paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha STS G2 / PMI Piranha STS G2 / PMI Piranha STS G2 / PMI Piranha STS G2

PMI Piranha STS G2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha STS G2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha STS G2
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 154
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The NEW PMI Piranha STS G2 (Generation 2) Paintball Gun takes the place of the original STS. The NEW PMI Piranha STS G2 comes with the features found on the original PMI Piranha STS including: .45 gripframe, powerfeed, Teflon impregnated nickel internals (to reduce friction), unique field strip pin (no tools required), rear cocking bolt, lightened trigger, gas thru foregrip, bottom line, custom PMI Perfect 11" Pursuit barrel, raised sight rail with tournament beavertail, PMI Perfect Turbo Valve, low pressure chamber, and a true venturi bolt. Standard thread on all hoses and screws. New features include: 2 Finger Trigger and Frame, and Ram Air low pressure chamber. This new low pressure chamber has an internal spring which forces the CO2 out of the chamber allowing the paintball gun to operate at a lower pressure. PMI one year warranty!
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha STS G2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, October 5th, 2001
Strengths: The gun is basically a somewhat reliable low-priced begginer's weapon. It was the first marker I ever bought (I spent several months saving up for this gun and when I got it I thought I would never buy another gun). The quick-strip bolt makes repairs quick and easy. The expansion chamber and double-fingered trigger are nice extras, and the accuracy is ok for a stock barrel.
Weaknesses: One problem that I had (and the *%%$#! is still causing me problems) was an unending leak. Being new to the sport of paintball, I didn't even think about oiling the leak area. After a guy at the local store went ahead and oiled it for me, the gun worked fine, for a little while. After several trips to the shop and many wasted co2 refills, the problem still has not been fixed. Also, DO NOT give this gun any paintballs even near the level of Brass Eagle. If you do, you will pay for your incompetence. This gun breaks cheap paint like a meat grinder on steroids. Do Not, I repeat, DO NOT shoot this gun with cheap paint!
Conclusion: This gun is great (besides my leaking problem). I'm actually starting to favor it over my Flatline. Of course that will all change as soon as I get my AT85, but that's besidethe point. The gun is an excellent begginer's gun. All you need is the gun, paintballs (remember my advice), a mask, hopper and co2 tank (I still use my original 9 0z. tank and I'm fine), and you're ready to go. I would reccomend this gun to any begginer or veteren with little money. I've owned it a year or two and the only problem Iv'e ever had and still have is the *#$%%! leak. Once more, I cannot emphasize this point enough: If you give this thing bad paint it'll put you're @ss in a hotdog bun and chow down!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 23rd, 2001
Strengths: It is a quality gun at a low price. It is accurate, consistant, and reliable. You can, with a ittle practice, shoot well enough to hit an inch sized target from 40 feet. If you can't hit your targets with this gun you suck. It is easily upgradeable, but it works better right out of the box than a lot of "custom" guns do. I used to use a pump Trracer, but this gun makes me unstopable.
Weaknesses: It chops up cheap paint, which jams it up, but that is no problem with the field strip pin. It almost fires too fast, paint isn't cheap. The o-ring on the hammer gets chewed up some times.
Conclusion: If you want a gun get this one. Anything more expensive doesn't perform much better any way, and you can always upgrade this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 16th, 2001
Strengths: Okay, let me start off by saying this.....
1. This is my first gun
2. it's actually a Piranha G1
3. It was used 3 times before i got a hold of it, it was used

Now, when i received the gun i was a bit disappointed because i won it on an auction and he showed the pic of a G2, but it didn't matter when i got on the field. My first point of action was to clean and oil the gun, it took me like 3 minutes to do that. The Field Strip pin is awesome, i love it. It takes my cousin, who has an autococker, a good amount of time to strip his gun and he has to miss a couple of rounds, where as it takes me 30 seconds.

The stock barrel (13") is quite accurate, considering it's stock. Before the games started i tried some target practice on the field, it was quite consistant.

It doesn't suck up C02, i have a 20oz tank and i went through 600 rounds easy, and i still have lots of C02 in my tank.

My G1 has a single trigger and it isn't that bad, at the end of the night i went into the field to empty my hopper, and the others that were just target practicing stopped at just stared at me, i think they were in shock, but who knows. The rate of fire is EXCELLENT!

Didn't chop a single ball all night.

I've had NO LEAKS, my sear is fine so far, i can't really think of anything else to say, it's a pretty good starter gun. I took out an impulse and some auto cockers but i think we all know it's the player that makes the gun, not the other way around. I couldn't touch the PGP guys tho.... heh
Weaknesses: my only disappointment was that it was a single trigger, other than that.... i have nothing bad to say about it.

oh yeah, i had to cut my spring to get it down to 230-240fps, but that took no more than a minute, and most of that minute was cutting the spring. gotta love the field strip pin =)
Conclusion: The gun is definatly worth what i paid, this is what i got
the Gun, JT Thermal Mask, 20 oz tank, hopper, and barrel plug for 210 dollars Canadian shipped to my door (that's probably about 145 USD).
Currently i'm going for a drop forward, a revy hopper and a new barrel, and quite possibly the double-trigger frame. THe parts are cheap, and you can use Spyder parts too, so you have a wide variety to choose from.

I would recommend this gun to any starter, or to a pro as a back up gun, personally i love this gun, stock VS stock it's better than any Spyder in it's class
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 28th, 2001
Strengths: this gun is great. its shoots fast and is dead on target. easy to clean. me friend has a cocker and its a picky to keep clean and stuff. if you want a gun w/not so much care get it. its nice on co2. ues anachery inferno and superswerle balls.
Weaknesses: the stock sucks and should be replaced w/a armson stelth rifled one. i got it and what a change its great!!! im a sniper and the black sticks out paint it.
Conclusion: this is a great gun go and get it the price is right all over good gun. i have shot lots a guns angel,spyder,cocker,minimag.....this is still the best its not heavy not to big. not the bigest name brand but still good. go out and buy one now or team abresion will come after you.

send my team a email at
team_abrasion@hotmail.com if you have questions on anything!!!
we get sick of no mail
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 14th, 2001
Strengths: Hey all, I have been playing rec. paintball since the early 90's. And i love this paintball gun. The price wont break your wallet and it is very easy to maintain. I firmly believe that any and every marker can perform well if it is properly taken care of. I also have a m98 but i have to say that my STS G2 is by far the easiest to field strip and clean between games, if it is needed. I would highly recomend this gun to all new players and those who whicj to have a back up gun.
Weaknesses: I had no major problems with my gun out of the box, although it did start to slowly leak air through thr ram air chamber. This was easily fixed by purchasing a new valve"o" ring. I have found the best place to purchase items is at a hardware store since all are rated for hige preasure gas lines anf fittings i have also found hardware stores to be very inexpensive when it comes to such things. Other than that no other problems with the marker and it still works great.
Conclusion: In conclusion get this gun you wont regret it, but if you do have lots of coin get a monimag or cocker, then again if you did have that cash you wouldnt be reading this review. :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb gunz Monday, August 13th, 2001
Strengths: ok, this gun is an extremely great gun for the entry level player, this is my first gun and i tricked it out, this is an all around great gun. the stock barrel is even extremely great!
here's the mods i put on my gun
12 volt revvy
lapco bigshot
lapco drop forward with stock
aci 6 stage x chamber,
and if i were to continue on with this gun i'd buy a ELCD, but i'm selling it.
this is a great gun, and i would recommend it to ANYONE coming into this sport.
Weaknesses: the only bad thing about this gun for me, and i think it's mostly my fault, is i keep blowing internal o-rings, and i'm sure it's my fault for leaving it in the heat.
Conclusion: this gun is an awesome gun when stock, but i would recommend upgrading it, just for a better performance. over all this gun is awesome, but i would recommend saving ur money and maybe getting a mag or cocker, but that's ur choice. or maybe getting one of the new g3 lines, or the new electronic piranha.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hydrian Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
Strengths: I love this gun. I actually have a Piranha STS (aka G1) with a single trigger. I have had great results with this gun. I am able to compete with Autocockers, Angels, and Bushmasters, I have only chopped 2 balls out of six boxes of paint. I can't complain about 2 out of 12,000 ratio. The stock barrel is good as far as stock barrels go. I got a 32 Terminator for it and it add a good about of distance and tightened up the clustering. The gun is one of the lightest guns out there in its class. One day I let one of my friends borrow my gun. One the field people though he was firing an angle. Hows that for rate of fire. Also field stripping it is a breeze. You can field strip it and squeggie it in under a minute. The trigger is the smoothest trigger I have found in a non-electro sem-automatic. The stock is even smoother that a polished Autococker trigger.
Weaknesses: The only issue I had with the gun was I was having some inital problems of getting it to fire above250ft/sec. We usually play 275ft/sec. With the addition of the Spyser Spring Kit that was a non-issue. One side effect is that it make it a slightly heavier trigger pull & cock, but nothing horrible.
Conclusion: Overall you can't go wrong with this gun. With the only problem with is the springs which are fixed at the reasonable price of $2.49 I don't see how you can go wrong. Personally I am going to make it low-pressure to make it more consistant and lighten up the trigger. I am also going to be adding aluminum double trigger.
Equipment: Piranha STS, NitroDuck N2 Tank. Spyder Spring Kit, Vewloader 12V Revolusion, 14' 32 Degree Terminator Barrel, Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward ,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is good for a beginner, this is a exceptionally good gun for the price. It shoots well in warm weather, the stock barrel is not as bad as you would think but I would get a upgrade eventually. I really like the one pin to take the bolt out. You can have the gun cleaned in seconds. It is also really durable. When the weather is right it out shoots the tippmanns and spyders. One thing I like is if you wanted to keep upgrading you could never stop because it has a uncountable number of aftermarket barrells. It also fits a spyder barrel.
Weaknesses: There are a couple bad thinks about this gun like the ball detent the seer and the stock barrel but its not that bad. You go through orings like theres no tommorrow.
Conclusion: It porforms decent out of the box but it will proform great with aftermarket stuff. It is deffentially worth the $. I would take this gun over a syder or a tippmann any day. I would reccomend this gun to a newer player who needed a good gun that eventually wanted to upgade to a better gun. Ive had mine for about two years and im about to buy an impulse. But it is a good gun overall.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 14th, 2001
Strengths: It was really nice for the first 4000 balls.
However, that was after replacing most of the O-rings at least 3 full times - this thing sucks them up like nobody else's guns.

Then it wouldn't semi auto fire anymore. I had to push the trigger forward, or pull back on the bolt to get the next round off. Took it all apart, cleaned it, followed the FAQ at PMI's homepage, triple checked everything, and now it won't quit firing even with your finger off the trigger. It's not catching or something. After a couple of weeks with email support from PMI, they're sending another sear and hammer to see if that's the problem. At this point I'm pretty disgusted.
My son also has bad leaking problems with his brand new G3. We play with a few guys who have Tippmans, Rebels, one Autococker, and the Piranhas are nothing but trouble. Also, the stock barrel DOES need replacing immediately. I use a Nyte Stikk that I'm pretty happy with. Lot less paint break even with Break Eagle (when the goin' gets tough, the tough sometimes have to use Walmart crud).
Overall - I would not recommend this gun to anyone. Out of the 4 fairly new Piranhas in our group, all 4 are leakers. Even my other son's Spyder is a better marker for the same price.
Weaknesses: The overall quality - when I first took it apart to clean it before going out, it was full of small metal chips everywhere.
The paint was pretty mottled, not even.
It goes through O-rings like nothing else, and neither King Bearing company nor NAPA can replace them - you have to get them online from somebody who charges more for shipping than what they are worth.
This non-firing issue is the worst. The gun has only been out on a few outings, way too few for it to develop a sear/hammer problem.
Conclusion: With a different barrel on it, it shoots well, pretty accurate, good CO2 usage.
Well within 300fps range.
Major issue with the firing parts leaves me very skeptical as to how long this will last. I would probably sell it for a good loss if it got fixed with the new sear and hammer, and buy something else. Sorry, thumbs down on this one.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fishypro Saturday, July 7th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is a nice gun the barrel is good hardly ever breaks balls and acurate , the lp systen is good , the bolt that it comes with is good , the frame is comfey , and the rear cocking and beavertail is way beter than a side check. Lots of shots an uses little C02.
THE MAIN REASON I BOUGHT IT WAS BECAUSE PMI CAME OUT WITH THE FIRST STACKED TUBE BLOWBACK .I DID NOT WANT TO BUY FROM A COMPANY WHO COPIES OTHERS.
Weaknesses: You might want to get an anti-siphon tube because liquid C02 gets in the gun sometimes.
Conclusion: Good gun out performs all stock spyders. I would recomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media