built for you and not mass produced in a factory. Maintenance is a breeze, just take in the shower with you after a hard day of paintball. Then dry it off with some Q-tips and oil up. Last, it has the QUICKEST stripping bolt out there. That's the bottom line.
Weaknesses: Ummmmm you really need to have to your agitator going or you are going chop a ball now and then. That's about it. I love it. If you are an upgrade fiend where you need to add stuff every week, this isn't the gun for you. Finally, It isn't as quiet as the high end cockers.
Conclusion: I love it. When about 4 balls broke in my elbow due to a collision with a teammate, all it took was me running my Blazer under the water cooler to clean it. Squeegee once to dry, and oil. I was back in full action in 5 minutes. Try that with a cocker or Angel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: This is an extremely light marker. There is very little in the way of wasted metal. Range is equal to any gun out there. Same trajectory and range as a 'cocker.

Extremely reliable and easy to clean. Bolt is very short and easy to remove.
Very durable and a joy to shoot. Rare gun.

Stock barrel is amazing with normal paint. Haven't tried small bore though it should shoot well.

Rock 4-way(not 3-way according to Palmer) is internal to the gun. No messy looking hoses everywhere!
Weaknesses: Cosmetically it looks strange from the rear. This is done to lighten gun so I don't have a problem with it.

Gun does need the Pro-touch and double trigger with guard in my opinion. As with almost all markers, you need a good regulator. I recommend the Palmer stabilizer as you can use either nitro or CO2.

Almost all after market parts available are from Palmer's. However, you can find some that will fit though you don't need them. The 3-way is like a cockers and the grip frame is WGP compatible though you will need to carve underneath to fit the rock reg.

Stock trigger is too stiff. Not as bad as a Tippmann carbine but not as good as a Mag or Model 98's. Glenn is old school and prefers a stiffer trigger for reliability.

Pricing is high but you get what you pay for. Upgrades will need to be done at Palmers for the most part and this will cause you to wait for mail time and backlog on their work. Hey, the best gunsmiths are always busy! Ask Doc and Glenn!
Conclusion: As with almost all markers, you need a good regulator. I recommend the Palmer stabilizer as you can use either nitro or CO2.

Get the spiral venting on the barrel. It is expensive but worth it because the marker is very quiet.

Contrary to what most people say, you don't have to send the marker to palmers to get servicing. Any good cocker tech should be able to fix it. There will be some parts that you may have to get from Palmers but the majority of good stores will have replacement parts. After all, Palmer makes great cocker parts and they are the same as on the Blazer.

I recommend the following when ordering from Palmers:

Double trigger with guard
Pro-touch trigger(although you could do the Ravi trigger job)
Gas through grip with female bottom line Stabilizer and block mount
Matched barrel with spiral porting with 12" upgrade (porting makes it a 10" effectively)

Anything else is just cosmetic and a matter of personal taste. Mine is plain black with a brass barrel. Unassuming and a sleeper; just the way I like it!

I would recommend this over the Typhoon. I own both guns and the Blazer is quieter and just as accurate with the front grip installed.

This gun is better than a cocker in my opinion. It is smaller and has been very reliable. With the Stabilizer on it, I don't have to mess with timing. The hoses are inside the gun unlike most custom 'cockers I have seen.

I own other guns as well. Short of an electro's rate of fire, you won't find anything lacking in this gun.

I traded a BBT Typhoon for this gun and have not been dissapointed. If I had it to do over again, I would probably buy it direct from Palmers and have the barrel colored to match the gun.

I have not found a better semi-auto paintball marker. I own 8 markers including this one so I can speak objectively.

With my recommended upgrades, this gun will cost you about the same as an entry level electro (around $650). You will get mechanical reliability that can't be matched in this price range though. If I were to sell all of my markers, this would be the last to go.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media